Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I like Niamh but her presentation tonight is a bit too panto like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

panto?

she's not too bad

easy on the eye is a bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Leo is the only member of Fine Gael that I'd have any respect for. He's one of those few politicians who says what he thinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I like Niamh but her presentation tonight is a bit too panto like.
    But she's easier on the eyes than Marie Louise O'Donnell ;)

This is a decent interview.

coolhull wrote: »
    But she's easier on the eyes than Marie Louise O'Donnell ;)

call me sexist but women shouldn't be on tv unless they have a modicum of good looks

niamh fits the bill nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,432 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If he does sort out health fair play to him, I would have preferred him to stay in Transport though. Reilly seemed to just have a personal crusade against the tobacco companies while the whole health system around him crumbled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Leo is the only member of Fine Gael that I'd have any respect for. He's one of those few politicians who says what he thinks.

Agreed. He speaks the truth. However, it's only a matter of time before he gets into trouble. The Irish public do not want to hear the truth, they just want to hear empty rhetoric from the loony left about some kind of Utopia.
    I'd give Leo about six months before the loonies start baying for his blood.

Leo is definitely the best of a bad shower

call me sexist but women shouldn't be on tv unless they have a modicum of good looks

niamh fits the bill nicely

Niamh is flirting a little with Leo :D

Does this apply to men too?

M

Thought they would be discussing the water charges that were disclosed today for the first time, double the price of commercial rates per litre and one of the highest in Europe.

Ah Niamh........take off the glasses ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

sexy specs :)

Oh dear Jill Kirby will be on the panel :(

I find her more irritating than Mammy O'Rourke and Marie Louise O'Dramatic put together.

M

coolhull wrote: »
    Does this apply to men too?

No :D

MM.jpg

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Ah Niamh........take off the glasses ffs.
    She won't be able to read the autocue if she does :D

Hitchens wrote: »
    sexy specs :)

looks like she borrowed them off Marie Louise O'Donnell

No :D

MM.jpg
    Leave my sexy Clare man alone lol :D

If John Crowne had became a dentist, it would've been mildly amusing.

LOW salaries?.........what planet does Dr Crown inhabit?

M

They are still at it, putting millions and possibly billions in to theories, possible fixes, guesses on how to fix the health system. Simply go to whatever country in the EU has the best health system, copy that exactly, job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

If John Crowne had became a dentist, it would've been mildly amusing.
    ...with his practice located by the Royal Canal

16 billion/4 million

€4k per man/woman/ child per year

for what?

M

€14 billion divided by say our population at a generous 5 million is €2800 a head, pricey for the total rubbish service we get, add to that the €100 A&E charge and various other costs when you actually do get seen to.

That loony universal healthcare thing will never get off the ground. There's no appetite for it.

Why not copy the NHS in the UK. Most British people are happy with it.
    I know the doctors will be against it because it would eliminate their private income.

I reckon everything would be okay if the government invested in gold. Jill would agree, I'd say.

When did John Crowne join Sin Fein?

crowne is warbling on about austerity and saving money and policing doctors

its the tail wagging the dog

I wonder if Ivor smuggled a mobile into prison? He'd have plenty to choose from.

M

I wonder if Ivor smuggled a mobile into prison? He'd have plenty to choose from.

I'd say he has the inmates there winding him up all day long asking him to get them a nice new phone :D

he'd have all the necessary paperwork too

.....or he would get to know some other inmate who could 'provide' him with it!

I'm gonna get myself one of these umbrellas:

japanese-inventions-11.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

The entire health system should never be the subject of a 30/35 minute program - with two amateurs and one professional. All these programs just add to the confusion.

Naughton's point about the MS drug was worth investigating; I'm sure he knows why it's not paid for but, to keep onside with the voters, he pretends to be mystified!

Also why anybody would pay €75 for a drug if available for €3 in UK is beyond belief. That could have been the topic for the whole program and we might have got some genuine clarity.

Danielle looks very like Síle Seoighe.

These ads are ridiculous.

It's Lord Kitchener! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I wonder what the drop in viewing figures has been since vinnie has been sick. Personally i have no interest in it save for the week dearbla had it which was at least bearable. Nobody does it like vinnie does though! Enda could be assassinated on croagh Patrick and I wouldn't switch over unless vinnie came back! Enda , Bertie and Larry Murphy could appear on the panel for a grilling and I wouldn't care!

It's Lord Kitchener! :D

Someone should tell him that it's not a fancy-dress do.:eek:

I don't why anybody gives John Bruton the time of day. He was an inept Taoiseach and he's now a European arse-licker.

Don't mention ze var, Ursula.

this presenter is a bit deadbeat

wtf is bruton on about?

Bruton wants us to glorify the slaughter of the First World War but he wants to forget about the "violent" Rising. Fcuking hypocrite.

He also seems to conveniently forget that Redmond wanted to remain part of The Empire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Spent the last hour watching a discussion on RTÉ 1 with Robert Ballagh on the panel.

Then flick over to Channel 3 and look who's there. Robert Ballagh again on another panel.

Feck sake. :(

Bruton wants us to glorify the slaughter of the First World War but he wants to forget about the "violent" Rising. Fcuking hypocrite.

He also seems to conveniently forget that Redmond wanted to remain part of The Empire.

I agree with Bruton about 1916 being unnecessary. The Irish, and particularly the 1916 leaders, seem to glorify the 'blood sacrifice'. This attitude was carried on by the IRA and resulted in 3000 unnecessary deaths during the 'troubles' in Northern Ireland. Nothing much has been achieved in Ireland by violence in the last 100 years that could not have been achieved by peaceful means. A lot of lives were wasted for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Bruton not being drawn on independent Ireland's first government which enshrined conservatism.