Links234 wrote: » It had so much more character as well, the site today feels so much more sterile and Facebook-lite. But yeah, comparing it to Reddit's front page, where you've got a list of subs running all across the top bar, you've got trending subreddits, basically loads of stuff thrown at you. It's messy and nowhere near as neat looking as boards is now, but so much more available to you straight off the bat, it's all right there for you.
intheclouds wrote: » Ah lads, why cant we just go back to this - so much info on screen! No ads!https://web.archive.org/web/20110505195603/http://www.boards.ie/
Bambi wrote: » You've had that in both directions in various forums though. The one thing that did my head in was the degree to which mods could work their own personal hobby horses and neuroses into charters and modding. Like one loon of a mod who was handing out bans for strong language because they did not approve of such The same forum where one poster was given the run of the place and then later convicted in court of the very thing they had spent all their time crusading against. I reckon people should be limited in the amount forums or categories that they can mod. In general there's a tendency for neurotic busy bodies to be promoted to mod and then they quickly rack up the amount of area's they're managing.
weisses wrote: » What worries me is the consensus between (long) term users cmod's and mods in regards to how boards is being run into the ground
Calhoun wrote: » For me the writing was on the wall when boards not only became more liberal but was allowed to be used as a platform for change by certain political viewpoints. I remember it got so bad at one stage we had a category moderator reacting to the general online community outside of boards and was trying to enforce a viewpoint to curb behavior that didn't exist, the good posters of boards were being punished for the sins of another community. The worst part of it is when you are so focused on a certain political viewpoint the group think sinks in and anyone with an opposing view is either branded a loon or out and out banned. So yes while the site layout maybe at fault I believe picking and choosing community volunteers who are not neutral on matters also has a big part to play.
Wibbs wrote: » There's also a wider societal shift, a greater sense of polarisation on a few matters. More matters have turned into serious bizness in that time. In say 2008 who had heard of say MRA's, or SJW's or Safe Spaces, or Rape Culture, or Virtue signalling or Triggering to any great degree? None of that was mainstream and/or on Boards. You had to dig pretty deep on the interwebs to find it and it was usually full on loons who were spouting such. Sure we always had the Right on and the Right, by dint of the age and background demographic, but even there not to the same degree as today. I think that polarisation has led to less of a community spirit too. And there's eff all we can do about that.
_Tombstone_ wrote: » What good are they when no one listens?
Theirs nothing new in this thread that hasn't been mentioned in all the other ones...you'll lock this tomorrow or the next day and sign off with "Lots here to take in....Talk about it behind the scenes...we'll get back to ya" Never to be heard from again.
I've gotten the same sort of hassle from Mods all over the site - only place I haven't is in Astronomy & Space...I've 97 Threads there...half of them talking to myself unfortunately (give up now) but looking...one mod hasn't posted in there in 3 years and the other is nearly a year so that's probably why....they shouldn't be Mods either, if you've no interest in the Topic then why are you modding it long term?
Anyway, that's some of my reasons for going elsewhere lately or doing anything else other than coming here but for the habit of coming here.
Wibbs wrote: » The usual response is that vbulletin isn't fit for purpose under the bonnet and doesn't work for as big a site as Boards.ie. OK but I have two problems with that. I'm a member on a few that run the same software and they're running along fine. Watchuseek has half the members of Boards and a third of the posts but it's still a big site and it's growing. Even though it can be slow to load. That doesn't put people off. Hondatech has the same number of members(and no close account option) has ten million more posts, a crapload of forums and it's running fine on vB. There is a I believe a Doyouevenliftbro forum that is ginormous, much bigger than Boards and again using vB.
Wibbs wrote: » Secondly. OK let's agree vB is pure shíte, so why not put all the efforts into rebuilding the "engine" while leaving the look and feel alone? That's not going to alienate anybody, plus has the lovely bonus of having the possibility of extra quid coming Board's way if it can provide a better vB engine. You could sell that to other forum owners who feel that vB needs more.
smash wrote: » The relevance of boards solely depends on the ever dwindling user base, which is what the owners need to concentrate on keeping and growing. Removing access to forums and replacing this access with the promotion of 'talk to' is just plain nonsense. Businesses already have FB pages, Twitter accounts and live chats. I can see them jumping off boards sooner rather than later. Especially with the userbase dropping. The new design alienates existing users and forum access!
_Tombstone_ wrote: » Theirs nothing new in this thread that hasn't been mentioned in all the other ones...you'll lock this tomorrow or the next day and sign off with "Lots here to take in....Talk about it behind the scenes...we'll get back to ya" Never to be heard from again.
I'm amazed we haven't had some version of "Why are you posting if you don't like it so?" in here yet from some Mod or Admin, the usual dribble that comes out of one of ye in these Threads...rather than like do your Job and listen to the Feedback.
That's actually a big problem here, their's lots of Mods who want to be seen to be Mods but that's it. If you can manage to get a reply outta some of them (if needs be) it's a how quick can i respond to this eejit and get rid of him response.
One particularly memorably time in one of the Tech Forums, I had a Thread about Android phones deleted for being Spam, I was like so I PM'ed Mod and it turned out he hadn't even read it at all. "It looked spammy" and I was relatively new on site so he just deleted it. And he wasn't undeleting it. Presumably cuz he'd then look like a silly head.
only place I haven't is in Astronomy & Space...I've 97 Threads there...half of them talking to myself unfortunately (give up now)
LizT wrote: » The category reorganisation has spoiled boards for me. I used to love going to the front page and finding random threads in forums I didn't know existed. Now I pretty much stick to my subscribed threads and forums and rarely venture outside them.
Something that could be driving users away is the perceived lack of response to feedback. For example, with any recent redesigns all we've been told is 'we're moving away from vbulletin, it has to be done.' That's fine but I don't think we've been told why we have to completely change the look of the whole site?
I know they did some testing with people who haven't used boards before and the feedback was that they found it nearly impossible to use.
I don't know how the new site could be an improvement, you've lost nearly half the content that used to be displayed in one page. I can't be arsed with the new 'topics', it's takes twice the amount of time to get to where you want to go on the site now. That's not creating an easier browsing experience.
kneemos wrote: » Moderated into oblivion imo.
Myrddin wrote: » @Permabear, some good points there
smash wrote: » I'm subscribed to 9 forums. Over the last 5 hours there's been only 35 threads updated from those 9 forums. That says a lot for how slow the site is going with user interaction.
Baldy Conscience wrote: » Many people have stated this, but it's being ignored. Used to be that I'd hover over (for example) "Science" and then the drop down would come, and I'd see the list of "sciency" topics and go into them one by one. I literally never do that any more, because nothing happens automatically any more. It's effort. I've no particular interest in any of the science topics at all, so I don't make the effort to go into them. But "The Office" either don't understand the issue there, or are of the opinion that there is a huge horde of people just waiting for a major site redesign before actually posting. How many different "betas" have we seen in the last couple of years? Has the posting base increased or decreased?