Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's with this Ogle guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Sergeant wrote: »
    Any idea what their wage costs are in relation to gross revenue? Any comparison on this rate compared to those working in a comparable company in the private sector (say oil and gas, or other industries that have a high proportion of engineers)? Or do you always deal in empty rhetoric and palaver?

That was a very civilised response to Flutter's decidedly uncivilised "blah blah blah" response to you. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Dionysus wrote: »
    If you have Ogle claiming all of this, please produce it and you've won this discussion. Simple!
    So all I need to do is wait for Ogle to publicly state this for some reason, in a public relations disaster for the unions and in a context where nobody is threatening the ESB unions with pay cuts, and you will concede that it is possible? :rolleyes:

Meanwhile, you decline to provide evidence that you claim exists on this very board to back up your claims about Ogle's critics here.

Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The CIE are basterds!

Ogle for president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Another great argument for privatisation and competition, plus an interconnector to the UK or European power grids.

There's already privatisation in the energy sector. Over 50% of electricity in Ireland is produced privately. Haven't you noticed how cheap electricity has become as a result??

(Removes tongue from cheek)

Z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What is left wing about an organisation that pays 75k on average per employee before pension contributions? Are these some of the people the ULA and SF want to tax at a higher rate because they are rich?

Did I refer to the ESB? No, I referred to the possible intentions behind the thread. I stated that it was in reality and in part an attempt to start a PS bashing thread, and behold, what do we have in post 47?
    Flutter wrote:
    Like everything else HSE, Bord naMona, Civil Service, Banks, County Councils, Teachers,etc etc. they are all good at their job, they just cost too fcuking much

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Amazing how wasteful they were, but could still provide the cheapest electricity in europe before the regulator came in and increased prices to encourage competition. Cheaper than the UK with about 7 times the amount of network per customer.
    Blame deregulation for the high prices. When ESB had a monopoly we were better off.
    They were able to provide cheap electricity in the 80's and 90's because they sweated their assets. This necessitated a multi-billion euro investment in network renewal in the 2000s.

The idea of attracting competition within Ireland was misconceived - the market isn't big enough. An interconnector with the UK and continental Europe would free us of reliance on the ESB and would allow them to sell power into Europe and for us to buy power from there if it is cheaper. Monopolies are never good for consumers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Any idea what their wage costs are in relation to gross revenue? Any comparison on this rate compared to those working in a comparable company in the private sector (say oil and gas, or other industries that have a high proportion of engineers)? Or do you always deal in empty rhetoric and palaver?

I'm far from a pinko (quite the opposite), but your special breed of empty bluster does you, or those who might agree with your general argument no favours.

The staff of the ESB are over-paid and very much privileged. They have no pressures or worries about losing their jobs. Their employer, with State collusion/agreement etc, sell a product that is ludicrously over-priced and is symptomatic of the malaise this Country finds itself in.

As for Brendan Ogle? What a man! He's no more a Socialist than Bertie Ahern. His simple objective is to fleece his employer for as much as he can for his fellow "workers". Apparently it conforms to his "Socialist" way of thinking!

As for the ESB "investment" in alternative energies? Care to tell us the amount they are paying to the producers of wind power? When you do, we'll all see, again, it's the punter that is being fleeced, as the ESB pay approx 500% of what they should be paying, but, what the hell, it will be passed on to the consumer.

Zen65 wrote: »
    There's already privatisation in the energy sector. Over 50% of electricity in Ireland is produced privately.

There's a lengthy discussion of the privatisation fiasco elsewhere on boards that I contributed to - you might find more information there if you are interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

An interconnector with the UK and continental Europe would free us of reliance on the ESB.

And how exactly would the power get to your houses? You kind of need all those ESB poles and wires!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Amazing how wasteful they were, but could still provide the cheapest electricity in europe before the regulator came in and increased prices to encourage competition. Cheaper than the UK with about 7 times the amount of network per customer.
    Blame deregulation for the high prices. When ESB had a monopoly we were better off.
    away and sh1te. Bord na mona bunging in freesubsidised fuel , generating electricity a licence to print money in any case, massive government subvention, totally warped market and cost base. You have no clue what you are spouting. Cheapest bill, yeah maybe, cheapest electricity:pac::pac: If you regard it as cheap, it should have been 100% cheaper, with the waste removed.

