eisenberg1 wrote: » About a third of the way through "The Butcher Boy", excellent so far.
Howard the Duck wrote: » Reading "Mr Nice" by Howard Marks. Enjoyable so far but hard enough to keep track of all the names of his friends and contacts. McCann is hilarious though.
eisenberg1 wrote: » Interesting read, terrible film though.
Howard the Duck wrote: » Ah no really? never seen it was gonna give it a go.
FunLover18 wrote: » I've just started I Am Pilgrim after several people recommended it, it's told from the first person perspective which was grand for the first few chapters but then it flashes back in time. I don't think the author is familiar with the phrase 'Show, don't tell', I'm finding it incredibly tedious and if it keeps up like this I may put it back on the shelf.
byte wrote: » Started reading "A Decent Ride" by Irvine Welsh. So far, so good. Hopefully a return to form, away from the poor "The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins."
Spanish Eyes wrote: » OK well I started I am Pilgrim on the plane to me holliers in March. Great stuff, pacy, entertaining. Three days into the break and once the vials scene emerged with the Terrorist, I thought, feck this, it's over now, too predictable. That was a good bit in and I haven't picked it up since. In fairness, it was an easy read for holliers if you get me, did not have to think about it too much, just went with the flow. I think I will have to finish it to find out how the world was not infected with a virulent strain of smallpox in the end. LOL.
pavb2 wrote: » A shame because I am Pilgrim had the potential to be a good book but there were too many coincidences and it did stretch credibility at times.
melissak wrote: » I used to like ervine welsh but i have gone off him. Is this one any good?