Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An open letter to all party leaders about unwarranted "expenses"

• 26-10-2010 9:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭

Dear Messrs Kenny, Gilmore & Cowen

I listened with disgust at an RTE news report this evening which highlighted how some of your members have claimed Dail attendance expenses while not in the Dáil due to the Icelandic volcano.

This is 100% unacceptable.

Many of those who claimed attendance expenses were not even on state business.

I can now 100% guarantee all of you that if these fraudulent expenses are not repaid immediately to the taxpayer that none of you will be getting a vote from me.

I could understand them being paid their wages, but like any normal working person in this country they should have had travel insurance and found their own ways of paying.

This is yet another absolute disgrace bringing politics further into disrepute and proving that politicians are insulated from the real world.

I await a public statement from each party leader stating that they have indicated that those involved either return these fraudulent expenses or be evicted from their party. The fact that it is "within the rules" is irrelevant, because the Dáil is supposed to make the rules in the interests of the country.

I have seen some outrageous goings on under the umbrella of politics in this country, and this is absolutely the last straw.

Get your act together and start acting in the interests of the country - NOW!

THAT is what you are paid for......you are OUR employees!

Sincerely (and disgustedly)
    Liam Byrne
    Limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

I am one of the few people who bother to write to politicians to tell them how I feel about such things. If only more people simply put pen to paper to INSTRUCT these people on our wishes, we'd be in a much better place. Fair play Liam.

(cue the usual cries form some who claim "they're all the same, they should know this already" etc. The problem is they are disjointed from reality and need letters like this to guide them back to earth).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 carobu

Now more than ever people need to push to reduce the bill for politicians. It is not the public service as a whole that is at fault but the TDs and Higher paid civil service who serve very little purpose except to cost us a fortune. All their expenses should be cut back big time. Anytime a politician calls to my door in future I will ask them what their expenses bill is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

And just to place their names on record in this thread:

John O'Donoghue FF
    James O'Reilly FG
    Bernard Allen FG
    Jim O'Keeffe FG

Claimed simply because they could and to enrich themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Well done, Liam. You should probably add the independent Jackie Healy-Rae to the list. He is one of the worst offenders when it comes to expenses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

For once Fine Geal top the poll:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭flutered

i have emailed my two dff tds would they please ask their fellow party member, the euro sucker, donie cassidy how can i be expected to live on under 10,000 a year, when he cannot manage on 149,000.

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

I'd love to get paid for not turning up to work but I don't even get an attendance allowance when I do turn up !!!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Submitted receipts included with all expense claims .... exactly the same as in every other business in this country. What is so difficult about this?:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Is it any surprise that John O'Donoghue should be on the list?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Our politicians, across all benches, are - in general - a bunch of arrogant, money grabbing chancers.

I'd love to see a vother sentiment poll however, to guage how much of a real issue this is to people at the ballot box.

I wonder, I wonder? It's genuinely an interesting question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

what about the people sitting no Boards at Semi-States???

What about the chief exec of the ESB?

Should we not be going after them as well?

NickDrake wrote: »
    what about the people sitting no Boards at Semi-States???

What about the chief exec of the ESB?

Should we not be going after them as well?
    The whole lot.

I think we need to reform every pay packet, allowance or expenses system across the state sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭Floppybits

All politicians need to take a 50% pay cut to start with, all expenses need to be claimed with a valid receipt, on top of that clear guidelines need to the published as to what can and cant be claimed and all expenses that are claimed for regardless of whether they are paid for them or not should be made public.

More accountability, its time that we start seeing politicians resign when major cock ups occur in there area or found to be acting in a manner not becoming of a member of the dail, none of this burying the head or resigning as minister but keeping their seat.

Finally it is time to for a big change and I would like to see FF and FG disbanded and new parties formed that based more on a modern Ireland rather than on civil war politics. Ok at the start the new parties maybe full of the crap and it will take some time to work but we need to do something to remove this Civil war politics crap out of modern Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Have you sent that letter to the party leaders?

They won't read it here
    Just saying

• Registered Users Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Listening to Tony Killeen on Newstalk trying to defend the practice of having Guarda drivers bringing our ministers all around the country was nauseating.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,140 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Callan57 wrote: »
    Submitted receipts included with all expense claims .... exactly the same as in every other business in this country. What is so difficult about this?:mad:

I can assure you if the lowly civil servant who will be processing the claims as much as claimed a busfare without producing the ticket they wouldn't be paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Have you sent that letter to the party leaders?

They won't read it here
    Just saying

It's gone to the papers, and I'll send it to the party leaders later (although they'll probably have some relation-hired-as-a-secretary to open it and bin it).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

spurious wrote: »
    I can assure you if the lowly civil servant who will be processing the claims as much as claimed a busfare without producing the ticket they wouldn't be paid.

Yep. Once upon a time I had an expense account. I had certain things, books and materials, conference travel, accommodation and food, that I could claim for. I had to pay up front, and then save the receipt to be reimbursed. No receipt = no reimbursement. Dodgy claim (not that I ever submitted one) = no reimbursement.

All totally transparent even if the upfront costs to me sometimes crippled my credit card while I waited the two months for reimbursement. Having to pay from your own pocket before reimbursement made you consider more clearly whether an expense was necessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

and people are wondering why FG are strugging in the opinion polls.
    they've had their hands in the cookie jar just as much as FF, people barely make any distinguishments between the two parties anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    It's gone to the papers, and I'll send it to the party leaders later (although they'll probably have some relation-hired-as-a-secretary to open it and bin it).

