Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish Promotions' Thread ***Info & Results***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

RAMPAGE1 wrote: »
    I see TNA robbed his Merch Idea and started signing Baseballs instead of Hurling Balls

Sliotars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

flahavaj wrote: »
    Sliotars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Typical of the lackadaisical attitude to promoting themselves that has led IWW to the brink of oblivion to be perfectly honest. Its almost like they don't want people's suppport.

And even when they do try to get people's support, you try to sabotage it - http://ukff.com/index.php?showtopic=114639

Now, I agree that IWW are piss poor at promoting shows and keeping people updated, and I generally agree with most things you say about them on here, but that post I linked to is dickish behaviour.

Exit wrote: »
    And even when they do try to get people's support, you try to sabotage it - http://ukff.com/index.php?showtopic=114639

Now, I agree that IWW are piss poor at promoting shows and keeping people updated, and I generally agree with most things you say about them on here, but that post I linked to is dickish behaviour.
    Nope, thats just expressing an opinion.

Do you have to like it? Nope.

Do you have to accept people aren't always going to agree with you? Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

Yay for late 90's WWE knock off belts!

its pretty ridiculous the way people are acting.honestly theres alot of dickheads on this site and ye actually make it unbearable at times.can no one be happy for other people?regardless of what the belts like and what the company is like,it doesnt matter.ive meet conor a few times and hes genuinely a nice guy,why would ye rip the piss out of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Sirsok wrote: »
    its pretty ridiculous the way people are acting.honestly theres alot of dickheads on this site and ye actually make it unbearable at times.can no one be happy for other people?regardless of what the belts like and what the company is like,it doesnt matter.ive meet conor a few times and hes genuinely a nice guy,why would ye rip the piss out of him?

Because I've paid money to get into shows that he was on and I was nothing but offended by the performance put on by him. Is it not acceptable for wrestling fans to strongly dislike a wrestler? There's a full thread of hatred for Triple H here. Quite frankly, I believe "Mr. G.A.A" is an embarrassment to both professional wrestling and The G.A.A, two fields in which I have a very strong interest. I don't have to like him at the end of the day.

And why doesn't it matter what the Belt and the Company are like? Of course it does. If it didn't matter, they'd probably paint their name on a bit of cardboard. And saying the company doesn't matter is a bit ridiculous really.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Because I've paid money to get into shows that he was on and I was nothing but offended by the performance put on by him. Is it not acceptable for wrestling fans to strongly dislike a wrestler? There's a full thread of hatred for Triple H here. Quite frankly, I believe "Mr. G.A.A" is an embarrassment to both professional wrestling and The G.A.A, two fields in which I have a very strong interest. I don't have to like him at the end of the day.

And why doesn't it matter what the Belt and the Company are like? Of course it does. If it didn't matter, they'd probably paint their name on a bit of cardboard. And saying the company doesn't matter is a bit ridiculous really.

Wonderfully balanced and mature response there Ger in the face of some very abusive comments from Sorsik, sums up my thoughts exactly.

This idea that pervades threads on Irish wrestling that they should somehow be immune from criticism is quite frankly ridiculously. As paying fans people are entitled to air their opinions, good or bad. Anyone who puts themselves in the public eye seuch as Conor Hurley or indeed any other wrestler puts them selves out there for public scrutiny, be it positive or negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

Seeing as so many people hate conor hurley, does that not mean he is doing a good job as a heel? Its obvious ppl here hate him because of what he does in wrestling. I'm sure hes a good guy in reality. I will give him his due. he is obviously doing ok as a wrestler and i say fair play to the man.

It's the wrong kind of heat. The right kind makes you buy tickets.

As for the nice guy argument. John Cena is apparently a fantastic guy who does a lot of charity work and stuff, but has to take his share of fans who don't like his character or his wrestling and boo him every chance they get. He's learned to deal with it cause he's a pro.

If negative reactions phase you, then it's the wrong business for you. Even guys who went on to be superstars like The Rock had to deal with it. Maybe Conor might one day too star in a Hollywood blockbuster :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

Met cena in belfast he was a dick! although the next day he seemed okish. dunno bout hurley being in a hollywood blockbuster, however i see mandrake has landed a lead roll in a tv show called devastation

"Hey fiends,

The 'Black heart warrior' is set to appear in a upcoming tv show called DEVASTATION.

