Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Gorilla Baby' Born In Gaza

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So we have two threads tonight.
    One about an unfortunate baby and another about an unfortunate soldier killed while out socialising.
    In both cases, the main humans involved are overlooked very quickly (too quickly) so that others can go pick a side.

Well feck that!
    My thoughts are singularly with the child and the dead soldier - the bickering over who's to blame with wars, I'm leaving to the armchair generals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Pete M.

It's definitely the Depleted Uranium :eek:

That sh1t is the most lethal nuclear weapon of them all, fcuks up the very genes of those targeted.

Don't know if the Israeli Offence Forces use it as standard, but they probably got a couple of boxes as a sweetner off some yankee arms dealer.

Hope the wee buck gets to grow up in a free, sovereign Palestine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Biggins wrote: »
    One about an unfortunate baby and another about an unfortunate soldier killed while out socialising.
    In both cases, the main humans involved are overlooked very quickly (too quickly) so that others can go pick a side.

Well feck that!
    My thoughts are singularly with the child and the dead soldier - the bickering over who's to blame with wars, I'm leaving to the armchair generals.
    ya good point,i was doing a lot of that earlier on in that thread,feck that im not doing it again, it's not nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Pete M. wrote: »
    It's definitely the Depleted Uranium :eek:

That sh1t is the most lethal nuclear weapon of them all, fcuks up the very genes of those targeted.

Don't know if the Israeli Offence Forces use it as standard, but they probably got a couple of boxes as a sweetner off some yankee arms dealer.

Hope the wee buck gets to grow up in a free, sovereign Palestine.

heh heh heh....the armchair lads have pulled up the chairs.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Poor little baby. Deformed or not, he is still only a baby boy that needs care and looking after from his mother.

Biggins wrote: »

Well feck that!

Ah jaysus, come on, there's more than two threads here tonight.
    You're just riled up bout stuff that just ain't right dammit:P

I feel for the wee baba alright and the dead soldier, that was some real bad luck, but they are both very unlikely or uncommon occurences bound to draw out people's unvented fury.

That's what it's all about innit?
    Humanities forum this ain't, but you know that right:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ask yourself why they pick up a black widow. The answer isnt just about nutty islamic clerics either. Imagine living in a country where foreigners of a different faith to yours, but traditionally of similar stock lay claim to your land. The superpower of the day says this is grand and encourages it. Then imagine your people being slowly squeezed harder and harder into smaller and smaller areas. Imagine your prospects and rights are lesser because you're of this different religious group. Then imagine your own clerics egging you on. And the other side theirs. Oh right if you're Irish you dont have to imagine it. Go back to the plantations here. And though we're still whining and bitching about it it way too long after the fact, it was arguably much less aggressive and complete.

em....thats exactly why i hope he can use a black widow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

'Deformed' DJ , just get it right ok?

Heh heh

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Ah the poor wee mite:eek:. I hope the parents have a change of heart. God Bless him:(.

heh heh heh....the armchair lads have pulled up the chairs.:rolleyes:

You started it:eek:

No, No, I'm on the couch, eyeing the armchair, but no. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

There are baby's born all around the world every day with deformity's, did the Israeli's deform them as well?
    No, just these ones. Oh, and bat boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

'Deformed' DJ , just get it right ok?

I don't think the Israelis would appreciate your grammar-nazi like behaviour.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

hopefully one day he'll grow up like a normal teen in the region, with the ability to use a black widow
    digme wrote: »
    is that a fighter jet?

Black Widow was the P-61 night fighter. Very interesting twin-prop design from WWII. Never exported, as far as I know. (In a bit of irony, the first fighters of the Israeli Air Force were German WWII Messerschmidts produced in Spain, as I recall.)
    It's definitely the Depleted Uranium

For starters, it's not a nuclear weapon. The nasty side-effects come not from radiation but from the fact that it's a heavy metal, so you would get similar problems from bombs made of tungsten or lead.

They make their own for anti-armour use. Not sure if they make DIME bombs in Israel or if they get them off the Americans. Very clever design, it greatly reduces the distance that fragments of the bomb travel, so it's generally safer for people who aren't actually under the bomb when it hits.
    I thought it was the commie paper.
    Hacker: I know exactly who reads the papers: the Daily Mirror is read by people who think they run the country; The Guardian is read by people who think they ought to run the country; The Times is read by people who actually do run the country; the Daily Mail is read by the wives of the people who run the country; the Financial Times is read by people who own the country; The Morning Star is read by people who think the country ought to be run by another country; and The Daily Telegraph is read by people who think it is.

Appleby: Prime Minister, what about the people who read The Sun?

Woolley: Sun readers don't care who runs the country, as long as she's got big tits.

