Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off topic golf thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

A cut & paste from my inbox, from "When Saturday Comes". Oh the nostalgia!

Words worth Early sports journalists
    "'I started reporting soccer in a very humble way,' recalls BJ (Bill) Evans in his 1946 book How to Become a Sporting Journalist. As an apprentice at the Western Daily Mercury in the early 1900s, Evans was sent out to cover minor league matches on a bicycle with two carrier pigeons in a basket. At the end of each half, he would fold up his written report, attach it to one of the pigeons and release it into the sky. 'The bird wheeled over the ground,' he wrote, 'often cheered by the two or three hundred spectators, and then made his way to the pigeon loft of the Mercury.'"

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Come on Ireland

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

I don't like cricket..... Oh no.... I love it

Ireland off to winning start beating the West Indies

• Registered Users Posts: 20,341 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

What a result!

chasing down a 300+ total again. We've made a habit of doing that now. I went to sleep last night when Sammy and Simmons were in the middle of piling on the runs towards the end of our innings and I thought we were sunk. Couldn't believe it when I woke up this morning and saw we'd won it...... but then to win it the way we won it! That's just awesome!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Was time to make the tough decision, and had to make the call today. Unable to renew my subscription to the club this year.

Pretty gutted in fairness, but with a newborn and feeling the pinch the last year, really can't afford to pay for golf tht I'll only use in the summer anyway.

Hopefully doesn't turn into what happened as a teen where I left the game for years : /

• Registered Users Posts: 15,846 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Rikand wrote: »
    What a result!

chasing down a 300+ total again. We've made a habit of doing that now. I went to sleep last night when Sammy and Simmons were in the middle of piling on the runs towards the end of our innings and I thought we were sunk. Couldn't believe it when I woke up this morning and saw we'd won it...... but then to win it the way we won it! That's just awesome!

watched the windies bat live, ireland started unreal and i couldnt believe they kept the run rate down to something like 3.5 for the first 20-25 overs

then the lads came along and just hit it out of the park..... all over i thought

recorded it... went to bed.

avoided the news next day and watched ireland bat.... it was as if it were live..... so much better watching things like that when you have no idea of the result, but my lord what a game and what a result, well done ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Anyone see the scum chelsea fans in Paris during the week???

This will cheer you up

https://vine.co/v/OQ1Tl3JDAbP

Come on Ireland

2 wins from 2!

And what a win today! After winning the game, then throwing the game, then throwing it more and then ultimately winning it!

Not good for the heart! lol :D

That was a crazy game!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,846 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

t'was was a close one Rikand, but my jeysus, they fought back well to win that one at the death

• Registered Users Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Working from home today so had it on the TV. I wouldn't normally be a cricket fan but that last 15 minutes was compelling watching.

J

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

ForeRight wrote: »
    Anyone see the scum chelsea fans in Paris during the week???

This will cheer you up

98fm.comKilbane-Makes-Official-FA-Complaint-Over-Chanting

Good old lovely west Ham fans.

Fairplay Kevin O'Brien. Went from Villain to Hero in the two innings. His bowling was horrendous, but his batting was sensational! Had he stayed in another 6 balls, the game could have been over with 4 overs to spare ;)

Leonard Nimoy RIP:(

• Registered Users Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Major League Soccer on Sky... more effective than any sleeping pill

• Registered Users Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Tis a gas country... due to a legal loophole, previously illegal drugs are now completely legal.

Special legislation being drawn up at the moment to close off the loophole.

Mad yokes.

..........you're the wiiinnnnnnnerrrrrrr!!!

RIP tony Fenton.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Dealerz wrote: »
    ..........you're the wiiinnnnnnnerrrrrrr!!!

RIP tony Fenton.

Can't believe it, we lost Terry Prachett today as well.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Ireland 16 Wales 23...No grand slam this year unfortunately :(

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Ireland 16 Wales 23...No grand slam this year unfortunately :(

Infuriating to watch, as sloppy as I've seen them play in the last year or so

Today is not Monday, today is not Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Is McGuirkes in Airside still open?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭blackwhite

First round of the year coming up on Sunday.

Haven't swung a club in over 4 months because of rugby injuries (shoulder and broken thumb).

Practically giddy with the excitement :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

slave1 wrote: »
    Today is not Monday, today is not Monday

Toady is Friday, today is Friday and not Wednesday. Today is Friday so time for a few beers and golf tomorrow!! Woohoo!!

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

blackwhite wrote: »
    First round of the year coming up on Sunday.

Haven't swung a club in over 4 months because of rugby injuries (shoulder and broken thumb).

Practically giddy with the excitement :D
    Off topic Fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,806 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads some of these craft beers are **** too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Lads some of these craft beers are **** too.

Correct, you just gotta try em all til you find the good ones. It's a tough job.

Axel Lamp wrote: »
    Correct, you just gotta try em all til you find the good ones. It's a tough job.

lol.

Is - but for all the talk - I don't think some of them shelf well - all the impurities that big companies put in - make them last :p:D

That Dungarvan red ale - was horrible (normally nice) nearly gone off I'd say.

Sitting down to watch Rugby on player - UPC is rubbish too - but RTE payer is class.

Such ups and downs.

Maybe blonde will be nicer next.