DEVASTATION is the tale of two young men, Billy & Paul, whose lives are turned upside-down after befriending a mysterious stranger, Devon. At breaking point they find themselves in the most extreme of circumstances, trying to dispose of his body. What brought them to this point, is it the end of their troubles or will it all come back to haunt them from a shallow grave.

Mandrake is set to play 'Devon'. Devon is large and imposing, both in size and character. A party animal who lives in the moment. Its not that he doesn't care about consequences, he just never considers them.

Filming is set to start soon so watch this space for updates.

Stay Strong
    Mandrake"

source http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=160084590&blogID=506638386

k sorry lads, points well taken,everyone is entitled to their opinion,just hard to read harsh comments bout a guy i consider to be top notch and a fellow kilkenny man!

i personally believe he does well with his gimmick and draws a good amount of heat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Exit wrote: »

Sirsok wrote: »

little warning lads can we keep this civil and avoid personal insults, I know this isnt the worst but this thread was only recently re-opening and i would hate to have to lock it again because little bickering has spiralled outta control. As Flahavaj said these are just opinions being posted, you dont have to agree with them but you do have to continue to act like a respectfull poster even if you disagree with what is posted.

Whiplash wrote: »
    Seeing as so many people hate conor hurley, does that not mean he is doing a good job as a heel? Its obvious ppl here hate him because of what he does in wrestling. I'm sure hes a good guy in reality. I will give him his due. he is obviously doing ok as a wrestler and i say fair play to the man.

When did he turn heel? And how does his character fit playing a heel? The evil Left Half Back who refuses to pass to his team mates! *BOOOOOOO*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 flexkidd

Fair play to mandrake
    Whiplash wrote: »
    Met cena in belfast he was a dick! although the next day he seemed okish. dunno bout hurley being in a hollywood blockbuster, however i see mandrake has landed a lead roll in a tv show called devastation

"Hey fiends,

The 'Black heart warrior' is set to appear in a upcoming tv show called DEVASTATION.

DEVASTATION is the tale of two young men, Billy & Paul, whose lives are turned upside-down after befriending a mysterious stranger, Devon. At breaking point they find themselves in the most extreme of circumstances, trying to dispose of his body. What brought them to this point, is it the end of their troubles or will it all come back to haunt them from a shallow grave.

Mandrake is set to play 'Devon'. Devon is large and imposing, both in size and character. A party animal who lives in the moment. Its not that he doesn't care about consequences, he just never considers them.

Filming is set to start soon so watch this space for updates.

Stay Strong
    Mandrake"

source http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=160084590&blogID=506638386

Gerard.C wrote: »
    When did he turn heel? And how does his character fit playing a heel? The evil Left Half Back who refuses to pass to his team mates! *BOOOOOOO*

na man hes the self righteous kilkenny man who thinks because his county wins everything hes great by association.it does go over well.its like when in america they were the football jersey of another state and everyone gets pissed.sme effect really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Nope, thats just expressing an opinion.

Do you have to like it? Nope.

Do you have to accept people aren't always going to agree with you? Yep.

I accepted that many years ago.

I wouldn't call what you posted on there just an opinion though. And if you claim it's an opinion, then it's not an opinion that's based on experience. I believe I'm right in thinking that you haven't been to an IWW show in many years? And I'm not saying that that excludes you from criticising them (I've had that particular accusation thrown my way by Rochford himself a long time ago) What I am saying is that you have no first hand knowledge of how fun, or indeed how ****e, the shows are as you haven't experienced one recently. Therefore, you shouldn't be offering your voice on whether people should or shouldn't go.

