Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50 year olds making ejits if themselves in the pub

• Registered Users Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

seamus wrote: »
    Reminds of the old thread on PI where a teenager was refusing to speak to his mother because he found out she was still having sex in her fourties, and wanted all of boards to agree with him that people over 40 shouldn't have sex because it was disgusting.

Got a link to that, I needs amusement of this wet Tuesday?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The OP has failed to clarify what behavior specifically qualifies as eejitism in this case. Until such criteria has been established, reasonable discussion is impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If someone can get themselves stuck into a happy little rut and stay there, I say fair play to them. Why should they be looked down upon for having a happy life?

It's people who get stuck in an unhappy rut and can't move on from that, who we should pity. Or people who spend their whole lives travelling the world and never settling down at anything because they're unable to be happy.

I suspect the OP is in his early 20s and being a 50-year-old "eejit" is along the lines of being loud and laughing, and "OMG, if that was my Dad I'd be loike soooo embarrassed".

You find that once you get into your thirties, and especially when you have kids, you stop giving a single stuttering fnck what other people think and just enjoy yourself.

It's hilarious that some people believe that anyone over fourty should just stay at home and watch the late late and being out in public enjoying yourself when you're older is distasteful.
    Reminds of the old thread on PI where a teenager was refusing to speak to his mother because he found out she was still having sex in her fourties, and wanted all of boards to agree with him that people over 40 shouldn't have sex because it was disgusting.

Like, whatever, grandad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

So you're 50 and a drunk, we get it.

Ohhhh. I like to go out and have fun at 50, yes. That makes me a drunk? Tut tut.

They dressed up for Halloween in the most ridiculous outfits

People taking the piss for Halloween? MADNESS!!!
    then when the drink kicks in they try their hand at dancing but are only jumping around the place like monkeys thinking that they are the life and soul of the party

People not being good at dancing but giving it a shot anyway for the craic? MADNESS!!!
    Same every weekend really minus the costumes.
    No costumes when there's no occasion for costumes? MADNESS!!!
    The pub doesn't have a dance floor so it makes things even more awkward when people have to go to the toilet or move to another part if the pub.

Having a bit of trouble moving around in a crowded pub at the weekend? MADNESS!!!

The OP has clearly described a scene of such outrageously scandalous debauchery that whatever pub he or she was in will go down in Irish history as a bastion of MADNESS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

If someone can get themselves stuck into a happy little rut and stay there, I say fair play to them. Why should they be looked down upon for having a happy life?

It's people who get stuck in an unhappy rut and can't move on from that, who we should pity. Or people who spend their whole lives travelling the world and never settling down at anything because they're unable to be happy.

I suspect the OP is in his early 20s and being a 50-year-old "eejit" is along the lines of being loud and laughing, and "OMG, if that was my Dad I'd be loike soooo embarrassed".

You find that once you get into your thirties, and especially when you have kids, you stop giving a single stuttering fnck what other people think and just enjoy yourself.

It's hilarious that some people believe that anyone over fourty should just stay at home and watch the late late and being out in public enjoying yourself when you're older is distasteful.

I'm over 40 and a grown up, it really does look pathetic to see anyone over 50 making a tit of themselves in a pub. What makes you think that people who like to travel are unhappy? It does seem pitiful to see people who haven't moved past the same bars and the same group of people that they were at school with still doing more or less the same thing 20 years later. Nobody has an issue with older people enjoying themselves but making an ass of yourself in a bar in your 50's really is a bit sad.

Life is about maturing and experiencing new things, not still being down the pub drinking with your adult kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Sometimes on a bank holiday weekend, a 50 year old needs to forget about college fees and mortgages, and just act like an eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭lertsnim

People over 50 act like fools when drunk. It's nothing new. It's the same for all ages.
    Awaits plenty stupid replies

And the replies will be stupid?

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭TopOfTheHill

anncoates wrote: »
    Like, whatever, grandad :rolleyes:

Where's grandad ?

Only for those over 50 ;)

I'm over 40 and a grown up, it really does look pathetic to see anyone over 50 making a tit of themselves in a pub.

Why discriminate by age here? Either having the craic on a night our is pathetic or it isn't, you don't have to stop enjoying partying as you age.
    It does seem pitiful to see people who haven't moved past the same bars and the same group of people that they were at school with still doing more or less the same thing 20 years later.

So in other words, even if you have a bar you really enjoy hanging out in and a group of people you really enjoy hanging out with, you should dump both for no reason other than "it's pitiful"?
    What a happy outlook on life you must have. :rolleyes:
    Nobody has an issue with older people enjoying themselves but making an ass of yourself in a bar in your 50's really is a bit sad.

You have utterly failed to define "making an ass of yourself". You have also failed to explain why having the craic has an age limit, in your view.
    Life is about maturing and experiencing new things, not still being down the pub drinking with your adult kids.

Life it about what you choose to make it about. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

They dressed up for Halloween in the most ridiculous outfits then when the drink kicks in they try their hand at dancing but are only jumping around the place like monkeys thinking that they are the life and soul of the party. Same every weekend really minus the costumes. The pub doesn't have a dance floor so it makes things even more awkward when people have to go to the toilet or move to another part if the pub.

Find another pub then. If its happening every week maybe you should take that as a sign its not really the kind of place you should drink in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

The OP has failed to clarify what behavior specifically qualifies as eejitism in this case. Until such criteria has been established, reasonable discussion is impossible.
    I'm over 40 and a grown up, it really does look pathetic to see anyone over 50 making a tit of themselves in a pub. What makes you think that people who like to travel are unhappy? It does seem pitiful to see people who haven't moved past the same bars and the same group of people that they were at school with still doing more or less the same thing 20 years later. Nobody has an issue with older people enjoying themselves but making an ass of yourself in a bar in your 50's really is a bit sad.

