Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

full text of lisbon2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Let's be clear: "this context" was your misinterpretation of the words and/or motives of Valéry Giscard d'Estaing. It has been pointed out to you that Giscard d'Estaing himself has rejected your interpretation of his words, but you insist that you know better than he did what he meant.

No, it has not been pointed out to me. If you read the "Irish Times" interview with Giscard to which Hitman referred, you will see that first of all Giscard is not talking about the article I referenced, and secondly he does not say he was misinterpreted, all he says is 'he had not seen “how it [his comment] was translated”'.

Here is his entire article as he wrote it and exactly as it was published in Le Monde in October 2007, except for the emphasis, which is mine. Since he wrote it himself, you cannot say he has been misquoted and since the entire text is provided, you cannot say he has been taken out of context. You have the original French, so you cannot say I have mistranslated him.

In my view, the comment that the Lisbon Treaty is effectively the same as the rejected Constitution, redrafted in such a way as to avoid the need to put it to a referendum again, is very clear and not open to misinterpretation.

Les événements médiatiques du 18 octobre ont captivé l'attention du public, qui a semblé porter peu d'intérêt à l'accord intervenu à Lisbonne, au sein du Conseil européen, en vue de l'adoption d'un nouveau traité institutionnel. Pourtant beaucoup de Français, perturbés par le rejet du malheureux référendum de 2005, aimeraient comprendre en quoi le traité de Lisbonne diffère du projet de traité constitutionnel.

La différence porte davantage sur la méthode que sur le contenu. Le traité constitutionnel résultait d'une volonté politique exprimée dans la déclaration de Laeken approuvée à l'unanimité par les membres du Conseil européen : il s'agissait de simplifier les institutions européennes rendues inefficaces par les derniers élargissements, de mettre davantage de démocratie et de transparence dans l'Union européenne, et d'ouvrir « la voie vers une Constitution pour les citoyens européens ». Cet objectif se reflétait dans la composition de la Convention, qui regroupait des représentants du Parlement européen et des Parlements nationaux, des gouvernements des Etats membres et de la Commission européenne. Et surtout ses débats étaient publics. Chacun pouvait peser le pour et le contre. Le projet de traité constitutionnel était un texte nouveau, inspiré par une volonté politique, et se substituant à tous les traités antérieurs.

Pour le traité de Lisbonne, ce sont les juristes du Conseil qui ont été chargés de rédiger le texte. Ils l'ont fait avec compétence et précision, en respectant le mandat qui leur avait été donné par le Conseil européen du 22 juin. Ils ont repris la voie classique suivie par les institutions bruxelloises, qui consiste à modifier les traités antérieurs par voie d'amendements : le traité de Lisbonne se situe exactement dans la ligne des traités d'Amsterdam et de Nice, ignorés du grand public.

Les juristes n'ont pas proposé d'innovations. Ils sont partis du texte du traité constitutionnel, dont ils ont fait éclater les éléments, un par un, en les renvoyant, par voie d'amendements aux deux traités existants de Rome (1957) et de Maastricht (1992). Le traité de Lisbonne se présente ainsi comme un catalogue d'amendements aux traités antérieurs. Il est illisible pour les citoyens, qui doivent constamment se reporter aux textes des traités de Rome et de Maastricht, auxquels s'appliquent ces amendements. Voilà pour la forme.

Si l'on en vient maintenant au contenu, le résultat est que les propositions institutionnelles du traité constitutionnel - les seules qui comptaient pour les conventionnels - se retrouvent intégralement dans le traité de Lisbonne, mais dans un ordre différent, et insérés dans les traités antérieurs.

Je me contenterai de deux exemples : celui de la désignation d'un président stable de l'Union européenne, qui représente l'avancée la plus prometteuse du projet. Elle figurait dans le traité constitutionnel au titre des institutions et organes de l'Union. L'article 22 indiquait : « Le Conseil européen élit son président à la majorité qualifiée pour une durée de deux ans et demi, renouvelable une fois », et l'article se poursuivait par 11 lignes décrivant le rôle de ce président.

Si l'on recherche cette disposition dans le traité de Lisbonne, on la retrouve dans l'amendement 16 au titre III du traité de Maastricht qui indique : «... un article 9B est inséré : le Conseil européen et son président » ; paragraphe 5 : « Le Conseil européen élit son président à la majorité qualifiée pour une durée de deux ans et demi, renouvelable une fois... », et le paragraphe se prolonge par 11 lignes décrivant à l'identique le rôle du président.

Le même exemple pourrait être cité concernant le rôle et l'élection du Parlement européen. L'article 9A du traité de Lisbonne reproduit au mot à mot l'article 20 du projet de traité constitutionnel.

La conclusion vient d'elle-même à l'esprit. Dans le traité de Lisbonne, rédigé exclusivement à partir du projet de traité constitutionnel, les outils sont exactement les mêmes. Seul l'ordre a été changé dans la boîte à outils. La boîte, elle-même, a été redécorée, en utilisant un modèle ancien, qui comporte trois casiers dans lesquels il faut fouiller pour trouver ce que l'on cherche.

