limo_100 wrote: » see I'm the opposite i'v used a lot of ai this year will use a bit more I plan on cleaning up when they all cop on they have no 5star heifers i'll be there for the bidding wars that have already started by the way in the midlands
blue5000 wrote: » The recorded sire might have been wrong, and now they have found it with the dna not matching ? So she is the same as a cow with an unknown sire. Jasus lads we'll have to up our game if we want to fool the system now:eek: Fook em definitely not using ai this year now.
Limestone Cowboy wrote: » Ya I know what happened alright, feck all good to me though!
blue5000 wrote: » Will there be anybody left to sell them to? One 4 star and one 5 star maternal bull in the yard here, I was thinking of using BB ai for a few terminal cattle on the poorer BAx cows. What bull were you using?
blue5000 wrote: » Had a quick look and everything I looked at all that has changed is the date, anybody else find any changes?
patsy_mccabe wrote: » Yep, they just rubbed out the date and scribbled in a new one.
limo_100 wrote: » well your not to bad so our bull is only two stars, i have being using 3breeds ch lm si I have 19 bulled so far I have used in ch FSZ, LZF, and GEZ Lm Zch, Zag, and in si I used Kez and Is4
Canaryblue wrote: » Are you using these 3 Charolais bulls to breed 4 and 5 star heifers? Its just I wouldn't be at all surprised if FSZ's replacement index turned out to be crap.
blue5000 wrote: » Genotype her yourself this year, you might find her sire if he was genotyped, worst case scenario the genotyping should give her a few stars anyway.
limo_100 wrote: » Canaryblue wrote: » Are you using these 3 Charolais bulls to breed 4 and 5 star heifers? Its just I wouldn't be at all surprised if FSZ's replacement index turned out to be crap. I'm putting FSZ on to see what all the buzz is about and I put him on cows i'm not happy with so I can run them through a ring and the shapely FSZ will put hands in the air, I,v heard from a few the fiston daughters have lots of milk its there calving difficulty that could be an issue and Im hoping that the other two hold up the only reason I used the is because there is suppose to be milking Lzf and Gez and there is not one ch bull with a proven replacement index I was going to use the new bull HHJ but the AI didn't stock him yet
Canaryblue wrote: » If LZF takes after his sire then he should breed milk, however Indurain (Dams sire) had feck all milk. Think HHJ should be a great bull, both his sire Vittoz and his dams sire Artois are performance tested in France, each have over 10,000 calves recorded. We've two purebred cows in calf to Vittoz, the first is due in June.
bogman_bass wrote: » Not a hope of that happening. The computing power required would be massive
Bellview wrote: » ..... Some breeds were seeing large declines in value v Dec. The Lim for example out of approx. 550 bulls, 300 are showing a decline since dec 15....
Bellview wrote: » depending on the metric FSZ has increased... depending on the one used he varies from 95 to 139.. Dec he was 100
patsy_mccabe wrote: » Would that not be right though. On the law of averages, half should go up, half should go down.
blue5000 wrote: » Tell us more Bellview, sounds like we'll all be dead and buried before we have a herd of 5 star cows
patsy_mccabe wrote: » Bellview, are you linked in some way to a breeding society?
Bellview wrote: » once icbf won't be the cause of it.. what my birdie tells me is Angus have scored wel... of the 400 odd bulls, less than 20 have declined in april. ZLL took a big drop but he is coming off a high numbers.
Kovu wrote: I'll soon be ready to believe the conspiracy theory that this whole scheme is to get us using non-continental breeds, leaving nice sized animals at the other end for the factories that can market them as He or AA beef.