Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

GAA Jerseys 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

With thanks to WesternZulu I think perhaps we can start the new thread now that we have our first confirmed look at a possible 2015 shirt.

http://www.thescore.ie/2015-mayo-gaa-jersey-1726948-Oct2014/

Here we go, 1 A the best? What happened 1 C ??

1A_zps5c7d8e54.jpg

1B_zps876500ac.jpg

1D_zpsd7d9db9e.jpg

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Here we go, 1 A the best? What happened 1 C ??

1A_zps5c7d8e54.jpg

1B_zps876500ac.jpg

1D_zpsd7d9db9e.jpg

C is for "Curse" so we don't want that! :p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭deadybai

I like the white but I would prefer a mixture of 1a and 1c. 1a is just a bit boring for me. If I had to chose one id go with 1d. Too much going on with 1b. It would be nicer if it didnt have the stripes on the sleeve.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

B1OEnv0IYAEhepb.jpg:large

B1OHbpICIAAOoJ4.jpg:large

B1OOSuIIQAEv4YO.jpg:large

• Registered Users Posts: 10,822 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I thought the point of allowing sponsors on the back of jerseys was to help smaller counties in particular to increase ad revenue by getting a second sponsor? If they're just using it to double the amount of mentions of the initial sponsor, doesn't it defeat the purpose, and basically turn the players into billboards (I mean, even moreso)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭deadybai

Wtf is the monstrosity on the back? The front isn't too bad

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

I thought the point of allowing sponsors on the back of jerseys was to help smaller counties in particular to increase ad revenue by getting a second sponsor? If they're just using it to double the amount of mentions of the initial sponsor, doesn't it defeat the purpose, and basically turn the players into billboards (I mean, even moreso)

I would imagine Kildare asked for more money to allow them on front and back.

is it black or purple on the back? looks awful anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 18,921 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I was about to comment on what a lovely Jersey that it was... Then I saw the back. Fuppin' hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭InterestedK

Kildare jersey would be a lovely jersey if it wasn't for the 'Brady Family' on the back. Particularly like the 2 thin stripes across the chest!

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭billy100

nice jersey

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭billy100

1b on the Mayo jersey

Mayo jersey being launched tomorrow night. You'd have thought it would have been leaked by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

New Roscommon shirt being launched in a few weeks, apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭henke

Standard enough O'Neills jersey.
    B18a9qHIcAE-qgv.jpg
    B18a9qcIEAA4nI2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

The new jersey doesn't look like any of the 3 on show earlier in the month? Maybe its the missing 1C :pac:

http://mayoclub51.com/new-mayo-jersey-2015-announced/

New Cáirde ticket launched too tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭denishurley

Ah it's pretty much 1A, isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭henke

Ah it's pretty much 1A, isn't it?

Pretty much. The stripes on the shoulder are different and I suppose the hoop has a bit of a different shape but I'd say its based on 1A alright.

Was hoping for some white in it. Plus I wish they'd return to the lighter, more emerald green. Still nicer than the last few.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭thesultan

Why don't O'Neills do a continuous hoop. Their jersey on the Tipp and Mayo are very poor

thesultan wrote: »
    Why don't O'Neills do a continuous hoop. Their jersey on the Tipp and Mayo are very poor

they do on club jerseys
    obviously someone in the design department has decided full hoops are not in fashion for county teams

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

To a certain extent, it would be nice for counties to go back to the old arrangements of colours on their shirts, while still retaining sponsorship. So in Mayo's case, the big red hoop on it, rather than the green with red trimmings. A lot of other counties have lost their hoops and gone for a different arrangement of colours, leading them to be more like arrangements of other counties. Fair enough, the modern shirts are a bit more stylish, so more likely to get fans to buy them, but having a bit of tradition is great too.

It is great to see people wearing their county colours now. It is not that long ago that most people came to matches in civvies and you had to look at their old crepe cap or rosette to see who they were following, as that was the most anyone wore, if anything at all. Nowadays you can spot people's loyalties easy, and it is good for starting up a chat with people before, during or after a match. You'll even see neutrals wearing their colours.

