Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Larbre34 wrote: »
    0-100 in 8.8 secs and a top whack of 230. Better, but it still wont keep up with a stolen M-beemer or S/RS Audi.

Fair point BUT

Some positives

They actually specifically purchased cars specifically for traffic - and actually specifically speccing up the 195 ps model is a definite step in the right direction.

Its still going to be a much more capable car then a 1.6 i30.

So overall it all looks very positive unless theres some issue with the Insignias capability im not aware

Yes there might have been some interesting options if they had gone Skoda - Superb 1.8 tsi and 2.0 tdi 170 are apparently quoted as having a quicker 0 to 60 then the Insignia.

And theres the Vrs Octavias as well.

but its still good news that 195 ps Insignias were bought imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

Great pictures EireGun, I am just wondering why AGS feel they need to test a BMW X5, when RSU in Anglesea Street already have one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

kub wrote: »
    Great pictures EireGun, I am just wondering why AGS feel they need to test a BMW X5, when RSU in Anglesea Street already have one?

Different models and the test one may be police spec, the one used by RSU was confiscated by CAB

Why is that I just can't ever see AGS buying BMW ' S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Different models and the test one may be police spec, the one used by RSU was confiscated by CAB

Isn't the cork one bullet proof or armoured or something, I'd bet that'd change how it drives , isn't it getting on a bit too ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Why is that I just can't ever see AGS buying BMW ' S.

Because they already have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

The RSU fleet of 30 Volvo XC70 vehicles, which were purchased in 2008 and 2009, needs to be replaced. I'm not sure what the RSU is down to now, but of those original 30 vehicles bought, a number have been crashed and written off. Most have been replaced in some shape or form. The armor-plated BMW X5 in Cork is a 2005 model, and it must have enormous milage on it now. It was used by Limerick criminals before being confiscated by CAB (along with other armoured BMWs), and then handed over to the Special Detective Unit. It was used by the Emergency Response Unit for a few years, before being marked-up and shipped back down to Cork where it replaced a written off Volvo, and has remained there in service with Cork City RSU for 2 or 3 years now.

The Gardaí have recently purchased 4 USED 2012 Volvo V70 T5 for the RSU units to replace some obsolete XC70's. The used Vovlo V70s are former Thames Valley Police Armed Response Unit vehicles (aru/ARV), which were replaced after 100,000 miles. Thames Valley ARV have now a new fleet of BMW 5 Series, Touring and X5's. It's safe to say in the UK or other EU police forces, the RSU vehicles - a lot of which are over 300,000km now - would have been replaced a few years ago with similar or better modified police vehicles, which would by now probably have been replaced again. Thames Valley ARVs bought in 2012 were replaced by the end of 2014 - that's just 2 years - while Garda RSU vehicles bought in 2008 still haven't been replaced in 2015, 7 years later.

The entire Garda RSU fleet needs to be upgraded. All their vehicles are at least 6 or 7 years old. BMW 5 Series/Touring or similar Volvos would probably be best suited as replacements. The BMW X5 would also be a good option. The RSU drivers are, however, used to driving Volvos. The increasing importance of the RSU role nationwide, who are now armed 24/7, with at least 24 members in each of the 5 regions outside of Dublin (120+ in all) should surely be recognised by Garda management and the Government and keep them well equipped and up-to-date. As far as I know, €30 million was spent on equipment/vehicles for the RSU when it was founded. Even half that figure now would go a long way to replacing the RSU fleet, with purchasing a bulk order of special police BMWs or Volvos. High-powered police spec cars are needed for this role, no ordinary vehicles can carry out this task.

The Traffic Corps are getting a new fleet of vehicles this January. €10 Million is being spent on new Garda vehicles, many of them going to Traffic.

265 liveried cars (marked-up) are being bought, comprising; 160 Hyundai i40 Estates, 85 Hyundai i30 Estates and 20 Opel Insignia Sports Tourer-Traffic.
    As well as this; 80 unmarked cars including; 50 Hyundai i40 Saloons and 30 Ford Focus Saloons. Another 25 unmarked vans (Ford Transit, I think) have also been bought. Not all for the Traffic Corps, though.

Its unlikely we will see the Traffic Corps getting marked BMWs, such as the X5 being trialed currently, although there remain a couple of unmarked BMW 3 Series Traffic Corps vehicles. They could do with a few more unmarked BMWs in and around Dublin (and outside) for high-powered motorway pursuits.

