Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

People have been asking me what time I have in mind and my reply has been "Actually I'm thinking of just jogging the whole thing and enjoying it". The feedback on that has been great.

I'm nervous about tomorrow's run! Kind of excited nervous. Going to put as much of the stuff as I can remember from the other nights lecture into practice.

Early to bed for me tonight and treating tomorrow as a dress rehearsal, porridge in two hours before and will set off at 9.

Good luck to everyone doing their last LSR before taper!

Nearly there lads :D
    Can you even believe it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Phoebas wrote: »
    I might end up breaking the whole race down into novenas :pac:

this actually works :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭ratracer

With my LSR done, and now sitting sipping a well deserved Cidre, I LOL'd heartily as I told Mrs RR that today was the last long run before M-day, sure next weekend is only a short 20km..... I think I have actually gone mad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

"Times are like Baby names it's the first question people ask about but not the most important thing - not for this novice anyhow"

I did DCM last year with my wife and her friend.
    We finished in 6:36.
    That's the ugliest top(imo)I've gotten so far at a race and she wears hers with pride at any opportunity.
    Her medal hangs in the kitchen inspiring her everyday.
    Completing the marathon gave her huge belief in herself and what she's capable of.
    Her struggle and the struggle in others i saw at that end of the field inspired me.

All the best to all doing the marathon here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Stevo1983 wrote: »
    Anyone want to run my 20 miles in the morning ???
    I'll pay you in cake and tea;)

Did someone say cake??? Done!

Have taken to waking up hungry at 5am for the last few mornings, grrrrrrrr

Went in to get gels and nuun tabs yesterday and the lovely lady looked at me and said 'last long run tomorrow??'. I asked her how she knew and she told me that she'd had a steady stream of peeps all day :D

Best of luck to everyone this weekend!

nop98 wrote: »
    I'd say there'll be plenty of us around the 4h pace group... We'll make it a group tour! :)

Oh - we're not allowed to talk target paces yet. :rolleyes:

Well I think you have the same lovely pacer that we had for the 2 hr HM group and if that is indeed the case then as well as being a bloody good runner she also provides tour guide services :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

[QUOTE=Toulouse;97246190

Went in to get gels and nuun tabs yesterday and the lovely lady looked at me and said 'last long run tomorrow??'. I asked her how she knew and she told me that she'd had a steady stream of peeps all day :D

[/QUOTE]

Nuun tabs? What do these do? Are those the magic beans I've been seeking!

donglen wrote: »
    Nuun tabs? What do these do? Are those the magic beans I've been seeking!

Probably not :D But I find them useful.

https://nuun.com/products/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭healy1835

Had a bit of a dose hanging around this week but it seems to have cleared off now thank goodness. Didn't really affect my running except for Tue when I started sniffling, I got a bit panicky. I haven't missed a day's running yet and I didn't particularly want to start now, but I was prepared to sit out a couple of days if needs be. I work with kids so it's pretty common for me to get hit with a dose at this time of the year.....but fingers crossed it holds off a couple more weeks.

Tue: 12k easy 1:10:xx felt ropey at times during this run....
    Wed: 6 x 1 mile repeats, 3 min recovery, @6:50 - 6:40p/m hit the pace for first 5 but last mile was a struggle, didn't break 7:10....warmed down grumpiness
    Thurs: 12k steady 1:05:xx very very warm, no wind, no clouds, no traffic......run felt easy, life felt good....
    Fri: 12k.....well I got to 6k and decided I wanted to come back quick 56:xx.....felt great.
    32k on Sunday then the taper, safe in the knowledge that 33-42k in the Marathon will be an absolute mystery....hmmmmmnnnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

I'm just popping on to wish you all the very bets of luck on your last LSR weekend. You're all in super shape with Dubgal's expert guidance and it won't be long before marathon Monday rolls around now:)
    Toulouse wrote: »
    Well I think you have the same lovely pacer that we had for the 2 hr HM group and if that is indeed the case then as well as being a bloody good runner she also provides tour guide services :)

Thanks so much for the glowing reference :) and it was lovely to meet you and some of your novice partners at the Half, congrats on such a fantastic race, I think you will have an amazing run on the big day.