And do you expect them to read every single letter and eamil they receive???

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

well apparently we dont send them enough letters so they shouldn't have a problem opening the few they get.

At this stage, only if it comes from "begging@angloirishbank.ie" and "attendees@galwaytent.ie"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

At this stage, only if it comes from "begging@angloirishbank.ie" and "attendees@galwaytent.ie"

They could have used a less conspicuous email address...

DrumSteve wrote: »
    They could have used a less conspicuous email address...

Nah.......they're openly flaunting their corruption and waste at this stage, and we're taking it up the arse, so why would they bother ?

Let's not forget that when FG last came to power, they were broke and 4m Punts in the red. Within a year of functions and dinners, now attended by ministers rather than opposition spokesmen, they were back in black.

Labour is financially tied to the unions, and well, we've seen how the holier than thou champaign socialists have been spending our money. Just because he has a beard and is screaming about the "wurker" doesn't mean he's not enjoying his €100k+ salary, expense account, board memberships and junket opportunities.

I know we all have heard 'anecdotal' stories from the civil and public service - perhaps leading us to believe, in our more cynical moments, that the state is very opaque for reasons other than our benefit as citizens - and they have fun with expenses there, too.

For example, quango employees who regularly attend conferences around the country, who claim the overnight rate and mileage individually. Despite the fact that they all drive down in the same car early in the morning for their 10am start.

From simple white collar crime to questionable practices through subtle cash for access and on to brown envelopes stuffed with money, the top strata of the Irish golden circle use the taxpayer as a piggy bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

I could understand them being paid their wages, but like any normal working person in this country they should have had travel insurance and found their own ways of paying.
    I can't understand them being paid their wages in their absence. None were on official business. Most if not all "ordinary" people caught up in the debacle were forced to either take it as holidays or were docked their wages. I believe this included Public Servants so why the special treatment for these crooks. And crooks is what they are if they claimed Dáil expenses when they were not, in fact, there. The Guards should have been feeling their collars by now. It's fcukin scandalous.
    gambiaman wrote: »
    And just to place their names on record in this thread:

John O'Donoghue FF
    James O'Reilly FG
    Bernard Allen FG
    Jim O'Keeffe FG

Claimed simply because they could and to enrich themselves.
    They should be up for fraud. All of them. Funny how O'Donoghue's name always comes up when there's dodgy expenses involved.
    And do you expect them to read every single letter and email they receive???
    Yes! The lazy b**tards do fcuk all else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Let's not forget that when FG last came to power, they were broke and 4m Punts in the red. Within a year of functions and dinners, now attended by ministers rather than opposition spokesmen, they were back in black.
    They all (FF, FG, Lab, Greens, and a few Indies) have their snouts in the trough. They're like fleas sucking blood out of us.
    Labour is financially tied to the unions, and well, we've seen how the holier than thou champaign socialists have been spending our money. Just because he has a beard and is screaming about the "wurker" doesn't mean he's not enjoying his €100k+ salary, expense account, board memberships and junket opportunities.
    Absolutely, and we've seen recently how they creamed off a load of our cash that, in the words of a famous character, is just resting in their account. Hence, I suppose why they couldn't drag the PS workers out on an all out strike last year. They'd been bought off by the Govt. with our tax revenue. Nice one lads!
    I know we all have heard 'anecdotal' stories from the civil and public service - perhaps leading us to believe, in our more cynical moments, that the state is very opaque for reasons other than our benefit as citizens - and they have fun with expenses there, too.

For example, quango employees who regularly attend conferences around the country, who claim the overnight rate and mileage individually. Despite the fact that they all drive down in the same car early in the morning for their 10am start.

From simple white collar crime to questionable practices through subtle cash for access and on to brown envelopes stuffed with money, the top strata of the Irish golden circle use the taxpayer as a piggy bank.
    The problem is that these people are watching the upper echelons of the Public Service and the Government ripping us off with their fraudulent expense rackets so, I suppose, they feel they should have a slug from the trough too. It's never going to be sorted out until the Fraud unit start taking these Departments apart and locking up a few. Fat chance of that happening though...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

In a word, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

The reply I got, from a email I sent them earlier today..... all names have been removed.

On Wed, Oct 27, 2010 at 3:05 PM, <XXX.XXX@taoiseach.gov.ie> wrote:

Dear Mr. XXX

I wish to acknowledge receipt of your email of 27 October, 2010 which will
    be brought to the Taoiseach's attention as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

XXXX XXXX
    Taoiseach's Private Office
    Telephone: 01-6194020
    E-mail: privateoffice@taoiseach.gov.ie

Lets see if they reply my guess would be no... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Mac daddy wrote: »
    The reply I got, from a email I sent them earlier today..... all names have been removed.

On Wed, Oct 27, 2010 at 3:05 PM, <XXX.XXX@taoiseach.gov.ie> wrote:

Dear Mr. XXX

I wish to acknowledge receipt of your email of 27 October, 2010 which will
    be brought to the Taoiseach's attention as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

XXXX XXXX
    Taoiseach's Private Office
    Telephone: 01-6194020
    E-mail: privateoffice@taoiseach.gov.ie

Lets see if they reply my guess would be no... :)

Huh..well you got further than me.The few times I've sent emails in I've got back "the Taoiseach gets a lot of emails and cannot read them all, however we will pass your message along" (in fancy language obviously!).

Maybe the penny is slowly sinking in that people are p*&sed off......:confused:. Who knew? Fair play anyway.