swiwi_ wrote: » It's a dentist's wetdream. That's all I'm saying. NB: when did you last go the dentist
swiwi_ wrote: » irishbucsfan wrote: » These foreigners come to our country, insult our women, and then feck off to the next place. Ya bleedin mercenary It's a dentist's wetdream. That's all I'm saying. NB: when did you last go the dentist
irishbucsfan wrote: » These foreigners come to our country, insult our women, and then feck off to the next place. Ya bleedin mercenary
swiwi_ wrote: » Trust me TMO, if you have cancer, you definitely want at least the initial diagnosis and treatment plan made in a university hospital. There're plenty of figures showing better treatment outcomes. But afterwards, I agree that Tx should be able to take place locally. And OK, so you brush and floss well. My compliments.
swiwi_ wrote: » Anyway I remember staring at Shane Ross' election posters in Dundrum, and thinking those teeth are mustard coloured buddy.
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » The point is they should have the facilities in the NW. They say the population is too small to justify it but there's an extraordinarily high percentage of people in the NW, Donegal in particular, who have cancer. I don't want to sound like I wear a tinfoil hat but people talk about the sheep up there showing sings of radiation from Chernobyl, it's not too far off the map to think it could have impacted in other ways too.
Buer wrote: » They should but it's not realistic. There's a pot of money and Donegal simply cannot justify such a specialised facility. The statistics don't support the claim that Donegal has even above average percentage of people who have cancer.http://www.ncri.ie/sites/ncri/files/maps/All%20Invasive%201994-2013.jpg Whilst a treatment facility should absolutely be available within 1 hour of everyone in the country, it's not going to happen in my lifetime. I'll leave the welfare of the sheep to someone more agriculturally minded!
irishbucsfan wrote: » Jaysus the 6 counties are doing well on that map, fair play.
Synode wrote: » Yeah but water charges are directly forcing people to open their wallets. People care more about that than they do about other people having to get busses for cancer treatment. At least until something like that directly affects themself. Irish people just don't have a sense for the bigger picture
CatFromHue wrote: » The USC was at a time when our country was falling apart right in front of our eyes so was easier to stomach.
CatFromHue wrote: » the defence and reason of the water charges has been pathetic at best. from what I saw the non TD's put up the best reasoning, Colm McCarthy and some lad from a water discussion group. to me it's a no brainer of a charge
errlloyd wrote: » The difference between usc and water chargers is one is a flat rate and one is a percentage of income. Michael O Leary and I pay the same water tax. We pay vastly different USC.
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » Water rates shouldn't be flat rate though.
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » I'd have been far more inclined to vote for a party that said they wanted to get rid of property tax or USC than one promising to do the impossible with the water. Anyway... getting a bit too political now. So..... cats?
Buer wrote: » The funny thing is, abolishing the USC is far more unlikely than water. The tax revenue take in 2015 was €46.5bn. USC brings in around €4bn. It's simply not feasible to discard with the USC now without years of planning. Our economy would be plunged into crisis overnight if we lost 10% of our tax revenue.
irishbucsfan wrote: » Water charges are based on consumption, or should be! USC is not.
errlloyd wrote: » I agree completely. It should be metered, that's the point. Even if it was though it'd still be a tax that his low income earners harder (proportionally) than usc. At the moment water is paid for out of the exchequer, which basically means 10 percent of the population pay 80 of it and 50 percent pay almost nothing. By changing it to water metres they're massively shifting the cost for water from weathier families to poorer ones. The reason why middle class people are cool with water chargers is becuase if you're a high earner paying for them this way effectively saves you money (assuming the extra revenue comes back to you in the shape of the usc cut everyone is so fond of suggesting).