Farmer Ed wrote: » Rangler if you had read previous posts you will know I didn't sign it. But farmers as a group are increasingly unhappy that they did. Fact. Ifa heavely promoted MSA's. Fact 2 I have always been apposed to them.. Now considering Ifa are now saying that contracts are not such a good thing.youd imagine they might actually try and do something about it as people locked in to them are getting paid less for their milk than those of us who are free to move? I believe they may need the services of some legal people to deal with the repercussions of the departure of your much admired former general secretary anyway.
JD115m wrote: » The funny thing is that milk prices haven't come down in the shop even though there is such an oversupply. The farmer takes the hit while at the moment Glanbia is making more money than ever and encouraged everybody to increase supply just to feed Belview. Know a lorry driver who said that there was delays of 3 hrs there and it hadn't even ran at full supply. That's EFFICIENT
kowtow wrote: » What I am really surprised at, given the serious & restrictive & sometimes enduring nature of some of the MSA's - is that co-ops didn't pay a contribution (250 perhaps) from funds to every producer in order to ensure that they received independent legal advice before signing. Nowadays that is a pretty standard step in many serious contracts, including those which terminate employment or restrict future employment, and it would have helped the processor in making sure they had a rock solid agreement. That is the sort of thing the IFA and others should have been arguing to put in place at the time rather than waving from the sidelines.
rangler1 wrote: Are you for real and maybe coop organise a taxi into town for them.....Dairy commitee would have enough going on at home not to be worrying about whose going to pay farmers to get advice. Poor ould drystock farmers get shag all
kowtow wrote: » If that sort of glib, cavalier approach to something as serious as MSAs is in any way typical of the IFA then they are not just useless, but a danger to those they represent.
Water John wrote: » I did read that Farmer Ed said he had not signed the Dairygold MSA. Not much use for anyone posting a rant, not having read the thread. The Bellview and Mallow plants are in effect in geographical terms competing for the one milk supply. Both plants cannot run full at the same time. Michael Keane forecast that two 7.5 ton/hr dryers would cater for all the expansion in the country. These two provide that without taking into account all the other plant put in by other processors. Will both plants survive or will both run very inefficiently and for part of the year? These facts impact directly on milk price. Is the 2 cent, the loan is being offered for, being diverted into excess plant both in Glanbia and the 2 cent that Dairygold are off the mark to their suppliers?
rangler1 wrote: » I have always told farmers to get independent advice, everyone tries to get the best deal but it's never utopia, so the farmer has to take responsibility if he decides to agree and not throw blame round like snuff at a wake. I was involved in the road deal and wind farm and never saw a farmer that wasn't capable of looking after themselves or forced to sign anything. Doesn't matter to me what the issue is, I know all farmers were told to get advice, i don't think you're as helpless as you're making yourselves out to be
kowtow wrote: » Well actually they are only letting farmers borrow half of it to help pay the fert bills. The other half they are just keeping, for working capital (i.e. salaries). More importantly, should the value of Glanbia shares (i.e. plc shares) suddenly rocket, the lenders will be able to excersise the conversion and take the shares instead of the money. This will save money as they won't need to pay consultants to help them give them back to the farmers.
cson wrote: Remember; our most successful football under AW was primarily counter attacking relying on quick transitions via the guile of Pires/Bergkamp and the pace of Henry/Ljungberg.
Water John wrote: » Sorry Waffle, I need that in plainer english. I must have a low IQ.
kevthegaff wrote: » Bottom line, farmers did make a mistake signing msa but from fear of a 1 cent penalty, also price/future looked good at the time. I disagreed at the time myself but as I'm not a supplier for the big two it was irrelevant for me.. The more I read about the IFA,Minister of Ag you'd wonder is even our representatives on our side... in fairness farmer ed/John are going against the grain so to speak, maybe it's what we need on our boards.
Water John wrote: » So the choice was, spending about €70M at a brownfield site. Instead we have spent €83.5M in Mallow and €155M, I think in Bellview. That's €168.5M wasted, basically.
Waffletraktor wrote: Is that all legal or is the farmer accepting the loan saying, yep grand fire away. Or is it as per usual in legal matters the one with the better brief(more money!!) wins. Little miss chief got very upset when telling the 2 firms she is working for she would need another year and they really didn't like that. The big boss has an accountancy and legal firm on a retainer for stuff and very nicely got one of the main men to look at her contract and wrote them a letter that quickly got them to agree to the compromise she had tabled.
kowtow wrote: » I have often heard similar said, but I have also been told by co-ops that this is not the case - do you happen to have a link to whatever law / regulation obliges them? Would be very interested...
atlantic mist wrote: » Coop organising taxi's well its not far off the truth....if memory serves me right they organise buses to bring us to share spin out..and home again after...were all about economies of scale in the dairy business:) how many suppliers/coop member received any information on loan before pr campaign, im finding it all out from media outlets:mad: only newly joined member, do we not vote on large financial issues like this or does board have complete decision making power, have not received a thing since joined
Water John wrote: Kowtow, this bond issue is above my economic/banking norm. I would have thought though that an EGM would have to be had. Does simply Board approval cover all financial transactions bar sale?
Water John wrote: » Kowtow, this bond issue is above my economic/banking norm. I would have thought though that an EGM would have to be had. Does simply Board approval cover all financial transactions bar sale? Sorry Ed, getting confused yes Keane's figure was for a lot less for a brownfield site. Makes the waste a lot worse. I think you can put any figure you like on the true Mallow cost. You'll never get the full figures on it any way. According to Irish Examiner today Dairygold claim to have spent €200M in 2 years on expansion!! Either that's a misprint or Pat Keating, Dairygold's PR mouthpiece, is totally losing the run of himself. Or, shock horror, its true.
jaymla627 wrote: » Glanbia literally had us by the balls when i eventually relented in the spring of 2015, tried switching processor for the previous 9 months before that but a gentlemans agreement ment my only other option to switch wouldnt entertain us, and kept fobbing us off despite all the phonecalls and different people i was passed around too..... It was my superlevy fine that ment i had to sign i simply wasnt in a position to pay it off at the time, so had to spread it out for the four years, which ment of course i had to sign a msa, was a masterstroke on glanbias part getting this scheme implemented through them, it couldnt of been that difficult that the revenue service where tasked with collecting this money instead of making farmers basically sign away their production rights, this is where farm organisations like the ifa let lads down
mahoney_j wrote: » Don't know ur location jay but u had at least 3 options if u wanted out ,Arrabawn ,dairygold and strathroy for 3 they took in and list suppliers .as for not been able to move because of levy ,incorrect .if u moved levy moved with u .i know this from the Arrabawn /dsirygold/Glanbia shenigans
kowtow wrote: Why doesn't someone phone the switchboard and ask them what they need 45 million for all of a sudden?