Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail's Top 100 Strokes - Add Yours

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Imagine if the "Bertiebowl" got built :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Inverse to the power of one!

Maybe we should change the title of this thread to shooting fish in a barrel! :)

Sadly, and I hate to be the one to piss on the parade, but these things were known then and not addressed at the time.

Just as the warts of FG/Labour are known now and not addressed.

This is the curse of the nation :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

You could fill a book with all that's wrong with FF. Ubnfortunately the crowd we replaced them with aren't that much different, and never really have been.

But it's fair to say that FF deserve to rot on the opposition benches for ever more after what they've done, even if we have to replace them with the cast of Sesame Street. So many hateful characters you just wouldn't know where to begin (in Fianna Fail, not Sesame Street).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Maybe we should change the title of this thread to shooting fish in a barrel! :)

On behalf of all casket-bound fish everywhere, I object......what have we ever done to you that's comparable to FF's riding of you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Giving themselves pensions that defy the imagination in terms of their cost and their scope, giving themselves allowances that if given to anyone else would have revenue on their necks so fast it would be funny, paying themselves all manner of strange bonuses and special payments just for doing the job, and not doing it very well, and worst of all, for being so damn complacent about the fact that they've done it

Destroying local politics so that local councillors can achieve very little real change for anyone, effectively protecting the parish pump concept.

Cutting more and more from local authority budgets so that they can't do much for anyone any more.

straightjacketing the present politicians by setting up the recovery program with the IMF before they were booted out, in the hope that long memories will subside, and the country will hate FG/Labour by the time the next election comes round.

Doing whatever it took to make sure that the bondholders got repaid so that they could keep their personal gravy trains going.

Imposing things like Carbon taxes on things like heating oil without putting viable and acceptable alternatives in place that are actually usable.

Failing to bring engineers and architects for project like Priory Hall that were "signed off" without proper inspections and certification to book, they should be in Mountjoy for their failure to do the job they were paid for,=.

Failing to tackle monopolies like legal, medical and accountancy, all of which rip the system off without any fear of comeback or examination.

Failure to tackle the major unions and allowing them to line their pockets without any fear of investigation or comeback.

Failure to look even a short distance beyond the next election, even when issues that needed long term planning were being discussed.

Failure to be honest at even a basic level.

Making the brown envelope and unvouched expenses cultures acceptable at the highest levels.

Doing it in such a way that they were admired when they got found out. I will always remember a Joe Duffy interview on the Gay Byrne show, where a local resident of Ballymun commented "wasn't he a cure hoor for getting away with it for as long as he did". The grudging admiration for a master stroke player was clear for all to see, and it sums up so much of what's wrong and flawed with Irish Politcics and Irish Political life.

If Taxi Drivers with certain convictions have to go before the courts to keep their licence, perhaps we should introduce licences for potential TD's with equally stringent restrictions. That way, some of the more blatant rule benders and breakers would not even be on the ballot paper, regardless of if they are standing for a party, or newly "independent".

The biggest stroke?
    Somehow persuading the country that "the recession will only be a short one, and the property market will have a soft landing", and doing it in a way that they were believed by a lot of people and companies, who are now left with the damage from believing them, while the PS, semi states and politicians are still living in a lot more comfort than the majority of the people they are/were supposed to be serving.

The more I think about it, the more I despise them, and the system that allowed them to get away with it, and even worse, that has no means to make them pay in any way for what they've done to the country.

Every one of them can retire without a moments thought about their future security or finances, way before the official retiring age, they've more than gold plated their positions, to the detriment and suffering of just about the entire nation for the next 2 or 3 generations.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Privatisation of Eircom and allowing it to be asset stripped 3 times so that it's over 4bn in debt and our broadband infrastructure is a shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Parachuting 182 cronies into state boards in their last days in office is a personal favourite

If you want to go old school you could talk about DeValera spending some months (years?) travelling around America to raise funds for the new state, only to come back home and set up a newspaper for himself and his family out of the proceeds. Also check these figures
    • 38,300,000,000 – Ireland’s national debt in September 2004, in euro, when Cowen became Minister for Finance.
    • 41,100,000,000 - Ireland’s national debt in May 2008, in euro, when Cowen became Taoiseach.
    • 95,851,000,000 - Ireland’s national debt, in euro, when FF left government

What a cheery thread, a great bunch of lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What do you want in this country???? can't you see that all political parties on our isle run to the sane agenda. It's time for a change, many may not like it but its time, democracy in my mind should be similar to free speech not absolute.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Xenophile

This thread should come in useful to young journalists in advance of the next General Election, who are too young to remember the havoc caused by having FF in power well past their sell by date. Oh yes bye the way the money spent building the N9 was a vanity project pushed all the way by ex Minister Martin Cullen.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

The giveaway manifesto of 1977 and the economic crisis it led to in the 1980's.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Upward only rent reviews.

Really? What feckin eejit thought that would be a good idea?

Xenophile wrote: »
    Breaking the fabric of rural Ireland, closing Post Offices, Garda Stations, the local pub........anyone over the age of 50 should be allowed to drive home after three pints on a deserted country road. Lazy laws one size fits all.