The Special Detective Unit and ERU will probably receive new BMW vehicles this year, possibly X5s, but at that - a handful. They will be used for rapid armed response and transport for VIPs/protectees. There are currently a number of BMW models within the Special Branch for various roles, including 3 series, 5 series, 5 series touring and X5s. There are a few 7 series (armoured) for international visiting dignitaries.

The ERU still use unmarked Toyota Land Cruisers dating back to 2006 - that's 9 years. They will have to be replaced soon. Other specialist units received '06 and '07 Land Cruisers at the same time, although these will remain in use with some units, who don't have as much emphasis on high-powered, fast, reliable, well maintained vehicles as the ERU does. The X5 may fit this role. There was up to 9 Land Cruisers in use with the ERU; black, silver and maroon. There isn't as many with them now. Newish X5s, Audi Q7, Isuzu D-Max, Land Rover Discovery 4 and Land Rover Range Rover vehicles are all in use with them as unmarked SUVs. There is a couple of newish 5 Series Tourings being used by the ERU.

Well at least BMW is still in the frame for some aspect of the Garda fleet.

The thing im struggling with though - is i30s - are they for traffic too - I realise they've bought the Insignias obviously.

But are the i30s that are coming going for some of traffic corps requirements as well......

But thinking about it a bit more - you've got i30s and i40s for traffic (im assuming by the above "new traffic corps fleet" comments the unmarked i40s are for traffic - i30s are on traffic already).

Is there any practical reason why you couldn't use a Golf 2.0 tdi 150 ps for traffic if your using i30s (same size of car) or does the 150 ps in a Golf take you into some higher level of driver training category.

I know that if VAG don't tender they can't be bought - but other then that???? size is an issue - BUT some of the unmarked in this order are FOCUS saloons (same class of car)

Old diesel wrote: »
    Well at least BMW is still in the frame for some aspect of the Garda fleet.

The thing im struggling with though - is i30s - are they for traffic too - I realise they've bought the Insignias obviously.

But are the i30s that are coming going for some of traffic corps requirements as well......

But thinking about it a bit more - you've got i30s and i40s for traffic (im assuming by the above "new traffic corps fleet" comments the unmarked i40s are for traffic - i30s are on traffic already).

Is there any practical reason why you couldn't use a Golf 2.0 tdi 150 ps for traffic if your using i30s (same size of car) or does the 150 ps in a Golf take you into some higher level of driver training category.

I know that if VAG don't tender they can't be bought - but other then that???? size is an issue - BUT some of the unmarked in this order are FOCUS saloons (same class of car)

To be honest, I'm not clear in the break-down of which vehicles is going to Traffic. I'd imagine the majority of the 165 marked Hyundai i40 Estates - the more powerful - are going to Traffic, and all the 20 marked Opel Insignia Sports Tourer-Traffic as well. The 85 Hyundai i30 Estates are probably being marked for ordinary duties. As for the unmarked cars, the 50 Hyundai i40 Saloons and 30 Ford Focus Saloons are likely going to Traffic, maybe some for regional/district detectives.

One thing for sure is that the Traffic Corps has never been as ill-equipped as the state its in now, this will help somewhat. New bikes are badly needed, new SUVs are needed. The remaining Toyota Land Cruisers are 9 years old.

Because they already have?

Sorry I meant as a normal marked patrol/ traffic car.

I wonder is this new allocation to traffic corp a political decision as a reflection of the increase in road fatalities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭ratracer

The last few posts have given a very interesting (if damning) report of the state of AGS fleet both current and coming. I think it a terrible decision to let the bike fleet dwindle so much also.

Fire service fleet replacement seems minimal at the moment, and although they don't have huge mileage, the fleet is getting quite old, at least in my county/province. Some second turn out appliances are up to 25 years old at this stage.Without a proper replacement scheme we are in a slide back to the dark ages!

NAS seem to have a relatively new fleet ATM, but those vehicles must do massive mileage also. At least manager have nice cars tho!!

I'm not sure what my point is exactly, but I suppose it irritates me that senior management in all three primary emergency services seem incapable or unwilling to stick their heads above the parapet and bat for the grunts, instead it's all about number crunching across the board, and self preservation/ promotion too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Is there any if the older marked mondeos left at all ?

