Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Looking for websites to research your bets? Look here!

• 12-03-2011 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭

As the question suggests, what sites do you use to research your bets and how do you decide on them?

Struggling to find a very good site and research method.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭fman

Depends exactly what you want to research. Goals market has become my fave over recent weeks so I head to soccerstats.com . Also regularly visit soccerway.com for a readable fixture list and for the likes of cup games. Haven't yet found the "perfect" site though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

In a secret room no one knows about, with fibre power broadband....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Betting zone have been giving decent tips lately.. Of course I prefer to lose money and dont pay attention to them that much:rolleyes::pac:

Stats wise, soccerway is the best around imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

stats.football365.com is a decent resource for the English game at least anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭stevood

Soccervisa.com is decent for all the info you need. Also gives what they think with a rating bewtween 1 and 10

Soccerbase.com is sometimes good too with write ups and good info. They had Spartak Moscow to beat Ajax in Holland @ 4/1 on Thursday and Braga to beat Liverpool at 2/1 (thought that was obvious myself tho).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I think it's matter of how many sites you use rather then which one!

For UK Football bets

Team news
    www.football365.com
    www.bbc.co.uk/football

and individual club/league websites

Form/fixtures/stats

www.windrawwin.com
    www.soccerway.com
    www.soccerstats.com
    http://stats.football365.com/

Irish Team news etc

www.extratime.ie

...and plenty of others.For foreign bets I usually google as much as I can for team news etc then use soccerway etc but it can only get you so far!

Homework is key

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

for the Italian league this blog has been good

http://delsfootballtips.blogspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭lamoss

I thought I would resserect this thread as it has a lot of links to plenty of sites that have lots of stats and form and fixtures, this is handy if you are new to football betting and want a good source of info.

I like to record the weeks results myself and use a football coupon from the shop. I put down the results ( 1-2-X ) and the score for each match. I find this easier than logging onto a web site every time I want some information.
    You get to know the teams in all the leagues and if you keep your coupons you can go back over previous weeks for whatever team you want to check on form or goals scored. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭gnella

just about all you will need here

Stats/Previews/Tips

http://betdevil.com/index.php Stats and info (paid subscription for advanced stats)
    http://www.betshoot.com/ Betting tips and picks
    http://www.goonersguide.com/ Tips, previews, analysis
    http://www.soccerstats.com/ - Stats, livescores, times goals are scored (1-10 minutes, 10-20 mins etc etc)
    http://www.soccerbase.com/ - racing posts football database
    http://www.windrawwin.com/index.asp - Analysis with predictions
    http://guardian.touch-line.com/ Stats – players carded, team attack/defence etc
    http://www.soccerway.com/ Stats, news, fixtures etc
    http://www.statbunker.com/ Stats, analysis
    http://www.sfstats.net/soccer/ Basic stats
    http://www.365stats.com/football/ football stats major European Leagues. Including head to heads, tables, fixtures and recent form
    http://www.football-data.co.uk/data.php Downloadable stats sheets all European leagues going back years. Historical results with odds/prices
    http://www.prematches.com/ PreMatches is a free matchup and stats service
    http://www.betexplorer.com/ Comprehensive stats/odds etc
    http://www.soccervista.com/ Stats, results, predictions
    http://soccernet.espn.go.com/?cc=5739 ESPN SOCCERNET - Excellent source of main leagues/competitions in UK and Europe. This website is full of quality STATS e.g. not just goal scorers but 'goal assists' - fair play league etc. Also up-to-date NEWS as well as match previews, live scores and results.
    http://www.zerozerofootball.com/home.php Excellent stats on teams/players all over the world. Stats include team and player discipline (bookings etc), referees handing out the cards, best attacking, best defending, and much more. Choose the league on the left of home page - then click on 'statistics' on the right on next page.
    http://en.goal724.com/Default.aspx over/under stats, match results, total goals, HT / FT Results, Goal Intervals, Most Frequent Scores, historical stats - world leagues.
    http://www2.sportspunter.com/ Odds comparison, stats, computer predictor
    http://www.footballbettingdata.co.uk/ England Premier - Team data (shots and possession, goals, scorers, corners, bookings) - Head-2-Head, results archive, Tips by email. 28-Day Free Trial - £17.97 per month thereafter.
    http://www.football-data.co.uk/ratings.pdf - How to rate a football match for outcome and fair odds

