Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blood bikes

Blood1 wrote: »
    Looks like that thread has started up again on esf h**ps://w*w.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384&page=15

It has and it's an interesting one considering that Blood Bikes East are now trained in giving escorts.

https://www.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Blood1

foreign wrote: »
    It has and it's an interesting one considering that Blood Bikes East are now trained in giving escorts.

Interesting reading to say the least just wonder will they soon be doing the prison escorts as well, times are changing when volunteers who deliver blood are now doing the work of AGS as well, at least it seems to be confined to one group and not them all.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Breaking a load of rules but not causing mayhem? How do you suggest you do that?
    Let me see: breaking the speed limit (without causing mayhem); stopping at a red light then proceeding through it if the carriageway is clear (without causing mayhem); crossing a continuous white line while safe to do so (no mayhem); riding on the footpath or in the hard shoulder as long as doing so did not cause mayhem; riding the wrong way up/down a one-way street if safe to do so (without causing mayhem).

I give blood btw, but I don't deliver it, or life-saving organs either. In a real life or death situation, I hope it is safe to assume that the delivery would be effected in the fastest possible manner by a qualified and certified driver (or pilot) who is exempt from prosecution under the RTA - unless they cause mayhem along the way.

After that, it is down to the skill of the doctor/surgeon.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Interesting reading to say the least just wonder will they soon be doing the prison escorts as well, times are changing when volunteers who deliver blood are now doing the work of AGS as well, at least it seems to be confined to one group and not them all.
    One blood group is much rarer than the others. :)

Not your ornery onager

Ah sure maybe the guys using the blue lights missed their calling in life and are trying to make up for it now who knows, its defo a way of drawing attention to yourself as we can now see from both here and esf ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,814 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Would the bikes not be considered the same as any private/volunteer ambulance service? When the ambulance has urgent cargo (dying patient) blues are authorised, so if a hospital has a dying patient needing a blood / organ transfer then fair play to the bikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Schindlers Pissed

Esel wrote: »
    Let me see: breaking the speed limit (without causing mayhem); stopping at a red light then proceeding through it if the carriageway is clear (without causing mayhem); crossing a continuous white line while safe to do so (no mayhem); riding on the footpath or in the hard shoulder as long as doing so did not cause mayhem; riding the wrong way up/down a one-way street if safe to do so (without causing mayhem).

I give blood btw, but I don't deliver it, or life-saving organs either. In a real life or death situation, I hope it is safe to assume that the delivery would be effected in the fastest possible manner by a qualified and certified driver (or pilot) who is exempt from prosecution under the RTA - unless they cause mayhem along the way.

After that, it is down to the skill of the doctor/surgeon.

But you see that's the point, they AREN'T exempt under the RTA. Hence my mayhem comment. And exempt or not, "riding on the footpath".......I can see that going down a treat with AGS alright.

They aren't exempt so why the need for blue lights? As said earlier they drive bikes so can cut through traffic, therefore there's no need for blue lights. Taxis carry blood products etc without blue lights, so why should these bikes have them?

As also stated earlier its in case of a Garda escort.......so why the need for blue lights then? An escort properly done has a bike/vehicle to the front and rear of the vehicle being escorted. No need for blue lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Scatter Cat

Look at the M50 or newlands every evening, a motorcycle can cut trough most of this. Blue lights can aid them by letting the drivers know they need to get trough. Blue lights give nobody the right to bully others off the road they are there to notify drivers that said vechile needs to progress and to give way if it's safe.

My point is this.........if they have no entitlement or exemptions under the RTA then why in hells name have they blues?? Surely they are illegal if that's the case.

And yes, I get the AGS escort point......and if the escort is done properly then they STILL don't need blues, do they?

If the speed limit is 120 and traffic is slower then blues aid progress! I don't see what's not to get!

So what's to stop anybody putting blues on a bike to get through traffic on the way to work?

1 it's illegal unless there is a provision in law for you to have blues.
    2 your vehicle will not be insured .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭BaronVon

My point is this.........if they have no entitlement or exemptions under the RTA then why in hells name have they blues?? Surely they are illegal if that's the case.

They have a vehicle exemption under the RTA to have blue lights, just not a rider exemption to use them. Same as the Prison Service / Coast Guard etc

Which validates my point then. Why do they have them? It's an extra expense to fit them even though the driver isn't allowed use them. It's ridiculous.