Mr Stew and I have the very great honour of pacing the 4 hour group in the marathon and we will be joined by a well known poster on here; Meno so anyone who joins us is promised a great day out :D

For those of you doing the Athlone 3/4 (and it is a wonderful pre-marathon LSR) Mr S and I are pacing the 4 hour group there also so you'll have a chance to get to know us. We'll be running at 9.40 pace tomorrow and I'd like to reiterate what lots of posters have already told you on here. DO NOT run this at PMP or faster, if you pace it right tomorrow you will be bouncing up that hill in Milltown in just over 3 weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Morning Novices,

I am shamelessly plagiarising our wonderful FBOT.....

ENJOOOOOOOOY

yourselves this weekend, this is the icing on the cake, take your time with it ;)

Yes.....GO SLOOOOOOOOW :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

So this week consisted of a 10k, 8k and 5.5k and actually felt pretty good during them. Would like to be doing a little bit more mid week but still managing my knee and hamstring niggles vs my mileage. Normally like to get up nice and early Saturday for my LSR but...have a 7 year olds birthday to go to. So it looks like it will be an afternoon LSR for me today. Just need to figure out a slightly different route to change things up a bit.

Enjoy your own runs folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

DL40 wrote: »
    Hi folks...just joined forum today...some great posts. I am a first timer at this years DCM..Training going well, though limbs are starting to feel little sore now..

I have a question re fuelling at the marathon. I know there are water points along the way, and some points will also have lucozade sport, but will they be in a cup, or bottle ? I found drinking from cups on the move near impossible in doing a couple of half marathons, and needed to stop to drink them, which I didn't really want...Aiming for sub 4hr...

DL40
    Hi DL40, I see you got an answer to your question but I just wanted to say hello and welcome you aboard :) We'd love to hear a little bit more about you, how long you've been running, what plan you've been on and if you've raced this year, how has that gone? You'll be in great hands in the 4hr group if that's the target you settle for. We'll be doing quite a bit of talk about targets in another week, so hang around :)
    duffer247 wrote: »
    Anybody any thoughts regarding park runs vs. urban running for their lsr's? To date I've based my midweek runs around the suburbs and my lsr's in Tymon Park which has a >3m loop with plenty of variation, directional turns and a few hills. I'm tempted this weekend lsr to take the opportunity of covering some of the marathon route as it goes quite close to where I live. The only hangup is that during Wednesday's 10m I found the crossing of roads and intersections and pedestrian traffic to be really annoying, especially compared with the relative freedom of running in a park.
    duffer247 wrote: »
    That's good advice smashiner, and also from the other replies too. I think if I want to do some of the marathon route I can pick sections and use them for shorter runs.
    I ran down by the canal the other night but the poor light and cracked pavements made quite awkward plus I was half expecting a rat to run in front of me at anytime:eek:
    How about recceing some of the route on a bike, would that work? Yourself and smashiner could go out together and report back?! I want to compile all our sections of route knowledge into one long overview....
    ratracer wrote: »
    So what was different from last week, I asked myself:

1) I had sufficient water/gels and I think I took them at the right times - Water sipped throughout KM's 2-24, Gel at start, 13km and 22km. I think I faded last week because of a lack of water, hydration really is so important!
    2) Mentally, running in an urban environment is much easier than in a rural one, the scene is constantly changing, landmarks slide by, as opposed to looking at cows in fields!! I hope this is the case on M-Day too:eek:
    3) Sleep is under-rated, I should try more of it, more often.
    4) Pace: I slowed my pace this week by just 30s/km and this made a huge difference. I had probably let it creep up a little too much on the LSR, and while it was fine at distances up to 20km, it really showed on the longer runs. I would have been worried about my endurance, but I am happy with it now at the slower pace. I'm focussing now on enjoying the day out more than having a time goal.

