Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda charged for false statement

• 15-06-2009 8:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭

Garda charged for false statement
    Monday, 15 June 2009 18:21

A female garda has appeared at the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court charged with making a false statement to gardaí alleging that she was attacked by a taxi driver.

The court heard 25-year-old Niamh O'Connor, from Rathnure, in Enniscorthy, Co Wexford, had pleaded guilty to the offence, which happened on 28 December 2007.

She is currently suspended from work and will be sentenced on 9 July.

In court today, Sergeant Ronan Muldoon gave evidence that on the night of 27 December 2007, Ms O'Connor was socialising in Dublin city centre with friends.

In the early hours of the morning, she took a taxi home from the Camden Street area.

At around 4am, she rang Bray Garda Station, where she was stationed, in a distressed state. She told a garda colleague she had been attacked in a taxi on the way home.

A number of gardaí called to Ms O'Connor's home where she repeated the claim. The court heard she was intoxicated.

She showed her colleagues a ripped dress she said she had been wearing and her tights were also torn.

Gardaí were concerned because there had been a similar incident reported to them that night. They took the complaint seriously and began to seek CCTV footage from the area.

The following afternoon, Ms O'Connor made a detailed four-page statement at Donnybrook Garda Station.

She said a number of men, one of whom was in the car boot, had attacked her and that she fought her way out of the taxi.

She gave details of the model of the car, the colour and height and build of the driver and two other men she alleged attacked her in the taxi.

Sergeant Muldoon told the court Ms O'Connor had made a previous false report when she was intoxicated and had been reprimanded internally for this.

After she signed the statement, he said he asked her if she was satisfied with it.

When he warned her about its seriousness, she admitted it was 'completely false and total lies'.

Ms O'Connor told gardaí she had made the complaint because the taxi driver had given her a dirty look.

Her defence counsel Remy Farrell told the court she had previously suffered from depression and had not 'been right' since working at a fire where two firemen died in Bray three months earlier.

He said she had apologised for wasting garda time and was facing the prospect of being dismissed from the force.

Because of her position, I hope this silly cow get sent to jail, she makes a (false) statement about being attacked because a taxi driver gave her a dirty look, attention seeking whore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭DTrotter

The future looks bright indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

She'll be lucky if a look is the dirtiest thing she'll be getting where she's going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

They should make an example of her and send her away. Wasting police time is bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Quite a poor show on her part, abuse of power and all that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

She pleaded guilty? N1

Sounded like she was in Flannerys and Coppers aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭kravmaga

There has been some talk t she has mental health issues.

But what concerns me is that this lady is in a position of power and authority, she is not of right mind to make a very serious allegation against an innocent taxi driver because he looked at her funny:eek:

As she is already suspended at present, she will be made to resign from the force in my opinion and might even get a custodial sentence.

Dundrum or Portrane might be her future address for a few years

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Deffo should get sacked. Can you imagine what would of happened to the taxi driver she tried to stich up if the guards had of caught him that night :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭the roo

and what about all the real scumbags out killing and raping. and all the child pervents and drud dealers and when thay are caught lie through their teeth to try and get off at our expense. at least she has the decency to face the music. i wonder is ur level of hate directed at her because of her job. if it is ur a sad case and shame on u all

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I got a dirty look off a taxi driver once. The guards laughed it off at the time but I still suffer from low self esteem.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

tribulus wrote: »
    Quite a poor show on her part, abuse of power and all that. I feel sorry for the dirty-look-giving driver too, having to deal with it.

He didn't have to deal with it :confused:

finn28 wrote: »
    and what about all the real scumbags out killing and raping. and all the child pervents and drud dealers and when thay are caught lie through their teeth to try and get off at our expense. at least she has the decency to face the music. i wonder is ur level of hate directed at her because of her job. if it is ur a sad case and shame on u all

Shame on your spelling, it probbaly is because of her job, ie being in a position of authority and abusing it, too much of that went/goes on in Ireland. All the time wasted on this could have been spent going after the "real scumbags".

