Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your most unique experience

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Being asked out on a date by a woman who was in the process of having a baby by c-section. That was quite bizzare but then it was in Essex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users Posts: 24,172 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'm struggling to think of something "unique"...

I've run with the bulls at the San Fermin festival in Pamplona... but about 20,000 people do that every year.
    I've been at loads of concerts but any gig I've ever been to, there's been others there.
    I met the OP briefly at a boards.ie beers after party back in 2006, wound up camping beside him at Electric Picnic in 2007 by complete chance and have been proud to call him a friend ever since... though knowing Dannie, he probably has weirder "how I met x" stories than that!
    I once ran a moderately successful fan-site for a singer/songwriter that was frequently plagiarized by the Irish and UK press but given the proliferation of fan-sites that exist, hardly a unique achievement.
    I (along with some old friends) invented a cocktail that I'm told was still served in a dodgy bar in Melbourne for years after I introduced it to some regulars but most decent bar staff have a signature cocktail and I'd be surprised if no-one's ever come up with the same mix as we did in a Salthill bar on a rainy Wednesday night.
    I've married my wife and fathered my daughter. Neither a particularly unique experience for a human being but as everything else in this thread shows: experiences don't have to be unique for them to be special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Saw the milky way one night in Donegal. Looked a bit like this but more clear as it was a lot darker.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/79652716@N00/4523673349/sizes/l/

diomed wrote: »
    Charged by an elephant while eating dessert.

Did he bring the bill to the table, or did you have to go to the desk?

As long as he didn't overcharge you, that's all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I'm guessing BO, beard and lack of space would be the summation of that experience.
    & that was just me :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I met a porn star in a caravan in Kildare.

When I was young I saw a UFO, like a proper one that opened up a hole in the clouds, shone a light onto a house for a few seconds and then disappeared. Then the hole in the clouds just closed up. It's quite possible I was hallucinating but jesus it was fcuking bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

That must be quite an uncomfortable thing to live with. Actually seeing aliens and then knowing that nobody will believe you but you still have that undeniable experience. Sounds class though

Yeah I haven't really told many people about it but its something I'll never forget for as long as I live. At least I wasn't abducted anyway. That would have been far worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yea youwuddagot pr0bed pretty hard

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Attacked by an elephant in Kenya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Attacked by an elephant in Kenya.

That's somthing it'll never forget.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Building and designing my own inventions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

diomed wrote: »
    Charged by an elephant while eating dessert.

Do you think money grows on trees? How is he meant to run the restaurant if he gives away free food?!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Daveysil15 wrote: »

When I was young I saw a UFO, like a proper one that opened up a hole in the clouds, shone a light onto a house for a few seconds and then disappeared. Then the hole in the clouds just closed up. It's quite possible I was hallucinating but jesus it was fcuking bizarre.

I've had a bizarre one like this too.

When I was 16, I was lying on my sofa in the pitch black living room facing/looking out at the night sky (curtains open) (full moon). I seen this bright blue, almost cyan dot out of corner of my eye jet almost instanteously across the open window. By sheer reflexes, I shot up and ran to the corner of the window to keep my eye on any element of it, but it was gone. This all happened within the space of what felt like 2 seconds

I've seen a lot of meteorites and shooting stars,and to this day I've never seen anything like it. It was almost like teleportation as opposed to a incredibly fast, moving object

Was in an "exclusive" club,hotel in Lower Manhattan last year and as I'm leaving the jacks, I meet some random guy the cut of mid 90's Ice Cube walking towards me down the hall.

Guy raises to high five and He's like "hey, heeeey Justin Bieber" and I akwardly high fiving him (I had longish hair at the time)

We walk past and then I hear a "psst, hey, hey"

I look back around, Guy is still walking, rubbing his upper lip, whisper shouting "Coke, Coke, Coke??"

