Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Destiny (See first post for details on joining boards.ie clan)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,500 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Bohrio wrote: »
    Mechanically all PoEs are similar, the bosses on PoE 32/34 require in some cases good coordination/team talk.

I think you are missing my point, I dont mind if they introduce matchmaking in all game types (except ToO of couse), I do know or suspect that when they do, people will not be able to complete most of this activities, starting with Raids, and Skolas, likely some PoEs.

IMO it just wouldnt work and it will deteriorate the game experience... but that is just my opinion of course! Although I think bungie think the same.

Nightfalls are different to weeklys, enemies are harder to kill, have shields, etc There is also no respawn! meaning that once everyone is dead the teamwill be disolved and you will go bck to orbit

Another thing I agree with you is that you shouldnt need to go outside the game to find people, like we said, a place in the tower were you could look for players would be perfect

Crota's bridge jump is the only cheese (if you can call it a cheese), and it is the only way to go across without a 3 men team, the rest can be done solo without needing to hide etc. There is no need to hide in CE.

Sorry forgot to mention ToO. There is no way to tweak this, what are you gonna do, pair good players against bad players? (not sure how are you gonna determined this though) so easy ticket to the light house for the good players...

But people already do this with random people via LFG, every single activity every single week. Its already occurring and has been for months, but somehow if the game devs implement it with all their tools, insights and abilities tit will fail massively?

Do you think bungie are cutting ground when it comes to raids or something? Matchmaking on hard content (i.e raids) has been around for years and people are well aware of the caveats around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Bohrio

But people already do this with random people via LFG, every single activity every single week. Its already occurring and has been for months, but somehow if the game devs implement it with all their tools, insights and abilities tit will fail massively?

Do you think bungie are cutting ground when it comes to raids or something? Matchmaking on hard content (i.e raids) has been around for years and people are well aware of the caveats around it.

But it is different when you go to LFG.

For instance, going to LFG shows that you are putting some interest. Also, you can filter who you want to play with, examples will be, must have mic, done it before, 32+ only, need a titan or whatever you want to do/say. In matchmaking all you need is to push a button and that's it.

This will mean that you could get paired up with [people who just clicked on, for example, a raid, without even knowing what that is... if you have run a raid you will remember who it was the first time you did it and how lost you were...

Well you could get paired up with a team like this... people who just click there for the craic and have no clue of what Vault of Glasss is...

Also, how do you deal with Checkpoints? lets say you manage to go through the first 2 stages, took you over 45 minutes, somone leaves, then someone else joins at that stage? how do you make that call?

What if I dont want ot join at, lets say, the templar becaus eI want to play the oracles?

Not viable, but then again, wouldnt bother me, I will still go to LFG, just because I want to live longer and using matchmaking will take life away from me lol

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Got a new MG yesterday pretty sure it's called the Unending Deluge III. Think it might be good. Large rate of Fire and the impact's reasonable not huge but reasonable. Seems to do a lot of damage. Rolled it a few times to get a range perk.

But it is different when you go to LFG.

For instance, going to LFG shows that you are putting some interest. Also, you can filter who you want to play with, examples will be, must have mic, done it before, 32+ only, need a titan or whatever you want to do/say. In matchmaking all you need is to push a button and that's it.

This will mean that you could get paired up with [people who just clicked on, for example, a raid, without even knowing what that is... if you have run a raid you will remember who it was the first time you did it and how lost you were...

Well you could get paired up with a team like this... people who just click there for the craic and have no clue of what Vault of Glasss is...

Also, how do you deal with Checkpoints? lets say you manage to go through the first 2 stages, took you over 45 minutes, somone leaves, then someone else joins at that stage? how do you make that call?

What if I dont want ot join at, lets say, the templar becaus eI want to play the oracles?

Not viable, but then again, wouldnt bother me, I will still go to LFG, just because I want to live longer and using matchmaking will take life away from me lol

And the reason the game developers are unable to put this minimal level of info that LFG carries ingame is?

Checkpoints can be dealt with exactly how they are dealt with now, its trivial. You could have negative this and you could have negative that - you could have a great experience but you cannot as the game locks you away form content.