At least today I can say I 'enjoyed' the run and am looking forward to getting out again, although I must be in a minority when I say I can't wait for the taper!:D
    Really useful analysis there, thanks ratracer! Follows on well from last week too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

I had to get up first thing this morning to get my run in.
    I took your advice Dubgal and paced it a lot slower.
    This was one of my toughest runs to date.
    The first 12 miles went easily enough but the my joints started to stiffen up and I could feel a blister the size of my head on my toe. The next two miles were tough then it popped so after I wasn't too bad.
    I hit just under the 20 mile mark in 3:32.
    I'm actually glad it's time to taper and let my body heal up over the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

5 miles done this morning, first proper run since Tuesday so at least that was something.
    Knee felt 3/10 on the pain scale starting off. Eased after about 2 miles and pretty much held like that into the 5th mile where I could feel it a bit more. Had turned for home then anyways so stopped then as the watch hit 5 miles. Not willing to risk or push things with this at the moment so it'll be onto the bike over the weekend and then try 5 miles on Tuesday. The stride adjustments take a bit more effort so we'll see how that goes on the day, I have started to accept that there may be a bit of walking involved now but I really do no want a DNS for this!! Oddly for now it feels easier to run at mp range than easy pace range for the stride. My cadence is generally 180 and given that I cannot reduce that it seems with the higher knees/longer stride it's easier to go faster than slower.

Avg pace was 9:49 but the middle 3 miles were all around 9:30min/mi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭crisco10

A graduate of last year here. Just reading through all the progress, well done all. Very jealous of you all, the excitement of the taper is almost upon you! I really enjoyed it, with a slackening training load the body really starts to come strong.

Enjoy the max lsr this weekend, nice cool day for it here in Dublin.

I see some people were asking about running the route b4. It's a nice luxury if you can. I found that at some points on the big day it defo helped to have some idea of how long drags were, when the next "easy" bit was etc. Even if you just drove or cycled it, no harm knowing what's around the bend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Final. LSR. Done. Thank. ****.

Definitely much better than last week. I was aiming for around 11:15 per mile, and came in at 11:09. Last 2 miles were tough enough.

1 11:15 /mi
    2 11:22 /mi
    3 11:14 /mi
    4 11:15 /mi
    5 10:59 /mi
    6 11:09 /mi
    7 11:10 /mi
    8 10:52 /mi
    9 11:23 /mi
    10 11:12 /mi
    11 11:07 /mi
    12 11:09 /mi
    13 11:02 /mi
    14 10:54 /mi
    15 11:10 /mi
    16 11:10 /mi
    17 11:23 /mi
    18 10:56 /mi

Taper. Taper. Taper.

I am beginning to think taper madness is just the happiness at finishing marathon training turning to insanity!

*drools with blank look in eyes*

Good luck to everyone else today/tomorrow!

Relating to finishing time, my brothers girlfriend did a half marathon a few weeks ago and I was talking with her about it. She actually thanked me for not asking her time, she said I was the only person who never did!

I moved my legs for three hours, I think they're going to fall off now. Ohmigod.

chrislad wrote: »
    Relating to finishing time, my brothers girlfriend did a half marathon a few weeks ago and I was talking with her about it. She actually thanked me for not asking her time, she said I was the only person who never did!

I always ask "how did you get on?" Much nicer question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 BobDylan

Had to abort my lsr this morning at 16 miles. Was running along without a bother, full of the joys, when suddenly my calf popped. First injury this year after running almost 800 miles! Just hoping now it's something minor and a physio visit will sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Well I can't believe I just ran 20 miles! So happy to have that done. Agree with Chrislad - thank **** that's over!

Alarm set for 7 this morning to eat breakfast but woke at 6 so had it then. Out the door for 8. Home just before 12. Average pace was 11:38. Ran down to St. Anne's, around the park 4 times and then home :) Plenty of runners out this morning - got loads of "good mornings" and "hellos"

Took a gel at 5,10 and 15 miles to practice for the big day. Will take another on the day at 20 miles I reckon.

Quick shower and then food when I got in which I had ready as didn't want a repeat of last weeks fainting.

Love reading the LSR reports over the weekend :) Well done everyone.

Now I'm off to find a bakery for some cake for later :)

I moved my legs for three hours, I think they're going to fall off now. Ohmigod.

I had to head into town after the run. Suffice to say I'm walking a bit funny.

Marthastew wrote: »
    Thanks so much for the glowing reference :) and it was lovely to meet you and some of your novice partners at the Half, congrats on such a fantastic race, I think you will have an amazing run on the big day.

Mr Stew and I have the very great honour of pacing the 4 hour group in the marathon and we will be joined by a well known poster on here; Meno so anyone who joins us is promised a great day out :D

Here's hoping and thanks again for all your help and advice at the HM.