Great to hear Pat Spillane on the Radio Wide "Country Wide") this morning (Sat Feb.4th.) talking about the demise of rural Ireland. He spoke about people living up the side of a mountain........isolation etc,etc.

How many drivers over the age of 50 died in road accidents on R roads between 11pm. and 4 am. last year?

Interesting to see these figures. Mental health due to isolation, lonliness etc. should get more attention if we want to keep communities alive.

Lazy law makes bad law.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    If she was a capable competent person then so what if she was obese. Nobody else in cabinet wanted the department that Brian Cowen described as Angola. She showed some courage in asking for the post.

Would you not like to see a wheelchair bound person as minister for sport? Or someone who does not own land as minister for agriculture?

If someone is competent to do a job does their appearance matter?

Is this some type of joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Everybody makes mistakes, FF are still the best of a bad lot as a party ,.

No, they're not. they effed up the country, the people demand better.

How come some still live in cloud cookoo land?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭dinorebel

lastlaugh wrote: »
    3. Opening the floodgates and letting lots of foreign people onto our native shores
    Then being unable to close them as the natives rushed out.

dinorebel wrote: »
    lastlaugh wrote: »
    3. Opening the floodgates and letting lots of foreign people onto our native shores
    Then being unable to close them as the natives rushed out.

And deny them their "lifestyle choice" ? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Well in fairness you did post that FF had "overseen" the bubble, which - given their mismanagement - is as ridiculous a comment as it gets.

In fairness Liam, I posted no such thing. Can you point out where I posted that like a good chap?
    McEnroe's comment was "you cannot be serious" and bears no resemblance.

"You cannot be serious" & "Are you actually serious" are essentially the same thing. Someone expressing incredulity at something said or done.
    And as I said "haters gonna hate" is as clichéd and unfunny as "blast them with piss" or "yore ma" - mildly funny 10 years ago when it was original, but yawn-inducing now.

I see sarcasm is lost on you.

Now you can get back to this yawn inducing topic.

lastlaugh wrote:
    In fairness Liam, I posted no such thing. Can you point out where I posted that like a good chap?

Sorry - "in response" to, and you quoted the person who pointed out the problem with FF.

If your "haters gonna hate" was merely unoriginal sarcasm towards those who ignore the valid criticisms towards FF, then I apologise for missing that subtlety - it's probably because decent people's concerns are being dismissed by that sickening organisation and their successors.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Bringing back the rotten Beverly Cooper Flynn to boost their numbers. Even though she was tainted with suspicion of tax avoidance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

While most of the deplorable actions of this human garbage have already been mentioned, I feel it would be unfair to let the thread go by without a special commendation for GV Wright.

For those who might not be aware, he's the appalling cnut who mowed down a nurse while drink-driving, breaking her leg in several places, leaving her with a permanent limp, and then fled the scene.

He was fined €900.:mad:

Peter B wrote: »
    Upward only rent reviews.

Really? What feckin eejit thought that would be a good idea?

The property owners and landlords that were funding Fianna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Raphael Patrick Burke, the others that followed were just mere apprentices

Burke was the master

And brown envelope became a normal phrase you'd hear around Ireland

Department of Justice did nothing at all over him
    It was left to Revenue who got him over tax returns. Sometimes it seems Revenue is the only reliable government body we have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

You have to blame the idiots who kept voting them back in.
    Far too many uninformed voters. There should be a Fás course that explains the polices of each party that everyone must attend before voting in a general election
    Yea, but policies don't mean jack s**t once they get into office as we've just seen....

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Doing nothing to end 30 years of conflict in the north....oh wait
    It took a hell of a lot more than a few strokes from bertie & his fellow travellers to end 30 years of conflict in northern Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

gerryo777 wrote: »
    It took a hell of a lot more than a few strokes from bertie & his fellow travellers to end 30 years of conflict in northern Ireland.

Bertie gets too much credit there. It was Reynolds who did most of the work and bertie rode the coattails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Berties idea of negotiation is sit back and give in to every demand
    And then claim he was successful and everyone was happy. Well of course they were happy

He did it with the social partners for years when instead a bit of leadership was required

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Berties idea of negotiation is sit back and give in to every demand
    And then claim he was successful and everyone was happy. Well of course they were happy

He did it with the social partners for years when instead a bit of leadership was required
    It's called being a spineless cnut.

gerryo777 wrote: »
    It's called being a spineless cnut.

It's called buying votes. And very effective it was while the cheap credit was flowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Xenophile wrote: »
    Breaking the fabric of rural Ireland, closing Post Offices, Garda Stations, the local pub........anyone over the age of 50 should be allowed to drive home after three pints on a deserted country road. Lazy laws one size fits all.

What stupidity.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    What stupidity.

In addition to what I posted as you quoted, I invite you to read my later post, posted this morning after listening to Pat Spillane on RTE's "Country Wide" programme. Maybe you will be able to stretch your reply beyond two words without getting yourself banned.