Il y a cependant quelques différences. Trois d'entre elles méritent d'être notées. D'abord le mot « Constitution » et l'adjectif « constitutionnel » sont bannis du texte, comme s'ils décrivaient des maladies honteuses. Le concept avait pourtant été introduit par les gouvernements eux-mêmes dans la déclaration de Laeken (approuvée à l'époque par Tony Blair et Jacques Chirac). Il est vrai que l'inscription dans le traité constitutionnel de la partie III, décrivant les politiques de l'Union, constituait sans doute une maladresse. L'apparence pouvait faire croire qu'il s'agissait de leur donner une valeur « constitutionnelle », alors que l'objectif était seulement de réunir tous les traités en un seul.

Et l'on supprime du même coup la mention des symboles de l'Union : le drapeau européen, qui flotte partout, et l'hymne européen, emprunté à Beethoven. Quoique ridicules, et destinées heureusement à rester inappliquées, ces décisions sont moins insignifiantes qu'elles n'y paraissent. Elles visent à écarter toute indication tendant à évoquer la possibilité pour l'Europe de se doter un jour d'une structure politique. C'est un signal fort de recul de l'ambition politique européenne.

Concernant, ensuite, les réponses apportées aux demandes formulées notamment en France par certains adversaires du traité constitutionnel, il faut constater qu'elles représentent davantage des satisfactions de politesse que des modifications substantielles. Ainsi l'expression « concurrence libre et non faussée », qui figurait à l'article 2 du projet, est retirée à la demande du président Sarkozy, mais elle est reprise, à la requête des Britanniques, dans un protocole annexé au traité qui stipule que « le marché intérieur, tel qu'il est défini à l'article 3 du traité, comprend un système garantissant que la concurrence n'est pas faussée ».

Il en va de même pour ce qui concerne le principe de la supériorité du droit communautaire sur le droit national, dont le texte de référence reste inchangé dans le traité. En revanche, la France va pouvoir accroître de plus d'un tiers ses droits de vote au Conseil, grâce à la double majorité introduite par le projet de traité constitutionnel.

Beaucoup plus importantes, enfin, sont les concessions faites aux Britanniques. La charte des droits fondamentaux - sorte de version améliorée et actualisée de la charte des droits de l'homme - est retirée du projet, et fera l'objet d'un texte séparé, ce qui permettra à la Grande-Bretagne de ne pas être liée par elle. Dans le domaine de l'harmonisation et de la coopération judiciaires, la Grande-Bretagne se voit reconnaître des droits multiples de sortie et de retour dans le système. Bref, après avoir réussi à affaiblir les propositions visant à renforcer l'intégration européenne, comme le refus du titre de ministre des affaires étrangères de l'Union européenne, elle se place en situation d'exception par rapport aux dispositions qui lui déplaisent.

Le texte des articles du traité constitutionnel est donc à peu près inchangé, mais il se trouve dispersé en amendements aux traités antérieurs, eux-mêmes réaménagés. On est évidemment loin de la simplification. Il suffit de consulter les tables des matières des trois traités pour le mesurer ! Quel est l'intérêt de cette subtile manoeuvre ? D'abord et avant tout d'échapper à la contrainte du recours au référendum, grâce à la dispersion des articles, et au renoncement au vocabulaire constitutionnel.

Mais c'est aussi, pour les institutions bruxelloises, une manière habile de reprendre la main, après l'ingérence des parlementaires et des hommes politiques, que représentaient à leurs yeux les travaux de la Convention européenne. Elles imposent ainsi le retour au langage qu'elles maîtrisent et aux procédures qu'elles privilégient, et font un pas de plus qui les éloigne des citoyens.

La phase suivante sera celle des ratifications. Elle ne devrait pas rencontrer de grandes difficultés - en dehors de la Grande-Bretagne où un référendum aboutirait manifestement à un rejet -, car la complication du texte et son abandon des grandes ambitions suffisent pour en gommer les aspérités.

Mais soulevons le couvercle, et regardons dans la boîte : les outils sont bien là, tels que les avait soigneusement élaborés la Convention européenne, des outils innovants et performants : la présidence stable, la Commission réduite et recentrée, le Parlement législateur de plein droit, le ministre des affaires étrangères en dépit de sa casquette trop étroite, la prise de décisions à la double majorité, celle des Etats et celle des citoyens, et la Charte des droits fondamentaux la plus avancée de notre planète.

Le jour où des femmes et des hommes, animés de grandes ambitions pour l'Europe, décideront de s'en servir, ils pourront réveiller, sous la cendre qui le recouvre aujourd'hui, le rêve ardent de l'Europe unie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Please, this if boards.ie not boards.fr. Most of us dont speak French.

Also your basing your vote on issues external to the Treaty is ignoring your responsibility. In effect you are being asked to decide whether you want to keep the current EU situation or move to a new EU situation. Thus you must decide which of the two is the better place to be.

In both situations the rest of the EU dont have refernda. In both situations the French and Dutch wont get their popular vote. Thus these issues should not even factor into your decision as they will not change regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

No, feck it, Gizmo has convinced me.

I'm voting yes because the wishes of the Spanish and Luxembourg people are totally being ignored...

