Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most-Wanted Nazi War Criminal Located in Hungary

• 16-07-2012 6:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭

Laszlo Csatary, the Nazi war criminal who tops the Simon Wiesenthal Center’s most-wanted list, has been living peacefully in Hungary for the past 17 years, and under his own name.

But this weekend the past caught up with him in the shape of reporters from the British tabloid The Sun knocking on the door of his Budapest apartment and confronting him.

http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/international/most-wanted-nazi-war-criminal-located-in-hungary/530873

In 1948, a Czechoslovakian court condemned Csatary to death in absentia but he had made it to Canada.

He's now 97. What should be done?

Personally I dont care what age he is, it doesn't diminish what he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Some of those Nazis were very good at hide and seek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

They'd want to hurry....

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

how is it that the sun found him but no one else managed to find him for so many years :confused:

Didnt The Sun break this?

Would be some craic if they tapped his phone and he is acquitted on all charges because of it

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

how is it that the sun found him but no one else managed to find him for so many years :confused:

From the article:
    The reporters were acting on information provided to Hungarian authorities by the Nazi-hunting Wiesenthal Center last September obtained in what it calls “Operation: Last Chance.”

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Nodin wrote: »
    They'd want to hurry....

Come on Nodin, I expect better answers from you :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

It's been known for a long time who he is and where he lives, bit of an exaggeration to say The Sun found him. There have been moves on a diplomatic front for some time to have him face trial but the Hungarians don't want it for their own reasons.

More here, the article is from 1997.

http://www.rferl.org/content/article/1086962.html

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Edz87 wrote: »
    Didnt The Sun break this?

Would be some craic if they tapped his phone and he is acquitted on all charges because of it
    There is no Craic about him at all .We Irish were never highly regarded by the Furher .
    Good fighters but that's all .Nothing else .

• Registered Users Posts: 33,036 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dont think they can still carry out the death penalty and life in prison isn;t really going to be much a deterrent.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

It would be Goulash in the extreme if they pressed ahead with a trial and punishment - but some victims relatives will still be hungary for justice. The fecker is 97, sure if they got a balloon and burst it behind him he'd probably keel over on the spot - justice served, go "hunt" the next one - I thought these lads were good at tracking people down, seems not quite so.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Calibos

As if more proof was needed about the non existance of God, but what the hell is it with all the Nazi War Criminals down through the years living into their late 90's ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Calibos wrote: »
    As if more proof was needed about the non existance of God, but what the hell is it with all the Nazi War Criminals down through the years living into their late 90's ???
    Waits for someone to insert some sort of sick joke , .....or maybe not....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

paddyandy wrote: »
    There is no Craic about him at all .We Irish were never highly regarded by the Furher .
    What in god's name are you on about(or on)? Your posts are often like trying to work out some obscure haiku.
    Pure dumb statistical luck most likely C, though as you say an awful lot of them did make it great ages. Maybe a mixture of zealotry and being on the run might actually make for longevity? Odder things have. People in some ex communist regimes lived much longer under often heavy oppression than when their country's became free and independent. Wartime though obviously increasing the death rate also seems to raise overall health and longevity. One notion put forward is that lower calorie intake may influence this, that and a feeling of shared community against the "enemy". Both of these tend to be also in place in oppressive regimes.

As for this nazi fcukwit? Sure a show trial might have some value, but it would be a pretty blind revenge and show going on. The post war punishment of such creatures tended to vary a lot depending on their origins. German scumbags were hunted down and if captured were imprisoned and often executed, yet the vast majority of Japanese scumbags from the common infantry man all the way up through generals and the emperor himself died of old age in their beds and in China alone they're estimated to have killed up to 20 million Chinese in consistent and sanctioned outbursts of near unbelievable "ethnic cleansing" savagery. An odd double standard going on. Almost racist in my humble. IE the "yellow nip" was expected to be a savage, but we can't countenance and condone white Europeans being so inclined, so they have to be excised. What many in the Soviet armies did in the eastern European countries and Germany at the end of the war is well morally repugnant. Hell what the same Soviets did to their own troops and people was morally repugnant and again Stalin et all usually died in their beds unpunished. This moral stuff can be quite the minefield.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Cause there was so many of the feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Shure he was only a frontline nazi. Not like he worked 'upstairs'. Some lad sub contracted by someone else to detain people. He was just doing his job.

etc, etc, etc.........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I would like to see a few of the allied war criminals named and tried as well but that will never happen.Certain organisations made massive profits off the war and whoever ordered Hiroshima and Nagasaki should surely be tried as a war criminal for deliberately targetting civillians? Of course there were only ever war criminals on the losing side.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

