Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AFTER HOURS BEERS *TONIGHT* 10TH OCTOBER - THE DUKE DUBLIN

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Regular I suspect.

God bless him. I hadn't heard. Seen a few posts of his around alright.
    Seemed like a nice guy too.
    Was he 74 or was that just the year he was born?
    Either way, much too soon.

Crikey, gave me a fright there! Took me a bit to figure out what was going on. Given the way the title's phrased, I suspect it's the addition of "public house rendezvous" for Conor (since all of that's in brackets) rather than suggesting the whole thing's in honour of his dying!

Hopefully. Conor, answer us! O.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Cork, so I don't have to do any travelling
    I actually quite like the idea of a cork beers.

Well Hello _O/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Samaris wrote: »
    Crikey, gave me a fright there! Took me a bit to figure out what was going on. Given the way the title's phrased, I suspect it's the addition of "public house rendezvous" for Conor (since all of that's in brackets) rather than suggesting the whole thing's in honour of his dying!

Hopefully. Conor, answer us! O.o

Nothing sinister or sad :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057475458

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Oh good. :D

• Administrators Posts: 54,109 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    Why is there never an After Hours mass?

It's always beers. Imagine the fun times if we travelled down to somewhere like Longford for a nice 2 hour mass on a lovely Sunday morning.

Alternatively you could just have the beers in dublin again...

I've never been to a mass in my life, I'd go to this just to see if it lives up to the hype.

Poll Closed.

Dublin it is.

Will do some more pollage for patser later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Patser

Hey.

I'm behaving myself......

Twitches nervously waiting for next vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

A bag of cans it is so.
    I happen to know where there is a field as well.

I know a lad who knows where we can get us a field

Suggest dublin public houses please.

Or will I just make an executive decision?

Dawson Lounge?

awec wrote: »
    Dawson Lounge?

Smallest pub in Dublin, really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The Church Cafe, Bar and Restaurant?

Smallest pub in Dublin, really?

I was joking... :(

Sweetman's was good to us on previous occasions.

Bowes hidden just behind it is a lovely old boozer with snugs that stays quiet enough for us to meet without crowding, while still central for later beers/clubs.

O'Reilly's under Tara Dart station also lovely pub, with cheap pints for Dublin. Can go Metal/Goth late night.

Fitzsimons Temple Bar so we can all immediately join Ranting and Raving about price of pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The market bar or The Bar With No Name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

It's gonna be Sweetmans, don't be codding yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

THE FUPPING CANAL WITH CANS OF DUTCH GOLD

Please? Maybe even the "royal" canal if you're that used to not being a poor bollocks.

So canal it is.

There is The Living Room; it's not bad at all and the prices aren't too high. About a fiver a pint IIRC. I don't know if they do rooms, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Tombi! wrote: »
    THE FUPPING CANAL WITH CANS OF DUTCH GOLD

Please? Maybe even the "royal" canal if you're that used to not being a poor bollocks.

So canal it is.

There is a really nice spot down by Charlemont luas stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The Shelbourne, less riff-raff.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

No, I will not be there
    Nothing to be said for Coppers, no?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

You not able to make it then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    The Church Cafe, Bar and Restaurant?

Ah, no. Feels like a prison down there.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Don't mind yer wan below. You can come down the country for beers with the rest of us landed gentry! ;)
    You not able to make it then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

The Back Page in Phibsborough? Nice pub, nice beer, nice upstairs room!

There is The Living Room; it's not bad at all and the prices aren't too high. About a fiver a pint IIRC. I don't know if they do rooms, though.

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

A fiver is high?

For a pint? Ohh ya.

The poll was close.. :(:mad::eek::)

Anyone for Athlone drinks? To be fair? :)

Their website makes me want to scratch my eyes out.

Stag and hen heaven = hell on earth.
    It's gonna be Sweetmans, don't be codding yourself.

Uh huh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

The Swan. 8pm.
    There. Done.

And yes, a fiver for a pint is loo-la altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

No, I will not be there
    What date are we talking about?

kylith wrote: »

Last night. It was great.

kylith wrote: »

Will we do dates first?
    Would that be easier?

Or will I just pick a date that I'm available and fcuk everyone else?

Menas wrote: »

Take it to PM dude. Jeeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

No, I will not be there
    Menas wrote: »
    Brilliant. I'm glad I didn't have to see any of ye. I'm going to have a beers over here all by myself. And it's going to be mega.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Will we do dates first?
    Would that be easier?

Or will I just pick a date that I'm available and fcuk everyone else?

Yeah do dates first.

I'm out of all suggestions then. I also thought a fiver was normal; I don't generally go to the pub since it's too expensive. If any of you can get pints for 4 quid or less, can we go there?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I thought a fiver was standard price for a pint in Dublin :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Peregrine wrote: »
    I thought a fiver was standard price for a pint in Dublin :confused:

Doesn't mean we want to pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

libelula wrote: »
    The Swan.

The Swan? Awful venue. If it isn't the after work crowd, it's the footie crowd and if it isn't them it's the Scottish crowd playing to their bagpipes. Not to mention the hipsters with their e-cigarettes. Not cool.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    The Swan? Awful venue. If it isn't the after work crowd, it's the footie crowd and if it isn't them it's the Scottish crowd playing to their bagpipes. Not to mention the hipsters with their e-cigarettes. Not cool.

Very hard to get seats in there too....

No, I will not be there
    I'm just saying it now... we're not going to the Living Room.

Mercantile might not be a bad shout. There's a private room/area that can be booked, and it's pretty central too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Mercantile is a great suggestion. Popular with Dubs and easy for the culchies to locate; you can also return next day for Sunday lunch and recover your coat/ phone/ dignity

+1 for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Flannerys Vintage Bar

Date poll added. Poll is multiple choice, so pick all the days you could attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

No, I will not be there
    Ill be there anyway, havent been to a Boardsies meetup in quite a while :)
    So, tis the mercantile is it? the 10th october?

No, I will not be there
    candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Ill be there anyway, havent been to a Boardsies meetup in quite a while :)
    So, tis the mercantile is it? the 10th october?

No dates or venues confirmed yet! Date will be decided by this poll, and then we'll stick up another with the venue :)

Poll?

I'm dead now ain't I.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 dylanphelan

I posted here, but not quite getting the warm Irish welcome I expected :-)

(won't let me post URL)

So - I am heading over to Ireland for the first time in early September. I am a 34 year old guy from Cape Town, got an Irish passport a few years ago. I have a few cousins there and will be meeting up with them too.

I'm keen on meeting locals that'd like to have a few beers, maybe show me some of the local spots. I'm not that interested in overly commercial tourist spots.

I'm considering coming to live in Ireland next year, so I want to get to know the people, experience the culture etc...

I will have a car and will be travelling all over... I have 2, max 3 months to do this.

I enjoy a good pub crawl, scenic walks, food markets, wine.. maybe buy a bike and do some cycling.

Cheers :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Yes mint aero shall bestow all with the grace of his presence.

No autographs on the night.
    Royalty fees apply if I'm pictured.