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

gizmo555 wrote: »
    No, it has not been pointed out to me.
    Then let me point it out to you now.

You said earlier:
    In other words, the Lisbon Treaty was deliberately drafted so as to be unintelligible to the ordinary citizen and the reason for this was to circumvent and subvert the democratic decisions of the French and Dutch voters.
    When you preface a remark with "in other words", then you're putting your own interpretation on the preceding statements. It is clear from Giscard d'Estaing's clarifications that your interpretation differs from his.

If you want to use your interpretation of his words as a basis for refusing to even consider the contents of the treaty, fair enough: but don't expect others to do so.

Ah, hold on now. You claimed:
    oscarBravo wrote:
    It has been pointed out to you that Giscard d'Estaing himself has rejected your interpretation of his words

That is factually incorrect. So is this:
    oscarBravo wrote:
    It is clear from Giscard d'Estaing's clarifications that your interpretation differs from his.

He did not offer any clarification or interpretation - he merely said he had not seen the English translation of remarks which I never referenced in the first place.

If you believe I'm being tendentious or putting constructions on Giscard's comments which they don't bear, then let me try to separate the facts and my opinions more clearly.

Here are some facts:

(1) The proposed EU Constitution was rejected in referenda in France and Holland.

(2) According to Giscard in the article I referenced, the text of the rejected constitution is reproduced almost unchanged in the Lisbon Treaty, but in the form of amendments to earlier EU treaties.

(2) According to Giscard, the primary purpose of drafting the Lisbon Treaty in this way was to avoid the requirement to put the treaty to referendum again.

In my opinion, that's a subversion of democracy.

(You can, of course, accept or reject Giscard's comments as you see fit, but I would suggest that he is eminently well qualified to make them.)

turgon wrote: »
    Please, this if boards.ie not boards.fr. Most of us dont speak French.

I take your point, but as it was being asserted that I was misinterpreting Giscard's comments and/or taking them out of context, I felt it was reasonable to provide the entire original text. Unfortunately, as I mentioned in an earlier post, it isn't possible to simply link to the article, as Le Monde charge for access to their archive.
    turgon wrote: »
    Also your basing your vote on issues external to the Treaty is ignoring your responsibility. In effect you are being asked to decide whether you want to keep the current EU situation or move to a new EU situation. Thus you must decide which of the two is the better place to be.

I believe an EU situation where the democratically expressed wishes of the people are respected is the better place to be.

According to Giscard, the primary purpose of drafting the Lisbon Treaty in this way was to avoid the requirement to put the treaty to referendum again.

In my opinion, that's a subversion of democracy.
    Is it then your opinion that the last EU treaty to have any validity is Maastricht, since that was the last one accepted by French voters in a referendum?
    I believe an EU situation where the democratically expressed wishes of the people are respected is the better place to be.
    That's the sort of expression of fuzzy thinking that characterises the entire Libertas platform.

You reject the Lisbon Treaty (out of hand, without - by your own admission - any interest in whether it's good or bad) on the grounds that it contains most of the provisions contained in the Constitution, which was rejected in two referenda.

What's your minimum standard for democratic acceptability of an international treaty? Does every treaty have to face a referendum in every signatory country, including those in which referenda are illegal? Or, as I suspect is the case, are you waving the "democracy" flag as a vague cover for straightforward euroskepticism?

Is it then your opinion that the last EU treaty to have any validity is Maastricht, since that was the last one accepted by French voters in a referendum? That's the sort of expression of fuzzy thinking that characterises the entire Libertas platform.

No, I never said that all EU treaties should be subject to referenda in all EU states. But French and Dutch voters did reject the constitution in their referenda, yet, if one accept's Giscard's views (as I do), they're getting it anyway, almost unchanged, in the form of the Lisbon Treaty.
    You reject the Lisbon Treaty (out of hand, without - by your own admission - any interest in whether it's good or bad) on the grounds that it contains most of the provisions contained in the Constitution, which was rejected in two referenda.

Yes, that is accurate. In fact, I voted in favour of the EU constitution. I don't see any contradiction between this and my belief that it is far more important that the votes of the French and Dutch should be respected. If their wishes are ignored this time, it could be our turn next.
    What's your minimum standard for democratic acceptability of an international treaty? Does every treaty have to face a referendum in every signatory country, including those in which referenda are illegal?

No, obviously not. But where a referendum has taken place, I don't believe the result should be deliberately subverted, which in my view is what the Lisbon Treaty sets out to do.
    Or, as I suspect is the case, are you waving the "democracy" flag as a vague cover for straightforward euroskepticism?

I am not a euroskeptic nor a supporter of Libertas, but even if I was, name calling like this wouldn't of itself invalidate the points I have made.

it is far more important that the votes of the French and Dutch should be respected. If their wishes are ignored this time, it could be our turn next.

So its more important for the Irish peoples to search for accountability in another country than it is to do whats best for their own country?

How so? The Irish government is legally obliged to put every EU Treaty to a referendum.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

But French and Dutch voters did reject the constitution in their referenda, yet, if one accept's Giscard's views (as I do), they're getting it anyway, almost unchanged, in the form of the Lisbon Treaty.
    And the Dutch and French electorates are unhappy about this? Presumably some form of protest has taken place in both countries?

