kneemos wrote: » Probably not the police leaving half their tyres inbedded in every roadway in the country. Don't get the logic in spending thousands on a ****box to make it virtually undriveable.Whatever blows your trumpet I suppose.
lawlolawl wrote: » Not too many gardai ending up "tragically" wrapped around a telephone pole with 4 buddies in the car at 3 in the morning either.
Wibbs wrote: » Precious few "boy racers" end up wrapped around telephone poles either. If you look at the stats most of those late night crash fatalities are single drivers, usually male, in very average cars. Speed, lack of sleep, drink taken and carelessness the usual culprits(along with some "suicide by accident" examples). The "boy racer" thing is mostly a meme promoted by the RSA and Joe Duffy acolytes. Yes the drifting morons on the public roads should be hung up by their organs of generation, but most young lads(and lasses) into cars spend a lot of their hard earned on them and don't relish the thoughts of wrecking said cars.
kneemos wrote: » Don't see them racing because if they go over even a tiny bump at more than 30kph they'll break their spine. Must be an awful lot of of morons about judging by the state of the roads.The "documentary"on "car enthusiasts"on RTE a while back seemed to consist of little else other than spinning wheels and making doughnuts.
colm_mcm wrote: » To be fair, those idiots aren't really representative of most people that drive non standard cars. for example, on the Motors forum, where a lot of posters have modified cars the negative reaction to that programme was unanimous. Most modified cars in Ireland are front wheel drive, which means they cant do donuts either way, so the association between modifying your car and doing rings at a crossroads isn't a sure thing. My local McDonalds often has 2 or 3 cars parked together where the owners are just chatting, some of the cars are a bit tasteless fair enough, but I reckon in most cases you have young guys who mightn't be very social in the traditional sense, whose circle of friends come about through car ownership - and they're hanging out having the craic in the same way that you might when you're going to the pub on a Saturday watching a match, where your common ground is an interest in sport.
armaghlad wrote: » Each to their own but I admire some so called boy racers. It's amazing to think that Toyota twin cams can go for £15k+ when about 10 years ago they were worth £3k and below (I reckon the Lexus IS200 will go the same way). My locality isn't too bad for "boy racers", and they're more into German cars like A4s, Golfs, Jettas/Boras, 3 series etc rather than anything noisy and Japanese. Still one or two coupes lurking about which I always like to see!
osarusan wrote: » If you drive from Ennis to Kilrush or Kilkee, you'll see loads of tyre-mark doughnuts on the road where they've been doing their late-night thing. How many times do you have to spin round in a circle before you get bored of it?
MRnotlob606 wrote: » Boy Racers are of much intellectual depth and provide us with a detailed analysis of how a neanderthal might behave in a globalized,cosmopolitan world.
lawlolawl wrote: » People paying way over the odds for some auld hape with some tacky tat bolted to it isn't admirable, it's idiotic.
eeguy wrote: » Each to their own. I just dropped a grand on a PC.
Colser wrote: » I'd rather share the road with a thousand "Boy racers" rather than one cyclist any day of the week.
lawlolawl wrote: » Was it from the mid nineties and have you glued a bunch of pointless **** to it?
fryup wrote: » when they're not looking...stick a banana up their tailpipe
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Real old man stink off this thread
Wibbs wrote: » If someone isn't an enthusiast of something, they must be a boring fart to say the least.