Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Eddie McBride - retired Garda no.9887

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I dont think there is anything quite like the conceit and self regard of an ex Garda...

...a current Minister for Justice.........maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Fair City isn't broadcast on Monday nights.

This is getting curiouser and curiouser :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

this has the potential to be gas craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

baldbear wrote: »
    I wonder are there any retired gardai on this thread? Shatter out. Moyes in.

Ah no... Having Moyes in charge of United is far too much fun.. :D

I see baldbear no longer has that authority that having your named emboldened brings... You should have joined the guards, once you go bold in there you stayed bold..

Oh don't quote Paul Reynolds

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Clip for the end of the show.

Bad cops song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoCOXYiYM8g

Did he get a garda loudspeaker as his retirement present?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Least we know now what way the retired Gardai are spending their pensions..........calling 1850 715 715 all the time

What are we not being told?

He is not going to tell you live on air Joe FFS

Did he get a garda loudspeaker as his retirement present?

When Joe asked him about corruption, he should have turned on his
    garda siren.:)

"Did you ever come across any tapes"..

While that would be environmentally sound, I think there are better ways of destroying the tapes, Joe..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭baldbear

Patrick Nulty and spankgate couldn't have happened at a better time!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,851 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Why is anyone surprised or feathers being ruffled over garda station calls being recorded? It seems an eminently sensible thing to do and I'm only amazed it wasn't happening before. Outgoing calls - perhaps not, but incoming calls should be.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 20,040 ✭✭✭✭neris

just tuned in and im out. this is boring now.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,040 ✭✭✭✭neris

you cant email a garda station but can email & tweet duffy who just ignores you

Garda email addresses?
    garda1@donut.com

Bertie Ahern was liked by everybody and look where that got us..

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

baldbear wrote: »
    Patrick Nulty and spankgate couldn't have happened at a better time!

Must be kicking himself that he resigned - it would have been blown over by Monday with the Shatter etc issues

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

who the fup is lord farquar here ?

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Why is anyone surprised or feathers being ruffled over garda station calls being recorded? It seems an eminently sensible thing to do and I'm only amazed it wasn't happening before. Outgoing calls - perhaps not, but incoming calls should be.

I think it's being implied by the government and media, that they were not recorded for innocent reasons.

In terms of catching gardaí feeding journalists info, I wouldn't have a problem with that.

In terms of recording 112 calls, that happens in every country.

But Kenny talking to the opposition about revelations would imply there's something bigger behind it.

Blackmail maybe? We'll find out sooner or later.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Even Joe is tuning out now.zzzzzzz!!!!

This is my selfie listening to liveline now
    330itis1-300x300.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

who the fup is lord farquar here ?

Some solicitor type.............who came from the lower classes.......NOT.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Joe is fed up. He's frantically trying to get a Magdalene Laundry worker on Line 2.

I admire Shatter for lowering salaries of judiciary, but I don't think he went anywhere near far enough.

There are some I understand who like him for preparing the groundwork for gay marriage, but that was going to be brought in by whomever was the justice minister.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭baldbear

I think it's being implied by the government and media, that they were not recorded for innocent reasons.

In terms of catching gardaí feeding journalists info, I wouldn't have a problem with that.

But Kenny talking to the opposition about revelations would imply there's something bigger behind it.

The Ian Bailey case maybe. Were gaurds recorded trying to set him up?

Yes, and for anyone in a sensitive position or have dodgy/sensitive information, to have entrusted that to a State-controlled telephone line that's connected to a police station, is naive in the extreme. The assumption should have been that calls would have been recorded and act accordingly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Yes, and for anyone in a sensitive position or have dodgy/sensitive information, to have entrusted that to a State-controlled telephone line that's connected to a police station, is naive in the extreme. The assumption should have been that calls would have been recorded and act accordingly.

I think a lawyer talking to a client should at least be able to expect that the cops aren't spying on them