Calculators and Interactive Stats/Predictors

http://www.arbcruncher.com/

Arb Cruncher is a free online sports betting calculator that calculates level-profit stakes for arbitrage betting, trading and dutching on betting exchanges. It also performs many other useful calculations for Asian handicap betting, binary betting, price inversion, implied probability, the Kelly criterion and much more.

http://www.simplesoccerstats.com/

For betting statistics Simple Soccer Stats is like no other. This unique website offers all the stats you need for leagues across Europe in one interactive console. Statistics included in the console are Correct scores, Over/Under 2.5 goals, Cards (teams and referees), Corners, Shots, Form and Half time scores for this season and also previous ones.

http://www.betstudy.com/predictions/ Soccer predictions – over/under, 1x2

http://www.dectech.org/football_site...ll/gamesim.php UK predictions 1x2 and goal diference

http://totomaster.com World wide leagues match predictor. Score, over/under,a/h, value bet calculator and performance indicator. Thanks to Giorgio!
    (prediction in pop-up. Works on Internet explorer. Not sure about Firefox)

http://www2.sportspunter.com/ Odds comparison, stats, computer predictor

Bookings bets/referees/teams/players

http://worldreferee.com Referee stats worldwide. Good for bookings bets.

http://www.footstats.co.uk/ UK referees and team stats – Good for UK bookings bets

http://www.zerozerofootball.com/home.php Excellent stats on teams/players all over the world. Stats include team and player discipline (bookings etc), referees handing out the cards, best attacking, best defending, and much more. Choose the league on the left of home page - then click on 'statistics' on the right on next page.

Injuries
    http://www.physioroom.com/news/engli...jury_table.php

News and Stats

http://www.newsnow.co.uk/h/Sport/Football The latest news on all things football
    http://football365.com/
    http://www.skysports.com/
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/default.stm
    http://sports.setanta.com
    http://www.teamtalk.com/
    http://www.goal.com/en/
    http://newsnow.co.uk/h/Sport/Football
    http://www.sportinglife.com/football/
    http://betting.betfair.com/international-football/ International match previews and articles
    http://www.givemefootball.com/ Full coverage premiership, championship, leagues 1 and 2. previews, reviews, fixtures, results, teams, player news, referees and more.
    http://tribalfootball.com News and articles - worldwide leagues
    http://soccernet.espn.go.com/?cc=5739 ESPN SOCCERNET - Excellent source of main leagues/competitions in UK and Europe. This website is full of quality STATS e.g. not just goal scorers but 'goal assists' - fair play league etc. Also up-to-date NEWS as well as match previews!!

Non -League Football

http://www.footballconference.co.uk/ Official football conference website - latest news, tables, fixtures, results, clubs, history.
    http://www.bluesqfootball.com/0,20940,13040,00.html Blue Square Premier
    http://www.bluesqnorth.com/0,20940,13040,00.html Blue Square North
    http://www.bluesqsouth.com/0,,13042,00.html Blue Square South

Watch matches online
    http://www.iraqgoals.net/ free live streaming matches
    http://livetv.ru/en/allupcoming/ Soccer and other sports worldwide - free
    http://ilemi.com/ Good, clean site.
    http://p2p4u.net/ Free streaming but lots of ads - may need to download plugin - may need to swap between internet explorer and firefox.

