Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2011-2012

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

The prevalence of cruciate ligament injuries is defintely the worst thing that has come in the modern era. Every year you're hearing about players suffering what is a really terrible injury.

I don't think it's theoretically linked to players being over trained, but when you think about the amount of training sessions and matches that are played on pitch's with bad surfaces, I guess you could probably link it to the rise in the number of these injuries suffered.

I spoke to someone with a bit of medical knowledge a few years back and they were saying, in their view, the main problem going into the future would be the amount of work done indoors. They were saying the constant hitting of a timber floor while running etc was not good for the joints. I know other sport like handball are played indoors and on a timber or cement floor and seldom hear of injuries, but there is a hell of a lot less running in these games than there is for fellows running up and down halls and jumping hurdles etc over the winter months in a bit to get/retain their fitness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

Maybe clutching at straws here but I wonder could the modern footwear be a factor aswell? Boots are designed so much lighter nowadays.
    I remember Greame Souness saying a few years back that when he was playing hed never heard the word metatarsal, but at one stage while manager at Newcastle he had 3 players out with metatarsal injuries at the one time.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,164 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Maybe clutching at straws here but I wonder could the modern footwear be a factor aswell? Boots are designed so much lighter nowadays.
    I remember Greame Souness saying a few years back that when he was playing hed never heard the word metatarsal, but at one stage while manager at Newcastle he had 3 players out with metatarsal injuries at the one time.

Blades on boots are probably having some impact. There is an opinion held that the blades offer too much grip, resulting in twists and snaps. I don't think Man Utd players are allowed to wear blades - but don't quote me on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I'd say it is a factor. People playing with the really light boots say that you would feel the impact on your foot more, it hurts. So you probably are more prone to knocks, and ultimately the small niggles graduate over time and become bigger problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

So Who do ye fancy for the football on Sunday?

comeraghs wrote: »

I had a look over at Paddy Power, they seem to be favouring Stradbally. However, when I looked at the goalscoring bets Shane Walsh didn't seem to appear in any? Does anyone know if he might be injured?

I'd expect the Nire to win this. They've had a bit of time off now to recover from the hurling, and they have plenty of quality and experience in the team. I don't see quite that level of strength in depth in Stradbally.

Did anyone get a chance to see this article in Hoganstand this morning? http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=180166

On a positive note, Kiely has ruled himself out of the reckoning for the Waterford job. I'm a little outside of the loop here on this though - has anyone heard any rumours about the possible replacements?

On another note, Cunningham is making big noises that Waterford won't be looking from assistance from central powers to sort out this dept situation. He claims that "things are almost sorted". Does anyone trust this guy and those around him to sort out this mess? Personally I think the GAA could do with some Troika style investigations into the County Board affairs...

hardybuck wrote: »
    Did anyone get a chance to see this article in Hoganstand this morning? http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=180166

On a positive note, Kiely has ruled himself out of the reckoning for the Waterford job. I'm a little outside of the loop here on this though - has anyone heard any rumours about the possible replacements?

On another note, Cunningham is making big noises that Waterford won't be looking from assistance from central powers to sort out this dept situation. He claims that "things are almost sorted". Does anyone trust this guy and those around him to sort out this mess? Personally I think the GAA could do with some Troika style investigations into the County Board affairs...

Apparantly they got in the region of 650K bailout from AIB. 10 year loan... by the time its paid back it will come to in excess of a million with interest. Had to be done but a disgrace that things had to come to that.

As for the football manager there would want to be someone in very shortly sure arent they due to go back training this month? They should have someone got by now Owens announced his resignation in plenty time

Apparantly they got in the region of 650K bailout from AIB. 10 year loan... by the time its paid back it will come to in excess of a million with interest. Had to be done but a disgrace that things had to come to that.

