Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Send in the Clowns - BAC 10K Challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

menoscemo wrote: »
    Naturally I had 2 bottles of each :pac:

drinking 6.2% beer on top of valium eh?
    Probably shouldn't mention the SN Torpedo, Schneider Weisse Aventinus, or SN Rye Ale. I'm no model citizen! Now enjoying this tipple.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Hard luck kc. Hope its sorted soon. Valium?

Doctor: I prescribe rest, and ill give you some anti inflammatories to take down the swelling.

KC: thanks doc

Doctor: you dont fancy some valium too do ya?

KC: For what?

Doctor: for the craic

KC: f*ck yeah!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

KC: "...and tomorrow I'm supposed to be doing 16 miles with 8 at MP, and tomorrow evening 6 x a mile with 30 seconds recovery, and then the next day the plan says 10 in the morning, 8 at lunch, and two legs of the Wicklow way in the evening, and then the day after I have to do..."
    Doc:"wait, wait, hold on a second. Take one of these."
    KC: "OK.... Hey, what waas thaaaaaat?........... mmmmmmmmm..... I sit down now, drink beer"

Glad to report that the back is 20% better today. Woke up with a Maori tattoo covering half my face though. Anyone know what happened last night?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Glad to report that the back is 20% better today. Woke up with a Maori tattoo covering half my face though. Anyone know what happened last night?

If its a rub on tattoo, it should come off with a little Fairy Liquid and good old fashioned elbow grease. If not, then you are going to have to start getting creative with your excuses at work. I suggest, for the first one you go with 'I thought it was Ethnic Diversity day today'. After that the excuses are going to have to get more elaborate but eventually they'll stop bothering asking if you remain persistent and they'll forget that you ever had a face that wasn't half covered in tattoos. Emer is another story :).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

This time though I felt something jar in my back near the spinal region, and immediately felt some pain. Within 20 minutes I couldn't straighten my back and knew that I'd herniated a disc again. I held-up some hope that it might be ok in the morning, and I'd be good for the race, but a painful sleepless night put paid to any thoughts of running and in the morning headed to the GP for some anti-imflamms and valium. Last time this happened I had to take 9 days off, but I'm hoping it's not as severe this time around and fingers crossed will be running again mid-week and ok to line up for Athlone Half next Saturday. So for the time being, time to put the feet up and enjoy a beer.

Curious to know if this is something that happens to you regularly..had MRIs done etc. I suffer from herniated discs occasionally and one very recently and currently on day no.15 with no running. Recent MRI says wear and tear on L5-S1 and I'm waiting on an appt with specialist up at SSC in Santry. Do you have a standard recovery strategy that you follow that works each time for you, things that you do to try prevent recurrence etc. (Apart from the Craft Beers:))

Of course I will wait and get the professional advice but I'm interested in hearing how other runners cope with this problem and still continue to run, particularly someone like yourself who does high mileage. I know everyone is different too so what works for you may not work for me but I need to satisfy my curiosity.

Hi RedRunner, I'm afraid that while this is the third time this has happened, there have been very specific triggers that have cause the problem. First time was 18 years ago, while playing basketball. I don't remember the exact circumstances, but it definitely involved some form of eccentric movement (probably a fall or awkward landing). I made circumstances worse by playing on, and cycling home afterwards and struggled to walk for a while afterwards. Second time was four years ago, when I slipped on ice at the end of a 10 mile run. Third time....Well, that was just at the weekend. I guess it wasn't really an eccentric move, as I've dropped to the cushioned matting a hundred times before, but this time, it just seemed to produce a different outcome. Maybe I just got unlucky. Maybe the 110 miles the week before weakened my core/back muscles. Not sure...