I assumed the majority of level headed posters in this thread wanted to see Irish wrestling succeed, yet here you are, a renowned IWW basher, practically picketing the company. It seems petty to be going around telling people not to go to the shows, because you personally don't like the company and/or the people involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Conor Hurley

Hey everyone. This is my first time posting here so i hope this goes ok. Now ive been reading what goes on here for a while now and i notice the a few of the members on this forum dont like me very much. Now i dont have a problem with this at all but most of the guys/girls that have a problem with me has never met me in person they just go on what they see at shows and these people have only seen me on a handful of times so i really think its funny. Now i to could come on to this forum and say your all wrong and that i am a great wrestler etc etc but im not going to because thats your opinion and i have no problem with it. I could also come on here under a different name and slag off all the othe wrestlers and promotions in this country too, but i dont. Why?? Because i know how hard it is to wrestle and how hard the training is and i have respect for every wrestler not just the IWW and PTW guys or any of the other promotions that ive wrestled for but for every one of the wrestlers and promotions in the country i wish all of them well. If their going to put the work into a show then good luck to them. As for the slagging thats your opinon good or bad its not a problem with me the more you guys slag me the more my name gets out there and people get to know it so thanks for the air time guys!! Now having said all that there is one guy here...... Gerard C who really seems to hate me. As far as i know this guys has seen me wrestle once or twice at the most but he knows so much me about and EVEN goes onto my myspace page and looks at my pictures.. not bad for a guy who hates me. Now i can tell everyone that i have never met this man and if he has such a problem with me(maybe its because im from Kilkenny and hes from Clonmel Co Tipp) why didnt he come up to me at one of the shows and tell me in person??? What i would like to know would Mr Gerard say all these things to my face or is he just another keyboard tough guy?? So the only way for me to find out is to drive down to Clonmel(which is not that far from me) on Monday, yes thats two days time the 24th and meet up with Gerard... thats if hes not to busy slagging me off here. I think that Easons book store would be a good meeting point. So whatever time suits Mr Gerard C is fine with me and he can tell me face to face how much he hates me. Thanks for your time everyone i wont be making a habbit of posting here as im not much good on a PC. But i am very interested to hear what Gerard has to say. Later

Irish Wrestling Entertainment
    presents

"HURLEY V GERRARD I : ULTIMATUM"

TICKETS COST E10 AND INCLUDES FREE MEET AND GREETS WILL ALL COMPETIOTORS.24TH AUGUST EASON BOOK STORE CLONMEL.bELL TIME 10 O'CLOCK.

IM DOING A PRETTY GOOD PROMOTING JOB!MAYBE I SHOULD GIVE IT A GO :)

Jeez Louise :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FFPW_Dean

So. . yeah, anyway, ahem. . .

FFPW On The Road

The following results featuring Fight Factory members are from Pro Wrestling Ulster's live event on Friday, 21st August 2009:

PWU Tag Team Championship
    Renegades(c) def Kev Rocks & Danny Butler

Los Locas def Dean Maxwell & Dean Dooley

Notes:

Kev Rocks & Danny Butler were unsuccessful in their attempt to regain the PWU tag team championship largely due to the meddling actions of Kev Rocks former tag team partner, RODD.
    Towards the end of the match RODD interfered in the contest costing Rocks & Butler certain victory. This didn't sit well with Kev Rocks who in turn beat the ever loving jaysus outta RODD when the cocky former UCW Cruiserweight Champion refused to leave the building following his elimination from the main event. The two former Electric Express members brawled all over Malone Rugby Club before being separated backstage by several PWU staff.

In other news the duo which some people consider to be the leaders of the next generation of Irish wrestlers were unsuccessful in their bid to get off to a flying start in competition outside the Fight Factory. However according to eyewitness reports Maxwell & Dooley dominated the match & were nothing short of impressive in this outing.

Reminder:

Show at the Fight Factory Tomorrow at 6:30pm
    Admission is Free
    All sorts of crazy sh*t may or may not happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Luas Lane

Where is the Fight Factory show on tonight?? As far as i know its in Bray but whats the address or the best way to get to it once i get into the town?