I do it myself, wearing my Dublin shirt to matches that we are not playing in, which often creates a bit of craic. Mayo and Kerry played in the first semi-final this year. I went to it, wearing my Dublin shirt. As I was going into my section, one of the stewards said "You're a week early" and it was followed up by "You are usually 15 minutes late." :)

Last year I was going into the Mayo and Tyrone semi-final, which was also a week before our semi-final. The famous P. Flynn no less, and a few of his friends were walking along Jones Road and I as I was going past them, they made a similar kind of comment about it being the wrong day for a Dub to be there. I turned and replied "Well, I have to see who we are going to beat in the final." They laughed with a sort of "You cocky so and so" tone to it. :)

Getting back to shirts generally, there is naturally the whole marketing thing of getting people to buy the latest shirt and some people fall into the trap, renewing every year. The Arnotts shirts that we had were nice. The Vodafone ones with that red spot were awful, so I never bought any of them and stuck with my nice Arnotts one. The AIG ones are nice, so I did buy one of them. If you live in or are visiting Dublin, the O'Neills shop, around 5 minutes walk from the Kylemore Luas stop is well worth a visit. They usually have good value. They do a wide range of accessories. I got a great back pack there when I got the AIG shirt. I am still finding extra pockets in it. :)

Flukey wrote: »
    To a certain extent, it would be nice for counties to go back to the old arrangements of colours on their shirts, while still retaining sponsorship. So in Mayo's case, the big red hoop on it, rather than the green with red trimmings. A lot of other counties have lost their hoops and gone for a different arrangement of colours, leading them to be more like arrangements of other counties. Fair enough, the modern shirts are a bit more stylish, so more likely to get fans to buy them, but having a bit of tradition is great too.

It is great to see people wearing their county colours now. It is not that long ago that most people came to matches in civvies and you had to look at their old crepe cap or rosette to see who they were following, as that was the most anyone wore, if anything at all. Nowadays you can spot people's loyalties easy, and it is good for starting up a chat with people before, during or after a match. You'll even see neutrals wearing their colours.

I do it myself, wearing my Dublin shirt to matches that we are not playing in, which often creates a bit of craic. Mayo and Kerry played in the first semi-final this year. I went to it, wearing my Dublin shirt. As I was going into my section, one of the stewards said "You're a week early" and it was followed up by "You are usually 15 minutes late." :)

Last year I was going into the Mayo and Tyrone semi-final, which was also a week before our semi-final. The famous P. Flynn no less, and a few of his friends were walking along Jones Road and I as I was going past them, they made a similar kind of comment about it being the wrong day for a Dub to be there. I turned and replied "Well, I have to see who we are going to beat in the final." They laughed with a sort of "You cocky so and so" tone to it. :)

Getting back to shirts generally, there is naturally the whole marketing thing of getting people to buy the latest shirt and some people fall into the trap, renewing every year. The Arnotts shirts that we had were nice. The Vodafone ones with that red spot were awful, so I never bought any of them and stuck with my nice Arnotts one. The AIG ones are nice, so I did buy one of them. If you live in or are visiting Dublin, the O'Neills shop, around 5 minutes walk from the Kylemore Luas stop is well worth a visit. They usually have good value. They do a wide range of accessories. I got a great back pack there when I got the AIG shirt. I am still finding extra pockets in it. :)

The O'Neills store in Belfast is far better

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Are you a secret Mayo fan by any chance? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

Mayo jersey is very nice, best Westy kit I've seen.

As for the Kildare jersey - Holy cow, that is one ugly set of threads. I would be embarassed wearing that out onto a pitch or anywhere else for that matter. Is this how financially pressed the Kildare board is? I know they did some great work building their training centre but surely there is still a place for dignity in sport?

There's something about an all white kit that captures your eye but they've completely lost that this year. Honestly, the Brady Bunch...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,822 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I just thanked you for the Brady bunch comment, brilliant. Jersey isn't great bit it isn't terrible.

Well...the back is terrible...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

The Kildare jersey is said to have been a one off for a number of trial challenge matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

The Kildare jersey is said to have been a one off for a number of trial challenge matches.

Strange having the same Sponsor on the front and back for a few trail games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

good story that about you meeting p flynn, a bit ironic in him calling you a cocky so and so especially as he was quite sure of himself ! like the mayo shirt, more traditional with the hoop, who knows might bring ye the bit of luck to win sam, it would look better with the continuous hoop

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

like the mayo shirt, more traditional with the hoop, who knows might bring ye the bit of luck to win sam, it would look better with the continuous hoop

The hoop hasn't worked for the best part of 60 years.

I think the way to go is to just replace the red with gold...seems to work wonders for Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

I wonder what jerseys won't change for 2015 for Christmas gift purposes!