Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Sherlock' actor latest victim of political correctness witch-hunt

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

With a name like Benedict Cumberbatch I'm surprised he doesn't refer to them as "the natives" before ordering to have one of them flogged for looking a gentleman in the eye.

Yeah, one of his grandfathers was a slave owner in the Caribbean, back in the day. That's why a lot of he Cumberbatches out there are 'persons of colour' - they took the names of their owner back then. He's very mortified by it by the interviews I've read (I may have an unhealthy interest in Mr Cumberbatch).

Seriously though, you couldn't keep up with what's the correct term to call X, Y and Z any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭vetinari

Black or African American is fine. It's really not that hard.
    Coloured is outdated.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,067 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Is political correctness static or something?

It seems to have become more fashionable and 'correct' to rant and rave about political correctness these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭spikeS

vetinari wrote: »
    Black or African American is fine. It's really not that hard.
    Coloured is outdated.

Black is not acceptable in America and not all POC are African

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

When people say "outdated" what do they mean? I presume it's more than "Ugh,'coloured' is so 1950s". If people say it's offensive fine, I'm not going to argue but why is it offensive. I would have thought 'coloured' and 'person of colour' mean pretty much the same thing … pardon my ignorance.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Official statements on his comment quoted in the linked article in the original post:
    Anti-racism charity Show Racism the Red Card says the term is "outdated".
    His comments were quickly criticised online and charity Show Racism the Red Card said that he had "highlighted the issue of appropriate terminology".

Outrage level: trace amounts.

Hyperbole level in original post: ludicrous.

I know being anti-PC is very in now among angry young men online, but try to find better targets and not waste so much time toiling over cringeworthy opening posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭coolabula

I personally think it was blown out of proportation, he said a bad word and then issued an apology, end of story.
    It is beyond ridiclous now, society is way too PC, racism is hating someone because of their skin colour and is of course bad but saying hey that black man over there has a nice hat is not.
    My son recently came home from school tellingly about a book they were reading in which a black girl was called names, the teacher called a black student from another class and asked her how she felt about the book and what she would prefer to be called, she strangely enough didn't ask that her school friends call her by her name but that she be described as African!! This girl was born in Ireland, learns Irish and has probably never been to Africa or the country of her parents origin. As far as I am concerned she is Irish.
    I am white but I don't expect black Americans to call me European!! It's just ridiclous.

spikeS wrote: »

That's complete bollix you're spouting.

The reason the word 'black' went out of favor is the same reason the word 'white' went out of favor with government and police agencies, because people at the ends of both spectrum saw everyone else as being opposites!

Describing a black person as black is perfectly fine unless you're a retard that describes anyone who isn't white as black. And there are enough people to warrant such a thing apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Ironically, I'm pretty sure that 'coloured' was first introduced as a means of avoiding causing offense in preference to various words beginning with n.

The problem is the apartheid regime in South Africa took to using it in official documentation so it became tarnished.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

EXTRA, EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT! SHERLOCK STAR SPEWS SINFUL STATEMENT, SUBSEQUENTLY SAYS SORRY!

Low fat frappuccinos across the nation were violently spat out as aggrieved warriors from the Perpetually Outraged Victim's Squadron (P.O.V.S) took to their personal computers to begin the systematic gnashing of teeth and foaming of the mouth

The best description I've seen on boards ever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭vetinari

News to me, I've been living in Boston for the past 9 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

EXTRA, EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT! SHERLOCK STAR SPEWS SINFUL STATEMENT, SUBSEQUENTLY SAYS SORRY!

So......another week, another tedious accusation of racism against an entirely innocent party.

Today's victim of the political correctness industrial complex is none other that British actor Benedict Cumberbatch-he of the popular BBC series Sherlock, and late of The Hobbit trilogy.

The drama unfolded earlier this morning on a U.S. talk show, when Mr. Cumberbatch innocently used the phrase 'coloured' when describing actors of a, shall we say, Caucasianially challenged appearance.

Low fat frappuccinos across the nation were violently spat out as aggrieved warriors from the Perpetually Outraged Victim's Squadron (P.O.V.S) took to their personal computers to begin the systematic gnashing of teeth and foaming of the mouth.

The reserve medical unit were also put on a full scale alert for possible treatment of sand in the vagina syndrome for our aggrieved warriors. Mental trauma specialists were also recalled to deal with a potential epidemic of 'offended' and 'outraged' viewers, with the calming phrase 'aw, you ok hun xxx' being deployed in badly hit sections of the twittersphere.

Happily, the order to stand down was sent shortly after 11.30 GMT once the P.O.V.S. realised the actor has left wing views of his own, and an embarrassing blue-on-blue friendly fire incident was narrowly avoided. The actor has stated that he is "devastated to have caused offence" over the incident.

Anti-racism charity Show Racism the Red Card (who have no vested interest whatsoever in stoking the race hysteria in exchange for annual taxpayer funds) says the term is "outdated".

It is not clear if the actor will be forced to attend an Orwellian type 'diversity training' course at this time, although it would appear from initial reports that Cumberbatch is not in fact, a closet Waffen SS admirer deserving of a cruel and humiliating public 'racist' tag, but merely the innocent victim of an increasingly hideous and out of control industry that seeks to justify its over-bloated budget in spectacular high profile 'outings'.

American civil rights group The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People could not be contacted for comment as this article went to print.

.....And now for the weather with Rachel.

