Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Buying a used car in Ireland guide

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

I am (reluctantly) selling my car and just wondered if I could get a bit of advice on price etc. Its a 2004 Renault Megane 1.4 Dynamique. I bought it in 2007, so it was only 3 years old then with one previous female owner and the mileage was very low when I bought (can't quite remember what it was though). It is now at 34250 miles, so still very low for a 2004 car! I really only use for town driving/work etc.
    I had a good bit of servicing done on it this year, timing belt, water pump and starter motor. Car is in pretty good condition externally, apart from a few scratches and there is a very small dent in back passenger door where someone tipped off it in a car park! I haven't had the cash to get it repaired.
    What do you think I could ask for it? what is the lowest I should accept? NCT is Jan 2014.

Don't want to sell it, but need to cut back on costs and just go back to a 1 car sharing with husband. No kids yet, so we will manage for now! Any advice appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Put it up for 3250 and see how it goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    I am (reluctantly) selling my car and just wondered if I could get a bit of advice on price etc. Its a 2004 Renault Megane 1.4 Dynamique. I bought it in 2007, so it was only 3 years old then with one previous female owner and the mileage was very low when I bought (can't quite remember what it was though). It is now at 34250 miles, so still very low for a 2004 car! I really only use for town driving/work etc.
    I had a good bit of servicing done on it this year, timing belt, water pump and starter motor. Car is in pretty good condition externally, apart from a few scratches and there is a very small dent in back passenger door where someone tipped off it in a car park! I haven't had the cash to get it repaired.
    What do you think I could ask for it? what is the lowest I should accept? NCT is Jan 2014.

Don't want to sell it, but need to cut back on costs and just go back to a 1 car sharing with husband. No kids yet, so we will manage for now! Any advice appreciated.
    Saloon will sell for 2250
    5 door 2750

3250 is way too strong for a 9 year old Megane, regardless of miles.

oregano wrote: »
    Saloon will sell for 2250
    5 door 2750

3250 is way too strong for a 9 year old Megane, regardless of miles.

Nah, its still a 04 car with low miles. The lower the you ask the lower you get, not a huge difference between 2750 and 3250.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

Hi, looking for some advice. GF looking for a petrol focus. 1.4 and with 5 doors, black if possible.

If the engine good, MPG and what should we expect to pay for a 07.

Lastly, would it be worth thte extra to get the newer model (08) I think? I knoe tax might be cheaper, but otherwise is there any good reason to go for the 08.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Nah, its still a 04 car with low miles. The lower the you ask the lower you get, not a huge difference between 2750 and 3250.

thanks for your advice. I did put it up for €3k, so do you think I should up it a little & then my bottom line could be €3k?

Always ask a little more than you want, but if its already up for 3k leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

In the market for a car with a budget of about 5k, possibly stretch to 6k. Want something reasonably fun to drive and with enough room for a wife and kids :pac: Just had to give back my Audi A4 (availing of the half-way rule) so kinda want to keep to a car of decent quality if possible, prob asking a lot though with my budget. Anyway, been considering the RX8 as I like the look of them and seem to sell cheap enough - has anyone here got any experience of them? I read Mazda had to do a recall of cars around 2004-2006 due to some engine issues so I need to consider that while shopping about, especially considering thats the year range my budget falls into.

If it's for the fun factor, you'll be hard bet with the Rx-8. bought one myself back during the summer. I'm sure you've heard the horror about the fuel economy and the oil consumption. Whereas the fuel economy is quite bad (mine goes between 14-22mpg, depending how I drive it) so if that was a concern to you, then you should avoid it! The oil consumption isn't nearly as bad as some people make out. There's also a few maintenacne costs involved with it too. If you're fairly serious about lookin at buying one, the guys at http://www.irishrotary.com/forum/phpBB3/index.php will give ya some advice! Or you could just gawk at some of the pretty cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

A mate was looking at a 05 Kia on Donedeal a few days back, but the mobile wasn't working, and then the ad was changed to sold and relisted with different phone # and name. I rang the new number today and the guy started gettin pissed off at a few basic questions, didn't want to give out address to meet later etc. So after an easy 5 mins conversation he flipped out and said not to drop out "you'll only wreck me head" . Total wackjob.

