Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The government asks for boards.ie advice regarding budget cuts

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

A leading doctor was on the radio i think two budgets ago saying the government could save a half a billion euro by switching the HSE's expensive brand medicines over to other cheaper generic ones that have the EXACT same effect on patients. This is half a billion saved per year. Did the government take his advice...of course not!

Nope!
    Though AFAIK, pharmaceuticals are amongst the greediest and most vicious lobbyists(sp?) around.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,109 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

- Hit pensioners and hit them hard.

Just kill everyone over 30.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Just kill everyone over 30.

Well atleast empty their pockets first.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

Nope!
    Though AFAIK, pharmaceuticals are amongst the greediest and most vicious lobbyists(sp?) around.

yes but the HSE choose what medicines to buy and what brands. and we all know that the HSE are not little trifty people who look after the hard earned tax payers pennies!
    of course it would require alot of training. To put it very simply it would be like shopping in Tesco instead of your usual Marks and Spencers. The saving that could be made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

yes but the HSE choose what medicines to buy and what brands. and we all know that the HSE are not little trifty people who look after the hard earned tax payers pennies!
    of course it would require alot of training. To put it very simply it would be like shopping in Tesco instead of your usual Marks and Spencers. The saving that could be made

What's wrong with shopping in M&S? The food is great and you don't have screaming kids running up and down the aisles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

remove all breaks for religion, make all religious income taxable and give them zero freebies, cuts or benefits - treat them like the big business they are

thatd save a bloody fortune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Tax everyone who works 30% on the first 50k and 60% on anything above that.

Reduce single person unemployment by €50.

Get rid of childrens allowance.<

Leave public pensions alone

Increase Corperation Tax by .5%(this will still leave us ahead of the game)

Public sector pay to be reduced by 5% on the first 50K and 12.5% on anything above.

Tax secondary pensions at 50%.

Get rid of seanad.

Sell Iarannrod Eireann,Bus Eireann.

Town councils axed

There you go......... If I was FG soundbite warrior I would say that will save us a gazillion dollars but in reality it would probably save 10bn

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

We should ban the Catholic church and kill and burn everyone who believs in a god because they are all stupid and retarted and sub-human and worse still the Catholic Church spreads hate and they belittle people and say they should burn in hell and say that certain groups are stupid, retarted and sub-human and people with this view should burn and be killed as THEY are stupid, retarted and sub-human.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Des Carter wrote: »
    We should ban the Catholic church and kill and burn everyone who believs in a god because they are all stupid and retarted and sub-human and worse still the Catholic Church spreads hate and they belittle people and say they should burn in hell and say that certain groups are stupid, retarted and sub-human and people with this view should burn and be killed as THEY are stupid, retarted and sub-human.
    Isn't hell a catholic only belief?
    If you believe in hell, then you would believe in heaven and a god. And as a believer then, would you too not be stupid retarded and sub-human?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Well not yet anyway, but things seem to be going that way. I mean, if they want advice from Kenny and Gilmore then what harm would it be to ask us, its not like we can do any worse. So what do you think should be cut in this budget?

My proposals are:

- Hit pensioners and hit them hard. More stricter means testing for the medical card. If you can afford medical care then you pay for it, simples.

- Introduce a similiar student loan system that operates in the UK, that is, the government loans you money for your courses fees and living expenses, and you start paying it back when you start earning over a certain amount. This is a fair and equitable system, theres no reason why it shouldn't be introduced here. This will replace the overly generous and wasteful grant system currently in place.

- Dole reduced to 150 euro. No faffing about taking 5 euro or so of it or any of that sh1te.

- Increase the income levy another 2%, we can all take the hit no worries.

- Also not really a budget measure, but there should be government collection boxes in every shop in the country, so that you can give your spare change to the government coffers, charity begins at home and all that.
    all ur suggestions are shite

phill106 wrote: »
    Isn't hell a catholic only belief?
    If you believe in hell, then you would believe in heaven and a god. And as a believer then, would you too not be stupid retarded and sub-human?

reading FAIL

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Des Carter wrote: »
    Helix wrote: »
    reading FAIL

Where is the fail if you don't mind?
    He says all those who believe in a god are all stupid and retarted and sub-human.
    While it is hard to make out with the lack of punctuation, he seems to say people with this view should burn and be killed as THEY are stupid, retarted and sub-human.
    If i am incorrect in my reading of this, it is not to due with my reading skills, but rather due to the effort of forcing my eyes to take in what appear to be words.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

you are both incorrect in that you were trolled.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Give each TD a 2001 Toyota Corolla (micras for the ladies) and some driving lessons. They get a fuel allowance (I don't know how they work, but let's say 20c/mile) and if you don't get your full license within a year you have to get the bus or cycle every day.

