Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

So not a runner then no? Ah well.... I had some DJs planned for the night, a few doves etc.

We will not be swayed by these cheap tictacs! some members of OAP are also DJ's and the doves can be obtained from our comrades in the PLU who incidentally have began an underground movement should the demands of OAP not be met! We are fully committed to our objective and our resolve will not be broken (a few minor back aches n stiff joints,some slight memory loss and possible incontenance maybe but nothing OT or Broken):D

As Ray Vaughan once said .....

"Something to arouse & indulge for those who identify ourselves as 'them',to want,just to want more,observe,witness the begining of the end,a clear line of no beats in time,a right to be wrong,storming impulses take you to a fusion of marvelous pleasure,hard excitement engages inner curiousity,lost in thought,submission to an aura of emotional lust,dominating powers entice the realms of reason,tied & bound only to to fulfill self enfused pleasure,without control,Help us! We are just Slaves to the Rave!"

The following is a party political broadcast in favour of the O.A.P.

Loving this tune atm ..... and the vid is class too!

pure quality \o/

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

EarlERizer wrote: »
    We will not be swayed by these cheap tictacs! some members of OAP are also DJ's and the doves can be obtained from our comrades in the PLU who incidentally have began an underground movement should the demands of OAP not be met! We are fully committed to our objective and our resolve will not be broken (a few minor back aches n stiff joints,some slight memory loss and possible incontenance maybe but nothing OT or Broken):D

As Ray Vaughan once said .....

"Something to arouse & indulge for those who identify ourselves as 'them',to want,just to want more,observe,witness the begining of the end,a clear line of no beats in time,a right to be wrong,storming impulses take you to a fusion of marvelous pleasure,hard excitement engages inner curiousity,lost in thought,submission to an aura of emotional lust,dominating powers entice the realms of reason,tied & bound only to to fulfill self enfused pleasure,without control,Help us! We are just Slaves to the Rave!"

The following is a party political broadcast in favour of the O.A.P.

Fair enough, I didn't want to pull the last available tactic but looks like I've no choice - you've got it, the full & permanent deletion of the Asylum/Oldskool thread - stick that in your OAP pipe and smoke it :pac:

Oh and here is some scary music to listen to.

Fair enough, I didn't want to pull the last available tactic but looks like I've no choice - you've got it, the full & permanent deletion of the Asylum/Oldskool thread - stick that in your OAP pipe and smoke it :pac:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTFyqzFXdcv6cyVJcsL1yIdlKsYsu-oV2QbUSiI7FNcYTRUrR9P

........... and that's why some of us are MOD's & some of us are OAP's!

eh ..........

"Further to the ongoing negotiations the members of OAP have decided forthwith to withdraw from conflict and set about achieving their goals via peaceful dialogue and the process of a united forum,we fully support the need and opportunity of a vibrant and fully active nuskool thread and hope that past historical documents can remain in the public conscience,available in permanent situe on page one of the EM&D forum" :o

Well I'm both, and not that good at being either.... :pac:

You do know that we can count reissues in the new & upcoming releases forum too? :eek:

Loving this tune atm ..... and the vid is class too!

pure quality \o/

Haven't heard that one in donkeys. Proper trance right there. Full version below.

Well I'm both, and not that good at being either.... :pac:

You do know that we can count reissues in the new & upcoming releases forum too? :eek:

I have an idea for a thread and I think it would make a great sticky too.I Dont think there's been one before but can I start a thread entitled Asylum/Oldskool :D ....just to post up some fav pages from around the forum *ahem* ....a few hundred pages not much ;) ..... I reckon it might be popular and who knows, it may last 5-6 years with loads of great music and stories...

Yeah sounds good, there would have to be a bit of interest in that alright...