That's exactly what it is. False statements are made every day in this country, but how often do they get reported :rolleyes:

It might be because she is a snakey scheming attention seeking bitch, who could have tarnished an innocent man because he gave her a "dirty look". You can flap your gums about drug dealers and perverts all you want, but this scum behavior is on a level par with them. And if you can still feel sorry for her, then you are the sad case it would appear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭mollypop

I should be reply to the famous people from your school thread :D I went to school with this girl, I could have told you when she was 15 that power would go to her head. Why do they let people so obviously craving power and attention into the force. It seems that's pretty much all they let in! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Her defence counsel Remy Farrell told the court she had previously suffered from depression and had not 'been right' since working at a fire where two firemen died in Bray three months earlier.
    Would she ever fuck off with herself. I despise people who try to avoid accountability by looking for sympathy.

mollypop wrote: »
    Why do they let people so obviously craving power and attention into the force. It seems that's pretty much all they let in! :rolleyes:

And when they don't do something you say why aren't they using their power?? She wasn't right in the head, she made a false statement, she fessed up - nothing to do with her job. If she had been a secretary or a doctor this thread wouldn't exist, but the statement would have been taken just as seriously.

prinz wrote: »
    And when they don't do something you say why aren't they using their power?? She wasn't right in the head, she made a false statement, she fessed up - nothing to do with her job. If she had been a secretary or a doctor this thread wouldn't exist, but the statement would have been taken just as seriously.

Do you really think that's true? She was p1ssed off with the taxi driver. She went home thought 'how dare he, I'm a guard ffs, I know how the system works, I'll ring my mates and have him done for assult.'

I've been p1ssed off with taxi drivers before but wouldn't have the neck/even think about reporting them. I'm pretty sure that if she had become a doctor(not possible) etc she wouldnt have done it. She'd have gone home and slept it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

There has been some talk t she has mental health issues.

She just sounds dangerous to me, a bunny boiler.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

What has you so defensive? You would swear we were talking about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

He didn't have to deal with it :confused:

Sorry, you're right, I misread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Like, what's the maximum sentence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

What a bizarre reason to try get someone in trouble,God i would be in court everyday if that was the case.Irish people give some foul dirty looks:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

at least she has the decency to face the music. i wonder is ur level of hate directed at her because of her job. if it is ur a sad case and shame on u all

Then lets give her a fecking medal, of course the thread was started because she was a Garda, its the same as a doctor proscribing pills for their mates or solicitors turning a blind eye for their clients, its abuse of a power directly related to her job.

mollypop wrote: »
    Do you really think that's true? She was p1ssed off with the taxi driver. She went home thought 'how dare he, I'm a guard ffs, I know how the system works, I'll ring my mates and have him done for assult.'

I've been p1ssed off with taxi drivers before but wouldn't have the neck/even think about reporting them. I'm pretty sure that if she had become a doctor(not possible) etc she wouldnt have done it. She'd have gone home and slept it off.

Personally I know a woman who has made false statements detailing domestic abuse against her husband, and has called the Gardaí around to the house saying he's threatening her with a knife etc. She got off with a caution, from the local station. Do you know why she got a warning?... because the locals told the husband it's happening day in day out, over everything. You don't need to "know the system" to make a statement. tbh she doesn't sound right in the head.

BUT that's no excuse to blame it on the fact that she was a garda,or that all gardaí are on a power trip etc.

Seems to me like if she wasn't a garda then they would not have known her history of being a bit loopy and would not have been at pains to point out the consequences of making a false statement, precipitating her confession.

Senna wrote: »
    its abuse of a power directly related to her job.

How so? Gardaí are allowed to make statements....

Senna wrote: »
    solicitors turning a blind eye for their clients,.

You mean the solicitors of the hundreds of scumbags getting off on everything from drunk driving to murder because of technicalities etc every day? Where's the thread on that?

Personally I know a woman who has made false statements detailing domestic abuse against her husband, and has called the Gardaí around to the house saying he's threatening her with a knife etc. She got off with a caution, from the local station. Do you know why she got a warning?... because the locals told the husband it's happening day in day out, over everything. You don't need to "know the system" to make a statement. tbh she doesn't sound right in the head.

BUT that's no excuse to blame it on the fact that she was a garda,or that all gardaí are on a power trip etc.

Seems to me like if she wasn't a garda then they would not have known her history of being a bit loopy and would not have been at pains to point out the consequences of making a false statement, precipitating her confession.

I'm sorry Garda :o I didn't mean it.

How so? Gardaí are allowed to make statements....

About people throwing them looks they don't approve of?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

personally i think she was a sandwich or two short of a picnic