Fcuk the pensioners, means test everything.

Graduate tax.

Create jobs, invest in infrastructure. Fix the ancient pipes. extend the luas/ DART lines. Clean up parks. Maintain roads, rather than only fixing them when you have to.

Keep corporation tax low.

Do NOT raise VAT or fuel/alcohol prices. You'll drive people up North again.

Child benefit should be to help families who need it, not automatically given to everybody.

I'm just spitballing tbh, these could all be terrible ideas...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,394 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I think as a county we need to keep playing Euromillions.
    That or head to Vegas with what is left in the pensions reserve fund and throw it all on red.

phill106 wrote: »
    Where is the fail if you don't mind?
    He says all those who believe in a god are all stupid and retarted and sub-human.
    While it is hard to make out with the lack of punctuation, he seems to say people with this view should burn and be killed as THEY are stupid, retarted and sub-human.
    If i am incorrect in my reading of this, it is not to due with my reading skills, but rather due to the effort of forcing my eyes to take in what appear to be words.
    yeah your reading is incorrect

he never said they should burn in hell, he said that thats what they said

he simply said they should burn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

job creation - there's money to be made in energy. first wave of energy engineers to come out of college in he 2 years. people set up energy businesses, create jobs.

contrary to belief there is money to be spent by companies on energy technologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Just my two cents on the matter.

Aren't you the rich fecker boasting that you still have two cents that you can afford to throw away on AH. :mad: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

At the end of the day, "Energy Technology" is just just another buzz word.

We dont have the skills to design new stuff. We dont have a reputation for it, and Ireland is not competitive for manufacturing it.

Software is and was what should have been our safety net. But during the boom, people gave up IT degrees to become brick layers, and despite numerous promises, large scale broadband has still not been rolled out across the country, though it has gotten better.

Personally, I think it is too late, and we will lose alot more jobs to Eastern Europe, but if we can keep the companies we have, and attract a few more, we could stay afloat. With so many NAMA-fied office blocks we should be giving office space away for free to any company that moves here and employs people. No matter what the size. That and our corporation tax, and a few other small schemes would create jobs, would invite foreign investment, increase our tax take and start the recovery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

phasers wrote: »
    Give each TD a 2001 Toyota Corolla (micras for the ladies) and some driving lessons...
    There was TD on a local radio station (LMFM) today and he was tackled over the use of merc's, hired drivers and gardi on ever ready stand-by as escort duty. When asked "why don't ye use your own car?"
    His response was "well I don't think it would look right if I pulled up in a fiat Punto!"
    I was like "Say what!!!" :mad:

The country is on its knees and falling further and that overpaid sod was crying about how he looks in his car!
    Harney was on the radio too stating that because of high earners contracts, she can't make cuts there - so the health cuts that will have increasingly for the next four years, will have to come from direct patient care!

So to sum up - we truly are fcuked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

syklops wrote: »
    We dont have the skills to design new stuff. We dont have a reputation for it, and Ireland is not competitive for manufacturing it.
    There's a firm in Galway that designed a new tidal flow energy system, reputation means nothing, and nine of the top ten global exporters are developed countries with a similar cost base to ourselves. Software on the other hand can be done just as easily from India as Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

tell them to put me in charge - i can do things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Dickie Rock on Newstalk today said the government should save money by printing everything in English only.

Does anyone know how much money would be saved by ditching Irish language translations of government communications?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

i agree with the OP here.

and this standard 'create jobs' is the biggest cop out of rational argument ever. the basic idea is sound enough - but if it was as simple as just 'creating jobs' we'd be laughing...unfortunately, its just a tad more complicated than that

Uhm lower corporation tax and shortlist unemployed college graduates for overseas companies looking to relocate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Not that my opinion is worth a fcuk but here you go :-

Approximately 4% of people signing on for unemployment allowance found it impossible to get a job during the boom times. Sorry but this particular group deserve no money at all, food stamps for this lot I'm afraid.