If I can shoot rabbits, then I can shoot fascists.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,086 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Lock him in a room with some Burzum records playing at the highest volume. See if he enjoys what he is responsible for creating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Try the murdering bastard.. This animal and people like him should not know a minutes peace until their dying day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Wibbs wrote: »
    As for this nazi fcukwit? Sure a show trial might have some value, but it would be a pretty blind revenge and show going on. The post war punishment of such creatures tended to vary a lot depending on their origins. German scumbags were hunted down and if captured were imprisoned and often executed, yet the vast majority of Japanese scumbags from the common infantry man all the way up through generals and the emperor himself died of old age in their beds and in China alone they're estimated to have killed up to 20 million Chinese in consistent and sanctioned outbursts of near unbelievable "ethnic cleansing" savagery. An odd double standard going on. Almost racist in my humble. IE the "yellow nip" was expected to be a savage, but we can't countenance and condone white Europeans being so inclined, so they have to be excised. What many in the Soviet armies did in the eastern European countries and Germany at the end of the war is well morally repugnant. Hell what the same Soviets did to their own troops and people was morally repugnant and again Stalin et all usually died in their beds unpunished. This moral stuff can be quite the minefield.

Supposedly Stalin did not have such a nice end.
    I recall seeing an interview given by his daughter complaining that they left him to die as they did not want him to survive.
    She should have known better seeing what the fooker actually did to his own family never mind the entire population of USSR and Eastern Europe before she opened her trap.

As regards the Japs, well the Allies even covered up the fact they engaged in cannibalism even when they weren't starving.
    And it is not that they were Asian that got them off, it was fact they often did the worse sh** to other Asians.
    Oh and fact their scientific experiments (ala Mengele) helped the US.
    Ronin247 wrote: »
    I would like to see a few of the allied war criminals named and tried as well but that will never happen.Certain organisations made massive profits off the war and whoever ordered Hiroshima and Nagasaki should surely be tried as a war criminal for deliberately targetting civillians? Of course there were only ever war criminals on the losing side.

Oh FFS.
    Here we go.

How many fooking civilians would have died if there had to be a full scale invasion of the Japanese home islands?
    Look up a history book and see what the civilian casulties on Okinawa and Saipan were like.
    Or better still explain how the emperor had encouraged civilians to committ suicide rather than be taken prisoner ?

Then work how if dropping atom bombs ultimately saved more lives than it cost.

At least you didn't mention Dresden. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Pfft... Thread Godwinned in the first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Chucken wrote: »
    What should be done?
    he helped organize the deportation to the Nazi death camp Auschwitz of approximately 15,700 Jews from Kosice and the vicinity in the spring of 1944, it says.

He would also beat women with a whip he carried on his belt and force them toe dig holes with their bare hands

Shoot him.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Wibbs should read up some history ....you still smarting from a previous skirmish .

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

If we can allow the men responsible (or at least those who were part of the organisation that was responsible) for thousands of murders in this country, to become elected politicians, then I see no issue with this guy being allowed live out his life.

Justice is one thing, but a 97 year old man, 70 years after his crime, being 'shot' isn't going to fix a thing. There is a thing called reconciliation you know, and while it's a bit far fetched to assume that Jews will forgive and forget those who carried out the atrocities etc, they should take a leaf from other countries - such as ourselves, when we recently welcomed the Monarch who represents a country that once sent Oliver Cromwell to systematically wipe out as much of our population as possible. It's in the past, yes, but so is this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Which you just made up.

Hitler has only been known to mention the Irish 3 times. i) During a speech in 1939 where he laughed off American threats on not harming Ireland, Hitler said Ireland's main threat/fear was England, ii) Denying his Generals permission to draw up a plan to invade Ireland, saying that a landing in Ireland could only happen by request and iii) congratulating Sean Dempsey on being a wonderful musician.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Pottler wrote: »
    It would be Goulash in the extreme if they pressed ahead with a trial and punishment - but some victims relatives will still be hungary for justice. The fecker is 97, sure if they got a balloon and burst it behind him he'd probably keel over on the spot - justice served, go "hunt" the next one - I thought these lads were good at tracking people down, seems not quite so.

Great puns or are you just a crap speller?:D

He's had over 50 years of life that he, in my opinion, doesn't deserve. It would do no harm to cut short the few he has left both to show him that he didn't get away with it and to show others that punishment can catch up with them even if it takes a long time.

I'm sure it's not just his victim's relatives that would wish for justice but his actual victims that survived.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

The post war punishment of such creatures tended to vary a lot depending on their origins. German scumbags were hunted down and if captured were imprisoned and often executed, yet the vast majority of Japanese scumbags from the common infantry man all the way up through generals and the emperor himself died of old age in their beds and in China alone they're estimated to have killed up to 20 million Chinese in consistent and sanctioned outbursts of near unbelievable "ethnic cleansing" savagery. An odd double standard going on.

I'd imagine were it not for the vested interests of Israel, the hunt for German war criminals would also have petered out long ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Why would anyone consider the Irish good fighters? Unless your talking about drunken brawls amongst ourselves.

Where is the Irish empire?

800 years to "liberate" the island?

Come on, the Irish are terrible fighters.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Superior genetics? Maybe Hitler was right.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭Riddle101

97 years old. Whatever happens to him, is irrelevant now because he lived a full life. If he died tommorrow, he still managed to live a supposedly happy life which is more then I can say for the people he killed.