And how exactly would the power get to your houses? You kind of need all those ESB poles and wires!
    The network aspect is separated from power generation. You have a transmission network operator (Eirgrid) and a distribution network operator (ESB Networks). You can easily and neatly make these into separate companies. The whole power generation company/companies would be in a competitive market.

What year are you just waking up from?

Eirgrid and ESBN are already separate companies and have been for about 5 years now.

And there is competition in generation so they are already in a competitive market (again, for a good few years at this stage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Fair play to the workers for sticking up for themseleves. I don't begrudge them a single cent of their earnings.

If anyone doesn't like the way things are done at the ESB they are free to buy a generator and green diesel to generate their own electricity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

The_Thing wrote: »
    Fair play to the workers for sticking up for themseleves. I don't begrudge them a single cent of their earnings.

If anyone doesn't like the way things are done at the ESB they are free to buy a generator and green diesel to generate their own electricity.
    not to call this post dumb, but man, this post is dummmmb. "if you don't like it the way it is here, feck off and emigrate, blah, blah, mong, spa, blah,blah,fap, donk.

What year are you just waking up from?

Eirgrid and ESBN are already separate companies and have been for about 5 years now.

And there is competition in generation so they are already in a competitive market (again, for a good few years at this stage)
    This from the guy who just asked me how to get power to houses without 'ESB poles'? :confused: I was referring to floating PowerGen separately from the rest of the ESB group. And I suggest you check who owns ESB Networks. Do the words 'wholly owned subsidiary' mean anything to you? :rolleyes:

There's nothing quite like seeing a member of the public bent over and rogered...and liking it. But pardon the rest of us if we object to them doing the same to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nodin wrote: »
    Did I refer to the ESB? No, I referred to the possible intentions behind the thread. I stated that it was in reality and in part an attempt to start a PS bashing thread, and behold, what do we have in post 47?

Good man yourself, try to turn every thread argument onto the head of a pin.

In your opinion saying that the various bodies quoted "are good at their job, just cost too much" is Public Service bashing!!!!

Don't know what standards you have mate, but most people in this country paying taxes would agree with that.

Now back on topic..... Why are the ESB = us the consumer paying Ogle's wages?

Is he an employee of the ESB?

And I suggest you check who owns ESB Networks. Do the words 'wholly owned subsidiary' mean anything to you? :rolleyes:

Yes, ESB Networks are owned by the ESB group but Eirgrid are 100% a separate company that has its own board etc. and does not report to ESB in any way. Ok, both ESB and EirGrid are owned by the government but then again, isn't every semi-state?

EDIT - EirGrid already operate the transmission network and ESBN the distribution so apart from the ownership issue, no change required there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Isabella1988

nt sure wat r u guys talking abt~!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Good man yourself, try to turn every thread argument onto the head of a pin.

............?

You mean ask questions and the like? Yeah, thats me. I just won't stop the whole 'think' business.

Well maybe you should 'think' before you post then, and actually address the issue which is being discussed,which is:

Why it this person being payed by the ESB?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Fair play to the Indo for running with this one ,,,probably nothing will happen though.

I see this geezer has kept his "job" with just a mild slap on the wrist from the "Beards".

Probably take the usual approach in this thing.....sit tight close butt hole and wait for the storm to blow over.

Think Fas man and the Audi 6........

Think Fingers and the watch....etc etc.

Think "The Beards" on that Fas training issue..........

Think Bord Gais on the €1000.00 chairs.........

How about answering a few questions pal...just fer a change like ......

Hmmm..... Ogle is now on Marian Finucane saying he has apologised to ESB staff.

Trying to weasel out of his remarks.

All a game it seems to him.

Wonder will Marzie ask the hard questions.?

Tune in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What an attempt at obfuscation and bluster...the old "everyone partied" line.
    Finnucane might rip him a new one like she did with that lawyer guy earlier but it won't chnage a thing...this fella sounds like he's from up my way...

Interesting that they lead this piece with a reference to the rail strikes that Ogle overseen...