I do remember some posts on here about some ignoramus selling cars from a car park - seems to match the description :-)
    What's the deal with these guys, stolen or major problems on the car? Price and spec on the car was ok.

I am showing the car to a guy on Saturday! he seems quite interested & is coming from Cork, so fingers crossed I'll get at least the €3k for it! As he's not from my area, I hope he won't mind if I pick maybe an easy place to meet him on his way into town, like Topaz garage? it wouldn't be easy for him to find my house, so was going to just suggest Topaz...at least there is CCTV if any problems!

• Site Banned Posts: 24 Seaney86

A mate was looking at a 05 Kia on Donedeal a few days back, but the mobile wasn't working, and then the ad was changed to sold and relisted with different phone # and name. I rang the new number today and the guy started gettin pissed off at a few basic questions, didn't want to give out address to meet later etc. So after an easy 5 mins conversation he flipped out and said not to drop out "you'll only wreck me head" . Total wackjob.

I do remember some posts on here about some ignoramus selling cars from a car park - seems to match the description :-)
    What's the deal with these guys, stolen or major problems on the car? Price and spec on the car was ok.

There really are some ignorant people out there selling cars. You would swear your torturing them with a few simple questions.

On the flip side though ive sold alot of cars over the years and you wouldnt believe some of the tortures who ring asking the stupidist of questions. I always try and stay relaxed but sometimes you can tell there just wasting your time.

Try him again and see what he says, might of been having a bad day just.

I am showing the car to a guy on Saturday! he seems quite interested & is coming from Cork, so fingers crossed I'll get at least the €3k for it! As he's not from my area, I hope he won't mind if I pick maybe an easy place to meet him on his way into town, like Topaz garage? it wouldn't be easy for him to find my house, so was going to just suggest Topaz...at least there is CCTV if any problems!

It wouldnt bother me but alot of people are very suspect about this. My house is fairly difficult to find aswell so I usually ask people to meet me in the town and then if there interested I'll take them out to my house then.

Just reassure the person thats why you want to meet them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Seaney86 wrote: »
    There really are some ignorant people out there selling cars. You would swear your torturing them with a few simple questions.

On the flip side though ive sold alot of cars over the years and you wouldnt believe some of the tortures who ring asking the stupidist of questions. I always try and stay relaxed but sometimes you can tell there just wasting your time.

Try him again and see what he says, might of been having a bad day just.
    No need, mate got sorted with a decent car from a real nice chap last night, no shortage of cars so no need to give cash to tossers.

Happy days, glad you got sorted!

• Registered Users Posts: 32 tophat

Hi all, looking at a Megane 2ltr 2008 ,diesel 75K miles, from a dealer, and he's asking €5800. I've always driven VW up to this but the offer is tempting price wise, but what are these cars like reliability wise, mpg etc.

That sounds a bit too cheap to me. You should really do a history check on it due to the amount of uk cars coming oover here damaged and clocked and being flogged off.

tophat wrote: »
    Hi all, looking at a Megane 2ltr 2008 ,diesel 75K miles, from a dealer, and he's asking €5800. I've always driven VW up to this but the offer is tempting price wise, but what are these cars like reliability wise, mpg etc.

I've had a Megane for the past 5 years (its a 2004) and I love it. I am selling mine, but only as I can't afford to run a car right now. As far as problems, I really only have had a few problems with it this year! I had to get the starter motor replaced and then the water pump, they did the timing belt then too as it hadn't been done yet. I've been lucky as it is almost 9 years old and I only had those issues this year! Seems a good price for a 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

My house is fairly difficult to find aswell so I usually ask people to meet me in the town.
    I usually ask for the address and rarely get it from the seller. I will never understand why. Then the basics - why not give full coordinates to the buyer, so he can find the place without any bother?

