Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Feedback Folks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

mod

Pumpkinseeds, don't post in this thread again.

We welcome all constructive feedback as long as it is given in a civil manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Woeful bang of fcuking scyophantcy of this post

It wasn't meant to flatter you Pumpkinseeds. If I were attempting sycophanty I would've addressed you instead of your post and said I like your style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

darced wrote: »

None of your business tbh.

Pm Liz if you want to know but I can't guarantee she'll tell you.

Back on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »

Don't post in this thread again please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

LizT wrote: »
    We welcome all constructive feedback as long as it is given in a civil manner.
    Super-Rush wrote: »
    None of your business tbh.

Pm Liz if you want to know but I can't guarantee she'll tell you.

Back on topic.

I believe this is called the "do as I say, not as I do" model.

Jerrica wrote: »
    I believe this is called the "do as I say, not as I do" model.

No this is the don't question mod decisions on thread as per the charter.

It wasn't any of their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Super-Rush in fairness it's becoming a bit of a regular occurrence for you to display bad attitude and manners towards posters, especially those giving feedback that you disagree with. I've seen it on here and in the Feedback forum. You seem to have a level of disdain for the "normal" posters and it's uncomfortable to read your posts at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

No this is the don't question mod decisions on thread as per the charter.

It wasn't any of their business.

The sentiment is fine, the delivery is the problem. If civility is expected from users why not lead by example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

You're a little trigger happy with the bans maybe you'd be happier staying in the Ladies lounge where people agree with you
    Esoteric_ wrote: »
    Since when does personally attacking a user (moderator or regular use) constitute 'feedback?'

Love-in, my arse. I neither love nor hate Whoopsa, because I don't see her posts very often and don't speak to her via PM, and I still think your comment directed at her was disgusting.

I don't agree with the comment but it was nowhere near "disgusting" :D

I think people need to just harden up a little. There always seems to be folk on the lookout to be offended. If you are offended by a comment, there's no need to get angry. After all it's only the internet and the comment is coming from someone you don't know and more than likely will never meet.

Also, it bemuses me when people say stuff like "there's too many threads on religion, dole etc". At the end of the day nobody is forcing you to read them. As long as there's isn't more than 2/3 on any page then it's causing no problems. The mods do a good job in that regard.
    Same goes for posters asking for threads to be locked. IMHO every thread should be left open unless it's spam, stupid or there's a libel issue etc. Any thread that harbours decent discussion should only stop when posters don't want to talk in that thread anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,440 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Gokei wrote: »
    There's forums dedicated to nearly everything. What purpose does AH actually have if all topics get shoved off to the relevant forum?
    Gutter trap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Any chance we can post pictures on AH? Think the number of moderators have grown over the last couple years. Should be able to post pictures if thats the case.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Any chance we can post pictures on AH? Think the number of moderators have grown over the last couple years. Should be able to post pictures if thats the case.

I was thinking about this. Since I've installed hoverzoom on chrome
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/hover-zoom/nonjdcjchghhkdoolnlbekcfllmednbl?hl=en
    It's been a bit easier to browse images in AH without having to open a new tab.

It's not much but it helps.

I'd like to apoligise for certain things i have said in the feedback forum and in this thread recently. I've let certain things that have been said to myself and some of the other mods get to me. I let a small minority of people get me down when i should't. To act the way i have done, particularly in feedback threads, is not on and those comments do not represent the type of person i am and when i've looked back on what i've said to people recently its embarrassing to read.

I haven't enjoyed boards that much over the last year and moderating has become a real chore for me. My judgement has been severely clouded and i have made life difficult for the rest of the AH mods to whom i've also apologised to.

I have decided to teak a break from being an After Hours mod and tbh its something i should have done a long time ago.

Again i am sorry for what i have said and i hope it doesn't discourage people from giving their feedback.

I was thinking about this. Since I've installed hoverzoom on chrome
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/hover-zoom/nonjdcjchghhkdoolnlbekcfllmednbl?hl=en
    It's been a bit easier to browse images in AH without having to open a new tab.

It's not much but it helps.

