Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poem by an Irish Expat In Australia

• 20-11-2014 10:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Melodrama -rama!

That poem probably had the opposite effect it was supposed to have and just made me laugh. This bit is ridiculous:
    There’s nothing left, there’s nothing there,only drugs and suicide, gloom and despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Sounds like the author is trying to convince him/herself they don't miss Ireland, common enough among some expats.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,019 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Humm. A poet using hyperbole to paint a picture... I wonder if it will catch on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I'm just back from the pub, it was packed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I'm just back from the pub, it was packed

packed with drugs and despair, you mean! Poor Ireland :(

• Registered Users Posts: 23,118 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Poignant, beautiful, heartbreaking..........are just some of the words that I wouldn't use to describe that poem.

Load of miserable shít.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I live in Dublin and I don't recognize the place he's talking about. I've spent some time in Oz and i have to say the only thing I didn't like about it were the Irish guys shiíte-talking about home, while doing their best to re-enact the stuff they supposedly hated: especially, lives that revolved around drinking.

Life at home doesn't have to revolve around drinking, gloom and drugs, unless that's the life you choose to inhabit. The banks took a lot from Paddy, but they didn't take free will.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

"The pubs are empty, the shops are shut,
    People are broke and stuck in a rut."

Weird. I could have sworn I was out in town with my friends last weekend and had a great night in a series of packed pubs.

"As the sun burns my skin and the sweat stings my eyes,
    Covered in dust and tormented with flies."

Is this Australia or Ethiopia he's talking about?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Ahhhhhh what a load of nonsense. It might have seemed that bleak for a short while during the initial crash but life goes on and Ireland still has some wonderful stuff to offer!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

Australia is a hot sh1thole full of nasty, racist people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Don Kedick wrote: »
    Australia is a hot sh1thole full of nasty, racist people.

It is strongly nationalist, that's for sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Weird. I could have sworn I was out in town with my friends last weekend and had a great night in a series of packed pubs.

You have no money and live in poor accomodation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Send for Sir Bob! AUSTRALIA AID!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Anyone I know who is out working in Australia doesn't even seem to really be mad about it. I mean it's fine but certainly isn't this amazing place that we should be envious of. Obviously the Irish who are out there on a gap year having the craic going from one PJ O'Brien's to the next or out driving the Great Ocean Road (which isn't even that flippin great) are probably loving it, but most people I know who are actually residing there now would say it's grand but they don't rave about it.

And I've never heard one of them mention flies. FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭EganTheMan

You always get this with people who feel they have moved onto bigger and better things . . .

Mother Ireland is alive and well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Hes right about the politics, corruption and greed. Once all that is dealt with we will be sorted. We are a fantastic country and when we get our affairs in order we will be a great country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hes right about the politics, corruption and greed. Once all that is dealt with we will be sorted. We are a fantastic country and when we get our affairs in order we will be a great country.

And Australia???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

The execution is more annoying than the sentiment expressed.

And I suppose there are no issues with politics etc. in Ausrtralia . . . Yea right . . . :-)

RIP Jill Meagher

She would have been better off if she never saw that country

God Rest her soul and my condolenses to her husband and family

J. Marston wrote: »
    Poignant, beautiful, heartbreaking..........are just some of the words that I wouldn't use to describe that poem.

Load of miserable shít.

I LOL'd

EganTheMan wrote: »
    RIP Jill Meagher

That should bring the mood down nicely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

efb wrote: »
    And Australia???

I'm not bothered about Australian politics. Its the crap that is going on here that is annoying me. I'm sure similar goes on over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Straylight

You see there's your problem right there. If I learned one thing from the Leaving Cert it's that no good comes from reading poetry.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Who honestly gives a fvck about someone moaning as if they left Ireland on a coffin ship to go over to Oz? I know I don't. Idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Ireland is a lovely country full of lovely people. What a load of ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

EganTheMan wrote: »
    RIP Jill Meagher

Indeed and God rest the soul of Manuela Riedo, she would have been off if she never saw Ireland....

Or more likely never saw that Barry scumbag.....d'ya know!?

I wasn't too fond of Australia myself, was there for a few weeks for work. Never moved there, never planned to. I met a lot of arseholes but met a few really sound people too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

The Aussies have a problem with their ancestry aswell. Everytime I asked them what crime their relatives committed to get sent to Oz they started shouting at me. They have problems.