I wonder what the discussions will be like in about 30 years time - a few auld lads sitting on bar stools swigging pints of Guinness and reminiscing about the Asylum days... "sure jaysus in my day we used to get mad out of it, Warr-en K and that French lad Francois playing the acid trance music, used to be dancing till the wee hours of the morning, wee hours of the morning I tell ya..."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

davii wrote: »
    So all the re-unions are doin the rounds heres one that is gonna be deadly.#

193135.jpg

Going into this one myself hope to bump into some peeps on the night, is your man with the big arms going in ha ha

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Haven't heard that one in donkeys. Proper trance right there. Full version below.

Same here Billy, stumbled across it the other night on YT and must've played it repeatedly about 7-8 times , literally in a trance lol, such an emotive peice of music and the visual in the vid just made it that bit more moving, it's a stunning peice, I must've watched/listened to it about 50 times since!

Here's another one (albeit a more 'common' tune) that comes close .....

Love Orbital's work,can't find fault in anything they've put out tbh,but this one just does something to me,I see myself, I'm sat watching a Sunset, I feel warm,relaxed and at ease when I listen to it, I see red's and oranges, I see words in front of me and can almost taste the music........it's sweet,like pineapple lol (ok now i'm convinced drugs have damaged my braincells lol ) :o

I got the same trippy mindset when I listened to the Gus Gus tune ..... \o/ begining to think I had a 'natural high' experience!

Literally brings tears to my eyes this tune & vid ...... Epic!!

Right lads one of you might already have this somewhere,I'm sure one of you will ;) ,can ya fill in the blanks? please! 1 tune in the Orbit/Keno set and the bulk of Kavanagh's

Last Night of the Ormond-June 14th 1997

DJ Pressure
    Incisions - Techno Gong
    Phi Phi & Greg D - L'Odyssey of Love

DJ Orbit/Ken O'Flanagan
    Natural Born Grooves - Groovebird - Baby Blue mix
    vinyl vandals - new york, new york
    Global Trance Mission - Dream Mission - Fontaine & Vern mix
    Porn Kings - Amour (C'mon)
    DJ Crack - Space People
    Tall Paul - Rock Da House
    Unknown ????
    Age of Love - Age of Love - Baby Doc mix
    Diddy - Give Me Love - Tony De Vit mix
    Kim Carnes - Bette Davis Eyes' 97 - D-Bop mix (Ferocious Mix)
    Baby Blue - Child (KLM Mix) - Keith Lietman Mix
    control Move (Version Original Mix)
    Vigo - To Be House (Vigo Reconstruction Mix)
    DONS - Drop The Gun
    Mark Ryder Project - Micropolis
    Phunky Phantom - Get Up Stand Up - KLM mix

Last tune
    chris c & m zone - mackerel - lord of the remix (captain tinrib remix)
    or
    Chris C & M-Zone - Pentium

Mark Kavangh
    Polaris - Polaris (Vocal Attack Mix)
    ??
    Boom & Pound
    ??
    ??
    ??

Nice 1 lads :)
    es-cee wrote: »
    the one after tall paul on the keno mix is disco citizens - footprint (dj quicksilver mix)

on the mark kavanagh mix

polaris - polaris (vocal attack)
    ascension - someone (forget the mix) think it's a white label or bootleg
    burger queens - boom & pound
    kamilian - guidance
    global bassline - bassline beat
    dastrix - aquarius
    i knw this, been a long time since i've listened to any of this music tho leave it with me
    i know this too, samples 'feel the beat', leave it with me
    phunky phantom get - up stand up

Sussed it on the Ascension - Someone , it's the Space Brothers Dub from the 'remixes' release.

........ :o I have it upstairs lol along with Dastrix,Burger Queen & Polaris lol ...... I should really make a note of what I have up there someday.

.... and by a process of elimination I'm going to (correctly) assume that the 2nd last tune on the Kavanagh mix is indeed 'Sunglasses Ron - Feel the Beat (Mr Spring Mix) as this was released on a white label in 96 with the flipside been none other than the aforementioned Ascension - Someone (Space Brothers Mix)
    http://www.discogs.com/Ascension-Sunglasses-Ron-Someone-Feel-The-Beat/release/128002

So just the one left on this for me ...... the tune after Dastrix - Aquarius...... so who's going to put this one to bed for me?

