Android Tablet ~€55 @ Focal Price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭crystallove

jayteecork wrote: »

the reviews seems good ,you may have a try, if you buy one and have a great function,plz recommend to me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

the reviews seems good ,you may have a try, if you buy one and have a great function,plz recommend to me:D

I think the ones with that VIA8650 chip are the worst of the cheap ones out there, and a lot of them reviews need to be taken with a pinch of salt, very easy for sellers to stick a few 'reviews' up on their websites, forums etc. and create a good impression.

There are some apparently decent tablets out there at cheap prices, but there are even more clones of the good ones so it is a bit of a minefield.

Am still waiting on the DX one to ship, so will let ye know if is any use if it gets here before Christmas!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 opendoor2

eamonnq wrote: »
    I think the ones with that VIA8650 chip are the worst of the cheap ones out there, and a lot of them reviews need to be taken with a pinch of salt, very easy for sellers to stick a few 'reviews' up on their websites, forums etc. and create a good impression.

There are some apparently decent tablets out there at cheap prices, but there are even more clones of the good ones so it is a bit of a minefield.

Am still waiting on the DX one to ship, so will let ye know if is any use if it gets here before Christmas!!!

lol, the shipping time of DX and focalprice really bores me too much:mad:

Yeah, on the cheap stuff I tend to forget about it and then when a package arrives I can't even remember what I ordered, but they have shipped the tablet now so I will be checking the tracking every 5 mins!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Xpsgamer

Fools to buy any item valued at more than a fiver from China, i see the future, and you will regret these tablets

Not at all, I have bought plenty of stuff, even a few tablets and was quite happy with them. Once you don't expect an Ipad for the money you pay they are well worth it.

Have a 10in 32gb pad on the way from China also.

Not at all, I have bought plenty of stuff, even a few tablets and was quite happy with them. Once you don't expect an Ipad for the money you pay they are well worth it.

Have a 10in 32gb pad on the way from China also.

Yes, agree with you
    when you buy from these sites, you must consider more
    can you bear the shipping time or what kind of products you want:)

opendoor2 wrote: »
    Yes, agree with you
    when you buy from these sites, you must consider more
    can you bear the shipping time or what kind of products you want:)

Shipping time is usually better than I expect, but they can never get here quick enough!!!

and you have to allow for a few days in customs too on the more expensive stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭cityhunter

Shipping time is usually better than I expect, but they can never get here quick enough!!!

and you have to allow for a few days in customs too on the more expensive stuff

That is the truth, if you choose cheap stuffs, you may choose the slow shipping speed and need to wait a long time
    if you choose fast shipping, you may spend more
    everything has its good point and bad points,it depends:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

frist time drinking in 2 months last nite checked my email this morning and i found that i bought this it was only €65 for everything.

I guess it could be worse could have bought an overpriced HP touchpad on ebay
    will do a review when i get it

orangebud wrote: »
    frist time drinking in 2 months last nite checked my email this morning and i found that i bought this it was only €65 for everything.

I guess it could be worse could have bought an overpriced HP touchpad on ebay
    will do a review when i get it

The only thing on that one is that it has the VIA8650 chip which as far as I know is not the best.

Got my 10in 32gb from China yesterday and am pleasantly suprised with it so far!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

@eamonnq: which one did you go for? any linky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Newtown90

The only thing on that one is that it has the VIA8650 chip which as far as I know is not the best.

Got my 10in 32gb from China yesterday and am pleasantly suprised with it so far!!

Yes where'd ya buy it from!

Would be fairly interested in one for the basics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

@eamonnq: which one did you go for? any linky?

read the thread - post number 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Gulliver

paddyp wrote: »
    read the thread - post number 23

That's the 7" one, we're interested in this 10" 32gb beastie he mentioned!

Jaysus lads, let me play around with it a bit more before I give my final verdict. Don't want to send ye off buying something that packs in after a few days!!

Might be selling my one as I just got my credit card statement, all these little bargains add up!!!

Now in the market we have android 2.3, the version of 2.2will lose its market soon, I prefer this
    7" ones

Nice one!! now I have another tempting offer instead!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Has anyone bought from http://www.myefox.com/ ? Some of the stuff seems to be fairly well spec'd at low prices but I haven't seen reviews so not taking the plunge.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm................some smells a bit fishy to me!!

I would steer well clear!!!

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/myefoxcom-c449711.html

Now I know every company will end up with complaints and complaints are a lot easier to find than good things being said about a company, but I would not be going near them, especially when there are other companies that supply similar things at similar prices.

A few newbies registering to post about the company also sets off alarm bells!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

What do people think of this? The Yarvik TAB250

http://www.google.com/search?q=yarvik+tab250&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-ie:IE-SearchBox&ie=&oe=

Looks good for the price but i am no expert on these things. Interested in a lowish budget tablet

[/QUOTE]
    never heard about this one?This is a new brand?or i am out[/QUOTE]

Must be, i cant find any reviews (apart form one very positive one). I think its a Dutch company,

very tempted to take the plunge, if i decide that 7 inch is big enough

Jaysus lads, let me play around with it a bit more before I give my final verdict. Don't want to send ye off buying something that packs in after a few days!!

Might be selling my one as I just got my credit card statement, all these little bargains add up!!!

10in one is very good, 32gb, with 2 USB slots and a micro sd slot, only issue is wifi range is not great (but there are some tweaks that I have yet to try which are meant to improve it).

Can you link to the 10 inch one? can only see the 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Meh, so much scrap posted in bargain alerts these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭mcd121

Meh, so much scrap posted in bargain alerts these days

The 10" yarvik is also on that site and is priced at 143 euro shipped. I can't find any review of it tho as it seems its all in dutch only one review from yarvik s own site...so dunno if I'd trust that...has anyone got any more info on this...seems cheap if its any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kaoshi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭TechFreak

Got my 7 inch andriod tab and flashed it with a slick new operating system called Uberoid which I got online. Its a Honeycomb Hybrid. Got the tab for 46 euro on ebay and flashing the rom was easy.

I even have the offical android market app on it. The OS you get a standard is sh*te and the android market app on it is not the legit one but a B*stardised version of it.

These tabs dont support skype tho so be warned. Fring barely works on them for video too but fring is grand for voice chat.

Savage ebook reader and great for watching AVIs. Bat life is ok too tho. Depends on your tech spec.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/32gb-iBex-FlyTouch3-SuperPad-II-Android-2-2-Tablet-PC-/190580271673?pt=US_Tablets&hash=item2c5f782a39#ht_5174wt_1139

This is the 10in one that I got, flashed it with a new rom and am fairly happy with it, have not had time to play around with it much, battery life seems decent, wifi is a bit weak but I think that can be tweaked.

EDIT: I did not buy from this ebay seller, and am in no way recommending him as I have had no dealings or connection with him.