Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 7,324 ✭✭✭naughto

if he was `10 yrs younger with coc on his shoulder it would be some forward line.
    iam thinking the duffy saga is over no mention of him at all,i was hoping to see him in a mayo jersey, and get 20 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

O'Connor is absolutely vital to us now besides his free kicking. Against Roscommon he was excellent for pulling his sleeves up and doing what was needed to get over the line - the fact is we don't possess many forwards that have that quality. Keep him fit and we won't be far off in any game.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

naughto wrote: »
    if he was `10 yrs younger with coc on his shoulder it would be some forward line.
    iam thinking the duffy saga is over no mention of him at all,i was hoping to see him in a mayo jersey, and get 20 mins

It would be chaos if they were. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,035 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Was I the only one expecting a team announcement at lunch time today ?
    Or is it tomorrow its usually done ?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Was I the only one expecting a team announcement at lunch time today ?
    Or is it tomorrow its usually done ?

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/sport/21807-mayo-teams-to-be-named-at-lunchtime-tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

yop wrote: »
    Never seen COC playing U12, minor and U21 and senior and he is, in my opinion, the best natural forward I have seen in a Mayo jersey.

Neither have I truth be told!

When he started with the seniors his contribution from open play was limited enough.

He was on the starting 15 purely on the basis of his freetaking.

Cooper on the other hand took games by the scruff of the neck even though he was lacking in physicality at the time.

Go a little further back and read up on the performance of the then unheard of Maurice Fitzgerald in the 1987 Munster Final.

Natural playears just have it from the get go.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

O'Connor looks to me like a moderately talented player destined to be excellent because of work ethic and will to maximize his ability rather than the sheer giftedness of guys like McDonald or Gooch.

Many great players fall into the former category, I'd have someone like Bernard Brogan in that group as well fwiw, while someone like Connolly is more like the latter.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

yop wrote: »
    2006 *cough cough*

Oh yeah, that one hurt alright. :o

I seem to remember him scoring an absolute peach of a lineball early on too.

Fabulous player.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

naughto wrote: »

You'd have to have overdosed on Jaffa Cakes to think Duffy was going to have a meaningful role on a 'top' inter-county panel this year after not playing the sport in about a decade and a half.

He's there as an attempt to energise the rest of the panel and little else right now. He might get worthwhile minutes in next year's league if he's shown well.

I'd be much more worried about how Adam Gallagher was frozen out of the team before his injury if I were you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Syferus wrote: »
    You'd have to have overdosed on Jaffa Cakes to think Duffy was going to have a meaningful role on a 'top' inter-county panel this year after not playing the sport in about a decade and a half.

He's there as an attempt to energise the rest of the panel and little else right now. He might get worthwhile minutes in next year's league if he's shown well.

I'd be much more worried about how Adam Gallagher was frozen out of the team before his injury if I were you.
    It is a tad mystifying what became of Adam Gallagher.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,324 ✭✭✭naughto

seligehgit wrote: »
    It is a tad mystifying what became of Adam Gallagher.

Its horans way or no way I'd say sure look at the way Feeney is treated

Cork team unchanged

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
    2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
    3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
    4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
    5. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s – Captain)
    6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
    8. Ian Maguire (St. Finbarr’s)
    9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
    13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
    15. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)

Subs
    16. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
    17. Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven)
    18. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
    19. Seán Kiely (Ballincollig)
    20. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
    21. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
    22. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
    23. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
    24. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
    25. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    26. Donncha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

plenty chance on the bench, 3 lads dropped(or left the panel), 2 defenders and 6 forwards in the days of black cards. bizzare to say the least. Cork fans have no confidence in Cuthbert and if rumours of lads leaving the panel are true moral in the camp must be poor also.

expecting a hiding along the lines of what ye did to Donegal last year tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

km79 wrote: »
    Anyone hear rumour that Donie Vaughan is starting midfield instead of Barry Moran with cuniffe returning .......
    I think long term Vaughan is more suited in that kind of role but it would need to have been road tested already for at least one game. I remember a lot of Ballinrobe match reports had him listed midfield. His percentage of scores to shots is way below Lee Keegans so that is one important point to consider. Vaughan/Keegan neither can really contest in the air that I'v seen in Mayo matches. So if going to make that kind of switch Lee Keegan would cause more damage. Keegan might be able to come short to gather kickouts from Hennelly.
    At this stage unlikely to be many changes but there is one I think is worth doing with an eye towards Dublin in a final. In the 2013 final if we had properly man marked Paul Flynn I think the final would have been over at half time. Flynn had way too much time and space to pickout his pass for Bernard Brogans goal. He had a big influence throughout the game. Keith Higgins if instructed to just concentrate on Flynn for 70 minutes would at least have been getting pressure on with his speed off the mark.
    If Cunniffe returns then Keith Higgins can move out. Flynn is too tall for Barrett and too quick for Vaughan. Flynn kills you with his passing not his scoring. Disrupting passing is all about the defender being as close as possible to make the pass rushed and as innacurate as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Would be a really bad sign for Mayo if they were to implement such a drastic system change as breaking up their excellent half back line and playing a completely untested player at midfield ahead of several quality performers IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,137 ✭✭✭✭km79

team named shows no changes

km79 wrote: »
    team named shows no changes

1.) Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
    2.) Chris Barrett - Belmullet
    3.) Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
    4.) Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
    5.) Lee Keegan - Westport
    6.) Colm Boyle - Davitts
    7.) Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe
    8.) Barry Moran - Castlebar Mitchels
    9.) Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
    10.) Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
    11.) Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
    12.) Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
    13.) Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
    14.) Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen (Capt.)
    15.) Alan Dillon - Ballintubber