No, I never said that all EU treaties should be subject to referenda in all EU states. But French and Dutch voters did reject the constitution in their referenda, yet, if one accept's Giscard's views (as I do), they're getting it anyway, almost unchanged, in the form of the Lisbon Treaty.
    What percentage of provisions from the Constitution must be dropped from Lisbon before it becomes an acceptable treaty?
    Yes, that is accurate. In fact, I voted in favour of the EU constitution. I don't see any contradiction between this and my belief that it is far more important that the votes of the French and Dutch should be respected.
    Their votes were respected - the Constitution didn't come into force. A new treaty was negotiated, containing many (but not all) of the provisions of the old one. The people of France elected a president who openly stated that he would ratify the new treaty.
    No, obviously not. But where a referendum has taken place, I don't believe the result should be deliberately subverted, which in my view is what the Lisbon Treaty sets out to do.
    What do you base that on, other than your own personal interpretation of Giscard d'Estaing's words? Why would the representatives of 27 sovereign nations set out to deliberately subvert the wishes of two of their electorates?
    I am not a euroskeptic nor a supporter of Libertas, but even if I was, name calling like this wouldn't of itself invalidate the points I have made.
    The only point you have made is that, based on a skewed interpretation of one man's words, a treaty should be rejected with no consideration for whether its provisions are good or bad.

Excuse me if I differ, ignore Giscard d'Estaing and evaluate the treaty on its contents.

OK, if you don't want to take Giscard's word for it, how about someone closer to home:

THE Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, yesterday made light of claims by his European counterparts that they had seriously changed the constitutional treaty he negotiated in 2004.

He admitted the marathon talks had been about settling Polish fears and enabling the British, French, Dutch and Danish governments to avoid referendums.

"I think the way I left this three years ago was far better. I'm not going to change my mind on that and I think all the changes that we've made are all changes for the worse but thankfully they haven't changed the substance - 90 per cent of it is still there."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ahern-makes-light-of-latest-concessions-on-eu-treaty-742671.html

Or maybe Jean-Luc Dehaene, former Belgian prime minister:

We shouldn't refer to a "mini-treaty". That's just a term Sarkozy invented for domestic political reasons. But the treaty in fact contains 90% of the constitutional treaty, even more. In fact the main difference is the constitutional treaty was readable, but when we arrive at the same result by means of amendments to existing treaties, it produces a text totally unreadable for citizens. But fundamentally, it's the same thing.

http://www.grappebelgique.be/article.php3?id_article=665

OK, if you don't want to take Giscard's word for it, how about someone closer to home:

THE Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, yesterday made light of claims by his European counterparts that they had seriously changed the constitutional treaty he negotiated in 2004.

He admitted the marathon talks had been about settling Polish fears and enabling the British, French, Dutch and Danish governments to avoid referendums.

"I think the way I left this three years ago was far better. I'm not going to change my mind on that and I think all the changes that we've made are all changes for the worse but thankfully they haven't changed the substance - 90 per cent of it is still there."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ahern-makes-light-of-latest-concessions-on-eu-treaty-742671.html
    What's wrong with avoiding referendums? France does not, as a rule, ratify international treaties by referendum. In fact it's fair to say that EU countries do not, as a rule (with the exception of Ireland, and then only in the case of EU treaties) ratify international treaties by referendum.

I asked earlier if you felt that Amsterdam and Nice were somehow invalid because they were not put to referendum in France, and you said they were not. And yet you reject Lisbon because it wasn't put to a referendum?

You're not making sense.
    Or maybe Jean-Luc Dehaene, former Belgian prime minister:

We shouldn't refer to a "mini-treaty". That's just a term Sarkozy invented for domestic political reasons. But the treaty in fact contains 90% of the constitutional treaty, even more. In fact the main difference is the constitutional treaty was readable, but when we arrive at the same result by means of amendments to existing treaties, it produces a text totally unreadable for citizens. But fundamentally, it's the same thing.

Most of the provisions of the Constitution are still retained in Lisbon, yes. The Lisbon treaty is, per se, less readable than the Constitution - yes. But you've still to explain what anyone has to gain from deliberately obfuscating the text, especially when the obfuscation was promptly undone by the publication of consolidated treaties, which are no less readable than the Constitution.

You've also avoided my questions about what percentage of the Constitution needs to be absent from Lisbon before it becomes acceptable to consider it on its merits, as well as ignoring djpbarry's point about the fact that the French and the Dutch seem less outraged than you are on their behalf.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I suspect that it is a waste of time trying to persuade gizmo555 to vote on the treaty on its merits.

Sure, but it's possible that others could be persuaded by his "arguments" if they're not shown to be rather hollow.

What's wrong with avoiding referendums? France does not, as a rule, ratify international treaties by referendum. In fact it's fair to say that EU countries do not, as a rule (with the exception of Ireland, and then only in the case of EU treaties) ratify international treaties by referendum.

I asked earlier if you felt that Amsterdam and Nice were somehow invalid because they were not put to referendum in France, and you said they were not. And yet you reject Lisbon because it wasn't put to a referendum?