As I noted in the title, is 'racism' now the new McCarthyism? I put it to you, ladies and gentlemen of the jury, that here we have an out of control, paranoid, multi million dollar industry that sees 'offence' (trademark pending) behind every comment. Don't say I didn't warn you.

jimmy-halsman-laughing.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

My God that article makes me embarassed to be human.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That's complete bollix you're spouting.

The reason the word 'black' went out of favor is the same reason the word 'white' went out of favor with government and police agencies, because people at the ends of both spectrum saw everyone else as being opposites!

Describing a black person as black is perfectly fine unless you're a retard that describes anyone who isn't white as black. And there are enough people to warrant such a thing apparently.

I don't think they make allowances for people who are intellectually disabled, but carry on with your lesson on political correctness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

That's great alliteration there OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

How do people decide whether a word is offensive after it being acceptable for so long? Did the whole black community wake up one morning and just decide "you know what? I don't like that word anymore." and the whole world is just supposed to know that? When I was a kid coloured was a grand word to use and nobody batted an eyelid.

The majority of my black friends don't give 2 fucks what you call them as long as you're not saying it in a nasty way or in a way that's meant to cause offence.

What's the difference between saying "person of colour" and "coloured person" anyway? It's basically the same thing. I'm genuinely confused.

A slight tangent: surely at this stage Benedict Cumberbatch deserves more than "'Sherlock' actor!"

I'd love to see the reaction from these SJWs when in the presence of a 'person of colour' who identifies and calls themselves black, which lots of them do and obviously without taking offence to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭spikeS

I'd love to see the reaction from these SJWs when in the presence of a 'person of colour' who identifies and calls themselves black, which lots of them do and obviously without taking offence to it.

A POC can call themselves what ever they want, they can even use the n word if they want, it's when people of privilege use the terms which hold them down is there an issue

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

A slight tangent: surely at this stage Benedict Cumberbatch deserves more than "'Sherlock' actor!"

Sherlock racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

A POC can call themselves what ever they want, they can even use the n word if they want, it's when people of privilege use the terms which hold them down is there an issue

Check your privilege people! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

people of privilege ?- what the fcuk are you on about ?
    Is there a clone army of princes William and Harry?

How do people decide whether a word is offensive after it being acceptable for so long? Did the whole black community wake up one morning and just decide "you know what? I don't like that word anymore." and the whole world is just supposed to know that? When I was a kid coloured was a grand word to use and nobody batted an eyelid.

The majority of my black friends don't give 2 fucks what you call them as long as you're not saying it in a nasty way or in a way that's meant to cause offence.

What's the difference between saying "person of colour" and "coloured person" anyway? It's basically the same thing. I'm genuinely confused.

It's just the evolution of language, a fairly natural process without much conscious guidance behind it.
    Yes, "coloured" was originally term meant to be inoffensive. However, over time it came to be used pejoratively, to the point where it was common knowledge that it was seen as old-fashioned and representing outdated racial views, and someone aware of this would not use the term.
    The original sense of a word will always give way to the sense with which it becomes commonly used.
    Or, with which it's used in some contexts, which is why I never buy the "Ah here, them lads call each other 'ni**er, why can't we?" argument from white people. When African Americans use the word, it's obviously not because they hate other African Americans.
    But for a long time, whenever it's used by white people against African Americans, it's always been used in a racist way. That's the sense of the word in that context, so why would you want to use it unless you're a racist d*ck?

So if you know a term will cause offence and don't need to use it, then don't.
    If you use it by mistake or aren't aware it's offensive, then apologise politely. Some people will feign outrage at your imagined crucifixion at the hands of an imaginary PC Brigade, but that's the worst that'll happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,523 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I just find it very out that some groups - unelected and unaccountable to anyone - seem to feel it is their duty to interrogate and judge every utterance by people. And that anyone takes them seriously.

Nobody actually believes Cumberbatch is a racist - not even his accusers. Yet the tedious celebrity ritual of the sin - criticism - contrition - forgiveness must be gone through. Group hug everyone.

If you're offended by my comments or some phrase I might have used I frankly don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

TAILORED TREKKIE THESPIAN'S TABOO TALK TO TELEVISION TRENDIES!"

I don't think they make allowances for people who are intellectually disabled, but carry on with your lesson on political correctness.

What are you on about...

Who is 'they'?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

The actor has stated that he is "devastated to have caused offence" over the incident.

I seriously hope he isn't devastated. I cringe now when i see a headline in the papers with the word 'outrage' in it referring to some poor sod who has said something mildly politically incorrect. Its presented as if its the end of the world. It really is a strange phenomenon these days where people get so worked up about something so innocuous. We seen it with the shirt the scientist wore a few months ago too. Sad.

arayess wrote: »
    people of privilege ?- what the fcuk are you on about ?
    Is there a clone army of princes William and Harry?

People who are white are automatically the highest privileged apparently.

That white homeless man you just passed? Yeah, he's more privileged than the black college student sitting on his laptop in the cafe. Tell him to stop being homeless and check his privilege, the cis-gendered scum!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

So what is the politically correct term in a case like this
    It's in the US so they'd probably say "African American" but seeing as how most of Benedict's acquaintances back home who are "people of colour" are neither African nor American ...

At this stage the colour of you skin should matter as much as the colour of your hair. Handy for describing someone.

People who are white are automatically the highest privileged apparently.

That white homeless man you just passed? Yeah, he's more privileged than the black college student sitting on his laptop in the cafe. Tell him to check his privilege, the cis-gendered scum!

No one actually believes anything like that.

Although in America the homeless fellow probably has the privilege of being less likely to be shot by the police.