Ratracer, you have given me an idea, why don't the emergency services vehicle procurement come together and approach someone like Mercedes or VAG, with batch tenders for Garda, Ambulance and Fire vehicles?

That would surely be a nice bulk order that would look like an attractive prize to a vehicle manufacturer.

Is there any if the older marked mondeos left at all ?

I still see them knocking about? Especially '07 unmarked Mondeos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-get-first-370-cars-of-10m-fleet-30912272.html

The first 370 cars promised as part of the new Garda fleet will go to the force's Traffic Corps

They were officially unveiled yesterday by the Taoiseach at Garda headquarters in Phoenix Park and are funded from a €10m package announced on Budget Day.

The funding has been used to buy 265 liveried cars, comprising 85 Hyundai i30 estates, 160 Hyundai i40 estates and 20 Opel Insignia Sports Tourer-Traffic.

The force has also bought 80 unmarked cars including 30 Ford Focus saloons and 50 Hyundai i40 saloons. Another 25 unmarked vans have also been bought

Ratracer, you have given me an idea, why don't the emergency services vehicle procurement come together and approach someone like Mercedes or VAG, with batch tenders for Garda, Ambulance and Fire vehicles?

That would surely be a nice bulk order that would look like an attractive prize to a vehicle manufacturer.

It would make sense, but one Garda Comissioner and her minions, 20 odd chief fire officers and their 'support teams' plus however the management structure of NAS works - that sounds like a lot of huffing and puffing just to see who outranks who, I wouldnt hold out much hope for a joined up approach to vehicle procurement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

EireGun wrote: »
    I still see them knocking about? Especially '07 unmarked Mondeos.

Yeah I still see plenty of unmarked but it's been months since I've seen a marked one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Yeah I still see plenty of unmarked but it's been months since I've seen a marked one.

Not many marked mondeos left. Lots of unmarked ones still about.

They must have bought thousands of those Mondeos so a good few of them will probably still be on the road for the next few years anyway.

Not sure when they first purchased the mondoes but I believe they were the best cars they ever bought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭flazio

How many of those Isuzu motorway scene management jeeps do TC have and how old are they now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

flazio wrote: »
    How many of those Isuzu motorway scene management jeeps do TC have and how old are they now?

2011 they are few around not many but more on the way

Can of worms in the UK ?

http://www.nao.org.uk/press-releases/police-procurement-3/

https://www.bluelight.gov.uk/portal/nwpolice/portal.nsf/vLiveDocs/PD-DEVA-82TLAK?OpenDocument

http://content.met.police.uk/Article/Procurement-processes/1400015810115/1400015810115

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201314/cmselect/cmpubacc/115/115.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Capri wrote: »

(From the last pdf)
    Money is wasted when the 43 police forces in England and Wales pay widely varying prices
    for very similar items. The Police currently spend 13% of their income, amounting to £1.7
    billion, procuring the items they need.
    How much would AGS or the PSNI spend on equipment as a %% of total expenditure?

Helping to fight crime on our streets in the form of a new Opel Insignia 2.0CDTi BiTurbo high performance diesel engine with 195hp

http://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/garda-traffic-corps-get-20-new-opels-in-2015-30925585.html
    We love that manual handbrakes have been fitted for "operational effectiveness" we all know what that means ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Helping to fight crime on our streets in the form of a new Opel Insignia 2.0CDTi BiTurbo high performance diesel engine with 195hp

http://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/garda-traffic-corps-get-20-new-opels-in-2015-30925585.html

Unusual. Certainly wouldn't have expected a photo call of this nature a few years ago. I think we'll have to reserve our judgement until those who use them say if they're any good or not on a day to day, incident to incident basis.

Just shows how bad the fleet must be if their publishing articles about 20 opel insignias.

It means you can get out of the car quicker to chase a gouger. Waiting for an electronic handbrake to engage fully wastes valuable seconds when someone is fleeing.

carzony wrote: »
    Just shows how bad the fleet must be if their publishing articles about 20 opel insignias.