OK, once again slowly. There is nothing, in general, wrong with avoiding referenda. In this case, however, Lisbon is the same as the constitution already rejected at referenda in Holland and France. And again, don't take my word for it:

"The substance of the Constitution is maintained. That's a fact"
    Angela Merkel, German Chancellor.

"We have not abandoned a single essential point of the Constitution"
    José Luis Zapatero, Spanish Prime Minister.

"There is nothing from the original institutional package which has been changed."
    Astrid Thors, Finnish Foreign Minister.

"It is positive that the symbolic elements have been removed and that which is really of importance - the heart - remains."
    Anders Fogh Rasmussen, Danish Prime Minister.

"The whole Constitution is there. Nothing's missing!".
    Jean-Louis Bourlanges MEP, former member of the Convention on the Future of Europe, drafting body of the Constitution.

"It's essentially the same proposition as the old Constitution."
    Margot Wallstrom, European Commissioner.

and finally

"In terms of content, the propositions are largely unchanged, they're just presented in a different way."

"The reason for this is the new text mustn't appear too much like a constitutional treaty. The European Governments are agreed on cosmetic changes to the Constitution to make it easier to swallow."

Our old friend Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, before the Constitutional Affairs Commission of the European Parliament.

What's astonishing is just how brazen they all are about it . . .
    You've also avoided my questions about what percentage of the Constitution needs to be absent from Lisbon before it becomes acceptable to consider it on its merits,

I ignored it because I assumed it was rhetorical - I could say "X%" and you'd say "prove Lisbon contains more than X% of the Constitution" or maybe "why not Y%?". As if, anyway, the question was amenable to an objective arithmetic calculation.
    as well as ignoring djpbarry's point about the fact that the French and the Dutch seem less outraged than you are on their behalf.

Again I took this to be rhetorical. There is opposition to Lisbon in both countries. But that's beside the point. As a citizen of an EU country, I'm entitled to express opposition to what I see as wrongdoing by the EU and its members, whether it happens here in Ireland or elsewhere in Europe.

You're not making sense. Most of the provisions of the Constitution are still retained in Lisbon, yes. The Lisbon treaty is, per se, less readable than the Constitution - yes. But you've still to explain what anyone has to gain from deliberately obfuscating the text, especially when the obfuscation was promptly undone by the publication of consolidated treaties, which are no less readable than the Constitution.

Forgot to address this point. First of all we are not voting on the consolidated treaties - we are voting on the Lisbon Treaty. Maybe the consolidated treaties will be an aid, but at about 500 pages, I can't see many voters managing to get through them.

As for whether obfuscation was deliberate, and what was to be gained:

It was decided that the document must be unreadable. If it is unreadable, it's not constitutional: that was the idea. If you can understand the text at first glance one risked calls for a referendum, beacuse it would be apparent that it was something new.
    Giuliano Amato, former vice-president of the Convention on the Future of Europe.

The aim of the Constitutional Treaty was to be more readable. The aim of this treaty is to be unreadable. The constitution was intended to be clear, but this treaty had to be obscure. It's a success.
    Karel de Gucht, Belgian Minister for Foreign Affairs

Properly understood, there would be a transfer of sovereignty. But would I be intelligent to draw the attention of the public to this fact?
    Jean Claude Juncker, Prime Minister of Luxembourg.

Once again, the brazenness of these people is astounding. The people are to be led like sheep by the élite who know what's best for them. What they don't know, won't hurt them . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

In this case, however, Lisbon is the same as the constitution already rejected at referenda in Holland and France.

Well, regretful for this argument, there has already been a court case in the UK about it. In that court case an individual claimed to the UK's High Court (their highest court) that Lisbon and the Constitution were the same, however the Judges ruled:
    32. There are undoubted differences between the two treaties. Unlike the Constitutional Treaty, the Lisbon Treaty does not purport, either by its title or in its terms, to lay down a constitution for Europe. Unlike the Constitutional Treaty, it does not repeal the existing treaties and replace them by a single text, but proceeds by way of amendment of the existing treaties; and it leaves in place the existing entities and institutions (save that the European Community is subsumed into the European Union) rather than replacing them with a new legal entity. We see no basis for dismissing such differences as obviously immaterial even if they are treated as differences of form rather than of substance.

33. There are also, on any view, differences of substance. Mr Sumption QC referred the court to an analysis by Professor Steve Peers, of the University of Essex, which identified 35 substantive differences between the two treaties. That analysis is not accepted by the claimant and has been the subject of debate between Lord Blackwell and Baroness Ashton (the Leader of the House of Lords) in correspondence that we were shown. Thankfully, detailed argument before us was confined to 5 specific examples which were said by Mr Sumption to be illustrative and were set out in a written schedule, to which Mr Singh helpfully responded in a counter-schedule. They relate in part to matters on which the United Kingdom set down its "red lines" for the negotiation of the Lisbon Treaty. They are as follows:

i) The first concerns the opt-out for the United Kingdom in the area of freedom, security and justice (Protocol 21 to the treaties as amended by the Lisbon Treaty): the opt-out is extended so as to cover matters of policing and criminal law in addition to matters of immigration and civil law which were covered by the corresponding opt-out in the Constitutional Treaty. Mr Singh did not deny that there was an extension, but referred to the existence of opt-in provisions in Articles 3 and 4 of Protocol 21 and submitted that the scope of the extended opt-out was limited by a declaration made by the United Kingdom on Article 75 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (the new name given to the EC Treaty by the Lisbon Treaty). Limited though it may be, the extension of the opt-out cannot in our view be dismissed as obviously immaterial.