Final long LSR done. Splits were pretty consistent if a little fast in the middle where I really needed to pee and was HingTFU to get to a bathroom.

The camaraderie on the route this morning was amazing. Was joined at one stage or another by 3 faster runners who all slowed down for a chat and to wish me luck. Finally got a big smile from a guy in a HM top (I was wearing mine too) with about a mile to go and it really spurred me on.

Home now and demolished a banana, a protein shake made with chocolate MooJu, smoked mackerel, scrambled egg and hot sauce and a cereal bar. Good job there was no one home to see that :o

An afternoon of Rugby and beer beckons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

I'd love a stair lift :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

I just did a miserable 20 miles. The misery was mostly my fault, I ended up staying in the pub a bit later than originally planned last night :rolleyes:, and having a cold also didn't help! Headache and raw throat went away about half way through which made things a good bit more comfortable. Still delighted to have all the hard running done :) - also I'm glad I got this cold now as opposed to in 3 weeks time!

I was able to get a lift into town, so I started from St. Stephen's Green, followed the marathon route until leaving the Phoenix Park, went down to Ashtown and joined the canal, following it to Phibsborough then went up into Ballymun, across in Santry and back to Swords where I had a few miles to make up.

Food wise I had a groggy bowl of Weetabix and cup of coffee before I left, stuffed my running belt full of jelly babies, brought along a bottle of water and a bottle of watered down Lucozade Sport, and I also had a pretty gross Clif Shot.

Splits are a little erratic - I was happy enough to pause and drink or stop at traffic lights:
    9'07, 9'04, 9'29, 9'05, 9'12, 9'44, 9'05, 9'29, 9'04, 10'36, 9'44, 9'30, 9'03, 10'00, 9'45, 8'45, 9'00, 8'29, 8'55, 8'43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

20 big ones completed today. Mixture of emotions. Kudos to me for getting through my longest run ever but renewed respect for the distance ahead.
    I've suspected it for a few weeks but I think rather than running these at a slower pace, I've actually been running these at a marathon pace. Running today at the pace I was at it would have been all I could do to get through another 6 miles. I'm not talking speedy Gonzalez here, average pace 11:30/m, total time 3hr50mins. Anyways, I am where I am......still 20 miles right!
    1.11:40
    2.11:35
    3.11:29
    4.11:33
    5.11:29
    6.11:54
    7.11:24
    8.11:27
    9.11:11
    10.11:19
    11.11:09
    12.11:09
    13.11:22
    14.11:14
    15.11:30
    16.10:58
    17.11:24
    18.11:30
    19:12:22 (hill)
    20.11:29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Pretty similar to Chrislad in that last weeks LSR was very tough going (had a throat/chest cold) but today's 29 km LSR was a delight by comparison. I went back and did the Novice DCM route from last week and had a runner friend for company. It was a real confidence booster and averaged 6.04/km with 139 av. heart rate.

It was my first run with gels this year and it certainly made a significant contribution to today's run. I am happy with my choice of gel and have worked out when to take them.

There were plenty of other runners on the DCM route today and it felt quite festive. I am really buzzing for the marathon at this stage and will miss the LSR's over the next few weeks. Have enjoyed exploring the city and especially when its quiet, and generally warm, early in the morning. and then there were all the Race Series events and meetups........(almost sheds a tear).

Like previous posters have noted I have now broken the course down into sectors and suddenly it all seems very manageable. Will post more on this.

Singer.... you will shake that cold off and no doubt will thrive on the day.

Game of the weekend is on in Parnell Park this evening so that will set me up nicely for an after match beer watching the rugby.

Take care out there and enjoy what is left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

20 miles (well 32.6km) done and dusted this morning. Longest distance ever for me. Most of my LSR's were done at 6:20 mins per km (10:15 miles per min). Maybe its still a bit too fast but I'm pretty comfortable at this pace and due to injuries that has hampered my training I probably won't be running much quicker on the day.

My wife ran with me for first 8km so that reined me in a bit (avg 6:40 km/m). After she turned for home, I picked up the pace slightly and over the next 10km or so I was back on track. Took 2 gels with me. Had one at 16km. Bought a Lucozade sport in the next village at 24km. I just wanted to see is they had any affect on me as I see they will be handed out during the big day.