Fortunately it's not regular enough for a treatment/recovery strategy, but rest, beer, anti-inflamms, and valium seems to be a potent recipe. Not sure if it works, but it's potent. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Hi RedRunner, I'm afraid that while this is the third time this has happened, there have been very specific triggers that have cause the problem. First time was 18 years ago, while playing basketball. I don't remember the exact circumstances, but it definitely involved some form of eccentric movement (probably a fall or awkward landing). I made circumstances worse by playing on, and cycling home afterwards and struggled to walk for a while afterwards. Second time was four years ago, when I slipped on ice at the end of a 10 mile run. Third time....Well, that was just at the weekend. I guess it wasn't really an eccentric move, as I've dropped to the cushioned matting a hundred times before, but this time, it just seemed to produce a different outcome. Maybe I just got unlucky. Maybe the 110 miles the week before weakened my core/back muscles. Not sure...

Fortunately it's not regular enough for a treatment/recovery strategy, but rest, beer, anti-inflamms, and valium seems to be a potent recipe. Not sure if it works, but it's potent. :)

Thanks KC. Curiosity satisfied. Hope it heals quickly and good luck in Frankfurt next month.

Day 4 - no running or exercise. Managed a nice (but painful) 3 mile walk last night with most of the family, spotting seals in the bay, by the last rays of the super moon. Had hoped to be back jogging by today, with a view to hitting a session on Wednesday, but can't walk straight, so that's pretty unlikely. Getting a little concerned now for Saturday's half marathon. Not sure I'll be in a position to race it. Hoping at a minimum that it'll be another marathon paced run. Might try cycling or swimming to keep the demons at bay, but not sure if they'll make the situation worse. Frustrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Sorry to hear. Very frustrating. At least it has happened now, and not in October.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

I can only imagine how frustrating it is but as mentioned, at least it's not in October. Your training and racing has gone so well so maybe write off this week and come back stronger than ever next week. You never know, the small break away might be just what the body and mind needed. I know you won't force it but even if feeling good maybe give Athlone a miss......

Got our for a 22 km cycle and it was perfectly pain free until the last mile or two, but most important of all, it felt great. I was like Augustus Gloop swimming in a river of chocolate endorphins and it felt good. Yep, at least it's not October. Also it's not running related, so when I get over it, I should be able to hit the training again at full speed. It may even stand to me. I haven't missed a race since Edinburgh marathon in 2009, so missing two would verily piss me off. Will make an educated decision in a day or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

KC, don't really know how much you had invested in the Half, but from where I'm standing (and DR above and others, I suspect) this sounds like a race to forget about. You surely haven't that much to gain and you have a fair bit to lose. Knock it on the head, takes few days to get back into the rhythm and you'll be rearing to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

I have since realised that the most recent posts above were written on Tuesday, still 5 days to go................ Dunno if that changes the big picture or not. I'd still err on the side of caution.

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Good to hear to Valium is working KC! On a purely selfish basis, I really hope you run Athlone. I'd be devastated without my weekly report on how you toed the line and against all odds, hit another pb and edged ever closer to the upper echelon of the Irish road running scene:cool:

Cleanman wrote: »
    Good to hear to Valium is working KC! On a purely selfish basis, I really hope you run Athlone. I'd be devastated without my weekly report on how you toed the line and against all odds, hit another pb and edged ever closer to the upper echelon of the Irish road running scene:cool:

Haha... Cheers... Not sure the race this weekend will follow the now-standard rags to riches structure, but did manage a cycle to work, followed by a tip around the local area on the grass, at around 8:36/mile so far today. Run (more of a tottle) was not entirely comfortable, but no sharp pains and no worsening conditions. Took every muscle in my fibre, every thread of will-power not to stay out there for the full 5 miles, but I finished up after around 4.6 miles feeling no worse than I did, when I set out. Will cycle back home this evening, and fingers crossed, hoping to get some work done to release the muscles which may be in spasm later this evening.

On a happy note, I can report than I haven't slept this well in years, however valium stocks are rapidly depleting. :eek:

Wednesday evening: Got a physio workout from the hero of the moment and that (foolishly) gave me new optimism that I might be able to salvage something from this wrecking-ball of a week.

