Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-11-2010, 09:21   #1
Slipshaney
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 489
Get RTE on Humax Box

OK now this may be a silly question. I am in Cork, and have a Humax Foxsat HDR.

If I put in a Northern Ireland Post code at setuip, can I get the Irish Channels if I tune in manually?

Thanks in advance
Slipshaney is offline  
Advertisement
23-11-2010, 09:27   #2
mossym
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Killaloe
Posts: 3,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slipshaney View Post
OK now this may be a silly question. I am in Cork, and have a Humax Foxsat HDR.

If I put in a Northern Ireland Post code at setuip, can I get the Irish Channels if I tune in manually?

Thanks in advance
nope, rte only on satellite with a sky sub
mossym is offline  
Thanks from:
23-11-2010, 09:28   #3
Slipshaney
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 489
thanks mate - do you know if I can get some sort of Sky card, and put into the slot at front of machine (for a once off payment perhaps)?

Just in order to get the Irish channels?
Slipshaney is offline  
23-11-2010, 09:32   #4
12 element
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 557
It's not possible without paying sky a monthly subscription, a sky card wont work in a humax box either. You need an aerial.
12 element is offline  
Thanks from:
23-11-2010, 09:35   #5
Slipshaney
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 489
thanks again - I have an aerial so I do get the Irish channels through that, but since I have the freesat recorder, I was wondering if it would have been possible to someone get these through the box instead (so I cabn record these)

Im not sure what the slot is useful for on the front of the Humax box to be honest
Slipshaney is offline  
Advertisement
23-11-2010, 09:39   #6
mossym
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Killaloe
Posts: 3,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slipshaney View Post
thanks again - I have an aerial so I do get the Irish channels through that, but since I have the freesat recorder, I was wondering if it would have been possible to someone get these through the box instead (so I cabn record these)

Im not sure what the slot is useful for on the front of the Humax box to be honest
it can be used for subscription cards, but not the sky one. the old setanta one may have worked in it, not sure
mossym is offline  
23-11-2010, 12:01   #7
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,357
no not the Setanta Card.

You might be able to add RTE to your Humax in April / May 2011 by adding a second feed or dish and Diseqc switch.

http://www.saortv.info/satellite-sao...sat-reception/
watty is offline  
(2) thanks from:
24-11-2010, 14:59   #8
musohead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Get RTE on Humax Box

The basic Irish channels are now available on Freeview, the digital free-to-air equivalent of the old analogue aerial service. It's part of Ireland's EU commitment to switch off the old service (by 2012 I think).

There are cheap Freeview receivers, some look just like a Scart connector. So your TV could have one scart input for Freeview and another for Freesat.
musohead is offline  
24-11-2010, 15:10   #9
12 element
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by musohead View Post
The basic Irish channels are now available on Freeview, the digital free-to-air equivalent of the old analogue aerial service. It's part of Ireland's EU commitment to switch off the old service (by 2012 I think).

There are cheap Freeview receivers, some look just like a Scart connector. So your TV could have one scart input for Freeview and another for Freesat.
I think your mixing up your words. The Irish channels are not available on freeview (The UK's digital service) and freeview receivers wont work for the irish service which is called saorview. For more info see : saortv.info
12 element is offline  
Advertisement
24-11-2010, 15:11   #10
STB
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by musohead View Post
The basic Irish channels are now available on Freeview, the digital free-to-air equivalent of the old analogue aerial service. It's part of Ireland's EU commitment to switch off the old service (by 2012 I think).

There are cheap Freeview receivers, some look just like a Scart connector. So your TV could have one scart input for Freeview and another for Freesat.
No No No. Wrong information.

The digital terrestrial service is called Saorview. It is not called Freeview. Freeview is the Uk digital service.

"Cheap" Freeview receivers will not work with Irish DTT. You need an MPEg4 H264/AVC DVB-T receiver to pick up Irish DTT. And you can combine both HD satellite and Irish Digital Terrestrial(Saorview) in one channel list with one remote, onebox via whats called a HD Combo Box €169. See the terrestrial forum.

Last edited by STB; 24-11-2010 at 15:13.
STB is offline  
24-11-2010, 15:33   #11
musohead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Get RTE on Humax Box

Thanks for picking me up on that. I was incorrectly using the UK title as a general term and, as you say, a Freeview receiver will not work on Saorview. I'm told that a Freeview HD will work on Saorview but would need to be confirmed on the Saorview compatability site.

Is there an existing receiver that receives Freesat HD, Saorview HD (or Freesat HD) and has a PVR? One that could record on one format while viewing the other would be nice (like a dual-feed Sky+). I know I'd still need a dish for the Freesat.
musohead is offline  
24-11-2010, 15:43   #12
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,357
Only "Freeview HD" Humax, not regular Humax for Freeview.

As others have pointed out, Irish Free Digital Terrestrial is called Saorview and "Freeview" is the brand of the incompatible obsolete UK Digital system (they are rolling out a new system called "Freeview HD").

Admittedly it's confusing and Saor means Free. But we are talking about THREE different systems.

Unlike "Freeview" there is no Separate "Saorview HD". "Saorview" is a system that includes HD as part of the minimum spec from day 1.

No. there is no fully compliant combo that does dish + aerial. There are boxes that will do PVR features, Irish DTT reception and UK Satellite Reception.

After April it might be possible to use a good "Freesat HD" PVR (Freesat+ HD) for Saorsat also. Till then you either use a Combo box that lacks features or two PVRs, one for Saorview (aerial) and one for Freesat (via Dish).

I never thought I would say this after dissing Media Center Edition for last 7 years and questioning the value of Windows 7:
If you have Windows 7 with Media Center and 2 x PCI or PCI-e DVB-S2 cards to dish and a dual Tuner USB stick, you have a PVR that does everything including 7 day EPG and MHEG5 Interactive. It appears to be the only known reason to upgrade from XP to Windows 7. You need a newish PC/Laptop though with suitable graphics that has 50Hz HDMI output for HDTV.

Last edited by watty; 24-11-2010 at 15:53.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
24-11-2010, 15:48   #13
STB
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by musohead View Post
Is there an existing receiver that receives Freesat HD, Saorview HD (or Freesat HD) and has a PVR? One that could record on one format while viewing the other would be nice (like a dual-feed Sky+). I know I'd still need a dish for the Freesat.
Of the cheap ones €169 - the Ferguson Ariva Combo HD (see satellite.ie) will allow you to record DTT and watch satellite and vice versa. For Sat it will only allow you watch stations on the same transponder as you are watching.

PVR is via USB.
STB is offline  
Thanks from:
24-11-2010, 16:06   #14
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by musohead View Post
I'm told that a Freeview HD will work on Saorview but would need to be confirmed on the Saorview compatability site.
Only Saorview certified receivers will appear on the Saorview website, these receivers could also be separately freeview-HD certified of course. Members here on the boards have confirmed freeview-HD certified TVs and PVRs working with the Irish DTT channels.
The Cush is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet