Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sim City 5 announcement expected this week for 2013?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Crosáidí wrote: »
    But it shouldnt, they are an integral part of any metropolis

I'll give it a week or two after release and we'll see a subway DLC or maybe included in a Pre-Order package..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

Pyr0 wrote: »
    I'll give it a week or two after release and we'll see a subway DLC or maybe included in a Pre-Order package..

I bet there'll be a mod out before long.

I could download this game illegally but because I love it so much I'm willing to give EA my money. However when it comes to charging extra for subways they can jog on. The mod will probably be better anyway...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Beta signups have been ongoing since August last year. I'm interested to know who recently signed up and get in next week.

I signed up way back in October but have heard nothing.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

will disasters be random?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Got my beta email yesterday

Been a while since I've been this excited for a beta. Just over a half hour to go now!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Been a while since I've been this excited for a beta. Just over a half hour to go now!

first impressions?

First impressions are its good. The beta has too many features locked out to make any more analysis on it though. There's a good few bugs too. UI and graphics are slick.

Just downloaded my beta. It won't log me into SC though, says the servers are busy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

First impressions are its good. The beta has too many features locked out to make any more analysis on it though. There's a good few bugs too. UI and graphics are slick.
    Would it be a day one purchase for you cherry

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I think it will be for me. I gave it a blast last night and really enjoyed it. While the graphics aren't amazing, they are intricate and really suit the whole "individual Sim" idea that they're going for. It seems more of a living city, which really drags you in. The tutorial shows a bank robbery than ends in a shoot out, so I'm curious to see if that sort of thing is simulated in the full game, or if it was just a one of cut sequence.

I haven't come across any real bugs so far. It's not without it's problems though. The map itself is tiny. It's more SimTown than SimCity. As said above, since lots of things are locked out, you can't get a full feel of how many things work. I'll hopefully have more to say later after giving it a good going over now.

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Would it be a day one purchase for you cherry

I already have it preordered so I don't have a choice :p

I reckon it's got great potential but as the barebones beta goes, it's hard to say what the full release will show.

Cherry, did you find out where the expo centre was hidden away? It's one of the little missions you're given to build one, but I couldn't find it anywhere. I assumed it just wasn't in the beta, but found it odd that it wouldn't be shown when all the other locked buildings were there, but with "Not in Beta" written on them.

humanji wrote: »
    Cherry, did you find out where the expo centre was hidden away? It's one of the little missions you're given to build one, but I couldn't find it anywhere. I assumed it just wasn't in the beta, but found it odd that it wouldn't be shown when all the other locked buildings were there, but with "Not in Beta" written on them.

Yeah I had the same issue. I came across another mission to build a sports stadium and it's also locked.

Did ye just preorder from origin?

I did as I was too lazy to look around for better value. I think you also get something called "Plumbob Park" for ordering on Origin, which I'm sure will make all the difference.

Is it 50 on there ya?or there about?

€59 or €79 with some extra country packs like London, Paris, and I think Berlin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

How's the BETA, lads? Didn't bother myself as I'm playing for too many games atm but who knows when this one comes out!

It was pretty good. Most of the features were locked out, so you could only get a taste of the game.

Overall, it does kind of come across as dumbed down so far, from previous games. But that's mostly because, since all advanced buildings and options were locked out, they could only really show off how streamlined they've made the game.

The map is too small, in my opinion. I always liked having the large sprawling maps with my power stations far off away from the main city. But now, within the space of the hour long beta access, the map was full and my power station was surrounded. It's something I can live with, but hopefully the maps will expand at some point (probably an expansion pack, pun not intended).

The way you build a city is different now. Before, you'd place down you residential, commercial or industrial zones and link them with power lines and roads. Now the game is based around your roads. You put down your low, medium or high density roads and then designate either side of it as residential, commercial or industrial. Here's an example:

20130125-simcity-preview-02-small.jpg

So you can see above that little squares were made by the roads and they drew in residential (green) areas in the middle. It's not a bad system, but I found that you end up having to try and create tight grids because in the example above, you're left with empty spaces in your zones. Sometimes large buildings may be built to take up those spaces, but you don't really get to control the size. And since land is in short supply, it can be a bit of a struggle to set out the right type of zone.

Another problem is the power system. Like before, you have to provide power and water. But now the roads act as the pipes and power lines too. This can be handy, as you'll always have buildings next to a road, but the power acts funny.

You place a water tower down by a road, and it pumps water to buildings. You may have seen this in some of the videos where it shows a blue line with circles running along them towards the buildings. It represents the flow of water and works grands.

But the power works the exact same way. And I don't think you've any real control over how the power "pulses" flow. When they hit a junction, they randomly take a turn and head off. I found this really annoying when I ran out of power and had to add a new wind turbine. Areas at the far end of the map had no power and after increasing the output, it still took five minutes for power to be restored to them. Considering power was immediate in the previous games, I'm not sure why they decided to change it here.

I haven't seen any terraforming tools and don't know if they just weren't in the beta, or if there's none in this game.

Those are a few of the things that bothered me. They're not horrifically offputting, just different enough from the previous games so as to stand out. There's plenty to like about the game.

The upgradable buildings are pretty cool. Rather than having to put down more firestations, for example, you just build an extra garage on to the side of the current one, or increase reaction time by adding a new alarm bell to it.

You don't have to micromanage the budgets for the buildings (which, to be honest, I missed), and you don't have to increase/decrease the radius of the area that schools/hospitals/police/fire stations cover, mostly due to the small size of the town.

With schools you now place bus stop in residential areas to get the kids to school. And the UI highlights what areas are within distance of these stops. It's pretty handy.

The UI is really good and easy to navigate. If there's a problem you can quickly see what it is and how to solve it.

The sims themselves are pretty cool. You can follow each one about the city as they drive to work, or hop on the bus and complain about it being too full or loudly exclaim "Simlent Green is Sims!". The city feels alive and for once, I actually felt guilty about placing a civic building in a residential area when it removed the home that was already built. Partly because I think I may have been losing a bit of income from them, but also because I watched as a construction crew came into town and built the house, then the moving truck came in a delivered the families stuff.

There's so many little things to see that it makes the game so much more of an ant-farm than before. It's really cool.

I'm really looking forward to playing the full thing. Currently, I don't see it as a replacement for Simcity 4. This would be something I'll be playing along side it.

anyone preorder deluxe edition?

I refused to on moral grounds:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Thanks for the great write up humanji. It'll be interesting to see how the currently locked features will open the game up.

In one of the videos the developer talked about having lots of interconnecting cities in a region all controlled by the same player. He said that these could support each other through specialisation. I wonder if this would counter the small cities problem? Maybe small cites are intentional to force the player to use the others.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

To be honest, I can see the "limited" city space as a cool idea. I know it's a game and all but it IS a problem in modern day society; city/town planning that is.

All I wanted was SC4 with more data, more buildings and better AI. SC5 looks great but the city size is an issue. Also, Origin is an issue. I couldn't even play my beta because Origin just wouldn't let me!

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    Also, Origin is an issue. I couldn't even play my beta because Origin just wouldn't let me!

Why not?

Why not?

It just wouldn't connect. It kept telling me the servers were full. I got to play the tutorial level but after that it wouldn't open again.

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    It just wouldn't connect. It kept telling me the servers were full. I got to play the tutorial level but after that it wouldn't open again.

Ah here,they better sort that out,its not a bloody mmo were playing