Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax official held in car scam probe

• 12-12-2007 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭

Guys who do you think it is?

Detectives believed to be probing a top-of-the-range car scam arrested a tax official and seized dozens of luxury vehicles, it emerged tonight.

Officers from the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB), which targets organised crime, took part in the operation, which included raids on 30 houses and offices in Dublin.

A handgun and documents were also found in the dawn swoop.

The man in his 50s was arrested in Finglas, an area in north Dublin, and is detained at Blanchardstown Garda Station under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

It is understood the cars involved included Bentleys, Range Rovers and Mercedes imported into Ireland.

The arrest was made under Operation Tie which is targeting general criminal activity and revenue irregularities.

A Garda spokesman said: “Between 6am and 9am this morning officers engaged in Operation Tie searched a total of 30 premises which included private houses, business premises and professional offices.

“A quantity of documentation was seized during the course of these searches, along with a number of vehicles and a 9mm handgun.”

Gardaí said Operation Tie, which was established in March, is ongoing.

I have a feeling its Sports and Classic as they are based in a warehouse in the Blanch direction.

What are your thoughts about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

meh thats nothing , guns cars... wait till someone finally refuse s a bribe from Bertie Ahern... then we have something interesting to talk about.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

beat me to it.

Madness...It's someone at senior grade, probably secretary or higher if they were able to get away with it this long and if they've been there 30 years!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

Yeah sure fair play to them, the whole car tax thing is a joke in this county, wer`re already paying through the nose and now they up it even more with this emissions stuff and also a 10% rise on currently taxed cars, while at the same time petrol is rising and out of Dublin roads are left in a crap state.

Would you blame them for dodgein a bit of tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

ninty9er wrote: »
    beat me to it.

Madness...It's someone at senior grade, probably secretary or higher if they were able to get away with it this long and if they've been there 30 years!!

Well the tax guy is screwed and also i wonder who the garages are?

It must be a top garage with mercs, Bentley's etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yes! Cos they ain't passing the savings on to us ya dope! :p Its dealers not individuals involved with this scam.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055199923

Mike.

Nuttzy wrote: »
    Yeah sure fair play to them, the whole car tax thing is a joke in this county, wer`re already paying through the nose and now they up it even more with this emissions stuff and also a 10% rise on currently taxed cars, while at the same time petrol is rising and out of Dublin roads are left in a crap state.

Read my post carefully :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭junkyard

It seems to me that everyone is scamming in this country from the top down and if your not your a feckin idiot. That shower in FF are certainly leading the way, if standards get any lower this place is going to turn into a war zone ffs.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

drdre wrote: »
    Read my post carefully :)

Yeah, i read your littte thread and i said vrt dodging is worth a shot from anyone, be they a dealer or an individual. If the vrt wasnt such a ridiculous amount of money people wouldnt be scamming it as it wouldnt be worth their while.

Its no worse than Bertie scamming and bribing and giving himself and his useless mates massive payrises that vrt probably pays.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

T' is like Sicily, really ...except for the weather :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

junkyard wrote: »
    It seems to me that everyone is scamming in this country from the top down and if your not your a feckin idiot. That shower in FF are certainly leading the way, if standards get any lower this place is going to turn into a war zone ffs.:rolleyes:
    Yup, never truer words spoken.

Just found out who it was.

Its lee Cullen auto link who also own Exclusive cars in Saggart and buy and sell cars together with Sports and Classic.

He chauffeured Katy French around and the investigation is also in connection with drug dealing.Now they are seriously fecked. :)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/raid-on-katy-driver-firm-1245164.html

OMG Check out the stock these guys have

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Search&MaxRows=100&BusinessID=2240

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

On a side note

How's this for depreciation?
    46. Rolls-Royce Phantom Saloon Saloon Dublin 2007 €550,000
    47. Rolls-Royce Phantom Saloon Saloon Dublin 30,000 2004 €392,500

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Earth Worm Jim

The stock these guys HAD!

Most of them were spoted head for the customs impound yard, with a cop escort - EVOs and Imprezas pissing up the M50 with the boys in blue leading the way. I'm sure they were loving it.

These guys didnt have evo's and impreza, That must be something else.These guys have phantoms, hummer, hummer limo,flying spur, aston martins etc.

I wonder where the money for these cars came from :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Car rental companies are using a bit of a vrt dodge also. They dont pay vrt until the car is sold after being rented for a year or two. The use this to get expensive company compay cars for management and pretending they are being rented. I know of one company who filled in rental records claiming a Merc SL500 was a rental car but really it was only used by the company owner.

I wonder where the money for these cars came from :rolleyes:
    You mean you have to ask? Down my way it's easier to get illigal substances after 11 at night than it is to get a loaf of bread ffs, this country is going down the tubes fast.:rolleyes:

Car rental companies are using a bit of a vrt dodge also. They dont pay vrt until the car is sold after being rented for a year or two. The use this to get expensive company compay cars for management and pretending they are being rented. I know of one company who filled in rental records claiming a Merc SL500 was a rental car but really it was only used by the company owner.

Thanks for that "hint of the day". I feel a book coming on, "How to succeed in modern Ireland.........the scammers guide", introduced by Mr B Ahern.;)

junkyard wrote: »
    You mean you have to ask? Down my way it's easier to get illigal substances after 11 at night than it is to get a loaf of bread ffs, this country is going down the tubes fast.:rolleyes:

Yes it is going down the tubes, I would seriously agree with you. These criminals/money launderers/drug dealers need to be put off our streets quickly.

How do you put it on irish plates then.How does this work?

Dunno the details but they defo dont pay the full amount that a normal customer would have to. They would be buying ex-vat to start with so that could be it. Dont understand vrt; for example, i will be picking up an english import van at the weekend and the english dealer has given me the irish reg for it and told me its in my name. But its still in the uk, didnt think they could do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Indeed, I would love to know how they registered the cars in the first place.

Dunno the details but they defo dont pay the full amount that a normal customer would have to. They would be buying ex-vat to start with so that could be it. Dont understand vrt; for example, i will be picking up an english import van at the weekend and the english dealer has given me the irish reg for it and told me its in my name. But its still in the uk, didnt think they could do that

What, How is he doing that , What van is it?

A Transit, revenue told me they needed to inspect it before they gave out a number. Maybe it was one of the last jobs that dodgy tax official did!

They do have to give you the number here, Ring the dealer to confirm.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,242 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Yes it is going down the tubes, I would seriously agree with you. These criminals/money launderers/drug dealers need to be put off our streets quickly.

More speed cameras should sort it out.

Tauren wrote: »
    More speed cameras should sort it out.

:mad: , I hate the word speed cameras, Its a money making scam by the governmetn and private companies

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

There is a bona fide VRT relief scheme for car rental co's, to enable them more easily finance stock during peak periods of demand.

The VRT must be paid when the vehicle comes off the rental fleet however.

A Merc 500? Sounds like someone is taking the mick tbh.

There is a bona dide VRT relief scheme for car rental co's, to enable them more easily finance stock during peak periods of demand.

The VRT must be paid when the vehicle comes off the rental fleet however.

A Merc 500? Sounds like someone is taking the mick tbh.

Do you have more info on that car rental tax (vrt) relief scheme? I just want to look into it and see how it works

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

I wonder will they be going for a song now :)