Thursday: The wise one said 'If you must run, wait until late in the evening and keep it short'. I think I could read from his expression that he didn't think I should be running at all, but I wasn't interested in reading expressions or hearing bad news. I dropped my childers off at the rock-climbing centre in Inchicore at 8pm and figured a nice handy 3-4 miles would do me a world of good. Realizing that I was close to the Phoenix Park, I figured I could just tip in there at the closest gate, get a little run in, and head back to watch my kids making a mockery of my crap climbing skills. After a couple of miles I was on Chesterfield Avenue, so figured I'd take the road back down by the Papal Cross car-park. However, in the darkness, I couldn't find the turn-off (forgot it shared the same exit as the US residence), and it was only arriving at the Castleknock Gate that I realized I'd fecked up. Ran back down through the darkness and missed it again, but eventually picked out the silhouette of the cross when a passing car's headlights picked out the monumental structure. Picked up the pace, as the muscles in the back had loosened up sufficiently and didn't want to keep the kids waiting. Of course I'd done 9.5 miles by the time I got back to Inchicore, so couldn't really stop there, so wrapped up the extra half mile to round it up to an even 10 miles, at 7:16/mile.

Friday: Decision time: 6 miles with strides. Everything was improving greatly, but like the previous night, it felt like there was constant tension in my glutes, which seemed to make the effort of running very tiring. After a couple of miles things had loosened up sufficiently, that I got my strides in, and convinced myself that the world was my oyster. the only question that remained was race pace or marathon pace?

Saturday: Athlone Half wit marathon
    The two mile warm-up felt ok, but came with the usual glute tightness, so I had convinced myself that marathon pace was where it was at. Might even have the company of Dublin_runner and DRQ for much of the journey, but I figured if things were going well, I'd kick it up a notch and try and score a PB. Nice easy chat beforehand and we were off. Moved through the groups fairly easy and soon joined the Sligo lad who'd finished 3rd in the recent Roscommon 10 mile race. Enjoyed a chat with him, but as the early miles ticked off I noticed that I was having to work really hard to stay at the pace that just three weeks earlier had felt pretty comfortable in Longford. I had the same tightness in my glutes and again, it felt like I had significant resistance in my legs so effort levels were way higher than they should have been. After four miles the Sligo man pushed on, and despite noticing that I was drifting off the pace, I could do nothing to close the gap. DRQ joined me and we ran the next couple of miles in close proximity, but I could feel my energy levels getting sapped with every metre. I was a little worried that he might be pacing off me and that my slowing down might screw up his own race/pacing, so I was urging him to chase down the Sligo runner (who had approximately the same target), not really knowing that DrQ was suffering from his own demons.

After 5 miles I was pretty goosed, and was just waiting for the hill to kill me off completely (likely didn't help that I had ready-made excuses at hand for an entire week leading up to the race). The hill did as promised, and I started to slow badly. I was glad to see DrQ push past me, as at least it meant I could enjoy a guilt-free demise. I made it to half-way approximately on target, but was gradually leaking seconds with every subsequent mile. I wasn't suffering alone, as DrQ and then another runner drifted off the pace, while I in turn slowed badly on the hill. I would have stopped and walked, but the thing that kept going through my head was Rob Heffernan, and the regrets that he must have had in his recent performance, so I made the decision to de-commit from the race and just jog my way t the finish line,with no walking. I switched the watch over so I couldn't see any pace information (which would have killed me off completely).

The problem was that I was still 7 miles away from the finish line. The greatest disappointment was arriving at the 8 mile marker, having figured I was approaching the 9 mile point. I was gutted. Last few miles were horrific, as I went through a death-march to the finish line. Around 15-20 runners passed me over the remaining miles, and I tried to lift my spirits enough to give them some encouragement, but inside I just wanted to lay down in a field and sleep for a while. After 11 miles I took my emergency gel, as I didn't feel I had the energy to make it to the finish line, but stride by stride I got there eventually. Felt a little bit fraudulent receiving lots of cheering and encouragement as I approached the finish line, and I just wanted the ground to swallow me up. Was a little surprised to cross the finish with the clock showing 1:20:xx, as I was sure that I had slowed to 8+ min/miles, but it was all meaningless. The only thing going through my head was why.....why......why?