Same here Billy, stumbled across it the other night on YT and must've played it repeatedly about 7-8 times , literally in a trance lol, such an emotive peice of music and the visual in the vid just made it that bit more moving, it's a stunning peice, I must've watched/listened to it about 50 times since!

Something along the same lines. Deadly track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

not really what i would consider "oldskool", as it was released in 1997, but everyone has their own idea on what the oldskool years are, so i suppose 1997 would count to some folk.

anyway, brilliant track, can't fault no u turn records ;)

another quality release on no u turn.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭sgtbilko01

I forgot about this mix.Had it couple weeks and was nicked at a party:(
    Love to get these two id'd..

Side A @29.00
    Side B @21.30

Is that your Soundcloud acc Mac?

sgtbilko01 wrote: »
    I forgot about this mix.Had it couple weeks and was nicked at a party:(
    Love to get these two id'd..

Side A @29.00
    Side B @21.30

Is that your Soundcloud acc Mac?
    yes ive quite afew soundcloud account,, coz im not paying for pro, lol,
    that tune asylumbaby,, some1 just posted this on tuneid
    http://www.discogs.com/Velocity-Future/release/195411
    same melody,, so some1 remixed it, vice versa

Big Carl Cox tune 20 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Whats your man like on the keyboards...lol

aceberg wrote: »
    Whats your man like on the keyboards...lol

cheesy as **** the vid man, i actually looked up the original vid of it to hear the song. i knew it already, just didn't know the name of it lol, camp as fúck man lol.

Classic house track. Been lookin for it for years but couldn't remember the name. Used to have it on an old Sunset FM tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Good tune here, found buried away on Youtube. Heavy sampling of Robin S 'Show me Love'. Vocalist was the female lead of Real McCoy back in the day. She mimed another singer's vocals on that band's hits. This is how she actually sounds!

Ha ha look what i found.............:D

Can't rem who was looking for it.

the female vocal samples must have been used 1000's of times lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

repost

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

hats off ace good stuff from you lad ,,did you jst found dis by chance lol :D

Pressure - House Pressure 9

Side A

1.Faithless - Salva Mea (Save Me) ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/181438
    2.Tom Wilson - Technocat ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/510826
    3.First Life - The Feeling The Day before ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/452893
    4.Digital Blondes - Stars ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/724540
    5.Chunky Choons - Volume One - http://www.discogs.com/release/467481
    6.Pet Shop Boys - Paninaro (Tin Tin Out Mix) ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/244075
    7.Cut N Move - I'm Alive ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/566242

Side B

1.THK - Feel So Good ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/157352
    2.DJ Hooligan - Sueno Futuro ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/68495
    3.SJ - Fever ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/1190148
    4.Adrian & Alfarez - La Casa ---> http://www.discogs.com/Adrian-Alfarez-La-Casa/master/178800
    5.Tony De Vit - Starlight ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/210968
    6.Flax - Intoxication - http://www.discogs.com/release/1305040
    7.Mirage - Airborn ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/208694
    8.Nostrum - Brainchild ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/324207
    9.Liquid Emotions - Fast Food ---> http://www.discogs.com/Liquid-Emotions-Fas.../release/575056
    10.Sequential One - ´all in vain´ is back to you

does anyone know the actual timeline for the house pressure mixes?
    only the 1st 3 or 4 i think it is (haven't listened to em in ages so
    could be wrong) seem to be the only ones with true asylum tracks
    on em. just taking a gander at the tracklist above, it appears that
    it was made in '95, as most of the tunes on it are from '95, and the
    asylum was closed in the summer of '94. just interested in finding
    out what HP mixes were actually done in the asylum era.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

does anyone know the actual timeline for the house pressure mixes?
    only the 1st 3 or 4 i think it is (haven't listened to em in ages so
    could be wrong) seem to be the only ones with true asylum tracks
    on em. just taking a gander at the tracklist above, it appears that
    it was made in '95, as most of the tunes on it are from '95, and the
    asylum was closed in the summer of '94. just interested in finding
    out what HP mixes were actually done in the asylum era.