It wouldnt bother me but alot of people are very suspect about this. My house is fairly difficult to find aswell so I usually ask people to meet me in the town and then if there interested I'll take them out to my house then.

Just reassure the person thats why you want to meet them there.

yeah that's what I would do. I kind of feel like I wouldn't want people knowing where I live anyway, you don't know who you are dealing with!

As it turned out, the guy didn't get back to me to arrange when he would be in town etc, so he must have found something else in the meantime. Hopefully someone will be interested after Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

From experience of selling my cars, 90% of people who say they'll show up don't. Now I don't move until they ring saying they're outside.

Confab wrote: »
    From experience of selling my cars, 90% of people who say they'll show up don't. Now I don't move until they ring saying they're outside.

I'd be of the same mind set.

That said, the two people who came to view the Jag actually turned up, and I had left to go somewhere both times and had to come back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 angelolil1

hye.i am glad i stumbled upon this thread. i need advice on this car. a mini one 2003 with 103000miles going for E3995.previous 2 owners.
    is the price reasonable for that car spec?

angelolil1 wrote: »
    hye.i am glad i stumbled upon this thread. i need advice on this car. a mini one 2003 with 103000miles going for E3995.previous 2 owners.
    is the price reasonable for that car spec?

Spec being the basic one.

I think the early Minis had a few expense problems, might have been the power steering pump.

The last 02 Mini in was in was perfect, had over 150 on it and drove like it was new, just the buttons for the windows etc. Were loose.

I would imagine if you Google Irish Mini forum (make sure it caters for the new Minis), register and ask on their it could very well be worth your while.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

Looking to buy my first car. What do you think of a car like this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4273467 (1996 corolla 3dr Hatchback 1.3)
    Looks clean to me, i like it except maybe for being red.
    Any opinions ? Just how bad would insurance be any ideas ? 19 year old male provosional ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

pockets3d wrote: »
    Looking to buy my first car. What do you think of a car like this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4273467 (1996 corolla 3dr Hatchback 1.3)
    Looks clean to me, i like it except maybe for being red.
    Any opinions ? Just how bad would insurance be any ideas ? 19 year old male provosional ?

Not worth more than 4 or 500 hundred quid imo

Well according to AA online insurance want 4k odd a year to cover it ha

Buy a 1.0 and drive it for a year. You have to do this, everything about it will be cheaper and you're better off learning in it. When you have a years no claims under your belt and your test passed then you buy a 1.3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

some insurance quotes are pure chancing the arm though. I was quoted 2 grand to insure a car and insured it for less than 400 the same day with someone else.

Yeah Chill insurance is offering me 2000 and if i rang them itd would probably be less again apparently. Hard to find any 1.0 or 1.1 cars except micras and 206's.

Any other ideas for small cheap cars?

Perhaps a 205 GTI :pac ??

Yeah Chill insurance is offering me 2000 and if i rang them itd would probably be less again apparently. Hard to find any 1.0 or 1.1 cars except micras and 206's.

Any other ideas for small cheap cars?

Perhaps a 205 GTI :pac ??

Get onto a insuance broker try firstireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

I am trading a 2008 passat with 100000miles. basic model. needs timing belt, dual mass flywheel and prob clutch done soon.

I am closing in on a 2011 mondeo zetec 2.0 hatchback. 50000 miles. uk import.

I have got him down to 9750 with the passat. Not sure he'll budge much more... is a cash deal worth anything to these lads?

All depends if you can sell your Passat on privately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

All depends if you can sell your Passat on privately.

No I am trading the Passat directly against the Mondeo.

Cash no good so?

I don't get what you mean by cash you're going to be paying him 9750 whether it be cash, cheque, draft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

anyone ever bought a used car from 3 Rock motors on naas rd? Googling them seems to show nothing apart from their own website....

fungun wrote: »
    anyone ever bought a used car from 3 Rock motors on naas rd? Googling them seems to show nothing apart from their own website....

I've always been warned about buying from a naas raod garage they all seem to be known as dodgy for some reason,bring a mechanic for peace of mind is my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

If anyone in Dublin needs the number of a mechanic who will test a car for you before buying, please pm me. He charges €50/€60 depending on whereabouts the car is. (He's based in Swords).