Every single question you asked is already answered in that it works on LFG. If some kid can knock up a site in a day that deals with all this do you not feel bungie have the resources to solve this?

edit: as per cormac, if you dont agree with me then this is how i picture you in ice cream form.
    icecream.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Can ye at least please end your points with some smack-talking-memes or someething lads, jeez?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I've gone back through about six pages and saw no mention of this so I said i'd drop it in here. I'm interested to see what the general opinion on it is.

Essentially its an analysis of the hooks destiny uses to keep you playing, its a very interesting watch.
    I stopped playing earlier in the year but I've always found myself tempted to return, looks like theres some actual science behind. it. Theres a related video somewhere by Johnathan Blow of "braid" fame too, I'll post it if i find it.

And the reason the game developers are unable to put this minimal level of info that LFG carries ingame is?

Checkpoints can be dealt with exactly how they are dealt with now, its trivial. You could have negative this and you could have negative that - you could have a great experience but you cannot as the game locks you away form content.

Every single question you asked is already answered in that it works on LFG. If some kid can knock up a site in a day that deals with all this do you not feel bungie have the resources to solve this?

edit: as per cormac, if you dont agree with me then this is how i picture you in ice cream form.
    icecream.jpg

So I guess you miss that part where I said I dont mind they introduce matchmaking and that should introduce this system in places such as the tower?

I will quote myself
    I think you are missing my point, I dont mind if they introduce matchmaking in all game types (except ToO of couse), I do know or suspect that when they do, people will not be able to complete most of this activities, starting with Raids, and Skolas, likely some PoEs.

Another thing I agree with you is that you shouldnt need to go outside the game to find people, like we said, a place in the tower were you could look for players would be perfect

Not sure whats going on here... must be because I am a foreigner!

He has some points about the behaviour stuff..... but I think the game presents good value for money.... you have FUN doing Raids or Crucible.... FarmVille doesn't elicit the same feeling of FUN, it's just something you do

His whole "I'm avoiding this cause I'm so noble" sthick though I could do without

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,158 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Cormac... wrote: »
    He has some points about the behaviour stuff..... but I think the game presents good value for money.... you have FUN doing Raids or Crucible.... FarmVille doesn't elicit the same feeling of FUN, it's just something you do

The not fun parts are a huge facet of the game too though and probably take up more playtime than the genuinely great parts. It's nowhere near as bad as it used to be though thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Yeah, that match against you guys was hilariously bad for us. We all just took our foot off the pedal at the very end and were waiting on someone else to deliver the final kill. Derp!! :confused:

Got Radegast Fury as a drop over the weekend. Happy days! I should easily get to Rank 5 on my Warlock this evening, and also need that PoE Titan helmet.

I'll be knocking around tonight too- realized I still have a nightfall to do if anyone else is in the same boat.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    The not fun parts are a huge facet of the game too though and probably take up more playtime than the genuinely great parts. It's nowhere near as bad as it used to be though thankfully.

Yeah, agreed, I can't say I look forward to doing the Weekly Strike etc.

I think hitting a wall and putting the game down for a while is a help though (not that I can say I've done it much) as when you come back it's fun again.

Gonna be playing Batman and some other stuff for a while now, think I've kind burned myself out now after Iron Banner..... realising I had no guns or armour left really to upgrade made bounties pointless and I'm a long way away from getting those elusive last 100 grimore points.

I'd really like to get to the Lighthouse or kill Skolas though :(

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,158 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I think hitting a wall and putting the game down for a while is a help though (not that I can say I've done it much) as when you come back it's fun again.

Gonna be playing Batman and some other stuff for a while now, think I've kind burned myself out now after Iron Banner..... realising I had no guns or armour left really to upgrade made bounties pointless and I'm a long way away from getting those elusive last 100 grimore points.

Skolas ain't that hard, you need to get on that! If I got to the lighthouse I'd probably stop playing altogether :D

I'm slowly starting to go back to other games now. i had a month or two Destiny free before HoW came out, nearly didn't want to go back because I knew I'd end up addicted again.

Hit me after tomorrow for Skolas if you want. Its the only PoE I do so I will be up for it anytime this week

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

His whole "I'm avoiding this cause I'm so noble" sthick though I could do without

That'd be the one criticism I'd have too, he's been fairly vocal in his disapproval of aspects of the game, so there's naturally bias there alright. If he'd toned that side of it down it'd be easier to digest.