Around 27km my legs suddenly felt very heavy. At this stage I was just over the crest of a hill and the by the time I hit the bottom of the hill the legs didn't feel too bad. Took the other gel at 28km in the next town ahead of a hill that rises 50m in 1km. Felt pretty good going up it.

Down hill again and then a flat section to finish. Not sure why but I decided to push the last 2 km. I really want to see if I had anything left in the legs especially as they felt so heavy just 5km previously. The last 2 km were 5:52 and 5:43 mins per km. I felt I could have kept this pace up for another little while and was feeling good when I did finish.

I also did a 1 mile cool down shuffle at a very slow pace. I know we don't have to do these but I find they stop me seizing up. Also in my head it shows I can start up running again if I had to stop for something on the day.

Sorry, a bit of long post but its the furthest I ever ran so I'm a bit proud of myself :o

Well done everyone on the runs today. Can't believe there's only 3 weeks left:eek:

Chops1234 wrote: »
    I'd love a stair lift :)

I live in a bungalow :smug:

:p

I've to go to a christening now :(

OK. So. Report thingy.

Had my dinner around 7:30 last night. I'd had a relatively normal sized breakfast and lunch and no snacks etc. Laid out all my bits and bobs and plugged in my watch. Was in bed by 11, would have been earlier except I'd had an impromptu nap in the evening.

Up at 6:50 and had a cup of tea, porridge at 7.30. Sipped on half a pint of water throughout the morning.

Wore everything I'll be wearing on the day and brought my water belt with one bottle filled with water and one with lucozade. Also brought jelly babies.

Took an opportune lift up the road to avoid the uphill first couple of miles.

Set off toward Dalkey, nice bit of downhill for the first 20-30 minutes, kept the pace easy despite the HR being very low as I knew I had a long way to go. Got sandycove at around 40 minutes. Took my first 3 jelly babies here. Quick pit stop in the park for a wee! Another 20 minutes in and took some lucozade mouth rinse, felt like a scummer spitting it out :o

I realised about an hour in that I was absolutely starving. I was also tired and thinking that I had two more Feckin hours to do! I do this psychological thing of "you've only to run to there, after that you're really just going home", it works to get there, can't say it works the whole way home :P

1:10 in and I was back feeling great, pace was consistent. Took another three jelly babies, realised they feck up my breathing for a few seconds but they don't make me feel sick so all good.

1:40 oh god I still have so far to go. I shouldn't be doing a marathon. I'm not cut out for this. What made me think that I'd be able for this. Look at me. I'm sweating and I have to run this two more times on marathon day. Maybe I shouldn't do it. But I want that medal and I've worked so hard.
    Shut up and have more jelly babies G.
    OK G.
    Now you can turn around and run home.
    OK, thanks G.

2:00 Ah this isn't so bad, oh there's the guy who I passed earlier, he's very cheerful, he's definitely doing the marathon, look how easy it is for him. "Well done again" says he. Keep smiling, don't look weak :):):)

2:05 Jesus this hill is so steep *grunts*. Guy a few metres in front turns around, morto. "You don't even notice this hill til you're running up it :):):)"
    Have a good day he says. A GOOD DAY? DOESN'T HE KNOW I'M NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO WALK?

2:10 OK pace is still good, it's all good, aaalllll good. Except I have to do this a lot longer in three weeks. I shouldn't be doing this. I'm mad. I have no business doing this.
    More jelly babies. I don't even like jelly babies.

2:30 Oh balls, I'm going to be home before 3 hrs, I'm going to have to run past my house. I might cry.
    Oh that's a pretty manhole. Are those my feet?

2:45 mother of god where is my house, why do I even live there, there's hills to get out and hills to get in. So stupid. Run faster you'll be home faster. Can't. Will get home even sooner than I should. Ugh.

2:59 Oh look there's my house. Hi house o/ I want to be in you but I have to run around four another minute. Waaaahhhhhh.

3:00 oh thank god, but I know the next mile is so close so just keep going til you hear your watch beep, go on. Hi house, again o/

3:01 BEEP. Thank. God.

/dies

Honestly lads. I didn't find that easy at all :/