Minors:
    1.) Matthew Flanagan - Balla
    2.) Conor Kilkenny - Aghamore
    3.) Seamus Cunniffe - Ballaghaderreen
    4.) Eoin O Donoghue - Belmullet
    5.) Jason Forkan - Kiltimagh
    6.) Barry Duffy - Balla
    7.) Sean Conlon - Castlebar Mitchels
    8.) Gary Walsh - Breaffy
    9.) Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
    10.) Gary Boylan - Belmullet
    11.) Cian Hanley - Ballaghaderreen (Capt.)
    12.) Sharoize Akram - Ballaghaderreen
    13.) Fionan Duffy - Crossmolina
    14.) T.J. Byrne - Kiltimagh
    15.) Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts

16.) Scott Kilker - Belmullet
    17.) Stephen Brennan - Claremorris
    18.) Dylan Cannon - Breaffy
    19.) David Clarke - Ballintubber
    20.) Keith Hopkins - Crossmolina
    21.) Conor Byrne - Bohola Moy Davitts
    22.) Oisin Horan - Kilmovee Shamrocks
    23.) Liam Byrne - Bohola Moy Davitts
    24.) Jack Reilly - Charlestown Sarsfields

I think long term Vaughan is more suited in that kind of role but it would need to have been road tested already for at least one game. I remember a lot of Ballinrobe match reports had him listed midfield. His percentage of scores to shots is way below Lee Keegans so that is one important point to consider. Vaughan/Keegan neither can really contest in the air that I'v seen in Mayo matches. So if going to make that kind of switch Lee Keegan would cause more damage. Keegan might be able to come short to gather kickouts from Hennelly.
    At this stage unlikely to be many changes but there is one I think is worth doing with an eye towards Dublin in a final. In the 2013 final if we had properly man marked Paul Flynn I think the final would have been over at half time. Flynn had way too much time and space to pickout his pass for Bernard Brogans goal. He had a big influence throughout the game. Keith Higgins if instructed to just concentrate on Flynn for 70 minutes would at least have been getting pressure on with his speed off the mark.
    If Cunniffe returns then Keith Higgins can move out. Flynn is too tall for Barrett and too quick for Vaughan. Flynn kills you with his passing not his scoring. Disrupting passing is all about the defender being as close as possible to make the pass rushed and as innacurate as possible.

Excellent post, yeah as much as Cluxton nullified Aidan O Shea's influence with his kickouts alongside Michael Dara McCauley's mobility. Paul Flynn's influence was immense and he does require a marker who compete height and speed wise. Who better than Zippy.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Excellent post, yeah as much as Cluxton nullified Aidan O Shea's influence with his kickouts alongside Michael Dara McCauley's mobility. Paul Flynn's influence was immense and he does require a marker who compete height and speed wise. Who better than Zippy.
    I have always liked the balance of the following half backline.
    Boyle marks the main scoring half forward. Boyle is more suited to staying back in our own defence in a shutdown job on someone like Connolly.
    Higgins marks the main playmaker. The most essential half forward to shutdown. This half forward usually roams between the 45's, type of player like Paul Flynn or Kevin McGloughlin who is involved in lots of attacks. You need speed and mobility to mark such a player.
    Keegan is left in a more free role with coverage dropping back from players 8 - 15 to leave Keegan as free as possible.
    We only really need one free half back - Keegan. Keegan on form in a freed up role is a game winner. If the other two half backs are sticking then I think Keegans influence would be greater. Keegan has the engine to wear out any attempt to mark him out of the game.

Minors leading Armagh 1-6 to 4 pts. Looks like if they get a start in first five minutes of second half could have this game over. Not at it but apparently Akram n Hanley going well. Akram's marker switched. Boylan doin well too.

Game over. Brian Reape finishes off yet another game. His overall performances all season are surely the best since Pearce Hanley. Even in early preseason game defeat to Leitrim he was involved in everything remember report on that game. 3-9 to 5 at moment Reape 2-1.
    Mcguinness would probably get him to tog for senior game :) if he were Donegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭neiphin

squeeky bum time there for a whilw

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭jeffred

Made hard work out of a great start to the second half. Need to learn how to close out games.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭FaganJr

How in the name of God is Varley making the team ahead of Feeney? Its beyond belief at this stage! It will cost us again this year mark my words!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Dillon silenced a few critics today. Didn't know what to make of Vaughan in midfield but his point at the end was crucial. Don't think anyone can accuse this team of not having character. Fair play to Cork for not lying down after we got the goal. Bring on Kerry in 3 weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 48,137 ✭✭✭✭km79

Nearly lost it on the line. Again. Crazy calls. Again. Every big game .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

FaganJr wrote: »
    How in the name of God is Varley making the team ahead of Feeney? Its beyond belief at this stage! It will cost us again this year mark my words!
    James Horan does seem to have some blind spots about certain players.

Conroy and Varley seem to be above Feeney and Freeman at the moment.

Feeney is not a natural forward but he certainly has ability as a defender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Well done from yer southern neighbours :) Thoughts on facing Kerry? I'd fancy Mayo given both performances today, but there's a few weeks in it yet..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

blinding wrote: »
    James Horan does seem to have some blind spots about certain players.

Conroy and Varley seem to be above Feeney and Freeman at the moment.

Feeney is not a natural forward but he certainly has ability as a defender.

I thought Feeney had walked:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭FaganJr

I thought Feeney had walked:confused:

Jaysus where ya hear that?