The remaining approximate 10% of people receiving unemployment allowance/benefit should continue to receive assistance albeit at a reduced rate for single people. In general this group of people are productive members of society who happen to be going through very though times. They will provide for themselves again I actually think there are other benefits that should be tackled before reducing the rate of benefit for this group.

As somebody who got my first job through FAS many many years ago It hurts me to say it but FAS is so discredited now It needs replacing. Back to work schemes which encourage people to set up business while allowing them to receive benefits should be encouraged. Proper 3rd level education and up-skilling programs should be in place not useless FAS schemes and bogus certs. Adult college and up-skilling programs should be condensed and ran 12 months a year and not with the normal college timetable.

Rent Allowance - Should be scrapped there are enough empty house, apartments owned either by the council or the state available to house people. Homes under the control of NAMA should be included, the state has or will pay for them via taxpayers money. These state assets will not increase in value any time soon so using them now to house people and reducing rent allowance to zero (a burden on the taxpayer) would be a good intermediate use of these assets until such a time(if any) when the increase in value.

Slappers Single mother allowance/benefits :- Needs complete reform and maybe just scrap it and make abortion legal.

Healthcare - The HSE is a money pit. The administrative part of the HSE need to be completely stripped to the bone. I feel there are too many hospitals in the country and that should be tackled too but lets deal with this after the useless admin staff are gone.

TD's ;- There is too many of them, their wages and expenses need to be slashed.

Make illegal drugs legal - Extra tax revenue :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    Approximately 4% of people signing on for unemployment allowance found it impossible to get a job during the boom times. Sorry but this particular group deserve no money at all, food stamps for this lot I'm afraid.
    Long term unemployment during the boom hovered around 1% of the workforce there, including those on disability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Long term unemployment during the boom hovered around 1% of the workforce there, including those on disability.

Really was it that low? I was under the impression it was 4% and that was excluding illness benefit dealing with figures of those signing on. I'm sure that's what I read else where including on these forums, but I admit I could be wrong on the 4% figure.

Anyway like I said my opinion is not worth a fcuk.

Also I forgot to include reduce Maternity Benefit from 26 weeks to something much lower like 12 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

syklops wrote: »
    At the end of the day, "Energy Technology" is just just another buzz word.

Software is and was what should have been our safety net. But during the boom, people gave up IT degrees to become brick layers, and despite numerous promises, large scale broadband has still not been rolled out across the country, though it has gotten better.

Personally, I think it is too late, and we will lose alot more jobs to Eastern Europe, but if we can keep the companies we have, and attract a few more, we could stay afloat. With so many NAMA-fied office blocks we should be giving office space away for free to any company that moves here and employs people. No matter what the size. That and our corporation tax, and a few other small schemes would create jobs, would invite foreign investment, increase our tax take and start the recovery.

things don't need to be designed or anything, the technology is already there.

if a company sees that they will make their money back on an investments in 3 or 4 years they have no trouble splashing the cash.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

reduce the pension by 10%
    reduce social welfare by 5%
    cut child benfit to a flat rate of 100 per month no increse for second child ect
    legalise cannabis
    impose a 10% tax on gambling winnings
    (race tracks could be immune as not to damage tourism)

i say thats about 5 billion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Cut TD and minister salaries. 3x minimum wage for TDs, 5x for ministers.

Government pensions cut and only paid when TDs or ministers retire. One pension for TDs or ministers, and pensions only apply to the position held when retiring. TDs or ministers who leave public service before the retirement age get no government pension.

Sack all the useless managers in government offices, especially the HSE. Charge any public sector union bosses with treason if they call for strikes. Drastic changes need to be made and these overpaid jokers are threatening to collapse the country with frivolous strike action.

No more PR consultants for civil servants. Get rid of junior ministers and Seanad Éireann.

All government workers, TDs and ministers included, get free travel passes. Travel expenses are suspended. No more chauffeur driven Mercs.

Slash government spending on all non-essential services, including the military.

Tax the rich.

Send in CAB to seize assets belonging to the likes of FitzPatrick who think they can evade justice by signing all their wealth over to wives and children.

Go after the property developers and businessmen who took out these massive loans in the first place. Seize all properties owned by developers who owe money to the banks if they refuse to pay back their loans and use these properties for social housing.

Edit: Stop all contributions to the EU budget until our own country is stable.