I think the first HP was done late 93. 2,3 & 4 all 94, 5-9 in 95 & the last early 96.

Could be wrong, but pretty sure, maybe someone else could confirm.

tdv123 wrote: »
    I think the first HP was done late 93. 2,3 & 4 all 94, 5-9 in 95 & the last early 96.

Could be wrong, but pretty sure, maybe someone else could confirm.

was thinking something along those lines myself, cheers mate ;)

hats off ace good stuff from you lad ,,did you jst found dis by chance lol :D

on at 11pm peeps, hope to see ya's there :)

http://onlyoldskool.com/radio.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Seems name that tune thread is gone and the asylum thread.

So FM 104 freaks on friday have a promo for some show they doing with the song

"terrorize" as the background music.

Any of you fine chaps care to help my old brain recall the name of the song ?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Seems name that tune thread is gone and the asylum thread.

So FM 104 freaks on friday have a promo for some show they doing with the song

"terrorize" as the background music.

Any of you fine chaps care to help my old brain recall the name of the song ?

If u just enter terrorize into y/t it'll appear the first track

Animal

or could be this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Fookin hell ace never in a million years would have guessed it was a Sequential One tune. fair play. Think thats just 1 missing now from the mix to complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

Catch me tonight from 9 playin the best in OLDSKOOL till the early hrs

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/www-techradio-org

:cool:
    A. nyone fill the gaps.. heaveyweight sessions tape dj thyme
    1. Tandu "Acido ep" Noom records
    2. Blue fish ep 2 "Dating Rob- Nostrum mix" Time unlimited records
    3. The syndicate "Incinerator ep- Incinerator" voodoo records
    4. Liquid bass "In full effect ep- In full effect".
    5. The syndicate "Incinerator ep- Xmod". Voodoo records
    6. Liquid bass " In full effect ep- Into the silence".
    7. Perplexer "Da carpo". Dos or die records
    8. ???
    9. Liquid bass "In full effect ep- The spirit of life".
    10. Spacewalker "Dreams & desolations ep- Tenerife dream". Saxony productions.
    11. Dj khetama " The guardian ep- Wane moon track" Hyper hype records
    12. Spacewalker "Dreams & desolations ep- Autumn illusion". Saxony productions
    13. Dj khetama "The guardian ep- Lunar eclipse". Hyper hype records
    14. Steve baltes "Exxcalibur ep- Together". Le petit prince records

B.
    1. Dj khetama "The guardian ep- Full moon track". Hyper hype records
    2. Blue fish ep 2 "Dating rob- Roughage feat dj hoover mix". Time unlimited records
    3. Dj khetama "The guardian ep- New moon track". Hyper hype records
    4. ???
    5. Cyberlab "Heart of gold ep- Cosmic cloud". Bionic beat recordsa

best mix i've heard in a long time peeps, if ya's like breakbeat and seamless mixing check this bad boy out!!

http://www.mediafire.com/?dj6qmh9yc3r9p4v

Here's the tracklist:

1) Adam F - Metropolis
    2) Ed Rush & Fierce - Locust
    3) Dillinja - Silver Blade
    4) Krust - Angles (Dillinja Remix)
    5) Alex Reece - Basic Principles (Commix Remix)
    6) Ed Rush - Sabotage
    7) Jonny L - Piper (Grooverider Mix)
    8) Codename John - The Warning
    9) Doc Scott - Drumz 2000
    10) Dillinja - Armoured D
    11) Goldie - Kemistry VIP (Grooverider Remix)
    12) Dillinja - Acid Trak
    13) Doc Scott - The Unofficial Ghost
    14) Doc Scott - Shadow Boxing (The Remix)
    15) Ed Rush & Optical - Slip Thru
    16) Adam F - Brand New Funk
    17) Optical - To Shape The Future (Remix)
    18) Ed Rush & Optical - Kerbcrawler
    19) Roni Size - Brute Force
    20) Roni Size - Heroes (Origin Unknown Remix)