Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Anan1 wrote: »
    I would be sure enough to bet money that 82 D 215 was first registered here during 1987.
    Can anyone tell us for sure i wonder....
    And as for 71 C, maybe you could try putting numbers into cartell and see when it stops giving you back details, i would guess around the 500 mark..

• Registered Users Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

JustinOval wrote: »
    The reg just indicates it was the 215th '82 car imported into Dublin since 1987
    Not really - what about the 'ZV' registrations? ;)

And it would apply to any vehicle registered not just cars. A significant number of 1980s UK tractors are imported into Ireland each year and very few go for a 'ZV' plate.

The reg just indicates it was the 215th '82 car imported into Dublin since 1987
    pedanticly speaking,the reg means that its the 215 car to be registered on the 82 D reg series since 87, ZVs dont apply to 82 cars yet, as they are just for vehicles over 30 years old.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

ZVs dont apply to 82 cars yet, as they are just for vehicles over 30 years old.
    Of course - had an idiot moment :o

Without wishing to stress the point though, it's vehicles not cars!

yes, very true, i must try and think outside the box!!:pnow im off to the pub to cool my brain down:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Can anyone tell us for sure i wonder....
    And as for 71 C, maybe you could try putting numbers into cartell and see when it stops giving you back details, i would guess around the 500 mark..

Good thinking;) Highest number I could find was........

35!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Oh and 82 D is 3156 ;)

Me? bored?

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭carlosfandango

Nice Alpine.. (registration number said 1987... I hope I don't add fuel to the fire!)
    AlpineRathmines2.jpg

Lotus from Leinster Road in Rathmines, most likely a repost
    LotusLeinsterRoad.jpg

Good thinking;) Highest number I could find was.......35!
    That seems very low?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Think this is draggggging on a bit now lads....imo.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Blue850

That seems very low?

71C866 a Lotus Elan, I think Vehicle registration moved from being a responsibilty of City or County councils to VRO and the reg system restarted at 800 , 71 C 800 is a Morris Oxford

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

10032008042.jpgSeen by the Grand Canal this morning while walking back from Barry Whelan's in the pissings of rain.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Spotted this tragic sight on the way back from Croker on Saturday!

Image027_1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭Motormouth

Spotted this earlier.......in my garage!:D:D

As borat would say-it nice!!

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

dscf3769640pk8.jpg
    dscf3785640go3.jpg
    dscf3779640uq8.jpg
    dscf3774640ih3.jpg
    dscf3787640gx4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Welsh Wizard

Although they only made 1000 of these between late 1988 and early 1990.
    I hear only around 250 left..
    IMG_0210.jpg
    IMG_0207.jpg
    IMG_0208.jpg
    IMG_0209.jpg
    IMG_0320.jpg
    IMG_0322.jpg

New plates on the way very soon...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Blue850

Motormouth wrote: »
    Spotted this earlier.......in my garage!:D:D

I've got a 127 GT in my garage too, all I can see at the moment is one wheel arch and part of the door, the rest of it is buried in household junk:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

@ JOMCC those are really nice pictures. Would you mind telling me the locations please ?

Aslo I'm liking the R5 Turbo. Its been years since I saw a decent example. That car looks very straight indeed !

There used to be one around Dublin in the late 80's, modified by Radbourne Racing and affectionately known as "The Rad".

It was the only one around for a while and nothing could touch it for acceleration !

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

Mercmad.......Pictures were taken on Wicklow Gap and Russborough House. Wasn't actually there myself but our car is one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Oh yeah Russborough, I knew I recognised it.

Nice !

Hi, just spotted on Baggot Street Bridge. Apologies for poor quality..
    3500Rover.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭franksm

Hi, just spotted on Baggot Street Bridge. Apologies for poor quality..
    3500Rover.jpg

Nice !! I'm sure it's "just" '70s brown in daylight, but that night-time pic makes it look like a modern, metallic tan colour - would look great on the Rover.

whats the bike then.......

Howya Sid,
    Tiger 1050. Love, love, love it.

musta been fun trying to take the pic with all the bike gear on!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Almost as mad as lugging your spare wheel around on your boot. You gotta love the thinking going on in BMC/BL in the late 60s early 70s. Too much magic roundabout for them probably.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭mountain

seen at the west cork rally in clonakilty,

Ah yes,I saw that at the modified show in limerick racecourse two years ago, a nice straight car.

Today i saw Herbie in Bray and took a pic....:D.......