ii) The second example was presented in terms of the conferment of additional powers on national parliaments to delay or resist EC legislation by reference to principles of subsidiarity. The point turns on a new provision, in Article 7(3) of Protocol 2 to the treaties as amended by the Lisbon Treaty, whereby the Commission must review a measure if there is a majority of votes from national parliaments that the measure does not comply with the principle of subsidiarity. In addition, the period of response for national parliaments has been extended from 6 weeks to 8 weeks. Mr Singh made the cogent point that it is unlikely in practice that a majority of national parliaments will respond with the required reasoned opinions even within an 8 week time-frame, and that even if they do it alters the procedure but not necessarily the outcome. Again, however, we do not think that the change can be dismissed as obviously immaterial.

iii) The third example relates to changes with regard to the application of the Charter of Fundamental Rights to the United Kingdom. The Charter formed an integral part of the Constitutional Treaty, whereas under the Lisbon Treaty the position is more complex. The Charter is not part of the treaties, but the amended Article 6(1) of the Treaty on European Union provides that the Union recognises the rights, freedoms and principles set out in the Charter "which shall have the same value as the Treaties". However, Article 1 of Protocol 30 provides that the Charter does not extend the ability of the Court of Justice or national courts to find that the laws, regulations or administrative provisions, practices or action of the United Kingdom are inconsistent with the fundamental rights, freedoms and principles that it reaffirms; and in particular, that nothing in Title IV of the Charter (concerning economic and social rights) creates justiciable rights applicable to the United Kingdom "except in so far as … the United Kingdom has provided for such rights in its national law". The precise legal consequences of those provisions will have to be worked out by the courts. Again, however, we take the view that the differences in this respect between the two treaties cannot be dismissed as obviously immaterial.

iv) The fourth example concerns an amendment by the Lisbon Treaty to Article 4(2) of the Treaty on European Union, which provides inter alia that the Union shall respect the essential state functions of member states, "including ensuring the territorial integrity of the State, maintaining law and order and safeguarding national security". As a result of the amendment this is followed by an additional sentence: "In particular, national security remains the sole responsibility of each Member State". Mr Singh submitted that the addition of that sentence did not amount to a substantive change, both in the light of the preceding sentence, which was contained in identical form in the Constitutional Treaty, and in the light of the further provision in Article 72 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, as amended by the Lisbon Treaty, that Title V of Part Three (on the area of freedom, security and justice) "shall not affect the exercise of the responsibilities incumbent upon Member States with regard to the maintenance of law and order and the safeguarding of internal security": that provision, too, was contained in identical form in the Constitutional Treaty. Although the additional sentence in Article 4(2) does seem relatively minor, we do not think it possible to conclude that an express statement that national security remains the "sole" responsibility of the member states is of no materiality.

v) The final example concerns Article 352 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, as amended by the Lisbon Treaty. The article confers residual powers for the adoption of measures necessary for the attainment of treaty objectives where the treaties have not otherwise provided the necessary powers. Article 352(4) provides that the article "cannot serve as a basis for attaining objectives pertaining to the common foreign and security policy and that any acts adopted pursuant to this Article shall respect the limits set out in Article 40, second paragraph, of the Treaty on European Union". No such limitation was contained in the corresponding provision of the Constitutional Treaty. Mr Singh submitted that the limitation is likely to have limited, if any, substantive significance. In our view, however, one cannot dismiss as obviously immaterial a provision of this kind limiting the scope for European Union measures in the field of foreign and security policy.

Also, the judges quote in their ruling some evidence from the defence in the case which cites a report from the Dutch Council of State:
    36. The defendants, on the other hand, point to the advice given by the Dutch Council of State on 12 September 2007 on the mandate of the intergovernmental conference that led to the Lisbon Treaty. The Council of State reached this conclusion at section 3.5:

"The Council concludes that the proposed Reform Treaty will be a treaty whose content, methodology and goals are in keeping with the EU's constitutional development as described in Section 3.1 Taken individually, many of the differences between the proposed Reform Treaty and the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe amount in strictly legal terms to shifts in emphasis, changes of form and abolition of symbols; the same was true, but in reverse, of the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe in relation to earlier treaties. Taken together, more far-reaching significance should be attached to changes such as the abandonment of the idea of a single written constitution, the decision not to include the whole of the Charter of Fundamental Rights, the sharper delimiting of the Union's competences (including those in the protocol on services of general interest and of general economic interest) and the decision not to include the symbols of European unification.

The purpose of all these changes is to rid the proposed Reform Treaty as far as possible of the elements from the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe which could have formed a basis of the development of the EU into a more explicit state or federation. This means that the proposed
    Reform Treaty is substantially different from the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe."

The full ruling is here.

