CB19Kevo wrote: » That's the reality of what the guards have to deal with in this country,being told that there wife and kids will be raped by this individual.Yet people love to have a go at them for being pulled over for speeding or keeping the peace at water meter protests. Glad i don't have to do there job,having to deal with vermin like that.
Mesrine65 wrote: » Try retail security if you think that's bad, you don't have the same powers as AGS but still have to put up with this type of shite from low-lifes every working day & your only back-up is fellow SO's connected to the street radio network.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » but you get to carry a cool radio and say "over" a lot so i'm sure that makes up for the abuse.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » What do they think its going to be like on the streets when they sign up?
Vallorrous wrote: » Golden rule for arrest I thought was to keep your mouth shut. You don't answer questions, you don't incriminate yourself, just hand over your licence and insurance documents if asked. I really think that's just common sense.
Bambi wrote: » It's the reality of shopkeepers, emergency workers, health workers and a whole host of a other people have to deal with without recourse to the protection a garda can avail of. They deserve criticism for how they handled the water meter fiasco.
bubblypop wrote: » To protect life & property. To maintain the law of the land. Etc etc Not sure where ' take dogs abuse & don't do anything back' comes in the job description.
JJJJNR wrote: » So what did they expect when they signed up to be a garda, wouldn't like to deal with this day in and day out, but at day 0 you know exactly what to expect.
LexieOnRale wrote: » I'd imagine you'd think you're making a difference to society, helping make the streets safer. Instead, you burst yourself arresting scumbags that the dogs on the street know are scumbags, for it to get to court and them to walk out of court after telling a sob story, and a slap on the wrist. You don't expect to be pushed into a manky canal, or harrrassed if you go out in the town you're living/working in.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » so why continue doing the job? If I felt such dissatisfaction in my employment i would try something else that was more rewarding