Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Finally... Student Meet-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

Yep, I can also attest - T'was a good/gewd night!

Next time a slightly quieter venue might be better (although Messrs is good generally - think the whole christmas/12 pubs malark makes venues turn those decibels up).

Kudos to Soldering IRON (i refuse to spell it the other way). Looking forward to another one in the new year yoll!

bikeman1 wrote: »
    In fairness the guys are in college or working, young, finding it difficult to meet with other like minded guys and some people start going on about being inclusive etc.

There is nothing wrong with them restricting it to who they want. Other boards meet ups have not gone well because people wonder will I be the only one like me going?

Go and have a fun night, young men and don't worry about everyone for the first meet up. What we've gone through over the last few years has / is been a personal challenge.

We have all seen the amount of posts on here about young single guys finding it difficult to meet others. Maybe a full boards lgbt boards meet up in the new year??

Also: This!

Think there should definitely be a another "student" meetup but an all-inclusive one sounds good too for sure.

Bit baffled by some of the posts here. Simmer down lads, it ain't no thing but a chicken wing, etc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

Saturday
    Hey girl hey, to all ma' b*tches of last night :D

Had a blast lads, was cool. Defo we can do it, after N.Y. (that's if we get one, 21st Dec, damn those Mayans and their cut-off calendar) so hope everyone had a good time as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 normal lad

Saturday
    Great night. We'll defo do it again in new year!! Nice to meet ye all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Saturday
    It was a great night lads, and oh how my head hurts. We should defo have another one in January. Best night I've had in a while.

(Oh yeah, and I don't normally shift 50 year olds btw, but ya only live once :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Soldering_Iorn

Saturday
    Rothmans wrote: »
    It was a great night lads, and oh how my head hurts. We should defo have another one in January. Best night I've had in a while.

(Oh yeah, and I don't normally shift 50 year olds btw, but ya only live once :P)

*cough

wagner.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Saturday
    lol. IIRC, I shifted someone slightly younger after him so it balanced out in the end lol.

I wasn't the only one who got the shift though ;-), if ya know what I mean
    *cough

wagner.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

Saturday
    Rothmans wrote: »

Shifting a 50 year ol' lol why that does not surprise me Rothmans :D SugarDaddy FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Da Optimist

Well by the sound of things everyone had a good night, pity I had to leave early but it was great to meet everyone.

Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭kingfisherdove

Saturday
    Sounds like things got interesting after I left! :P

But seriously great night, great meeting u all :)

Saturday
    ...but seriously, fairplay to everyone who came, GREAT NIGHT! Roll on 2013! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭mackD

Where did ye end up?

Saturday
    mackD wrote: »
    Where did ye end up?

Front Lounge! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭mackD

Ah I didn't know the front lounge was a late night place. I only ever had a quick drink there so wasn't able to get much of a sense for it.
    Maybe Wildes should be an option for the next meet-up. That place is very interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 DryingPan

Saturday
    Yep it was a great night. It was nice to meet all of you. I'm looking forward to the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭apache

So who deleted my post? Or do I even need to ask? It was a good one and must have cut too close to the bone! Didn't say anything wrong. Just agreeing with what others said about the stupidity and pathetic remarks about the inclusive comments!

Well done solder boy on organising the meet and being proactive.

Saturday
    apache wrote: »
    So who deleted my post? Or do I even need to ask? It was a good one and must have cut too close to the bone! Didn't say anything wrong. Just agreeing with what others said about the stupidity and pathetic remarks about the inclusive comments!

Well done solder boy on organising the meet and being proactive.

Yes some of us had noticed your post, then it disappeared. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭apache

Yes some of us had noticed your post, then it disappeared. :mad:
    Cool. Well as long as you saw it thats the main thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Glad you all had a good night! Def had to be done as there was a staggering amount of young lads consistently posting about how to meet likeminded people. Fair play to yis!

If there was enough interest a female equivalent meet up would be great but I don't think there is :(

A general meet up for everyone in the New Year sounds like a good idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭checkcheek

Thursday
    I wish I was able to go. Would love to make some new friends who are lgbt

checkcheek wrote: »
    I wish I was able to go. Would love to make some new friends who are lgbt

Come next time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭lemon_sherbert

If there was enough interest a female equivalent meet up would be great but I don't think there is :(

You never know though! I think there are a few of us who lurk about these parts, so you might have luck if you start a thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

Wednesday
    You never know though! I think there are a few of us who lurk about these parts, so you might have luck if you start a thread :)

I think that's true. If you look at the users in this thread, a few only have 2 or 3 posts because they registered when they saw the thread. So it's possible that a female equivalent would attract at least a few interested people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I think that's true. If you look at the users in this thread, a few only have 2 or 3 posts because they registered when they saw the thread. So it's possible that a female equivalent would attract at least a few interested people.

May try organise one in the New Year, so! Though I will be pretty busy and also suck at organisation so if anyone else wants to take the reigns go ahead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭scullersky

Thursday
    Delighted ye all had a great time :-)

I cant wat untill the next meet up as I will actually be living in Dublin then so I will be able to go :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 arealhumanbein

I'd love to go to the next one. I've just been launched into the real world. Hope I'm not too old :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Bobby42

New year meet up anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭kingfisherdove

Saturday
    I'm definitely up for a new year meet up in the next couple of weeks after last month's success :) Hopefully all can make it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Bobby42

Yep I couldn't make the last one, exams got in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Yeah, I'd be up for one! Couldn't make it to last one cos of my christmas work party being that night.