Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

energy vampires who you work with.

• 17-04-2014 7:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭

There was a fella on telly one night talking about energy vampires those people who sap every last bit of energy out of you.
    Telling you all their problems like they are they are the only ones who have problems.

Theres a woman who.i work with.

She had 13 people in her family die within 2 yrs .
    Parents , aunts uncles. Nephew s .. the list is endless.
    I understand that its terrible for her that this has happened to her.
    BUT jasus tis hard to listen to.

Each time in work she never says " well how are you" or anyrhing.

Its oh jasus wait till i tell you what happened to my aunt at the weekend.

My neice fell and broke her leg.
    My brother fell and damaged his spleen......
    Every problem out there d relatives have got !!!

Christ tis exhausting

Ive had to start avoiding her cause its pure torture to listen to.

Anyone else like this !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Well what problems do you have OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

If you tie a Duracell battery to a cross, wear it round your neck and rub garlic into your hair, it repels them. Repels everyone else too, but sheet, some things are worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,409 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Thirteen's unlucky for some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

My housemate is one of those, talks non stop in mean, rather than has everyone die on her. It's like she doesn't understand the mechanics or etiquette of conversation. She'll just burst into talking about herself and everything that's happening with her the second she sees me (or just hears me sometimes). Of the talking just continues, regardless of my level of interest, or talking back, or that I'm after saying yeah I'm going to bed now.

Yeah it's draining.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What a selfish bitch!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Heroditas

monflat wrote: »
    There was a fella on telly one night talking about energy vampires those people who sap every last bit of energy out of you.
    Telling you all their problems like they are they are the only ones who have problems.

Theres a woman who.i work with.

Each time in work she never says " well how are you" or anyrhing.

Its oh jasus wait till i tell you what happened to my aunt at the weekend.

My neice fell and broke her leg.
    My brother fell and damaged his spleen......
    Every problem out there d relatives have got !!!

Christ tis exhausting

Ive had to start avoiding her cause its pure torture to listen to.

Anyone else like this !!!

The 13 probably died to get away from her.
    Either that or she sucked the life out of them. In that case, watch out, you're next!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

There's a few serial complainers where I work. They know I have little sympathy for their petty bull crap.

You give these guys any time at all and they'll drag you down and suck out all your joy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

kneemos wrote: »
    Thirteen's unlucky for some.

Well for sure it is for her

Well what problems do you have OP?

Not as many as her and anyways i dont talk about myself at all . Sure i just give out on boards.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

There's one where I work. He just goes on and on and on... repeats himself constantly and doesn't listen at all if you try to actually take part in the conversation.
    It's always just the two of us too in a small work area. I do be totally drained at the end of the day :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

OP you sound like a sh1t

Ankhyu wrote: »
    There's one where I work. He just goes on and on and on... repeats himself constantly and doesn't listen at all if you try to actually take part in the conversation.
    It's always just the two of us too in a small work area. I do be totally drained at the end of the day :(

Its amazing how they sap your energy.!

Its gas thou cause this one you can hear her telling someone her problems then youve already heard it second hand .
    Next thing at break she launches into the story again.
    Later she can be heard telling another person.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Heroditas

It must be a form of Munchausen Syndrome.

Heroditas wrote: »
    It must be a form of Munchausen Syndrome.

Ah there must be something there alright !!!

I remember i was about three yrs listening to her and the deaths wakes funerals.. burials .

Cancers brain haemmorages , appendicitis

Dyslexia dyspraxia. Epilepsy parkinsons you name it.

My friends sister was killed off her bike a tradgic accident killed instantly.
    A stunning girl of 28 .
    I told her story.

The reply was " wait till you have 13 belong to you who have died then youl know what death is "

I felt like smacking her one there n then

• Registered Users Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Vampires aren't real OP, oxygen thieves are however commonplace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

monflat wrote: »
    Ah there must be something there alright !!!

I remember i was about three yrs listening to her and the deaths wakes funerals.. burials .

Cancers brain haemmorages , appendicitis

Dyslexia dyspraxia. Epilepsy parkinsons you name it.

You can die from dyslexia and dyspraxia now?

srsly78 wrote: »
    Vampires aren't real OP, oxygen thieves are however commonplace.

Im not getting that close to her. R her to me. She might say she caught something and then tell everyone and id have to listen to that too.............

Gongoozler wrote: »
    You can die from dyslexia and dyspraxia now?

They had secondary diagnosis too!!! Life was never straight forward.

And then the dog died and what a story that one was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Whiners and whiners who simply cannot get the f*ck on with what they are being paid to get the f*ck on with. If they kept out of my way productivity would triple across the workplace. JESUS!!

Ye i know but the gas thing is she thinks shes the best worker there.
    Theres 9 staff in our unit so you are guarnteed to hear the story echoing out 9 times during the day

But then the cleaners are extra so theres 2 of them thats 11 times. .....

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Some people just don't know how to suffer quietly like the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

She may know death, but I bet she doesn't know what a good kick to the face is...

Facekicker basically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Adamantium wrote: »
    She may know death, but I bet she doesn't know what a good kick to the face is...

Chooo chooo!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What's worse are people who are complete timesinks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

My mother is one of those. I've been living abroad for nearly a year now and haven't had one phone call from her, doesn't reply to texts/emails, yet, whenever she has something wrong or needs advice she is on to skype and she never thinks to ask 'how are you?', 'hows your work going?', anything, she just comes on and rants at me every so often and disappears again ¬_¬

• Registered Users Posts: 19 swanronson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The vampire analogy is fitting because now you're spreading the energy drain here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I sit beside one of those vampires....I can name every one of her family friends neighbours ect from listening to the constant droning in my ear...I know she couldnt name one of my children because its a one way street of conversation and she NEVER runs out of steam....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭KilOit

We have a couple in my workplace, 1 in particular comes down on morning break with us and without fail every conversation leads to her family and kids, just drones on and on.
    I tend to avoid the breaks because it puts me in a bad mood for the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

the person that deals in melancholic morosity is as bad if not worse than the energy vampire.. this type of person revels in tales of disastrous misfortune and woe.. the oil lorry swerving to avoid the orphan in the wheelchair, crashes into a primary school and explodes etc.