Hmmm..... Ogle is now on Marian Finucane saying he has apologised to ESB staff.

Trying to weasel out of his remarks.

All a game it seems to him.

Wonder will Marzie ask the hard questions.?

Tune in.
    I'd be willing to wager that Finucane is the best paid public servant in Ireland. She does 4 hours or so per week for about 40 weeks of the year - totalling about 160 hours. And she gets paid about 400k. I make that about 2.5k per hour.

But no, I don't think she'll ask the hard questions, because while the ESB is a cushy but well-run organisation, RTE is a very cushy and badly run organisation, as demonstrated by her salary.

In fairness she is trying to nail him.

The should be no doubt, he want's the status quo,which of course fills the pockets of a workforce which is in a privileged position.

What this guy want's it seems to me is stupidity.

Blames the media, blames anyone but his own philosophies for the mess we are in.

Competition Brenno, she is coming buddy,your position of power is crumbling.

Which would favour John Q Taxpayer who has to pay, and not your geezer in the ESB who is high on the hog's back.

:D Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Just read the thread.

I get the distinct impression that those who are disagreeing with Flutter have not viewed the youtube video of Ogle's 'speech' upon which this current controversy is based. I suspect you will be giving flutter alot less grief after you've seen just how scary this dude is:

never saw that vid.

What a toootal fcuking plonker.

People actually listen to this rhetoric?

Man, we are really screwed.

never saw that vid.

What a toootal fcuking plonker.

People actually listen to this rhetoric?

Man, we are really screwed.

:confused::confused:

Read the full thread, then take your time.

I will wait for you.;)

Ooops looks like the Flutt fooked up.

What I meant is I never saw the entire thread.

Opinion... yes you are dead right with the :confused::confused:

Well spotted

Hangs head.

I did read the full thread.

My :confused::confused::confused: was because you said you never saw the vid that you yourelf posted in the first page. Not watching your own links ???:p

Edit: Hahahaha

Scary dude though eh ? To think this guy, who is actually inciting violent revolt in this 'speech' actually has it within his capacity to arrange for the ESB strikes is very scary. No way he should hold the position he does. And to think the ESB pay his wages!!!!!! Something very shady about that if you ask me

I did read the full thread.

My :confused::confused::confused: was because you said you never saw the vid that you yourelf posted in the first page. Not watching your own links ???:p

Edit: Hahahaha

Scary dude though eh ?

Yes you got me on that one,very well spotted,the link was to identify Mr. O for someone, didn't actually see the whole thing through.

Absolutely scary dude.

To have a geezzzer like that holding the reins of a workforce who's production is so vital for the countries welfare is certainly scary.

Funny thing is that he is being paid by the company, and a good wedge too.

Fat cat trying to come across as a concerned socialist.;)

On your case Brenno.

Confirmed in yesterdays independent that the ESB pay his wages:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/esb-unions-back-ogle-to-keep-job-2864835.html

Indeed, so we ,the taxpayer are paying some gimp to ensure industrial peace in the ESB.

No problem with that if we sack their well staffed HR Dept.

Total load of bollox.

No wonder the lad is sniggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ressem

I guess that answers Dionysus' request for a quote.
    [16:44]
    And if we put up a fight in ESB and it's hard to get them to fight, but we're getting there.
    If we put up a fight in ESB the lads will start to believe they can actually effect change. And if they start to believe it, their mates and their brothers and their sisters elsewhere will start to say that this actually works.
    [17:08]
    So what does having a fight in ESB mean
    First thing you get is 'Sure we can't do it, sure we sold half the power stations, wouldn't make any difference.'
    If we turn off the power stations then some other power station will (gesture: spin up)
    That's correct, but there's no electricity ever went from a power station (points) to that light bulb. So we control it.

So what I envisage in the next few months, I hope to see in the next few months...
    Changes direction, criticises Colm McCarthy
    [19:55]
    And in two or three years time or in ten years time or twenty years time when I'm retired in Cuba, having my cigar, drinking my rum, enjoying life. (aside: he doesn't believe I'm going) at least as a movement, as a left, lets say either we took them on, had some success maybe total success, maybe turned thing around somewhat, or at least we took them on and had a bloody fight.