Hey everyone. This is my first time posting here so i hope this goes ok. Now ive been reading what goes on here for a while now and i notice the a few of the members on this forum dont like me very much. Now i dont have a problem with this at all but most of the guys/girls that have a problem with me has never met me in person they just go on what they see at shows and these people have only seen me on a handful of times so i really think its funny. Now i to could come on to this forum and say your all wrong and that i am a great wrestler etc etc but im not going to because thats your opinion and i have no problem with it. I could also come on here under a different name and slag off all the othe wrestlers and promotions in this country too, but i dont. Why?? Because i know how hard it is to wrestle and how hard the training is and i have respect for every wrestler not just the IWW and PTW guys or any of the other promotions that ive wrestled for but for every one of the wrestlers and promotions in the country i wish all of them well. If their going to put the work into a show then good luck to them. As for the slagging thats your opinon good or bad its not a problem with me the more you guys slag me the more my name gets out there and people get to know it so thanks for the air time guys!! Now having said all that there is one guy here...... Gerard C who really seems to hate me. As far as i know this guys has seen me wrestle once or twice at the most but he knows so much me about and EVEN goes onto my myspace page and looks at my pictures.. not bad for a guy who hates me. Now i can tell everyone that i have never met this man and if he has such a problem with me(maybe its because im from Kilkenny and hes from Clonmel Co Tipp) why didnt he come up to me at one of the shows and tell me in person??? What i would like to know would Mr Gerard say all these things to my face or is he just another keyboard tough guy?? So the only way for me to find out is to drive down to Clonmel(which is not that far from me) on Monday, yes thats two days time the 24th and meet up with Gerard... thats if hes not to busy slagging me off here. I think that Easons book store would be a good meeting point. So whatever time suits Mr Gerard C is fine with me and he can tell me face to face how much he hates me. Thanks for your time everyone i wont be making a habbit of posting here as im not much good on a PC. But i am very interested to hear what Gerard has to say. Later

Hello Conor,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my posts. Let me start off by saying how professional it is of you to take the time out of you hectic schedual to drive to my home town and seemingly fight me. I applaud your integrity. Alas, no, Conor, I won't be meeting you at Easons. That notion is both absurd and pathetic. Why would I? I don't like your wrestling persona, therefore I will fight you? Please, Conor, Get real. If you are so touchy to criticism, then I'm afraid you might just have chosen the wrong career to get into. If you were any sort of man you would take it in your stride and make the effort to improve, not challenge fans to fights. Though it is nice to know that you hold my opinion of you in such high regard!

Your post has done nothing good for Irish wrestling, I'm afraid. It only furthers this notion that we, as fans, cannot criticise certain wrestlers or companies for fear of upsetting them and hurting their feelings. It is when this notion started to creep in that Irish Wrestling lost a lot of its fans, and it's posts like that that certainly won't be winning it back anymore.

In conclusion, Conor, I suggest that you keep your word and dont make a habbit of posting here, if you intend to continue posting such childish and embarressing posts.

Beatha agus Sláinte,
    Gerard.C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Conor Hurley

Hello Gerard, who said anything about fighting you???? I sure didnt. I just wanted to know since you have such a major problem with me(someone that you have never met in person) that you might like to be a man and say these things to my face. Do i care what you think about me?? No. But PLEASE keep slagging me off here as much as you want. Your my best promoter and i dont even have to pay you. Thanks for taking the time to go on to my myspace page and put my picture up here, i owe you one! Now Ive already giving a keyboard tough guy like you to much of my time so ill sign off. But if you do change your mind let me know... Like i said Clonmel is not to far away.

Hello again, Conor,

No, I don't care enough to tell you to your face quite frankly. Please get over yourself and loose this completely undeserved ego. If I'm such a good promoter, maybe I could get 10% of what PTW give you, eh? :)

Please give up on this notion that I will meet you in Clonmel and tell you I think you are a crap wrestler. And Jesus Christ nobody ever said anything about you personally, you could be the nicest guy in the world, I don't care!!!! God almighty how isn't that registering with you??!?!?!? You don't care what I think but you care enough to drive to Clonmel so I can tell you to your face? What if someone in America called you ****, would you fly over there? Get with it lad, seriously.

And no, Conor, Clonmel is very far away. For you see, It's A Long Way To Tipperary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Jesus H Christ. This is a new low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Haha, it could be real life faction warfare - IWW Vs The Munster Mafia in a war games style affair.

Things have just go interesting. Though I reckon we should meet in neutral territory like Galway or something.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Lads I can't tell a poster what to do but is there anyway the stuff above could be in a Private Message?

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Lads I can't tell a poster what to do but is there anyway the stuff above could be in a Private Message?

Shur I know, I think the last thing any of us want is this thread being locked again.