"Nah, I'm grand thanks"

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Chara1001

I had to bleach a Francis Bacon drawing, it was worth a lot! But I managed not to wreck it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in rain... Time to die.

http://evangelineholland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/im-not-saying-that-it-was-aliens-but-it-was-aliens.jpg

Adamantium wrote: »

I've often wondered though if it was Aliens why would they travel millions of light years just to make an appearance in my pokey little village in Kildare. :(

They did in Montana :p
    Does Kildare look like a post WW3 outpost? then you sir have been selected!

They did in Montana :p
    Does Kildare look like a post WW3 outpost? then you sir have been selected!

Nah its more like the wild west from Cowboys & Aliens. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Not me, but a friend of mine had to transport a dead giraffe from Fota Island to some place in the midlands, where the giraffe was incinerated.

He got pulled by the guards half way there, and they insisted in lifting up the tarp on the back of the truck to take a look for themselves when my friend told them the load he was carrying. Pretty unique experience for all involved, not every day you get to see a dead giraffe!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

This happened to me a couple of months ago.

Just swimming with the fish then.........OH SH!T.....Steve Irwin went through my head. It was not a Stingray but an Eagle Ray. Still had to check for lumps though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

In 2011 I went to see a distant relation of mine in the Netherlands, he was about 85 or so at the time but the most dead on salt of the earth cheerful fella you could meet. He owned his own transport company and he was big into the old tractors. He had about 40 of them, most were in good conditon and working. He showed us around his yard full of containers and sheds in his van and stopped to show all the tractors and other old school machines he had stored.

The amount of stuff this man collected was unreal altogether and at one point he opened the door of a 40ft container and he was like 'i forgot what was in this one.. oh! 4 more tractors' then he drove us to one of his nephews farms and showed us more frickin tractors, gave out to me for nearly ruining the starter in one of them and took us back to his other place, showed his warehouses full of obscure crap his company was storing for other people

Even if you dont give a sh1t about a tractor it was worth the experience to see this guy in good form tearing around the place in a van when most his age would be stuck inside by the telly waiting for the grim reaper to come knocking, which actually happend about 6 months later as he had cancer at the time but he didnt let that slow him down one bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Reminds me of the incident when the Kildare people had first contact with the Garda helicopter.

I had to explain that arrows were not to be fired at the sky beast.

Thats my unique experience.

...That and showing them the magic talking hand brick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Saw the milky way one night in Donegal. Looked a bit like this but more clear as it was a lot darker.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/79652716@N00/4523673349/sizes/l/

that is what I see if I step outside my front door when its not cloudy and no moonlight. I take it for granted I suppose..

• Registered Users Posts: 10 jimoc1978

Was shadowing a Trauma surgeon in Philly a few summers ago.

Young gang member comes into the trauma bay at midnight after being shot multiple times in the abdomen.

He starts to deteriorate quite rapidly while in the bay and decision is made to bring him to OR for an emergency laparotomy.

During the operation he drops his blood pressure and goes into cardiac arrest.

The surgeon opened the guys chest, grabs his heart between his two hands and starts contracting the heart with his hands in order to try and retain some blood flow to the rest of the body.

My job was to try and squeeze the bags of blood into him as fast as I could. Never squeezed as hard in my life.

The resuscitation lasted about 30 mins before we called it quits. Poor guy really didn't stand much of a chance from such injuries.

That was definitely the most amazing, exhilarating and subsequently disappointing experience of my life.

It's the reason I will be starting my hopefully fruitful career as an ED doc this July.

Can't wait.

Wait, so your track record so far is 1 patient, 1 death. hopefully the odds improve

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Bribed a police chief in China so I didn't have to go to to jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I've had a bizarre one like this too.

When I was 16, I was lying on my sofa in the pitch black living room facing/looking out at the night sky (curtains open) (full moon). I seen this bright blue, almost cyan dot out of corner of my eye jet almost instanteously across the open window. By sheer reflexes, I shot up and ran to the corner of the window to keep my eye on any element of it, but it was gone. This all happened within the space of what felt like 2 seconds

I've seen a lot of meteorites and shooting stars,and to this day I've never seen anything like it. It was almost like teleportation as opposed to a incredibly fast, moving object

Bog Gas. Fairly common round those parts.