Unless you are going to argue that the judges don't possess the necessary legal skill to determine whether two legal texts are the same or different, the ruling contradicts your claim that the two treaties are the same. Hence the "We all must vote no, because Lisbon has already been rejected" argument is irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

This is one side on the no argument I don't agree on. It's as annoying as the whole how dare 4 million hold back 500 million crap the yes side spout out. We vote on the treaty in a "is it what's best for Ireland" mindset. Let the other countries look after their own issues.

There is opposition to Lisbon in both countries. But that's beside the point. As a citizen of an EU country, I'm entitled to express opposition to what I see as wrongdoing by the EU and its members, whether it happens here in Ireland or elsewhere in Europe.
    It's not beside the point, because you have as yet failed to demonstrate that anyone has been wronged. Would it not be reasonable to assume, in the absence of any mass protest, that the majority (if not the overwhelming majority) of Dutch and French voters are quite happy for their respective governments to ratify the treaty on their behalf? If there was obvious opposition to the ratification of the treaty without a referendum in a particular state, then you might have a point. But I would still not factor this into my decision when voting on the treaty, as the means by which the treaty is ratified in a particular state is a matter to be decided by the government and people of that particular state. Your collection of sound-bites does not change that.

Bear in mind that although the Lisbon Treaty contains 95% of the Constitutional Treaty, it is the 5% which changed - the flag, anthem, motto etc, that makes a lot of a difference.

djpbarry wrote: »
    It's not beside the point, because you have as yet failed to demonstrate that anyone has been wronged.

Well I think have, you don't accept that, so we'll have to agree to differ. So far, so good.
    Would it not be reasonable to assume, in the absence of any mass protest, that the majority (if not the overwhelming majority) of Dutch and French voters are quite happy for their respective governments to ratify the treaty on their behalf?

First of all I don't accept the premise that the absence of mass protest proves no-one has been wronged. Secondly, it's one reasonable possible explanation - it's by no means the only one.

Our Department of Foreign Affairs commissioned a poll after the 1st Lisbon treaty. It found, inter alia, that:

The main reason cited for voting No was ‘lack of knowledge/information/ understanding’ at 42%. There can be little doubt that this emerged as the primary reason for people voting No.

and

The main reason for abstaining in this referendum was lack of understanding/knowledge (46%), which is far in excess of any other voluntary or circumstantial reason given for not voting.

http://www.dfa.ie/uploads/documents/Publications/Post%20Lisbon%20Treaty%20Referendum%20Research%20Findings/post%20lisbon%20treaty%20referendum%20research%20findings_sept08.pdf

If the French and Dutch peoples' responses to the Lisbon Treaty are anything like ours, it is equally reasonable to assume the lack of protest is due to mass incomprehension. This would be unsurprising, since as we have seen one of the key aims of the Lisbon Treaty was to be incomprehensible. It turns out that the drafters were too clever for their own good - if they had produced a more transparent and readable text they would have stood a much better chance of getting approval for it from Irish voters. (This poll also gives the lie to the proposition that the consolidated treaties were of any significant assistance to voters in understanding what they were being asked to vote on.)
    Your collection of sound-bites does not change that.

Yeah, well since you can't gainsay them, I guess all you can do is dismiss them in this facile way.

This would be unsurprising, since as we have seen one of the key aims of the Lisbon Treaty was to be incomprehensible.

Please explain this.

Also, if it so "incomprehensible," why can you go up to most libraries and peruse the consolidated treaties easily?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

If it's so incomprehensible, how can I read it and understand it? What's incomprehensible is the asinine gibberish you've been spouting. Particularly this comment.
    First of all we are not voting on the consolidated treaties - we are voting on the Lisbon Treaty. Maybe the consolidated treaties will be an aid, but at about 500 pages, I can't see many voters managing to get through them.

The consolidated treaties as amended by Lisbon ARE THE RESULT of the Lisbon treaty, you have to be feckin thick to not pay attention to the consolidated treaties, they are the only thing that matters. This just goes to show you're not interested in the changes Lisbon will make you're opposed to the idea of the Lisbon Treaty, it doesn't matter what the treaty contains. Judging by the latter part of your comment you don't want any form of political union in Europe, for any political union of individual sovereign states requires by default a large body of rules to govern it and a couple of hundred pages is about as concise as one can reasonably expect. Even the constitution was a few hundred pages long.

Well I think have, you don't accept that, so we'll have to agree to differ.
    Or you could tell us who has been so grievously wronged that you feel compelled to vote ‘No’ on their behalf?
    First of all I don't accept the premise that the absence of mass protest proves no-one has been wronged.
    Neither do I; I said it was “reasonable to assume”, not “prove”.
    Secondly, it's one reasonable possible explanation - it's by no means the only one.
    I would argue it is the most probable explanation. If you tell somebody that you’re going to do something and they do not object, then I think it is reasonable to assume that this person is not all that bothered about whatever it is you’re going to do (assuming they are a rational individual of sound mind).
    If the French and Dutch peoples' responses to the Lisbon Treaty are anything like ours, it is equally reasonable to assume the lack of protest is due to mass incomprehension.
    If the French and Dutch people do not understand the treaty, then they obviously have not spent a great deal of time attempting to understand it, which is further evidence (as if it were needed) that they really don’t care all that much. Unless of course you are trying to imply that the people of Europe are too stupid to understand the text?
    This would be unsurprising, since as we have seen one of the key aims of the Lisbon Treaty was to be incomprehensible.
    If true, then the treaty’s authors have failed miserably, as the consolidated version of the text in particular is quite accessible.
    Yeah, well since you can't gainsay them, I guess all you can do is dismiss them in this facile way.
    I’m dismissing them because, as far as I’m concerned, they’re irrelevant. I prefer to base my vote on the actual content of the treaty rather than meaningless sound-bites translated from an obscure website.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