Why had I struggled with a pace that literally 20 days earlier had felt pretty comfortable? Was it the heat? Remains of the valium in the system? Back pain? Muscle tightness? The heat? Eventually I came to the conclusion that trying to decipher the root cause was pointless. As my wife astutely pointed out to me, 7 days previously I hadn't been able to walk properly, so expecting to run 13 miles at marathon pace was just ludicrous. So I've given up trying to solve the riddle. I was full of bad thoughts afterwards and they stayed with me through Sunday, but I'm in a better place now. I'm still at a stage where I need to re-establish my goal and build my confidence level with respect to that goal, but I'm not going to take anything negative from this last week. I know the temptation might be to offer some commiseration/encouragement and say something like 1:20 is a great time when carrying an injury or something similar, but it was a stupid thing I did, and I've come to terms with that. Today marks the beginning of a new week, and with 6 weeks remaining, nothing is written in stone. Time to move on to the next chapter.
    Summary: 13.1 miles in 1:20:4x

Sunday: 7.2 miles easy
    Easy run around Roscommon, just thinking stuff through and pulling myself back together again. Same glute tightness, easing up after a couple of miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

This might sound silly, but you were probably stressing yourself out for the last week and while you think you feel great, your body was actually worn out.

No point in mulling over it anyhow, you had a bad day but look at all the positives, where you come from to now.

That's my 2 cents

• Registered Users Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭Peckham

Had disengaged from this forum for a while, but took a visit to get some context on your run after seeing it on Strava. Fingers crossed you bounce back over the remaining few weeks.

This might sound silly, but you were probably stressing yourself out for the last week and while you think you feel great, your body was actually worn out.

No point in mulling over it anyhow, you had a bad day but look at all the positives, where you come from to now.

That's my 2 cents
    I actually felt a little guilty relief that I didn't have to go chasing a PB in the half.
    Oh yeah, only fair to mention that the Sligo lads handed me my ass on a plate. Fair's fair. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

I actually felt a little guilty relief that I didn't have to go chasing a PB in the half.
    Oh yeah, only fair to mention that the Sligo lads handed me my ass on a plate. Fair's fair. :)

Well then you know what you have to do, get even:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Is there a hill in Athlone or are you just being ironic/sarcastic (not sure what the word is)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Wednesday evening: Got a physio workout from the hero of the moment and that (foolishly) gave me new optimism that I might be able to salvage something from this wrecking-ball of a week.

Thursday: The wise one said 'If you must run, wait until late in the evening and keep it short'. I think I could read from his expression that he didn't think I should be running at all, but I wasn't interested in reading expressions or hearing bad news. I dropped my childers off at the rock-climbing centre in Inchicore at 8pm and figured a nice handy 3-4 miles would do me a world of good. Realizing that I was close to the Phoenix Park, I figured I could just tip in there at the closest gate, get a little run in, and head back to watch my kids making a mockery of my crap climbing skills. After a couple of miles I was on Chesterfield Avenue, so figured I'd take the road back down by the Papal Cross car-park. However, in the darkness, I couldn't find the turn-off (forgot it shared the same exit as the US residence), and it was only arriving at the Castleknock Gate that I realized I'd fecked up. Ran back down through the darkness and missed it again, but eventually picked out the silhouette of the cross when a passing car's headlights picked out the monumental structure. Picked up the pace, as the muscles in the back had loosened up sufficiently and didn't want to keep the kids waiting. Of course I'd done 9.5 miles by the time I got back to Inchicore, so couldn't really stop there, so wrapped up the extra half mile to round it up to an even 10 miles, at 7:16/mile.

Friday: Decision time: 6 miles with strides. Everything was improving greatly, but like the previous night, it felt like there was constant tension in my glutes, which seemed to make the effort of running very tiring. After a couple of miles things had loosened up sufficiently, that I got my strides in, and convinced myself that the world was my oyster. the only question that remained was race pace or marathon pace?