Some other 'gems' in there. Contempt of your audience's intelligence, shows through your targeting your speech to the audiences lowest common denominator as you perceive it.
    With all his harking back to 80 years ago, you'd form the impression that he saw a second civil war as an aspiration.

Went on Marian Finucane to clear up the mess.

This lad is the typical loo la, who gets embedded into the semi-state sector and from a position of power tries to stir up trouble in a workforce very difficult to sack.

Throwback from the bad old days.

What did he say on Finucan?

Just the usual bluster, she didn't raise the issue of the ESB paying him.

If i have time I will link to it. It's towards the end.

Listen in to Liveline today.... he's going to get an airing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

who's that clown Tony Tobin that's talking now??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Oh that phucker....Tobin....one more from the clown outfit CIE...Cycling Is Easier. The concept of worker directors is idiotic. Workers work....Directors direct....and as for Union involvement....its as poisonous as mixing religion with politics. They don't mix, never have, never will. A decent boss with common sense removes the need for a Union, unfortunately there are 20% of bosses out there (minimum) who have neither.

Thats number three for my fantasy firing squad when I take too much booze and weed and dream of being Irelands first military dictator. Ahern....Ogle.....Tobin.....Harney.....Hanifin.....

I have a dream......a right wing dream

dermo88 wrote: »
    Oh that phucker....Tobin....one more from the clown outfit CIE...Cycling Is Easier. The concept of worker directors is idiotic. Workers work....Directors direct....and as for Union involvement....its as poisonous as mixing religion with politics. They don't mix, never have, never will. A decent boss with common sense removes the need for a Union, unfortunately there are 20% of bosses out there (minimum) who have neither.

Thats number three for my fantasy firing squad when I take too much booze and weed and dream of being Irelands first military dictator. Ahern....Ogle.....Tobin.....Harney.....Hanifin.....

I have a dream......a right wing dream

Heh heh don't start me on worker directors.

Gimps who caused trouble all their lives on the shop floor being 'rewarded' with a worker directorship.

I must say I'm surprised that this is the case; for any company to pay a full-time union official just to act on behalf of the union is pure madness. Of course the article didn't actually confirm that ESB pays his wages, and the newspapers are wrong about many of the details they write about, but surely even ESB would have made a statement to deny it if it were not true.

Z

Heh heh don't start me on worker directors.

Gimps who caused trouble all their lives on the shop floor being 'rewarded' with a worker directorship.

I think An Post is probably the finest example of this philosophy.

Z

Zen65 wrote: »
    I think An Post is probably the finest example of this philosophy.

Z

Or Aer Lingus:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

There's nothing quite like seeing a member of the public bent over and rogered...and liking it. But pardon the rest of us if we object to them doing the same to us.

My ESB bill is around €60 or so every two months so it's hardly a case of "bent over and rogered", or was it yourself you were talking about taking it in the ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

An Post certainly is. Their former chairman (John Hynes) was a troublemaking rabble rousing union representative in the 1970's and 1980's. Cue the 1990's, along comes social partnership, and hes appointed as a director.

Eh voila.....what does he go and do.

Cut jobs left right and centre. You just have to laugh at the duplicity of these people, for they are beneath contempt. Maybe I am jealous, maybe I have principles.....or maybe I just got the hell out, figuring I can get ahead in a country thats three times as corrupt, minus the political correctness with some extra dumb idiots thrown in to run it. Which I don't mind paying for, since its 1/3rd the price on 4/5th salary.

Brendan Ogle.....

Tony Tobin........

You don't know which is beneath contempt more......Bankers.....Champagne Smoked Salmon Socialists.....or Skangers.

My ESB bill is around €60 or so every two months so it's hardly a case of "bent over and rogered", or was it yourself you were talking about taking it in the ass?

Wait until winter comes and you have to turn on the second bar of the ecectric fire.

The Op is perfectly correct ......these Gimps and the thousand euro chairs crowd have been rogering us for years...with the complicity of a spineless and corrupt government.

Surely you cannot fail to see that...or is your sphinct so wide you don't notice ...?