Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

Saw Mountain Rescue in Wicklow last weekend. Full blues and really bright headlamp strobes. Had an 11 WW plate, so not an official state vehicle. Would this be legit use of blues and twos?

Doesn't have to be a state vehicle to have blues/sirens.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Parapara2017

Also doesn't matter if it's a ww reg?

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Stephen Strange

Saw Mountain Rescue in Wicklow last weekend. Full blues and really bright headlamp strobes. Had an 11 WW plate, so not an official state vehicle. Would this be legit use of blues and twos?

I believe Dublin/Wicklow Mountain Rescue are registered with PHECC as an ambulance service, so probably using blue lights under that section of blue light regs.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Here is a bit of a strange one. I was heading into the Swords Pavilions carpark a week or so ago and a rather large dash mounted light on a 3 series caught my eye as it was leaving the carpark. I looked back on my dashcam later to take an image, but does anybody want to hazard a guess as to why it's there?

504061.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

What’s the reg? Put it into here, and if it returns a figure for motor tax it’s not a Garda/state owned car

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/motortaxreg.do

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Looks like 191D24643 and it is taxed privately. Initial thoughts were that it was a state car but they usually opt for 7 series ( Leo currently has a 7 series )

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Doctor car maybe?

Or Fire Officer. Or it could be amber.

That's UK 101 number on side.

Got some smack up the hole.....

That's UK 101 number on side.

Got some smack up the hole.....

Lead vehicle in a tpac manoeuvre seems likely!

From that damage I'd say it was stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,432 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Ah it'll buff out ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

And suspect placed nicely into rear seat of 5 series :pac:

That smashed up BM is an X5 hard to make out at the angle of the car, as stated already on the other thread.

They have around the 300hp mark, would love one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Those Land Cruisers look class with the hidden blue lights at the bottom foot well.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

That Landcruiser must be getting on a bit now! What is it, 2006?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

That Landcruiser must be getting on a bit now! What is it, 2006?

They go to 500k before they grounded

POGAN wrote: »
    They go to 500k before they grounded

What will the Hyundai go to?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

What will the Hyundai go to?

F**K ALL!!! :D:D:D

Seen silver one at Harcourt and rear bumper is split all the way down from the boot cut line down through where the reflector should be....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Those Land cruisers will be around for a long time yet, they'd do very little patrol work and would only be driven for special operations, such as that one.
    I see Traffic don't seem to have many of them left. I spotted one on the Nass Road a few weeks back.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Parapara2017

Sure NAS still has pre 2000 Isuzus operational, plenty of.life in her yet! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭d51984

Theres 5 brand new white mondeos up in Clonshaugh, (the place that kits out and marks the cars). Now it doesnt mean there for the Guards as they do work for all emergency services.

Ill keep an eye out keep an eye out on who they are for.

Its a disgrace Joe!

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭EI321

The convoy for William and Kate drove by me yesterday:

1x 191 reg BMW x5
    1x 201 reg BMW x5
    1x 192 reg BMW x7
    1x 161 reg Range Rover
    Several older garda Pajero, 5 series, i40 and garda bikes

The range rover is definitely armored and presumably owned by UK royalty or security services, not sure about the BMWs.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 mpc

EI321 wrote: »
    The convoy for William and Kate drove by me yesterday:

1x 191 reg BMW x5
    1x 201 reg BMW x5
    1x 192 reg BMW x7
    1x 161 reg Range Rover
    Several older garda Pajero, 5 series, i40 and garda bikes

The range rover is definitely armored and presumably owned by UK royalty or security services, not sure about the BMWs.

The BMW's are most likely to be from BMW Ireland and the RR from JLR UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭kooga

mpc wrote: »
    The BMW's are most likely to be from BMW Ireland and the RR from JLR UK.
    when the queen came in 2011 the bmw's were 550i lhd armoured

Are the M5 still on storage?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

210 Hire in’s coming.

Ssssh tell the rental company it’ll just be for their mother to drive to the shops and to mass. Be grand!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭d51984

Any idea what they are? Marked or unmarkd?

Its a disgrace Joe!