TBF, bungie / activison have done themselves no favours though with the way they handle pricing and announcements of additional content.

I didnt shell out for the first season pass, as I couldn't justify paying what they're charging, If I saw it on sale, I'd probably make the jump alright, but its looking like they'll never go on sale, specially when you look at how they priced the taken king package that includes the old dlc.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Skolas ain't that hard, you need to get on that! If I got to the lighthouse I'd probably stop playing altogether :D

I'm slowly starting to go back to other games now. i had a month or two Destiny free before HoW came out, nearly didn't want to go back because I knew I'd end up addicted again.

Like a lad who's fallen off the wagon, "Era shure you'll have one! won't kill ya"
    Hit me after tomorrow for Skolas if you want. Its the only PoE I do so I will be up for it anytime this week

Ok cool, yeah that would be good, I've been avoiding him like the plague cause or the horror stories of people being on him for like 8 hours
    TBF, bungie / activison have done themselves no favours though with the way they handle pricing and announcements of additional content.

I'd say that is 99% activision, it's Par for the Course with them :D
    I didnt shell out for the first season pass, as I couldn't justify paying what they're charging, If I saw on sale, I'd probably make the jump alright, but its looking like they'll never go on sale, specially when you look at how they priced the taken king package that includes the old dlc.

Best off sell the Vanilla copy if you have the Disc and but TTK Package with the lot so, if you are getting it that is, probably get €15 for Vanilla

You're on xb1 right?? I'll do Skolas anytime.

foxerv1 wrote: »
    You're on xb1 right?? I'll do Skolas anytime.

Nope, PS4

Nope, PS4

Ah shoot my mistake :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,499 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Did the raids on 1 character, the nf/heroic on 2, poe 32 on 1, and no iron banner.

Got the hawk from nf so I'm happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

Is the lag really that bad in Destiny PvP? Kotaku have an article up on it.

Personally I've only noticed it a few times this past week.

Source

• Registered Users Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

Source

Yes it is, and it does seem to be getting worse.

Anyone on xbone up for some last minute iron banana?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

Source

A little snippet of my own experience. Burst out laughing when it happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

I'm happy with my weeks work in the IB. I got two characters to Rank 5 so bought 4 Etheric Light. I have enough to get my new Hunter to Level 34.

Just need some armour now for the Hunter. Next task is to PoE 32 to get an armour core.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Played a little of IB last night, full party, some of us had good connections, some mixed and some awful.
    Got a Lone Wolf medal which must be pretty rare. Lead your team to victory and get no assists. Doubly hard when using the Thorn. :D
    My KD was ludicrously high comparitively speaking as I was sober. Got my first Jolder's Hammer, so happy out all 'n all.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭SteveDPirate

Iron Banner was a bit more of a grind than I expected. It's the first time I got a character to level 5. Bought the 2 Etheric Light, Jolders and both shaders. Also got Radegasts Fury as a drop and the fusion rifle. The last IB bounty I had was the 10 kill streak one, and I was resigned to not completing it. I got it in the second last game I played, and I didn't even notice!! Went on a shotgun spree on Anomaly.

There were some great games along the way. Some were laggy, but overall I thought the connection was ok and it was fun. One thing I've learned is that it's way, WAY more fun playing in a full team.

Thanks to Emmet and Kev I got my aeroplane Titan helm, so I have a good spread of Light Level 42 armour for all characters. I'm burnt out on my Warlock. Time to Titan again methinks.

Finally got to the lighthouse last night with a mercy boon still to spare and got a void scout rifle for my troubles. Would have done it an hour earlier but for a bee error giving me a loss after 5 wins. Thanks to Ger and Itchy for staying on for three more games after their flawless passage completed.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,112 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

nightfall - shadow thief with Arc burn and specialist.

Sounds like a whole pile of NOPE to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,835 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

nightfall - shadow thief with Arc burn and specialist.

Sounds like a whole pile of NOPE to me!

One shot everything with P&T :)

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭synesthesia

yeah ... at 34 it's a piece of cake.