Official Soccer Bodies
    http://www.uefa.com/
    http://www.football-league.co.uk/pag...,10794,00.html
    http://www.premierleague.com/page/Home/0,,12306,00.html
    http://www.thefa.com/
    http://www.fifa.com/

Livescores
    http://www.flashscores.co.uk/
    http://www.myscores.co.uk/
    http://www.xscores.com/
    http://www.livescore.com/
    http://en.goal724.com/Default.aspx Live scores, stats, world leagues

Online Betting Guides
    http://www.online-betting-guide.co.uk/football.php
    http://www.betstudy.com/
    http://www.laytheodds.com/ - Good articles and info on betting (not just laying)

Best Odds and Best Bookmakers/Exchanges
    http://www.valuechecker.co.uk/ Best Odds, Price movements and great previews
    http://www.puntersrealm.com/best-online-bookmakers/ Reviews of bookmakers/exchanges
    http://www.betexplorer.com/soccer/en...-2009/results/ Odds history
    http://www.oddschecker.com One of the best odds comparison sites
    http://wettportal.com/sports-betting-online/ Another good odds comparison site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Sticky that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

great list thanks for that gnella :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭lamoss

WOW ! That is some list gnella.:)

You must take your football betting seriously......or your a pro ! :D

No more excuses now everyone for not finding that winning bet :pac:

no prob guys,if you need anything else just let me know and will help if i can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

Thanks for the list gnella, do you go through alot of them sites before you place a bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Jesus Christ, that is an awesome post Gnella

http://www.soccerassociation.com/ is what I usually use but will definitley check out most of those you listed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Can Gnella's post be stickied?

ft9 wrote: »
    Can Gnella's post be stickied?
    Request of the day, +1 ;)

Derek! wrote: »
    Thanks for the list gnella, do you go through alot of them sites before you place a bet?

will look at whatever one i need,its worth having a look at all of them and seeing which you prefer.i bookmark my favs and use what i need,for example i use footstats to check average booking points of refs,can be pure gold at times.last season in prem L MASON had an avg of 48 pts per game while M HALSEY was only 19.8 pts per game

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,923 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

jaysus, that list a real eye opener for me
    i did wonder how some of ye here knew so much about footie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭evosteo

i think this thread should be stickied, bulging with information:)

• Moderators Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Thread stuck to the top.

If it becomes a big 'un, I'll move all the links into a single, closed sticky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/chalkboards

find this excellent when looking for under/over 2.5 goals

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Thought i'd add this

www.whoscored.com

Great little site with write-ups line-ups and match facts on all the big matches, quite a big stat database too. I always use it and it's great.

http://www.soccerstatstracker.com/

A BRILLIANT PIECE OF SOFTWARE THAT COST 50EURO BUT IS NOW FREE,ANYONE WHO WANTS TO GET INTERACTIVE H2H STATS THEN THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT YOU NEED,I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE WHO IS ANY WAY SERIOUS ABOUT BETTING ON FOOTBALL TO DOWNLOAD THIS AND HAVE A LOOK

holy **** man thats software is unbelievable, only on it 5 mins,

it checks all the leagues across europe to find who has the best win stats home away, draw or what ever you are after

unbelievable software

im really excited about trying it out

evosteo wrote: »
    holy **** man thats software is unbelievable, only on it 5 mins,

it checks all the leagues across europe to find who has the best win stats home away, draw or what ever you are after

unbelievable software

im really excited about trying it out
    Downloaded it earlier but haven't tried it out yet, sounds like a money maker though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Downloading it now :) Excited!!

:Dderek its unreal, its got everything,

its a research money maker for sure,

it cant predict the future

but jesus it will give ya a good shot at it:D

What do the 1-x and 2-x and X-X things mean??

Lovely, it can be very specific aswell with percentages and stuff.

