Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman knocks down pope

• 24-12-2009 11:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭

Linky

Woman Knocks Down Pope At Christmas Mass

Alex Watts, Sky News Online
    A woman has been arrested after jumping over barriers and knocking down the Pope at Christmas Eve Mass.

15498518.jpg

Pope Benedict XVI was attacked as he walked down the main aisle to begin the service at St Peter's Basilica at the Vatican.
    Vatican spokesman Ciro Benedettini said the 82-year-old quickly got to his feet and was unhurt.
    Benedict calmly resumed his walk to the Basilica's main altar and then began the Mass.
    Mr Benedettini said the woman appeared to be mentally unstable and is being questioned by Vatican police.
    He said she also knocked down Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, who was taken to hospital for a check-up.
    Benedict showed no discomfort as he read out his Christmas Eve homily.
    He spoke out against selfishness, which he said "makes us prisoners of our interests and our desires that stand against the truth and separate us from one another."
    The mass began two hours early, instead of the traditional midnight hour, because of the Pope's age.
    Vatican spokesman Father Federico Lombardi said the change was planned "to make Christmas a little less tiring for the Pope, who has many engagements during this time".

Suprised sky news didnt mention he was critical or anything. Wonder if it'll pan out like Tiger :p

Pope B got floored 147 votes

Nice one, great xmas present!
    0% 0 votes
    OMG, the poor man!
    100% 147 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

good

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Did the woman look something like this? http://jimfairthorne.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/billbailey.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Was it Christina Gallagher?:D

or Sinead O'Connor?

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I was watching the news when the story broke.
    They said they have arrested the woman who they believe is deranged.

Fair play to him for continuing with the mass though.

I wonder will he show his christian spirit and see that she is looked after rather than locked up.

Some Pope!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Mr Benedettini said the woman appeared to be mentally unstable

Yeah right. This is just another one of those Catholic Chuch cover ups, where they try to get someone imprisoned, and use the old she's mentally unstable excuse. I'm on to you pope Benedict:mad: Either that or they're just saying that so that when they murder her, they can make it out to be her mental illness that got her killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

I was originally going to reply to this with, 'I'm not a bad person for laughing at this, am I?' Judging from the reactions, I'm either a cool cat or we're all very bad people.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

why didn't he just use his force lightning to stop her?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Are the policemen in the Vatican priests too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

good

Tell us. Why is it "good"?

2040 wrote: »

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

It's quite possible the current pope was deeply involved in the cover ups as the former head of the congregation of the doctrine of the faith.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I was watching the news when the story broke.
    They said they have arrested the woman who they believe is deranged.

LOL
    Wait for it, wait for it....
    Someone will try to claim she is an Atheist! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Because anybody who refuses to acknowledge that condoms could be a good thing on a Continent that is being ravaged by Aids deserves it TBH.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Attacking an 82-year-old man, no matter who he is, is nothing to condone.

Fair play to him for carrying on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Because he's not a very nice man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I wonder is she friends with the guy who clocked Berlusconi.

Where were the Swiss Guards anyway? They could have dazzled her with those flashy uniforms.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

bronte wrote: »

Wait for it ....................................................................................................................................

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I don't understand the picture in the OP. If it was a woman that attacked him, why did the pope bitch-slap the bishop ??

http://news.sky.com/sky-news/content/StaticFile/jpg/2009/Dec/Week2/15498518.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

bronte wrote: »

Santa for the next pope. \0/

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I thought the Pope was infallable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

http://www.deskpicture.com/DPs/Military/SwissGuard.jpg[/URL]
    Are the policemen in the Vatican priests too?

Good question, but as far as I know they must come from Switzerland.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    I thought the Pope was infallable?
    Inflammible as we were led to believe in school. :D
    Santa for the next pope. \0/

Say again. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Fecking women drivers

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Emperor Palpatine XVI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭smythwicks

Tbh I never laughed as hard reading a thread title and letting my imagination take me away:P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Good question, but as far as I know they must come from Switzerland.

Actually, they must hold Italian citizenship and have experience in the Italian police force. The Swiss Guard is it's army not it's police.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Why did'nt the Swiss Guard skewer the bitch with their halberds.No point in having them if they can't protect him from a lone crazy woman.
    What they going to do when a professional assassin has a go.

Goes to show halberds are no good in this day and age.All the swiss guard should be armed with flame throwers."Give em hell and all that! "

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

good

why?

leddpipe wrote: »
    why?

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

lol'd my ass off, cheers bro :p

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It's quite possible the current pope was deeply involved in the cover ups as the former head of the congregation of the doctrine of the faith.
    only quite possible?
    I guess that we'll probably never really know for definite as he will just continue using the diplomatic immunity card each time he is requested to be a defendant!