Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bog defeats Shell drilling machine.

• 31-07-2012 3:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭

Shipped into the country last night was a Shell drilling machine which weighs 160 ton. It arrived in Dublin had a Garda escort all the way to Mayo.

Where it jackknifed on the road and is now sinking into the Bog. And there's no cranes in the country which can lift it out. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Why don't shell pay for their own security instead of using all those gardaí :confused:

Don't we have a thread today about garda response times

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Plenty of cranes in Ireland can lift that

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Who pays for the garda escort? When my friend shipped her prefab house into this country from Germany they had to do escort duty themselves from Rosslare to the site at 5 miles per hour in front of the all the lorries as they arrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

The gardaí have the right idea.
    If we escort them we might get a few euro worth of the oil!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Lol, thats gas!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Cue obligatory My Oil & Gas - Ireland & Norway video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Why don't shell pay for their own security instead of using all those gardaí :confused:

It's possible that they are paid by Shell I think. I know the Gardai who work inside the gates at concerts are paid by concert organisers.

I don't have a great amount of sympathy with the Shell to Sea protesters, but I must admit I did enjoy this story. Something about the idea of mother nature being on the side of the underdog, perhaps.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Ficheall

What's with the crap video?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Be grand hey, just hook her up to the tractor and we'll pull her out....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Cue obligatory My Oil & Gas - Ireland & Norway video
    And "Rabble Rabble Burke sold our resources to Shell for a pint of Smithwicks and a packet of dry roasted knowing there was eleventy trillion metric ****loads of gas there, all proven and in handily exploited territory".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

later12 wrote: »
    It's possible that they are paid by Shell I think. I know the Gardai who work inside the gates at concerts are paid by concert organisers.

I dislike the thought of private enterprise paying the Gardaí to do security even more than I would dislike the bill coming out of the taxpayer's pocket. Do they have their full garda super powers when engaged privately or do they become common or garden security?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Is there any link to this machine falling into the bog?

Google brings up this thread, and the video seems to not help at all.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Does not look like its bogged down though..

Pictures

Article

Just cant navigate Irish roads :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Thats what the ****ing thing was! this went by my house at 5am monday morning i was like wtf is going on, as the couldn't navigate around a mini roundabout and were stuck for like 20mins the're was 4-5 lorries all stuck one after another and a huge garda escort and a butt load of traffic stopped behind them after it aswell

I dislike the thought of private enterprise paying the Gardaí to do security even more than I would dislike the bill coming out of the taxpayer's pocket. Do they have their full garda super powers when engaged privately or do they become common or garden security?

I've seen people arrested at gigs, so full garda superpowers I guess.

Mind you, they weren't wearing capes and their underwear was inside their fashionable polyester breeches, so I can't be certain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

I don't have a great amount of sympathy with the Shell to Sea protesters, but I must admit I did enjoy this story. Something about the idea of mother nature being on the side of the underdog, perhaps.
    They can claim back expenses against tax on profits down the line anyway, so either way we pay.

Wouldn't matter if Shel do pay the cops, they are divirted away from other duties

They can claim back expenses against tax on profits down the line anyway, so either way we pay.

Wouldn't matter if Shel do pay the cops, they are divirted away from other duties

The whole point about the security firms paying for the service is that the Garda HQ can fill their shifts using other Gardai with minimal cost, so on-the-beat police presence shouldn't be affected by private events.

Any gardai or associated personnell might be able to confirm the situation; I'm just basing this on media reports around the time of the Swedish House Mafia massacre of 2012.

The whole point about the security firms paying for the service is that the Garda HQ can fill their shifts using other Gardai with minimal cost, so on-the-beat police presence shouldn't be affected by private events.

Any gardai or associated personnell might be able to confirm the situation; I'm just basing this on media reports around the time of the Swedish House Mafia massacre of 2012.
    Yeah but there isnt enough Garda...

But as I said, one way or another we still pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Of course they have their full powers, would be not point in hiring them otherwise.

No there not.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Sharrow wrote: »
    Where it jackknifed on the road and is now sinking into the Bog. And there's no cranes in the country which can lift it out. :pac:

But thats not even what happened......as much as I dislike http://www.shelltosea.com/ it says:
    A large tunnel boring machine brought in by Shell to dig a 4.9km tunnel under Sruwaddacon Bay inland to the Bellanaboy gas processing terminal is stuck at a crossroads in Co Mayo as it is too large to navigate the narrow roads.

Yeah but there isnt enough Garda...

But as I said, one way or another we still pay.

I don't understand. If there are not enough Gardai, that has nothing to do with private companies.

They pay for the Gardai they get so that the state is not left out of pocket to replace them by organizing schedules so that other Gardai are put on regular duty instead. Unless there is a very small station and a big demand for private security, that wouldn't be rocket science. I'm sure the impact is minimised by taking Gardai from various stations.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

http://www.urban75.net/forums/threads/irish-bog-swallows-up-shell-convoy.297076/
    Shell TBM stuck in the bog - huge lorry jackknifed on turning on bog road - road sinking under its weight - driver refusing to enter vehicle as too dangerous - neat illustration of truth of safety of project claims - From a house overlooking the site where Garda were refusing to allow anyone to leave the building so they txted pics to us to put up

https://www.facebook.com/WorkersSolidarityMovement/posts/500048706687614
    We are hearing from Rossport that that Shell CorribTBM that is sinking weighs 160 ton & no crane of that capacity is available in Ireland that can lift it out - may be stuck days or longer - they say if you can travel now is the time to get down there - it won't be over in hours

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Could she just not drill her self out?

I don't understand. If there are not enough Gardai, that has nothing to do with private companies.

They pay for the Gardai they get so that the state is not left out of pocket to replace them by organizing schedules so that other Gardai are put on regular duty instead. Unless there is a very small station and a big demand for private security, that wouldn't be rocket science. I'm sure the impact is minimised by taking Gardai from various stations.
    We are out of pocket because they can claim the expenses down the line...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Bastard foreign companies coming over here, paying into our economy..

If it were a choice between Shell or Mayo, I wish Mayo would fook off to sea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Bastard foreign companies coming over here, paying into our economy..

If it were a choice between Shell or Mayo, I wish Mayo would fook off to sea

:eek: harsh much?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

irish-stew wrote: »
    Could she just not drill her self out?

They're China's problem now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Seen a lot worse than that sorted within minutes when there were no Health and Safety or unionised truck driver heads around.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Bog 1 - modern technology 0

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Lord of the Bongs

mikemac1 wrote: »

they do. they are the ones that look like protesters but are not. you can tell the difference easily as the guards never touch them and they are always seen blocking roads and beating locals up.