Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Sweet 16 comes to Kilkenny

• 19-06-2008 1:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭

This should be interesting:

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/Local-girl-supersizes-her-sweet.4194319.jp
    ONE Kilkenny teen will have her dream come true this weekend, when her extravagant 16th birthday party is filmed for the infamous MTV programme, My Super Sweet 16.

Claudia Cardillo, 16, and her sisters Nadia, 15, and Daniela, 19, will host a Mafia-inspired bash at the Lyrath Estate Hotel on Sunday which will feature in a double episode of the show, to air later this year.

The show, which focuses on the lavish, flamboyant and above all, expensive, bashes thrown for teens, is predominantly filmed in the United States and this is only the second time ever that an Irish party will be shown.

More than 500 people are expected to attend the Cardillos’ black-tie bash which will feature the British rapper, Wylie and Kilkenny band Jilted among other live music acts.

Lyrath’s events coordinator, Elaine Scott, who has had less than a month to plan the party, said she had never seen anything like it.

“The set is absolutely huge, it’s just fabulous,” she said.

“There’s going to be casino tables and fireworks, it’s going to be just amazing.”

Ms Scott said another band and DJ had been confirmed for the event, but she could not reveal the names, leading to speculation Lyrath may play host to even more big names this weekend.

MTV have been filming the Cardillos’ and Lyrath over the past few weeks as they get ready for the bash and will also be on hand to film events on the night.

Other TV camera crews are also expected to attend what is sure to be the 16th birthday bash of the year.

And the public have a chance to be part of this event by showing up on the night to be spectators and may even be filmed for the show.

The girls’ parents, Berna and Carlos Cardillo, are well-known throughout Kilkenny and also own the Italian Connection restaurant in Parliament Street.

Lyrath will hold auditions on Friday for males aged between 15 and 26 who would like to appear as dancers or party escorts on the night.

Anyone interested in applying should contact Ms Scott on 056-7705846.

MTV are also looking for experienced loggers and runners to work on the film shoot on the day and in the lead up to it.

Anyone interested in applying for these positions can contact Ms Scott on the above number or via email at c&b@lyrath.com

My Super Sweet 16, which has developed a cult following on MTV, is billed as a “wild ride behind the scenes for all the drama, surprises and over-the-top fun as teens prepare for their most important coming-of-age celebrations”.

Let's hope it's not as bad as the other Irish one with Lorcan: http://www.mtv.co.uk/overdrive/id/99623

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Sam!

jesus christ!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Oh god no :(

The worst kind of tabloid trash television comes to Kilkenny. Gah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Italian-Irish OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When the **** will they have it in Dublin though?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

my day can not get any better haha fecking gas I hope its as cring worthy as the lads from dundalk :D

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

I pick one weekend to go home, one flaming weekend and this....meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Is she hawt?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Bitchez

All spoilt bitches

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I might turn up very drunk and without an invitation so the bouncers will kick me out.
    Hopefully I will be seen on MTV though!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Laura Appleby

Oh my God you guys this is totally rad I can't believe some of you are like bitter and stuff its totally cool that this young girls dream is coming true and you guys should just go hate somewhere else. turning up drunk is such a WC thing to do..... Like get a life or whatever.

Italian-Irish OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When the **** will they have it in Dublin though?

Also that Irish-Italian remark is like totally racist I used to go out with an irish italian guy and he was so sweet. like i said stop hating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Og god it was hilarious around here the last time this happened. That lorcan thread was epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Like! OMG! I think the people were being sarcastic and/or making a joke!

Oh my God you guys this is totally rad I can't believe some of you are like bitter and stuff its totally cool that this young girls dream is coming true and you guys should just go hate somewhere else. turning up drunk is such a WC thing to do..... Like get a life or whatever.
    OMG gosh like I was only joking, i am like so stoked!

Take your Americanism some where else little bitch!

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Plug, i'll join you with the turning up drunk at the party! :P

Ravage1616 wrote: »
    Plug, i'll join you with the turning up drunk at the party! :P
    A few of my friends were thinking about it alright! Might go for the crack. We could be on tv across the world lol:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Get off my forum now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

like omg i like totally agreelike wtf......no wait I cant even do that. *shoots you and your annoying use of the english language* much better :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Making her mark already!!

<SNIP>

MOD EDIT: Laura Appleby banned for being overcome with verbal diarrhoea!
    Last edited by basquille; 20-10-2007 at 00:38.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Stephen wrote: »
    Oh god no :(

The worst kind of tabloid trash television comes to Kilkenny. Gah.

agreed, perhaps her parents should be jailed for wasting money on such meaingless ****e?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Some more stupidly spoilt idiots then. I hear that its scripted and that the sisters have a bust up in it. Its embarrassing tbh. I'm hoping there will be lots of gatecrashers causing havoc :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Nightwish wrote: »
    Some more stupidly spoilt idiots then. I hear that its scripted and that the sisters have a bust up in it. Its embarrassing tbh. I'm hoping there will be lots of gatecrashers causing havoc :D
    ha ha more than likely you don't see it in america cos they can't drink before 21....what's the real drinking age 15???16??? does anyone believe this won't end up with lots of drunken people at it

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

It says the public are welcome in the article.... is that for real??

Is nobody else thinking serious gatecrash session?

edit: "serious" as in mass, lots of us.

Okay don't know why you're all hating but I think you should totally like get over the fact that someone has more money than you and wants to spend it.
    I dont get whats so wrong with that except for the fact that you're bitter that you're poor. So instead of gatecrashing the party why don't ye all just stay in your little cubby hole drinking your cider or whatver you guys drink....that potato drink. yeah potato wine! drink that! I was at Lorcans bash and it was excellent you guys don't even know what you're talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Okay don't know why you're all hating but I think you should totally like get over the fact that someone has more money than you and wants to spend it.
    I dont get whats so wrong with that except for the fact that you're bitter that you're poor. So instead of gatecrashing the party why don't ye all just stay in your little cubby hole drinking your cider or whatver you guys drink....that potato drink. yeah potato wine! drink that! I was at Lorcans bash and it was excellent you guys don't even know what you're talking about.

This has got to be a wind-up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I was at Lorcans bash and it was excellent you guys don't even know what you're talking about.
    :pac::p

• Registered Users Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I was at Lorcans bash and it was excellent you guys don't even know what you're talking about.

Nothing to brag about!

Plug wrote: »
    OMG gosh like I was only joking, i am like so stoked!

Take your Americanism some where else little bitch!

Isn't that like a personal attack on me. calling someone a bitch is insulting, derogatory and just plain mean. I think this person should be banned. You may not agree with my views but at least I don't have to resort to name calling to make my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Insanesomeone

The sweet 16 thing is complete bollocks.

First off I was invited, so this isn't a bitter rant. The whole thing is scripted, I live in Kilkenny, I know people who have been literally told what to say and do to make the episode more interesting. What you see on MTV is complete bollocks, designed to bag 13-16 year old girls into thinking they deserve some ornate celebration because it's they're sixteenth birthday. Once again, that's complete bollocks. I cpuld go on and make a few other points, followed by saying complete bollocks but I won't. I hope she has a good day though.

Even though it's complete bollocks.

kmart6 wrote: »
    Nothing to brag about!

We're you there? I thought it was great anyway. Better than usual Saturday night buzz.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Shut the hell up please.