Saturday: Athlone Half wit marathon
    The two mile warm-up felt ok, but came with the usual glute tightness, so I had convinced myself that marathon pace was where it was at. Might even have the company of Dublin_runner and DRQ for much of the journey, but I figured if things were going well, I'd kick it up a notch and try and score a PB. Nice easy chat beforehand and we were off. Moved through the groups fairly easy and soon joined the Sligo lad who'd finished 3rd in the recent Roscommon 10 mile race. Enjoyed a chat with him, but as the early miles ticked off I noticed that I was having to work really hard to stay at the pace that just three weeks earlier had felt pretty comfortable in Longford. I had the same tightness in my glutes and again, it felt like I had significant resistance in my legs so effort levels were way higher than they should have been. After four miles the Sligo man pushed on, and despite noticing that I was drifting off the pace, I could do nothing to close the gap. DRQ joined me and we ran the next couple of miles in close proximity, but I could feel my energy levels getting sapped with every metre. I was a little worried that he might be pacing off me and that my slowing down might screw up his own race/pacing, so I was urging him to chase down the Sligo runner (who had approximately the same target), not really knowing that DrQ was suffering from his own demons.

After 5 miles I was pretty goosed, and was just waiting for the hill to kill me off completely (likely didn't help that I had ready-made excuses at hand for an entire week leading up to the race). The hill did as promised, and I started to slow badly. I was glad to see DrQ push past me, as at least it meant I could enjoy a guilt-free demise. I made it to half-way approximately on target, but was gradually leaking seconds with every subsequent mile. I wasn't suffering alone, as DrQ and then another runner drifted off the pace, while I in turn slowed badly on the hill. I would have stopped and walked, but the thing that kept going through my head was Rob Heffernan, and the regrets that he must have had in his recent performance, so I made the decision to de-commit from the race and just jog my way t the finish line,with no walking. I switched the watch over so I couldn't see any pace information (which would have killed me off completely).

The problem was that I was still 7 miles away from the finish line. The greatest disappointment was arriving at the 8 mile marker, having figured I was approaching the 9 mile point. I was gutted. Last few miles were horrific, as I went through a death-march to the finish line. Around 15-20 runners passed me over the remaining miles, and I tried to lift my spirits enough to give them some encouragement, but inside I just wanted to lay down in a field and sleep for a while. After 11 miles I took my emergency gel, as I didn't feel I had the energy to make it to the finish line, but stride by stride I got there eventually. Felt a little bit fraudulent receiving lots of cheering and encouragement as I approached the finish line, and I just wanted the ground to swallow me up. Was a little surprised to cross the finish with the clock showing 1:20:xx, as I was sure that I had slowed to 8+ min/miles, but it was all meaningless. The only thing going through my head was why.....why......why?

Why had I struggled with a pace that literally 20 days earlier had felt pretty comfortable? Was it the heat? Remains of the valium in the system? Back pain? Muscle tightness? The heat? Eventually I came to the conclusion that trying to decipher the root cause was pointless. As my wife astutely pointed out to me, 7 days previously I hadn't been able to walk properly, so expecting to run 13 miles at marathon pace was just ludicrous. So I've given up trying to solve the riddle. I was full of bad thoughts afterwards and they stayed with me through Sunday, but I'm in a better place now. I'm still at a stage where I need to re-establish my goal and build my confidence level with respect to that goal, but I'm not going to take anything negative from this last week. I know the temptation might be to offer some commiseration/encouragement and say something like 1:20 is a great time when carrying an injury or something similar, but it was a stupid thing I did, and I've come to terms with that. Today marks the beginning of a new week, and with 6 weeks remaining, nothing is written in stone. Time to move on to the next chapter.
    Summary: 13.1 miles in 1:20:4x

Sunday: 7.2 miles easy
    Easy run around Roscommon, just thinking stuff through and pulling myself back together again. Same glute tightness, easing up after a couple of miles.