As for the football manager there would want to be someone in very shortly sure arent they due to go back training this month? They should have someone got by now Owens announced his resignation in plenty time

The loan should put a temporary solution on the problem, but very dangerous situation when you are taking out loans to service existing debts. To say "it's almost sorted" doesn't fill me with confidence either, as if to say 'well it's off my plate for now, someone else will need to worry about that in 10 years'. Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't get a sense of a plan or framework being developed to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Regarding football - I heard that an appointment would be made in November, and it would be a local candidate. We're a small county, and there is only a small pool of options - and Kiely has ruled himself out. Must be some insider info out there!

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

comeraghs wrote: »
    Think it could be a close one, The Nire seem to be not at their best in the last few games i have seen them play, Kilrossanty were very unlucky not to beat them first time out and also the second game Kilrossanty had an uphill battle with a player sent off and in the semi final The Nire were even more so below par. Their 3 lucky goals saw them over the line against Clashmore. Stradbally of course are the championship specialists over the last number of years and when it comes to finals it hard to look past them so for that reason i would perhaps see Stradbally shading it. I just hope its not as bad a day as it was at last years final wind and rain galore..

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭tus.maith

Jim Maher from Kilrossanty front runner to take over the senior football team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

hardybuck wrote: »

If he said today was Thursday I would go and look for a daily paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

You have to remember with some of the individuals you are dealing with here. Last December the county board were asked to get a director of football and 11 months on it seems that they are no nearer to it than on the night the request was made. Maybe if the dog was not done with John Owens when it came to fixtures, maybe there might be no reason to be looking for anyone as he appears to be a great favourite with the players and football supporters over the past three years.

tus.maith wrote: »
    Jim Maher from Kilrossanty front runner to take over the senior football team.
    Heard that alright myself..

• Registered Users Posts: 32 culbaire666

Can we not just give up on intercounty football to save a few euro's lads.Football will always be the poor relation in Waterford.

Heard that alright myself..

who is he what are his credentials?

Can we not just give up on intercounty football to save a few euro's lads.Football will always be the poor relation in Waterford.

amm.. no.

Do read some stupid thinks on this alright and this is another one.Perhaps it may be seen as the poor relation with regards to success but in such areas as Stradbally, Kilrossanty, Kilmac, Kill, Bonmahon, Rathgormack, The Nire and many other parishes it is seen as the number one sport and to deny any player representing their county in any code is just unbelievable really.

who is he what are his credentials?
    Jim is perhaps one of the greatest players to represent his county, he was on the Irish Independent greatest Waterford football team. he won 5 championships with Kilrossanty in the 80s, but then again good players dont always make good manager. As for credentials, perhaps an outside appointment would have better credentials, but he has managed Kilrossanty and was with the Brickeys last year so perhaps he could be worth a shot, cant think of any one else within the county that would be any better..

sounds ok, we obviously cant afford a micko (not that were not better off hes too old anyway) and there is no one like John Owens knocking around either. Owens was a guy with good credentials who happened to work within the county so it was a good and convenient move. Definetly a good thing that we didnt resort to Jackson. That would have been a step backwards. a fresh voice is needed.

sounds ok, we obviously cant afford a micko (not that were not better off hes too old anyway) and there is no one like John Owens knocking around either. Owens was a guy with good credentials who happened to work within the county so it was a good and convenient move. Personally dont know of Jim Maher but if he has played for the county, from a football area, has trained various teams and is update to date with wats going on, players ect... Id be happy enough with that.Definetly a good thing that we didnt resort to Jackson. That would have been a step backwards. a fresh voice is needed.

Agreed. Again, I don't know this guy personally, but you'd have to be enthused based on the above. I'm probably a bit of a broken record on this, but the coaching structures don't look to be anywhere near right looking at the recent performance of our underage teams. The heady days of the 90's and 00's look to be well gone, and we blew most of that talent anyway. The reason why we had good teams was due to a few good people working in the clubs at the time, and this needs to be the source of the revival. Something needs to be done to stir up a bit of enthuasiasm. Maybe now there are more people, men in particular, with time on their hands who could be targeted with coaching courses etc. Not only could it be a good social initiative for the GAA to be involved in, it could have real practical benefits also.

