SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Do gunmen not usually know exactly who rhey are going after?
Jayop wrote: » Should minimum sentencing be introduced?
Bam Bam Mickey wrote: » Yeah, usually runners wear runners! It would be equally strange if they reported a man in brogues or doc martens was Seen running away!
Jayop wrote: » Yet again the farcical drugs laws in this country (and most others) puts normal people who just want to smoke a bit of weed in harms way. Sort the drugs laws in Ireland and put the likes of these gangs completely out of business.
Bam Bam Mickey wrote: » Hired ones probably get a description and a location! Over here your typical professional hit man is another scumbag in a hoodie
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Specifically for gangland related activity, yes. I know people will point to the US as an example of a disastrous implementation, but their system applies to a whole range of stuff which should be left at the discretion of judges - personal drug use, non payment of fines, consensual sex between teens, underage drinking etc etc etc. The horror stories you hear regarding "three strikes" life sentences generally involve unbelievably petty crimes, and are rightly condemned. It's not the same when somebody has been involved with criminal gangs since their teens and shows absolutely no signs whatsoever of ever developing empathy for their fellow humans. Those people need to be locked up for long enough for the Gardai to get a handle on things, so that when they are released, they are released into an environment in which it is impossible for them to operate without getting caught.
Ronin247 wrote: » We keep on talking about the " scumbags " and drug dealers but the real problem with this country is the amount of lawyers. ... they are the real scumbags in my opinion . It suits lawyers and judges to have a revolving door of criminals in and out of courts getting untold millions in legal aid spent propping up their companies. The legal eagles ( lawyers ) in the state departments draft laws, which the legal profession ( lawyers ) use to get their clients off or at worst case get the judges ( ex lawyers ) to suspend a sentence. No one should be entitled to free legal aid more than 3 times. That would help a lot. It is the same reason for car insurance prices rising. .... the cost of claims. They actually have managed to circumvent the Personal Injuries Board to keep the legal professions gravy train going.
TheFatHombre wrote: » Yea but the ERU are a unit of a few hundred maybe a thousand strong,
TheFatHombre wrote: » Apparently the young man was down on sheriff street just to buy abit of grass, poor lad woke up this morning not knowing he'd be sleeping in a morgue tonight, tragic.. ****in scum need to be dealt with a strong hand, they have so much money they can tie court cases up for years, all this ****ing left wing side of fixing things need to stop, it's no wonder you have vigilante groups roaming the city when the guards are out of there element.. Most guards who police the inner city are boggers from small villages in the country the only bit of crime there used to is someone tipping the local cow over... They are not equipped to protect the citizens FACT!!
eisenberg1 wrote: » It's a while since any of the Gardai had Uzis.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Dosent really add up
TheFatHombre wrote: » Most guards who police the inner city are boggers from small villages in the country the only bit of crime there used to is someone tipping the local cow over... They are not equipped to protect the citizens FACT!!
bubblypop wrote: » What doesnt add up? Mistaken identity? Ever hear of Shane Geoghan?
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Why don't you throw up a comparison of the number of gang members prosecuted compared to the number of protesters and republicans prosecuted. My god, your post is so moronic it gave me a headache.
spurious wrote: » Bicycle would be by far the best method to choose down there to get away.
flanzer wrote: » He's was probably on a bike because it was probably some junkie scrote that had a debt to pay
arayess wrote: » eh no. I know they are narrow streets but on a bike you are vunerable and you don't get that far away relative to a motorbike
Gerinspain wrote: » Governments should look for a way to make all drugs legal and put these feckers out of business. Yes, I know they would move on to some other criminal endeavour but the target market for drugs is huge compared to, say, prostitution.