If the French and Dutch peoples' responses to the Lisbon Treaty are anything like ours, it is equally reasonable to assume the lack of protest is due to mass incomprehension.

Well, you are probably right about the mass incomprehension part. Let's face it, the referendum campaign wasn't dominated by lawyers discussing the finer legal nuances of the treaty, elucidating the existing situation and highlighting the subtle changes that would occur if it were passed. Instead, it frequently featured outright scare mongering.

As such, the citizens of most EU states are quite happy to leave it to their Parliaments to ratify treaties. It saves them the hassle of having to wade through the sort of nonsense that characterised our referendum campaign. They regard ratification by Parliament as being totally democratic.

Only in Ireland has the idea that is somehow "undemocratic" for a democratically-elected Parliament to ratify treaties bizarrely taken hold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭cat&mouse

Q. where, and when, can i get the full text of the ammended text?:confused:

Might pick up information from:
    Next Sunday on THE BBC TV @ 6.00 pm a descussion on the Lisbon Treaty was just announced on Qestiontime (I think that is the name of the programme, its Dimbely the presenter )BBC parliament. It will be having European MEP'S and local politicians.

OK, once again slowly. There is nothing, in general, wrong with avoiding referenda. In this case, however, Lisbon is the same as the constitution already rejected at referenda in Holland and France. And again, don't take my word for it:
    I won't, because it is factually untrue. It is, quite simply, demonstrably false to claim that they are the same. Therefore, any argument based on the assertion that they are the same is intrinsically flawed.
    I ignored it because I assumed it was rhetorical - I could say "X%" and you'd say "prove Lisbon contains more than X% of the Constitution" or maybe "why not Y%?". As if, anyway, the question was amenable to an objective arithmetic calculation.
    If it's not amenable to an objective arithmetic calculation, what is it amenable to?

It's not a rhetorical question; it's one to which I'd like an answer. The Lisbon Treaty is different from the Constitution - to state otherwise is factually untrue. So the problem seems to be that it's not different enough. I want to know just how different it needs to be before you'll assess it on its merits, and how you measure that difference.
    Forgot to address this point. First of all we are not voting on the consolidated treaties - we are voting on the Lisbon Treaty.
    That's a laughable bit of sophistry, as pointed out by sink.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

cat&mouse wrote: »
    Q. where, and when, can i get the full text of the ammended text?:confused:

The European Commission Irish Representation has a page of Lisbon downloads which has been there since at least April to my knowledge. It has the actual text (hard to read, consisting of the amendments), the consolidated text (much easier, being the treaties as amended), and the text of the Charter.

This is the annotated consolidated version, which shows the text as amended, as well what text has been amended (ie you can see the previous text and the new text side by side).

cordially,
    Scofflaw

sink wrote: »
    If it's so incomprehensible, how can I read it and understand it? What's incomprehensible is the asinine gibberish you've been spouting. Particularly this comment.

The consolidated treaties as amended by Lisbon ARE THE RESULT of the Lisbon treaty, you have to be feckin thick to not pay attention to the consolidated treaties, they are the only thing that matters.

A poll commissioned by the Department of Foreign Affairs and conducted the month after the referendum indicated that:

The main reason for abstaining in this referendum was lack of understanding/knowledge (46%), which is far in excess of any other voluntary or circumstantial reason given for not voting.

The main reason cited for voting No was ‘lack of knowledge/information/ understanding’ at 42%. There can be little doubt that this emerged as the primary reason for people voting No.

http://www.dfa.ie/uploads/documents/Publications/Post%20Lisbon%20Treaty%20Referendum%20Research%20Findings/post%20lisbon%20treaty%20referendum%20research%20findings_sept08.pdf

A total of 752,451 people voted in favour of the treaty and 862,415 voted against. Turnout was 53%.

Combining this with the opinion poll result we can conclude that 658,743 voters abstained and 362,143 voted "No" because they didn't understand what they were being asked to vote on. (The typical margin of error in these polls is plus or minus 3 percentage points.)

The text of the consolidated treaties was published on 15/04/08, almost two months before the referendum. Apparently, either these million odd voters did not find it informative enough, or they were too feckin' thick to pay attention to it. (And of course, on his own admission, the Taoiseach is among the voters who didn't read the Treaty in its entirety.)

Either way, the proposition that the consolidated text has resolved or can resolve the problem of public understanding of the Lisbon treaty is clearly shown to be false by these poll results.

UPDATE: Actually, I see the Institute of International and European Affairs published the consolidated text on 14/02/08 - four months before the referendum!