Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Graduate Salary

Options
  • 17-06-2014 8:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

I'm a new software development graduate, just completed a H.Dip in Computing. I primarily studied C# and SQL, but also covered some HTML and CSS.
    I previously completed a degree in Commerce International.

I've been offered a job and I have a meeting tomorrow to discuss salary and terms. As a new graduate, I don't have any prior experience of what sort of expectations I should have regarding salary. I was hoping someone here might be able to give me some sort of indication of what I should be hoping to receive.

Thanks guys!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Where is the job and what will you be doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Greyian

The job is in Dublin with a small-ish company (~10 staff). I will primarily be doing development, using C#. I've been informed that I'll be able to cycling between various projects in my first 3-6 months there, to find what I'm best suited for.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭not1but4

For a small company I'd be looking at €25k. The bigger companies will pay around €30k.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I started on 25k + bonus nearly 2 years ago as a grad.

• Administrators Posts: 53,506 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

not1but4 wrote: »
    For a small company I'd be looking at €25k. The bigger companies will pay around €30k.

That seems very low. I would have thought 30k the minimum?

• Advertisement