So if a rider uses them as was stated earlier to get through traffic then I would presume that's his actions are illegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Which validates my point then. Why do they have them? It's an extra expense to fit them even though the driver isn't allowed use them. It's ridiculous.

So if a rider uses them as was stated earlier to get through traffic then I would presume that's his actions are illegal?

It's because they are allowed to use them when they are under garda escort. While it's not necessary to have blue lights under escort, it certainly is safer for all concerned if the escorted vehicle does have them so that other road users who yielded to the escort don't pull-out again before the convoy has passed.

Private vehicles don't have a normal expectation that they may on occasion be driven under escort. Blood bikes do however, as do other vol/aux vehicles, so there is provision for lights to be fitted should the need to use them under escort arise.

ectoraige wrote: »
    While it's not necessary to have blue lights under escort, it certainly is safer for all concerned if the escorted vehicle does have them so that other road users who yielded to the escort don't pull-out again before the convoy has passed.

The army doing the prison escorts don't seem to have any need to have blues when they are under escort. Neither do private vehicles when being escorted by AGS.

It's a fetish for blue lights I think. The general public can't differentiate between actual ES and the Vols, I still can't see the point of blues when the rider has no exemptions........how many times a year would these bikes require an AGS escort? Really?

Surely if blood products or whatever was needed in that much of a hurry there would be a faster option rather than calling in a Vol member from home to drive to the pickup point and then do the transfer......would an on duty AGS bike not be the better option?

Once again, fair play to the blood bikes personell, I just don't see the practicality or legality of blue lights.

They are allowed to have them and the rider is allowed to use them in the right situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would give my right arm for a blue light right now..

Seriously more important things to be worried about such as the terrible standard of driving in the country and if they are carrying an item that is needed fast then I really can't understand the problem as there may be a life saved and that to me is more important then all the giving out about a vehcle equipped with such lights.

foreign wrote: »
    The army doing the prison escorts don't seem to have any need to have blues when they are under escort. Neither do private vehicles when being escorted by AGS.

Thats because they have a bike on each end of the escort so why would they need one.

things hotting up on esf h**ps://***.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384

Thats because they have a bike on each end of the escort so why would they need one.

things hotting up on esf h**ps://***.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384

Same as Blood Bikes then if the escort is done properly. So why would they need them?

They don't need an escort. Also rescue vechiles have no RTA exemptions also but are blue lighted also to help progress.

Reading this, my thoughts:

Schindler, comments noted, will be ignored and derised.

Incident first, paperwork later.

Need blue lights, use blue lights.

Don't need blue lights & use blue lights, get punished for using blue lights.

Drive like a danger, blue lights or not, get punished severely.

You're not going to know when you need it till the incident occurs.

Better to have & not need than need and not have.

Thank you for your in depth analysis.

What does "derise" mean? Is it anything like "deride"? Which means "to scorn" etc?

Wow, having a look at the emergency services forum and looks like one of the groups really need to be pulled up on thier behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Pataman

Wow, having a look at the emergency services forum and looks like one of the groups really need to be pulled up on thier behaviour.

Really? What you dont know is that 3 of the posters, who are the main protagonists, are from Blood Bike Leinster. They are not letting the truth get in the way of their slant on the facts. Just like a poster on this forum, set up his account just to get his point across.

Pataman wrote: »
    Really? What you dont know is that 3 of the posters, who are the main protagonists, are from Blood Bike Leinster. They are not letting the truth get in the way of their slant on the facts. Just like a poster on this forum, set up his account just to get his point across.

I think the facts are there!

Why was this group using their blue lights?

Why are they acting the Bo11ox on a public road?

Why are they wearing no gloves?

These are the facts, are they in despite?

Pataman wrote: »

And who might that be?

Deh troot!

Deh facts!

Wake up sheeple dem blood bikes are really gubberment lizards stealing our brainwaves!

Not interested in getting into standard conspiracy theory internet argument with nitpickers.

I've said my piece, everyone else has said theirs. Backing off.

According to the emergency forum they have asked for the blood bikes thread to be removed, the admin asked them to sign up and put forward their side of the argument but they declined……