That would be your opinion.We would be better off saving the money and developing underage structures for the next 10yrs within the whole county not just the few pockets where football is no.1

I don't get what you mean here? How do you save money and develop underage structures exactly?

Save by not having any intercounty football teams and put some of the cash into coaching at underage levels which may lead to us being more competive in 10-15yrs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

So you want Waterford to be like Kilkenny and treat football with disdain.John Kiely and John Owens did a lot to improve Waterford footballs standing and Waterfords clubs have been competitive in the munster football club championship.The county board in Waterford just do not support the senior football management enough.They wouldn't even give John Kiely or John Owens enough time to prepare the team for championship games.If the county board were more supportive i think you could see the Waterford footballers win a few games in the qualifiers.Even though Waterford may not be a successful GAA county in terms of national honours Waterford is a proper GAA county in regards to the way that it tries to compete on all fronts.Abandoning football in the manner that Kilkenny did would cause me to lose a lot of respect for Waterford GAA.I don't thing such a thing will happen anyway like the people in West Cork football means a lot to the people of West Waterford.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Agreed Waterford clubs are up there with the best of what munster has to offer but we are trying to compete at intercounty level with probally 70% of the clubs having hurling as their no.1 priority I just think we are wasting our time.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 hurlerford

Dont think waterford football clubs are up there with the rest in munster, there have been some very poor showings by stradbally and ballynacourty the last 10 years. I would say hurling is a priority with 80% of the clubs but I guess you'll always have a few lost clubs like kilrossanty, kilmac etc more interested in a minority sport like gaelic football in waterford because they are so bad at hurling. Our first and second sports are hurling and soccer and anything after that we will never be good at as our population is too small. Here's to waterford utd gaining promotion to the premier division and waterford hurling bringing back liam to ballybricken and the dungarvan square.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭solarith

70% of clubs you say? Not sure what world you live in.
    edit - 80% Now! My God.

Money has absolutely nothing to do with lack of hurling All Irelands in the county.

Also, poor showings? Stradbally lost the Munster Club Final after a replay and Nire would have beaten Nemo in Cork only for a slip and the ball ended up in the net. Did you see the Kerry Co Final last weekend? Nire and Stradbally are most definitely at that standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 hurlerford

solarith wrote: »
    70% of clubs you say? Not sure what world you live in.
    edit - 80% Now! My God.

Money has absolutely nothing to do with lack of hurling All Irelands in the county.

Also, poor showings? Stradbally lost the Munster Club Final after a replay and Nire would have beaten Nemo in Cork only for a slip and the ball ended up in the net. Did you see the Kerry Co Final last weekend? Nire and Stradbally are most definitely at that standard.

Dr Crokes destroyed the waterford football champions last year, all they had to do was move their two corner forwards out, hit high ball into cooper and ball back of net every time not even getting out of 3rd gear. Same would happen to Nire or Stradbally this year. We never won anything playing that minority sport expect a junior all ireland and an under 21 munster so pointless spending what scare resources we have in that direction. Only my opinion. We can agree to disagree but it is what it is.

hurlerford wrote: »
    Dont think waterford football clubs are up there with the rest in munster, there have been some very poor showings by stradbally and ballynacourty the last 10 years. I would say hurling is a priority with 80% of the clubs but I guess you'll always have a few lost clubs like kilrossanty, kilmac etc more interested in a minority sport like gaelic football in waterford because they are so bad at hurling. Our first and second sports are hurling and soccer and anything after that we will never be good at as our population is too small. Here's to waterford utd gaining promotion to the premier division and waterford hurling bringing back liam to ballybricken and the dungarvan square.
    This is just laughable really to refer to football as a minority sport, i would guess that your from the city and that you know nothing about the club scene in waterford. Perhaps it is the case that hurling is the priority of 80% of city clubs but you should spread your wings and look towards the county where football is the priority of perhaps 60-70% of clubs..