NTM

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

It'll should be entered into a hairy baby contest.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Black Widow was the P-61 night fighter. Very interesting twin-prop design from WWII. Never exported, as far as I know. (In a bit of irony, the first fighters of the Israeli Air Force were German WWII Messerschmidts produced in Spain, as I recall.)
    yep and they had spitfires too. The black widow referred to earlier is also a brand name for a powerful catapult. http://www.military-kit.co.uk/images/barnett_black_widow_catapult.jpg

For starters, it's not a nuclear weapon. The nasty side-effects come not from radiation but from the fact that it's a heavy metal, so you would get similar problems from bombs made of tungsten or lead.
    Not quite. It is weakly radioactive as the WHO note http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs257/en/ 60% of the output of purified uranium. Which may not sound much, but given humans are not normally exposed to purified uranium in normal circumstances, 60% of a dose is hardly safe and thats on top of its heavy metals issue you refer too. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depleted_uranium#Health_considerations

quotes from previous link. "In a three week period of conflict in Iraq during 2003 it was estimated over 1000 tons of depleted uranium munitions were used" and

"In addition, the UK Pensions Appeal Tribunal Service in early 2004 attributed birth defect claims from a February 1991 Gulf War combat veteran to depleted uranium poisoning.[57][58] Also, a 2005 epidemiology review concluded: "In aggregate the human epidemiological evidence is consistent with increased risk of birth defects in offspring of persons exposed to DU."[8] WHO figures from 2004 give Iraq the world's highest incidence of Lymphoma."

If such birth defects are being reported above normal background levels its far more likely to be from this stuff than white phosphorous.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The mother and father of the little boy have left the hospital and refuse to go back and claim the baby

That can't be right?

Aren't Palestinians all meant to be wonderful, kind people who only commit acts of violence because they're living under the thumb of Israeli oppression?

Isn't that what we've been brought up to believe here in Ireland as we watch a struggle for territory that somewhat mirrors our own and then take sides accordingly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Wibbs wrote: »
    Not quite. It is weakly radioactive as the WHO note

Oh, it is. It's an alpha emitter, they'll be stopped by your skin. I handle DU munitions regularly, half the time I don't as much as wear gloves.
    http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs257/en/ 60% of the output of purified uranium. Which may not sound much, but given humans are not normally exposed to purified uranium in normal circumstances, 60% of a dose is hardly safe and thats on top of its heavy metals issue you refer too.

From the above link, if you read down a bit:
    •A recent United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) report giving field measurements taken around selected impact sites in Kosovo (Federal Republic of Yugoslavia) indicates that contamination by DU in the environment was localized to a few tens of metres around impact sites. Contamination by DU dusts of local vegetation and water supplies was found to be extremely low. Thus, the probability of significant exposure to local populations was considered to be very low.

•In the kidneys, the proximal tubules (the main filtering component of the kidney) are considered to be the main site of potential damage from chemical toxicity of uranium [Read: Heavy metal poisoning]
    •In a number of studies on uranium miners, an increased risk of lung cancer was demonstrated, but this has been attributed to exposure from radon decay products. Lung tissue damage is possible leading to a risk of lung cancer that increases with increasing radiation dose. However, because DU is only weakly radioactive, very large amounts of dust (on the order of grams) would have to be inhaled for the additional risk of lung cancer to be detectable in an exposed group. Risks for other radiation-induced cancers, including leukaemia, are considered to be very much lower than for lung cancer.
    •Erythema (superficial inflammation of the skin) or other effects on the skin are unlikely to occur even if DU is held against the skin for long periods (weeks).
    •No consistent or confirmed adverse chemical effects of uranium have been reported for the skeleton or liver.
    •No reproductive or developmental effects have been reported in humans.

•For the general population, neither civilian nor military use of DU is likely to produce exposures to DU significantly above normal background levels of uranium

WHO doesn't seem to think it's all that big a problem.

NTM

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Wow poor kid, and his parents are horrible people for leaving him. It wouldn't surprise me of the weapons used in and around Gaza, have caused this, as there have been cases like this in Iraq, and Serbia. I think regardless of the conflict, we need to look weapons being used, and get rid of any that cause harm to innocent people, long after the fight has finished. Basically, a new land mine ban, that covers weapons that will cause damage and death to people long after the fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 bebes

My God I didn't realise that much land had been taken over.....so sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

There are baby's born all around the world every day with deformity's, did the Israeli's deform them as well?

Are doctors around the world also claiming that the number of deformities are increasing like they are in Gaza?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

She must have slept around with a few Gorilla's Im guessing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Johnny Zimbabwe

Meh, spider baby is better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A ‘Gorilla Baby’, if it was mine I'd go banana's.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Hmm, I always wonder about the unlucky people who are born with deformities, babies that are born with things like rare skin conditions, mental problem or any type of deformity. It makes me wonder about how I could have turned out if I had been unlucky, or a family member or something. It's scary to think really at what it would be like to be in their shoes. Having to go through life like that, always looked at differently and treated differently from everybody else. Always having that disadvantage in life.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,984 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A ‘Gorilla Baby’, if it was mine I'd go banana's.

I'd be worse, I'd go ape-sh1t.