Well worth the fee if you're like me and know nothing about cars! ;)

If anyone in Dublin needs the number of a mechanic who will test a car for you before buying, please pm me. He charges €50/€60 depending on whereabouts the car is. (He's based in Swords).

Well worth the fee if you're like me and know nothing about cars! ;)

Pm me his number please,whats his experience like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,569 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Currently looking at buying a new car. The one I'm looking at is a 2003 Cooper S with 80k on the clock, advertised at €5.5k.

Clutch will be replaced before I buy and so will the release bearing. At that mileage should I be looking at replacing the timing chain also?

Timing chains to me are something that you don't fix unless they're broken.

Once the car has been maintained properly it shouldn't need to be chnaged for a lot longer that 65k.

Might be worthwhile ringing a Mini Specialist and asking them about things to look out for on early Cooper S models.

Owen on here (I think) is very knowledgeable on Mini's and it might be worthwhile to PM him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Chain should last the life of those engines. Nice cars.
    Powersteering pumps were shortlived on the early MINIs. Her's has been fine since we got it bought the car so maybe there was a change to the design of the replacement parts. Don't know if there are any warning signs or symptoms of a pump about to pack it in. On the best of days the electro-hydraulic system they use sounds like a cranky cat, so don't be put off by that sort of sound.

The Cooper S has a different gearbox to the standard Coopers and Ones. It shouldn't give the same issues that the standard cooper and one gearboxes had for the first few years of manufacture.

Window motors (especially the passenger one) might be suspect at this stage. Airbag connectors under the seat aren't great in some production runs - you'll live with it I suppose if the car is what you want otherwise.

Auxiliary belt (fan belt) drives the supercharger - there's a good chance belt or tensioner or both could need doing at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 s_dev

Thanks sound advice

Cheers lads, I'd had a look for some old threads here and over on miniclub so knew there was a few things to look out for such as the fuel pump, steering column, Body Control Module and the airbag connectors etc

RE: The Supercharger belt, were it to come to light that it needed to be replaced what kind of price range would you estimate it at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Frisbee wrote: »
    RE: The Supercharger belt, were it to come to light that it needed to be replaced what kind of price range would you estimate it at?
    Dunno - Can't recall how much it was to get tensioner + belt for her non supercharged cooper. Supercharged version has a different tensioner and possibly even tighter space to work in so maybe some dismantling to get belt out and in?

Had a look about online and it doesn't seem to be extortionate if it does become an issue.

Now (last one I swear and cheers for the patience) one final question. More on car buying etiquette than anything. I'm buying this from a relatively small dealership. The guy was completely up front regarding one or two issues the car has and offered them to me without me asking and let me know fixing them will be included in the price.

If I were to ask could I bring a mechanic along to have a look at it before I took the plunge would they be offended? I know it's perfectly fine and strongly recommended if buying privately, but is it ok if buying from a dealership?

Frisbee wrote: »
    Had a look about online and it doesn't seem to be extortionate if it does become an issue.

Now (last one I swear and cheers for the patience) one final question. More on car buying etiquette than anything. I'm buying this from a relatively small dealership. The guy was completely up front regarding one or two issues the car has and offered them to me without me asking and let me know fixing them will be included in the price.

If I were to ask could I bring a mechanic along to have a look at it before I took the plunge would they be offended? I know it's perfectly fine and strongly recommended if buying privately, but is it ok if buying from a dealership?

Better safe than sorry imo.

If he's a mechanic himself he might get snotty, but if the car is fine he shouldn't have to.

The dealership is attached to a mechanics shop under the same name so there is a mechanic who works there which was what was making me think they might not take too kindly to me asking could I bring my own along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Supertoucher

You can but ask. They may get snotty, obviously particularly if they have something to hide. But the end of the day business is business and you aren't there to make friends.

Saying that, you don't want to upset them too much or it may affect the purchasing process should you choose to proceed.

Could be could be could be.

Just ring and ask.