It is like an article you would read in a 3rd world country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

It means you can get out of the car quicker to chase a gouger. Waiting for an electronic handbrake to engage fully wastes valuable seconds when someone is fleeing.
    Hahaha do u think a Traffic Garda would chase anyone on foot?
    Not s chance in hell

They'd have Alpha Sierra to do that work for em, if Alpha Sierra isn't avail they'd have Delta Sierra, if no Delta Sierra they'd make sure compol or a regular unit was there to chase on foot

donvito99 wrote: »
    Unusual. Certainly wouldn't have expected a photo call of this nature a few years ago. I think we'll have to reserve our judgement until those who use them say if they're any good or not on a day to day, incident to incident basis.

I think that article sounds like Opel have put a press release out promoting the fact the Gardaí have bought the 20 Insignias.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Inevitable puff piece to follow the photo op. Oh well.

D Trent wrote: »
    Hahaha do u think a Traffic Garda would chase anyone on foot?
    Not s chance in hell

I do. But my point is more about the comment about the inclusion of a manual handbrake being for mischief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Saw one of the new Insignias today actually. Has one arrived at DMRS Pearse St? Maybe Terenure. Looked well, no ANPR. I imagine that there has been no ANPR inclusion with newer vehicles since the original installation on vehicles?

I wonder will the Garda be getting any of those new mondoes?

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/

donvito99 wrote: »
    Saw one of the new Insignias today actually. Has one arrived at DMRS Pearse St? Maybe Terenure. Looked well, no ANPR. I imagine that there has been no ANPR inclusion with newer vehicles since the original installation on vehicles?

Castle got few & Pearse street got one.ANPr depends on the area how many cars get it but some of 131 Mondeo got them i40s got them too but i30s can't get it

It's only one 2014 BMW x5 they got its ex demo one, the Garda fleet page post picture of one it port English markings they bought it and remarked it as Garda it's a police spec

Cracking looking machine, where will that be based?

ratracer wrote: »
    Cracking looking machine, where will that be based?

No clue yet.

POGAN wrote: »
    No clue yet.

Surely Limerick or Cork

Wouldn't bet my house on that

POGAN wrote: »
    Wouldn't bet my house on that

Neither would I but considering that the BMW in Anglesea St, is a 05 and constantly on the go surely that is coming up to its higher mileage limit.
    I suppose my logic is that these are the two major urban centres outside of Dublin and that there is no RSU there.

I see in today's Sunday World that AGS have a BMW R1200 bike on trial, any pics of it lads?

Neither would I but considering that the BMW in Anglesea St, is a 05 and constantly on the go surely that is coming up to its higher mileage limit.
    I suppose my logic is that these are the two major urban centres outside of Dublin and that there is no RSU there.

Dmr should get the RSU in next two year . They are high but because of police spec they will go longer than 300,000

I thought it was 500k with bigger vehicles?

ratracer wrote: »
    I see in today's Sunday World that AGS have a BMW R1200 bike on trial, any pics of it lads?

Saw it last w/end but it was 12D so reckoned it was the one they've had for a while now - HSE have some as well .

I thought it was 500k with bigger vehicles?

On the vans and jeeps are 500,000 no one knows about the rsu stuff to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Markcheese

On very expensive/specialist vehicles that do high milage I assume it's a bit like triggers broom -? New or recon engines , gearboxes ,new brakes,new suspension.
    So does mileage matter ?
    Also will the old vehicles be kept on as spares to cover when a regular car is being serviced -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    On very expensive/specialist vehicles that do high milage I assume it's a bit like triggers broom -? New or recon engines , gearboxes ,new brakes,new suspension.
    So does mileage matter ?
    Also will the old vehicles be kept on as spares to cover when a regular car is being serviced -

One thing replacing mechanical bits, but let's put it this way, these yokes aren't always used on motorways like the UK stuff, and Irish speed ramps TBH don't follow any specificationsalong with the back roads still in sh1t so body stress cracks have to be factored in (when they can be seen - remember the Sierras cracking along the front valance/bulkhead ). 500k going up and down a motorway, but 300k for 'regular' use ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭kooga

was passed by on one the m50 last monday night.

better to be in one of those than a hyundai estate

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

kooga wrote: »
    was passed by on one the m50 last monday night.

better to be in one of those than a hyundai estate

Saw one of these machines or two of them, twice this week on the N3, cars pulled in both directions :eek:

Capri, Thats a Mondeo from the Driving School on the Response part of the course.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/77065/336912.jpg