Post from a phone or sometimes the work PC (boards is off/unavailable at the minute) dunno if add ons will work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I'd like to apoligise for certain things i have said in the feedback forum and in this thread recently. I've let certain things that have been said to myself and some of the other mods get to me. I let a small minority of people get me down when i should't. To act the way i have done, particularly in feedback threads, is not on and those comments do not represent the type of person i am and when i've looked back on what i've said to people recently its embarrassing to read.

I haven't enjoyed boards that much over the last year and moderating has become a real chore for me. My judgement has been severely clouded and i have made life difficult for the rest of the AH mods to whom i've also apologised to.

I have decided to teak a break from being an After Hours mod and tbh its something i should have done a long time ago.

Again i am sorry for what i have said and i hope it doesn't discourage people from giving their feedback.

I'm sorry that boards modding feels like a chore to you, I really am. :(

I know I made a thread in Feedback about certain posts, and I'm sure you've probably seen it, given your post here, but I want to re-iterate that it wasn't specifically aimed at you, those just happened to be the posts I had seen and I was questioning moderation in general, but trying to give specifics, as is usually requested.

Hope to see you back modding here if/when you feel ready. it takes a big person to apologise.

Very courageous of you. Wish other moderators who may or may not be currently modding had your gumption. Fair play. Hope you return when it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Fair play S-R. I got the impression that you hadn't been enjoying it any more, and it was a pity to me because I would have always thought of you as good craic before, and always enjoyed your posts and interacting with you. I think it's really decent and courageous of you to post that. I hope you start taking enjoyment from boards again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Fair play - big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm sorry to see you step down Super-Rush. You're as honest and direct as they come, and that's two qualities I admire in a person. But I guess it's fairly obvious to everyone that you haven't been enjoying life modding AH for a while, and I respect your humility in writing that post.

Good luck to you man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Massive shame. There's people rubbing their hands in delight about this and it just solidifies how small minded they can be. Hope to see you back at the helm soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

That took balls. Fair play, SR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I have just been looking at the thread titled ''Confession time.....'' where the OP told a story about leaving a drunk girl on her own in Dublin etc..

In my opinion this is an example of some of the most frustrating aspects of After Hours!!!

The OP received a warning for calling other posters ''losers''. When he himself was receiving tons of abuse (alot worse than being called a loser!!), none of which any mods did anything about!

Another poster posted ''Well here is living proof that personal abuse is allowed when the mods think the person on the receiving end deserves it.'' and got infracted for this post. I am pretty sure im not the only one that thinks that post is accurate, and that the mods knew that so infracted.

I mean what is going on here? I know its not my business about these posters but its so frustrating looking at that happening!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'm sorry to see you step down Super-Rush. You're as honest and direct as they come, and that's two qualities I admire in a person. But I guess it's fairly obvious to everyone that you haven't been enjoying life modding AH for a while, and I respect your humility in writing that post.

Good luck to you man.

Just to echo Backwards Man's sentiment Super Rush, I've said it before, always thought you were an exemplary Moderator in After Hours, misrepresented yourself slightly in the Feedback forum, but at least you weren't afraid to argue your position, at least you showed you gave a shìt!

Would hope to see you back moderating again soon after having been a Moderator through what has to be said has been a period of After Hours more turbulent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I have just been looking at the thread titled ''Confession time.....'' where the OP told a story about leaving a drunk girl on her own in Dublin etc..

In my opinion this is an example of some of the most frustrating aspects of After Hours!!!

The OP received a warning for calling other posters ''losers''. When he himself was receiving tons of abuse (alot worse than being called a loser!!), none of which any mods did anything about!

Another poster posted ''Well here is living proof that personal abuse is allowed when the mods think the person on the receiving end deserves it.'' and got infracted for this post. I am pretty sure im not the only one that thinks that post is accurate, and that the mods knew that so infracted.

I mean what is going on here? I know its not my business about these posters but its so frustrating looking at that happening!!!
    Only warnings and infractions show up on thread. The bans that were handed out there don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Sorry to see you step down as a mod, Super-Rush.

Hope to see you posting still :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Fair play Super-Rush, that's very very big of you. It can be a bit hard reading some of the stuff in AH these days so completely understand how modding can get tiresome after a while.

Now just change your name back to SAF for the rest of the year and we're even :pac:

Look after yourself Super Rush :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

humanji wrote: »
    Only warnings and infractions show up on thread. The bans that were handed out there don't.

So there were bans handed out?