Well said, I know a few of these 50 year olds and they go on holiday to Spain every 2 years, guess where they spend most of their holiday? The pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭tastyt

I haven't been in a pub in about a year, but I've got to go out next weekend and I'm dreading it. No doubt I'll bump into people I was at school with 20 years ago who are still going to the same bar with the same people talking more or less the same s8ite they were talking about 20 years ago. The sad thing is that they'll still be doing the same thing in 20 years.

Smug and condescending?? They don't need your pity

Why discriminate by age here? Either having the craic on a night our is pathetic or it isn't, you don't have to stop enjoying partying as you age.

So in other words, even if you have a bar you really enjoy hanging out in and a group of people you really enjoy hanging out with, you should dump both for no reason other than "it's pitiful"?
    What a happy outlook on life you must have. :rolleyes:

You have utterly failed to define "making an ass of yourself". You have also failed to explain why having the craic has an age limit, in your view.

Life it about what you choose to make it about. Nothing more, nothing less.

Making an ass of yourself in a bar is something most people expect of the under 30's, it's just one of those things. By the time you reach your 40's you tend to have outgrown that and by your 50's it's taken as a given that you'll know how to handle your drink and not make an ass of yourself. I don't really think I need to define making an ass of yourself in a bar, it's fairly self-explanatory.

tastyt wrote: »
    Smug and condescending?? They don't need your pity

oops, are you one of the stuck in a rut with my school pals group then?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭tastyt

oops, are you one of the stuck in a rut with my school pals group then?:D

Wow and your funny!! Maybe nights in at home with you listening to your wisdom and wit is the way to go after all. I believe your arse may be of the very dry variety....

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭lostboy75

who but the OP would actually thank this. different strokes for different folks!
    I have mates that if you go to my home town you will see out in the same pubs each week. the assumption you could/have made is they never left, and have a very un-fulfilling life. its 20 years since we left there, alot of them have moved abroad for a few years, moved to the cities, gotten married, had kids and moved back. the people they hang out with are the people whos company they enjoy now, most cases that's the same people that they socialised with years back. whats wrong with that? its actually enjoying your life as Seamus previously said.
    it really buggs me when people go on about broadening your mind by travel etc. (i left home when i turned 18, and have never moved back, and have travelled quite a bit in the years since. that was my choice it might not have been others, doesn't make my life better or fulfilling than someone that stayed at home)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Apparently there is no age restriction on people making fools of themselves on online message boards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

OP sounds like a bit of a puff

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It does seem pitiful to see people who haven't moved past the same bars and the same group of people that they were at school with still doing more or less the same thing 20 years later.

Making friends for life.....real pitiful alright! :rolleyes:

Next you'll be telling us you take pity on people who get married to each other, imagine spending the rest of your life living with the same person

• Registered Users Posts: 21,518 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I haven't been in a pub in about a year, but I've got to go out next weekend and I'm dreading it. No doubt I'll bump into people I was at school with 20 years ago who are still going to the same bar with the same people talking more or less the same s8ite they were talking about 20 years ago. The sad thing is that they'll still be doing the same thing in 20 years.

Yes, but if they are happy then isn't it great to think that they'll still be doing it in 20 years...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

This is a strange thread. Whats wrong with having a bit of fun down the pub? If it made you uncomfortable thats your problem not the other patrons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

OP don't be jealous that some older people are enjoying themselves while you are not able to. Why not join in the fun and come down from up your own arse, you might even pull!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Feckin' over 50iers. Having fun and stuff. They'll be holding hands next. Urg.
    /Shakes fist

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

There are also people in their 50's who go out have a few drinks enjoy themselves without having to make clowns of themselves in the process or trying to be the life and soul of the party. It's the latter I'm referring to nothing at all wrong with having a few drinks if you can act your age in the process.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I love going to the pub and acting the eejit, some craic so it is.

Making an ass of yourself in a bar is something most people expect of the under 30's, it's just one of those things.

AH! A sound logical argument at last - "it's just one of those things". An argument which I'm sure was used to justify lynchings, slavery, genocide, stonings, and God knows what other atrocities in humanity's history.
    Well played, sir. ;)
    By the time you reach your 40's you tend to have outgrown that

By the time many people reach their 60's they tend to have outgrown fitness, does that automatically make it something to aspire to? :p
    and by your 50's it's taken as a given that you'll know how to handle your drink and not make an ass of yourself.

And yet nobody here has provided evidence of any of the people in question not knowing how to handle their drink or indeed making asses of themselves.
    I don't really think I need to define making an ass of yourself in a bar, it's fairly self-explanatory.

Well if poor dancing skills and Halloween costumes are the current definition of "making an ass of yourself", then I will most likely be making an ass of myself until my dying days, and loving every minute of it (would prefer to be better at the dancing, but sure you can't have everything) :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

There are also people in their 50's who go out have a few drinks enjoy themselves without having to make clowns of themselves in the process or trying to be the life and soul of the party. It's the latter I'm referring to nothing at all wrong with having a few drinks if you can act your age in the process.

You act your age.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Would much rather be down the pub with a load of 50 year olds enjoying a few drinks and a bit of live music in the pub than hit a pub full of 18/19/20 year old student types tbh

It's interesting to see that the old fashioned pissed up Paddy mentality is still alive and kicking in Ireland. Maybe if people got off the bar stool and tried new things and varied their social circle they'd actually experience life. Very sad to see so many posters that are so stereotypical. Still, it must be nice to be so easily pleased that all it takes to make you happy is getting drunk with the same people in the same bars every weekend for the rest of your life. Little things for little minds, I'll leave you to it.:P