You should not have run the race considering the extent of the injury you were suffering and the related treatments. The body requires a lot of energy to heal itself and it draws this surplus from other areas of the body such as digestion etc so you are not getting full value from food, sleep etc. When you then place the extra demands of a long hard race on a hot day something has to give,the body is running on empty. It takes a lot of physical and emotional energy to run a good race(let alone a pb) and us runners take it for granted. Other sports seem to grasp the concept, the recent outpouring of sympathy for the footballers of Mayo and Kerry when they had to play 2 games in a week being an example. But you seem to have got away with it in that your back has settled, in my opinoion thats a better result than a 75 minute half followed by a week in bed. Im not being critical because Id have done the same as you and expected a good result. Common sense and marathon running are mortal enemies at times and next time Im in a similar situation I must remember to read this very level headed post.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Looking forward to the 3rd (and final) chapter in this series.

Is there a hill in Athlone or are you just being ironic/sarcastic (not sure what the word is)
    Hi career move, it was a subject much debated in the pub a few hours after the race. There most certainly is a hill, but I think the extent of the hill is relative to exactly how you are feeling when you come across it. For me, it felt like a three mile uphill slog, but it barely registered as a blip for others. I think that certain course profiles suit certain runners too and this one just comes at the wrong point for me (two years in a row). If you are running pretty close to your limits, the slightest change in profile can just nudge you into 'the bad place'. :) Having said all that, if the course profile had been super-flat, I'd have struggled just as equally on Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Hi career move, it was a subject much debated in the pub a few hours after the race. There most certainly is a hill, but I think the extent of the hill is relative to exactly how you are feeling when you come across it. For me, it felt like a three mile uphill slog, but it barely registered as a blip for others. I think that certain course profiles suit certain runners too and this one just comes at the wrong point for me (two years in a row). If you are running pretty close to your limits, the slightest change in profile can just nudge you into 'the bad place'. :) Having said all that, if the course profile had been super-flat, I'd have struggled just as equally on Saturday.
    Thanks I couldn't remember and had no elevation on my garmin connect. But I found my race on mapmyrun after and you're right there is an incline of about 30ft. Goddammit I always blamed my crap races there on it being too flat :(

30 feet? Pfftt.... It was as big as a mountain, I tell's ya! I raced the first leg of the Wicklow Way relay back in July, and those 200-250m climbs felt small by comparison to Saturday's 'lump'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

ultrapercy wrote: »
    You should not have run the race considering the extent of the injury you were suffering and the related treatments. The body requires a lot of energy to heal itself and it draws this surplus from other areas of the body such as digestion etc so you are not getting full value from food, sleep etc. When you then place the extra demands of a long hard race on a hot day something has to give,the body is running on empty. It takes a lot of physical and emotional energy to run a good race(let alone a pb) and us runners take it for granted. Other sports seem to grasp the concept, the recent outpouring of sympathy for the footballers of Mayo and Kerry when they had to play 2 games in a week being an example. But you seem to have got away with it in that your back has settled, in my opinoion thats a better result than a 75 minute half followed by a week in bed. Im not being critical because Id have done the same as you and expected a good result. Common sense and marathon running are mortal enemies at times and next time Im in a similar situation I must remember to read this very level headed post.

I think JB is spot on here. I remember watching When we were kings and George Plimpton saying the thing you love can destroy you, in relation to how Ali didnt stop fighting when he clearly needed to.
    Man its in the bank, dont play with fire at this stage of the game. Sometimes it takes greater discipline to walk away from sessions and races than it does to flog yourself and endure the pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Hi KC,
    Your race sounds eerily like my Portumna experience earlier in the year (albeit at a faster pace). I felt I was playing catch up all that week, and that eventually caught up with me on the day. I was never so exhausted after a race as I was when I crossed the line that morning. Although I'm a relative novice, I believe myself and a lot of others really underestimate the importance of rest. I'm not saying that's what you did, but it definitely seems to have been a factor that you weren't 100% all week and you knew it. That and the heat, which everyone seemed to struggle with.
    No harm done though hopefully. Frankfurt will be different.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭opus

Nice to bump into you afterwards, just read back through your log so understand what you meant now about the effects of the drugs :)

I've no doubt you'll bounce back from a bad day at the office & will be looking forward to seeing how you get on in Frankfurt when Athlone will be but a distant memory!