Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruairi Quinn wants a communist state!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

What are you on about? Where did I mention banks?

Forget it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

seamus wrote: »
    "not that any of them would know the inside of a church anyway"

Tom Barry's opinion has instantly become irrelevant since he believes that someone's church attendance or lack thereof has any meaning.

??? Context dude, context! How prejudiced can you get :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

However Labour were proposing including assets into the mix which is unfair given the very low profit margin in a lot of farming. Subsidies etc. are there to soften the blow of below cost production, they're not profit in themselves.
    Non-productive assets i.e. Second houses, property speculation and so on. The kind of thing that should be included in a means test for anyone.
    Major Major’s father was a sober God-fearing man whose idea of a good joke was to lie about his age. he was a long-limbed farmer, a God-fearing, freedom-loving, law-abiding rugged individualist who held that federal aid to anyone but farmers was creeping socialism. He advocated thrift and hard work and disapproved of loose women who turned him down. His specialty was alfalfa, and he made a good thing out of not growing any. The government paid him well for every bushel of alfalfa he did not grow. The more alfalfa he did not grow, the more money the government gave him, and he spent every penny he didn’t earn on new land to increase the amount of alfalfa he did not produce. Major Major’s father worked without rest at not growing alfalfa. On long winter evenings he remained indoors and did not mend harness, and he sprang out of bed at the crack of noon every day just to make certain that the chores would not be done. He invested in land wisely and soon was not growing more alfalfa than any other man in the county….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭theUbiq

Methememb wrote: »
    Ruarí Quinn is a bollóx.

You're a bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,091 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tom Barry's opinion has instantly become irrelevant since he believes that someone's church attendance or lack thereof has any meaning.

His opinion instantle became irrelevant at the point he even tried to jump from college grants to farmers going to mass in the first place.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It probably matters to the people who elected him. Stupid democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,027 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ho Chi Quinn and the rest of them are going to get buried in the next election

• Registered Users Posts: 11,844 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Chinasea wrote: »
    Only way out of this mess. We need a dictator.

We had one - okay, it was more like a group of dictators - but they answered to some guy in Rome. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,091 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ho Chi Quinn and the rest of them are going to get buried in the next election

By who? And would this make things any better? It's a bit like changing the captain on the Titanic after it;s hit the iceberg.
    We had one - okay, it was more like a group of dictators - but they answered to some guy in Rome. :pac:

Well, at least no one can accuse Mr. Quinn of doing that.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

AnonoBoy wrote: »

No need for a source. Sure everyone knows Enda loves the whirly birds!

You're mistaken, he actually likes playing with his chopper!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

farmers buy tractors to go to mass in
    While we bought the tractor to do other stuff, I'm embarrassed to say this is absolutely something I've done in the past. :p

Thankfully I've given up that religion stuff now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Do tell, redeployed how?

Sell the farm and invest the capital somewhere where the returns are higher obviously. Whether it's right or wrong I don't know, but I imagine it's what someone who hated communism like Mr. Barry would say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 vincit qui se vincit

A FINE Gael TD... Tom Barry....

Once upon a time, when men were men, Tom Barry was one of the greatest:

A Blueshirt named Tom Barry has to be a greater pisstake than a child being named Richard Head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Sell the farm and invest the capital somewhere where the returns are higher obviously. Whether it's right or wrong I don't know, but I imagine it's what someone who hated communism like Mr. Barry would say.

Sell the farm, I don't think so. Even the Labour deppidy on the radio the last day threw a hissy fit when selling a field was suggested. That won't be happening.

You should dig up the Pat Kenny interview with John Bryan (a man I disagree with on most things), in fairness to him he explained it much better than I could.
    Robbo wrote: »
    Non-productive assets i.e. Second houses, property speculation and so on. The kind of thing that should be included in a means test for anyone.

Sure should, I've no problem with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Bichon Lover

No.

No one would have a problem with means testing on income, myself included.

However Labour were proposing including assets into the mix which is unfair given the very low profit margin in a lot of farming. Subsidies etc. are there to soften the blow of below cost production, they're not profit in themselves.

So means testing on income, grand, on assets I'm with Mr Barry, they can fcuk off.

Anyone applying for a medical card has to provide all this information already yet wealthy farmers can still get a card. Call that fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Anyone applying for a medical card has to provide all this information already yet wealthy farmers can still get a card. Call that fair?

They are giving the medical cards out like smarties, a couple of young ones working here earning (with commision) at least 30k have them.

They just went with the begging bowl crying poverty because they were behind on their mortgage and owed money on a few loans, the department took this into acount and dished out a spanking Medical Card, these same yokes dont skimp on nights out or holidays to the sun..

Now me for example paying for everything I use and not getting behind on bills would be told to feck of....

Effectively what I am saying is the country is ****ed, run and administered by cnuts

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Bichon Lover

They are giving the medical cards out like smarties, a couple of young ones working here earning (with commision) at least 30k have them.

They just went with the begging bowl crying poverty because they were behind on their mortgage and owed money on a few loans, the department took this into acount and dished out a spanking Medical Card, these same yokes dont skimp on nights out or holidays to the sun..

Now me for example paying for everything I use and not getting behind on bills would be told to feck of....

Effectively what I am saying is the country is ****ed, run and administered by cnuts[/QUOTE

They are giving the medical cards out like smarties

Really? I have one because I have a terminal illness yet they are now hassling me about it. I would not argue with your conclusions about how the country is run however.

Yes, yes I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

They are giving the medical cards out like smarties,

These urban myths are hilarious

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

I would have thought this was worrying a few years ago but now I'd be happy to try any ism to get us the hell out of this FG/FF, Middle of the road, we're damned if we do/don't crap.

In fairness I'm only on this thread cause they closed the big bum discussion. :p