1-home team
    2- away team
    x- draw

1-x means home team half time, draw full time
    1-2 means home tem half time, away team full time
    x-x means draw half time, draw full time

and so forth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Yardie

evosteo wrote: »
    :Dderek its unreal, its got everything,

its a research money maker for sure,

it cant predict the future

but jesus it will give ya a good shot at it:D

Yeah it really is a top class tool. The current sequences tab is great as it shows the form teams for unders/ overs, HT/FT for all teams around the world so can see exactly who to be on.
    The stats in the Dutch leagues are very interesting. Alot of 2nd half goals. Seems once first goal goes in, losing team will go all out and either take a pasting or get a couple back. So probably betting in-running in these games as ante-post odds are pretty poor

Also I'm getting on unders in French Ligue 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Anyone who understands how to use it can tell us who to bet on ;)

The statistics for draws is very interesting. Their are quite a few teams that so far this season have 100% draws in their games away from home and looking back at previous years go through the season with draw rates away of over 60%. Seeing as bookies generally offer around the 2/1 mark for draws, there should be a serious opportunity to piece together some nice profits by backing these teams week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

gnella wrote: »

A BRILLIANT PIECE OF SOFTWARE THAT COST 50EURO BUT IS NOW FREE,ANYONE WHO WANTS TO GET INTERACTIVE H2H STATS THEN THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT YOU NEED,I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE WHO IS ANY WAY SERIOUS ABOUT BETTING ON FOOTBALL TO DOWNLOAD THIS AND HAVE A LOOK

if i could thank you twice i would.... legend you are

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭stingerro

Question: is there a similar tool regarding referees/teams/yellow-red cards? And big thumbs up of course for Gnella, great tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Yardie wrote: »
    The statistics for draws is very interesting. Their are quite a few teams that so far this season have 100% draws in their games away from home and looking back at previous years go through the season with draw rates away of over 60%. Seeing as bookies generally offer around the 2/1 mark for draws, there should be a serious opportunity to piece together some nice profits by backing these teams week in week out.

That sounds like a very nice opportunity. Will have to wait until I'm on my own pc to install it but I'll definitely be having a look at it. Cheers gnella.

stingerro wrote: »
    Question: is there a similar tool regarding referees/teams/yellow-red cards? And big thumbs up of course for Gnella, great tool.

This is a great site for cards and corners

http://www.simplesoccerstats.com/Index.html

http://www.soccerbase.com/referees/home.sd is good for ref stats

Also decent: http://www.statbunker.com/football/btb/index.php?PL=competition&Code=EPL&statType=ref_report

Some people still dont know about this tracker :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I've downloaded the tracker and am attempting to play with it, the interface isn't exactly intuitive I have to say. Still some of it is easy enough so one can see simple things like win and winless streaks at a glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Samich wrote: »
    Some people still dont know about this tracker :P

I do now :P

mike65 wrote: »
    I've downloaded the tracker and am attempting to play with it, the interface isn't exactly intuitive I have to say. Still some of it is easy enough so one can see simple things like win and winless streaks at a glance.

keep looking mike,i dont think you have seen much yet,let us know if you need any help,my fav part is the "H2H" feature but you need to "edit stats" on RHS to get ones you require.
    if anybody has any questions or probs please post as we are all here to help each other.REMEMBER,THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A SILLY QUESTION

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

What about getting a mod to set-up a thread specifically for this sst program

For people who missed it - Didn't go deep into it, but creator of this software has pretty good results (http://forum.bettingadvice.com/showthread.php?t=59725) making tips based on data collected and analyzed by software he created. Quite similar tool to SST - http://www.cgmbet.com/en

You need a registration code to be able to get updates, you can get it after asking author by e-mail (usually reply is around evening). Tool looks very useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

gnella wrote: »
    http://www.soccerstatstracker.com/

Best tip off I've gotten on boards.......:D

One more interesting site which I believe wasn't mentioned - http://www.betonstat.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

Im getting a socket error when i try to update the results. I am behind a proxy any way of adding proxy settings to this software??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Off topic I know but this seems like as sensible a place to ask as any - can anybody suggest me a site similar to those mentioned here but for rugby?

keane2097 wrote: »
    Off topic I know but this seems like as sensible a place to ask as any - can anybody suggest me a site similar to those mentioned here but for rugby?

rugbydata.com

itsrugby.co.uk